Good god, it takes a jack to spoil a national occasion.
51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 09/08/2012 19:21:29
well done katie and everyone involved in getting her to this stage. Done everyone proud and anyone who begrudges needs to take a look at themselves!
wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1750 - 09/08/2012 19:22:59
AthCliath County: Dublin Posts: 812
1242600 4 time world champion, 5 time european champion, ive said thousands of times before the olympics that she is currently our greatest sportsperson,katie just never got the recognition. olympic gold and now thankfully she will get all the recognition she deserves, she is brilliant.
Here Here!!
clubstar09 (Mayo) - Posts: 463 - 09/08/2012 19:23:22
well done katie, a class act
bobjaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 1400 - 09/08/2012 19:23:44
what a day..what a fight.i'm wrecked after that fight.the waiting at the end for the result was unreal.katie's a pure legend
toe2hand (Galway) - Posts: 223 - 09/08/2012 19:27:56
toe2hand County: Galway Posts: 98
1242629 what a day..what a fight.i'm wrecked after that fight.the waiting at the end for the result was unreal
yeah, was thinking it was going to be countback it was taking so long. Doubt if she would have won that, the russian threw a lot of half shots
dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 09/08/2012 19:32:56
hill16no1man - I think she is one of the best known Irish sports person for some years now. She's being doing ads on TV for years in fact believe she was the main driver behind it's introduction into the Olympics. If people didn't know before (Which I doubt) wait to you see her profile from here.
Good to see really modest girl.
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 09/08/2012 19:42:20
well done katie
a proud day for all Irish people what a turn out at the XL. hmm i wonder where did all the irish get those tickets eh??? they certainly raised the roof what support great day, great turn out, GREAT RESULT,what will it be like monday when she hits Bray.
as for the russian having a sour face on the her at the medal ceremony its the way she stood with her arms folded during the National Anthem that has kinda shocked people world wide and has been spoke about on several staions papers etc. but I guess she was dissapointed as I felt she thought at the final bell she had done enough.also not every country is like ours they dont all celebrate silver as an achievement.
anyway we have the GOLD well done KATIE TAYLOR.
we could have a silver haul after today with Nevin, Conlon and Barnes fighting. come on lads ye can do it.
lillymadfan (Kildare) - Posts: 1085 - 10/08/2012 09:21:10
Fair play to her!
In fairness, clondalkindub is only playing to all the culchies here as ye seem to claim Dublin players who have an even looser connection to 'the country' than Katie has to Dublin!!
That said, great to see a person outside of the usual hardy Dubliners doing well in boxing for once and not just leaving it all up to us!! Hopefully the lads will do as well later on today!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 10/08/2012 09:33:46
Tyronetim County: Tyrone Posts: 660
1242643 hill16no1man - I think she is one of the best known Irish sports person for some years now. She's being doing ads on TV for years in fact believe she was the main driver behind it's introduction into the Olympics. If people didn't know before (Which I doubt) wait to you see her profile from here.
Good to see really modest girl
oh id say alot of people in ireland did know her who are into sports but for someone who is so succesful for a number of years and on a world stage she got very little recognition by our media up till this week and if anything it put the pressure on her as fighting in front of 200 a couple of weeks ago and then the amount of coverage all week on her if she had lost would have been one of the main reasons.did you watch the interview last night with bill herlihy and he started going on about the massive support all over ireland for you,if you take a look at her dad he was disgusted to hear that and had to hold his tongue as you could see by his face particularly when herlihy says your life will never be the same now you will have a new life from this day on,they staright away said no we have been doing this for so long and nothing will change with us
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 10/08/2012 09:34:36
Isn't Bray within the Pale?? Don't forget she's a GAA lady as well has played for Wickla from what I understand. She was fantastic,poor girl had to deal with the weight of expectation from the entire country. thought she seemed a bit nervous yesterday, was at the semi on Wed and she seemed more relaxed (few of the Donegal lads were there).
Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 10/08/2012 09:37:02
Fantastic she did the country proud
royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/08/2012 10:04:05
Hill16
Hope it doesn't become divisive. Ireland really needed this lift. Been watching her for years in various documentaries and sports features and she always and still does come across as incredibly humble despite her prodigious talent. She was a superstar but I think things will change for them now...that big contract will arrive. My wife was in tears when she mentioned she was only looking forward to seeing her Granny everyone in Bray knows my Granny. You might be right about things in the background as the father really made a point of saying to Kenny Egan you were always there for us first one to meet us at the airport. Good to see Kenny getting some positive PR after the hammering he took after the last Olympics. You'll always get bandwagon jumpers but I take that kind of thing as a complement and an opportunity to press the politicians for the support needed in return for their reflected glory.
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 10/08/2012 10:22:41
Thank you snuff.
clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 10/08/2012 10:28:39
Hopefully the 3 Dubs from Mullingar and Belfast can add to it today and give us some more to cheer about. Paddy is certainly up against it but he's game as a badger so will not go down without giving it his all.
Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 10/08/2012 10:37:51
Fair play to her!
In fairness, clondalkindub is only playing to all the culchies here as ye seem to claim Dublin players who have an even looser connection to 'the country' than Katie has to Dublin!!
That said, great to see a person outside of the usual hardy Dubliners doing well in boxing for once and not just leaving it all up to us!! Hopefully the lads will do as well later on today!!
Sorry to have to correct you mucker but 9 of the 16 boxing medallists hail from Irelands 2nd city!
Anyhow enough of the parochialism, brilliant win for Katie and fantastic support too, lets hope after today we've another 3 potential gold medallists.
Éire Abú
bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 10/08/2012 10:54:06
51longago County: Mayo Posts: 1837
1242619 Good god, it takes a jack to spoil a national occasion.
Hahahahahaha
What a drama queen...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/08/2012 11:14:43
anpleota
clondalkindub, Kathy is from Ballywaltrim on the south side of Bray as near to the Sugar Loaf as to Dublin, sure the Brits are claiming her as well so you are not on your own.
No surprise there then that both are claiming her - peas in a pod. I'm sure Ali was also a Dub - he had that look about him. Anyway, on to the the two Antrim lads today, hope they can add to the gold medals that Katie won. Though if they do I'm sure there'll be a Dublin link there too.... ;-)
Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 10/08/2012 11:17:27
Offside_Rule County: Antrim Posts: 502
Ah here now lads...
I dont think you get it. Her Ma is a Dub...
We've had a fair few references to being nothing without the culchies... parents being from Kerry etc etc...
Dubs dont need to claim champions. We've had plenty of our own... and besides she was wearing the flag.
You Antrim boys must be very proud of your contributions to the Olympics
What is it now... Team GB & Northern Ireland have won nearly 50 medals. Amazing stuff...
PS
It's obvious that Katie is a country girl... thats the strongest bogger accent I've ever heard ;)
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 10/08/2012 11:29:41
You Antrim boys must be very proud of your contributions to the Olympics
That we are Jimbodub - two medals this olympics just the colour to be determined, keeping up the strong tradition of boxing in Belfast.
Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 10/08/2012 11:37:24