Best GAA song

My personal favourite is To Win just once. Have a league final tomorrow and i've already started listening to it.

Real underdogs song!!

Saw Doctors - To Win Just Once

To win just once would be enough
For those who've lost in life and love
For those who've lost their guile and nerve
Their innocence, their drive and verve
For those who feel they've been mistreated
Discriminated, robbed or cheated
To claim one victory inspired
To win just once is their desire

To win just once against the odds
And once be smiled on by the Gods
To race with speed along the track
Break the tape and not look back
To never have considered losing
As if to win is by your choosing
Bare you soul for all to find
An honest heart and an open mind

To Win just once
That would be enough

So come all ye fulltime smalltown heroes
Cast away your inbred fears of
Standing out from all the rest
The cynics and the pessimists
The self-indulgent almost rich
The blatant hurlers on the ditch
Time is passing so come on
And face the ball, the game is on

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v3LDhBLk478&NR=1

Saw Doctors - Maroon And White Forever

I dreamt it'd wear the jersey
on all Ireland final day
it'd stand out there in Croke Park
with a mighty part to play
weâd come out of the tunnel
to a great big Galway roar
weâd have our picture taken
head down to the goal
weâd line up with the captain
and march behind the band
and when they played the anthem
weâd face the flag, above the stand
cos me heart is in maroon and white
it'll stick with what i know
maroon and white forever
no matter where i go
and when the ball comes towards me
i turn and head for goal
and i stick it in the corner
like a bullet hard and low
and i dreamt it'd hold the medal
so precious in my hand
with the people all around me
and the ghosts up in the stand
then on Monday evening
weâd bring the cup back home
bonfires would be blazing
all along the road
cos me heart is in maroon and white
it'll stick with what i know
maroon and white forever
in hailstones, rain or snow
yes maroon and white forever
thatâs what i always say
maroon and white of Galway
forever and a day.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZTmfoJ4kpUE

BoyneView (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 01/08/2009 13:13:00    372772

Could any of yous bright sparks write a song for derry? lol

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 01/08/2009 21:49:10    373245

Orlaith there is plenty of song writing talent in your county with people like Phil Coulter, Dana or Francie Brolly. Others have had hits that suit the current Derry predicament namely D:ream who is from Derry - "Things can only get better" or Nadine Coyle's Girls aloud with - "I think we're alone Now"

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 01/08/2009 22:54:58    373299

You have to be kidding me, fair play to Tyrone for winning 3 all irelands, but you have more songs made up about winning the sam then you have actually won. Going on this notion, Kerry should have about 90 songs on winning sam...lol.

KerryViaNYC (USA) - Posts: 3 - 01/08/2009 23:39:20    373331

dancing at the crossroads!! wexford anthem

wudubelieveit (Meath) - Posts: 24 - 02/08/2009 00:45:41    373388

Dancing at the crossroads from the wild swans, definitely by far the best. Or the purple and gold, another great classic.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z0B-Nf4kahA Dancing at the crossroads

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RmyX1r9A3yU Purple and gold

combine (Wexford) - Posts: 7 - 02/08/2009 02:52:40    373419

Orlaith
County: Derry

Could any of yous bright sparks write a song for derry? lol

I thought Jonny Logan wrote songs for Derry?

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 02/08/2009 08:47:25    373440

I've Been To Shannonside But I've Never Been To Meath by Liam McCarthy. Tommy Moore's done a cover version

Maroonatic (Galway) - Posts: 1081 - 02/08/2009 11:43:31    373520

The Saw Doctors "You Broke My Heart". Orlaith what about "Dirty old Town" Ha Ha,just jokin now so take it easy! Most of these songs are terrible anyway but they do have a comic element sometimes which helps.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 02/08/2009 11:52:49    373529

Listen to the following at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9UttVM1AZ7I

twill (Wexford) - Posts: 1 - 15/05/2012 16:40:32    1172845

PLAY IT LOW PLAY IT LOW INTO JOE!

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1779 - 15/05/2012 17:05:41    1172875

twill,

That was an awful awful song!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 15/05/2012 17:08:03    1172877

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qx1ElHWdmKA

Kildareby10 (Kildare) - Posts: 92 - 15/05/2012 20:17:22    1173019

Maroonatic

I've Been To Shannonside But I've Never Been To Meath by Liam McCarthy. Tommy Moore's done a cover version

this is a much better version haha leave it to a dub to have to write a meath song

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wrh4r2JJBxA

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/05/2012 21:05:31    1173080

twill
County: Wexford

Listen to the following at: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9UttVM1AZ7I

Brilliant song, but perhaps this is not the best version. I like the photos, though!

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 646 - 15/05/2012 21:31:44    1173107

dublin songs
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V6Rkl60P_yk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4_SUDL3CX5Y

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UlI02yR2crM

derry song here for you orlaith

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EbMln5JXXsQ

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/05/2012 21:55:40    1173146

Dancing at the crossroads. There isn't anything to touch it.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 16/05/2012 08:57:19    1173167

HERE'S A NEW SONG FOR THE DUBS FOR 2012

http://youtu.be/04854XqcfCY ;-)

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 16/05/2012 09:24:22    1173180

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t29TzfB3NsA

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 16/05/2012 09:49:06    1173194

Rónán O'Snodaigh of Kíla had the best one I ever heard before the AI Final last year but you cant find it on SpaTube:

Beir Bua, Bl'Áth Cliath,
Bl'Áth Cliath, Beir Bua,
Bl'Áth Cliath, Beir Buaaaaa!!

.....said very loudy and very fast as the chorus of an excellent song as Gaeilge!!

Le Meas,

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/05/2012 10:57:15    1173272