All Ireland Final tickets

Replying To hooknblock:  "It's an interesting question. Who 'deserves' to go more: the fan who's gone to all the championship matches of the county in the All-Ireland Final who (for argument's sake) is not a club member or a highly committed club coach/official/volunteer from a neutral county? It's where the semi-professional, commercial values of the GAA at inter-county level and the amateur, local values of club level GAA collide.

I'd go with the fan to be honest...there are plenty of tickets not claimed for semi-finals which are suddenly snapped up for finals."
30000 Waterford fans at the semi final????? Not in a million years, 15000/20000 at absolute max so if there are 30000 tickets making their way to Waterford that should be plenty for the 'real' fans

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 01/09/2017 14:26:14    2041603

It's an emotive issue, All-Ireland Final tickets.

I had one spare in 2011 and I gave it to one of the lads in the club who is very involved with underage coaching. He'd go to a good few Dubs games but wouldn't be at all of the games. Maybe

One of the lads who regularly goes to all the games home and away (more games than I go to) with us but has never been involved in a club was fairly pissed off with me when he heard I'd given one away and not to him as he had no ticket at the time! He was raging!

You can't please everyone. In anyways he was eventually sorted out but he was in a right strop with me for awhile!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 01/09/2017 14:47:25    2041613

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Are you serious???? So the guy who is out four nights a week taking juvenile teams often to the detriment of his own family life shouldn't get a ticket for all Ireland but someone who effectively contributes nothing to grassroots GAA but who goes to 4/5 Sundays a year as it's good craic and a day out should!

I'm going Sunday no connection to either county but I have no doubt I'm doing more work at grass roots level than 80% of those from the competing counties.....maybe I'm wrong but in my view I'm entitled to my ticket"
Why can't the county supporter get the ticket for the inter county final
And the club person get the ticket for the inter club final?
Surely if there that big club people that's the one they should be going to?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/09/2017 14:53:20    2041616

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Why can't the county supporter get the ticket for the inter county final
Surely if there that big club people that's the one they should be going to?"
You do realise there would be no inter county players or games without those putting the effort in at grassroots....players don't spring up overnight you know

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 01/09/2017 22:16:59    2041724

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Why can't the county supporter get the ticket for the inter county final
Surely if there that big club people that's the one they should be going to?"
The inter county finals are the pinnacle of the year. I know club players who couldn't attend Mayo away games due to training / games and then you have the guy who lines the pitch, does the donkey work sort of speak ...those people absolutely deserve a ticket as they keep the GAA going away from all the glamor....you don't understand the ethos of the GAA grassroots if you can't see that.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 02/09/2017 07:08:38    2041742

Replying To MesAmis:  "It's an emotive issue, All-Ireland Final tickets.

I had one spare in 2011 and I gave it to one of the lads in the club who is very involved with underage coaching. He'd go to a good few Dubs games but wouldn't be at all of the games. Maybe

One of the lads who regularly goes to all the games home and away (more games than I go to) with us but has never been involved in a club was fairly pissed off with me when he heard I'd given one away and not to him as he had no ticket at the time! He was raging!

You can't please everyone. In anyways he was eventually sorted out but he was in a right strop with me for awhile!"
Had a similar situation myself in 2012, had a spare ticket as I was a season ticket holder and also got one for being a club member. I had to give my spare ticket to a family member to avoid a row. The family member who got the ticket would go to 1/2 big games per year but there would have been more derserving recipients.

One thing which I thought was really unfair is that the clubs wouldn't give any All-Ireland tickets to their junior members even if they had gone to every game. Is this the same in every county? For example you could be aged 16 and gone to every game that year but you wouldn't get a ticket from your club, that is really unfair.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 02/09/2017 10:43:42    2041761

Is there a reason Hurling final tickets are generally easier to get than Football?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 02/09/2017 13:20:01    2041796

Football is better supported (attended)

Marse (Dublin) - Posts: 217 - 02/09/2017 13:36:55    2041802

Replying To yew_tree:  "Is there a reason Hurling final tickets are generally easier to get than Football?"
Kilkenny are usually in the final so there's usually a lot of tickets flying around. The novelty has worn off. The last time they won croke park was empty when they did the lap with the cup. Supporters had left.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 02/09/2017 14:00:06    2041812

Replying To Weary:  "Not one person so far mentioned getting a ticket from their club? Strange that"
my club got 30 hurling tickets plus all the county players got 2 each. when those going down to the sevens and on to the game got sorted there was 10 spare tickets which went to galway and Waterford contacts who the club have been attending for weekend trips or feile finals or exchange tournaments throughout the year. for the football we will probably get 4 tickets possibly only 2 depending on how many the county receive. 2 tickets go to the chairman and secretary and who pay for their own and 2 go to the main club sponsor who gets them complimentary. our club have 20 supporters in Dublin this weekend even though tyrone will never be in the McCarthy cup, so if only participating counties get tickets how do you suppose we would get tickets, are we not entitled to attend as neutrals. best way is to get season tickets, be active in a club or get yourself plenty of contacts outside the bubble

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 02/09/2017 15:03:26    2041824

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "You do realise there would be no inter county players or games without those putting the effort in at grassroots....players don't spring up overnight you know"
Haha. You're dead right. Too many exclusively county supporters around. Tickets go to clubs in participating counties. Not enough tickets go to the club. Volunteers in clubs around the country are the real heartbeat of the GAA. Without the clubs who nurture the players from a young age there would be no county game. Simples

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 02/09/2017 16:43:40    2041858

Replying To bulmccabe:  "my club got 30 hurling tickets plus all the county players got 2 each. when those going down to the sevens and on to the game got sorted there was 10 spare tickets which went to galway and Waterford contacts who the club have been attending for weekend trips or feile finals or exchange tournaments throughout the year. for the football we will probably get 4 tickets possibly only 2 depending on how many the county receive. 2 tickets go to the chairman and secretary and who pay for their own and 2 go to the main club sponsor who gets them complimentary. our club have 20 supporters in Dublin this weekend even though tyrone will never be in the McCarthy cup, so if only participating counties get tickets how do you suppose we would get tickets, are we not entitled to attend as neutrals. best way is to get season tickets, be active in a club or get yourself plenty of contacts outside the bubble"
I find it a bit unusual that ye get 30 hurling tickets and only 4 for the football. Is that because of demand elsewhere or because Dublin are involved or is it always the case? For the hurling final I'm sure there'll more demand on the Galway side as they probably brought 35,000 or more to the semi-final. One thing I'm not mad on is club sponsors getting hands on tickets, I know of one case where the club didn't give any of the 2 or 4 tickets to club members but instead they all went to the sponsors. I know sponsor money supports clubs but so does GAA money from the intercounty scene that gets redistributed by Croke park.

hooknblock (Waterford) - Posts: 5 - 02/09/2017 17:30:45    2041883

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "You do realise there would be no inter county players or games without those putting the effort in at grassroots....players don't spring up overnight you know"
That's not the issue here
the issue is why should they be entitled to tickets to a final of teams that has nothing to do with them over supporters who have gone to watcg the teams play all year?
If you want to reward club members there is an all ireland club final day where you get both football and hurling showpieces why don't these people get the tickets for that day when there is 50thousand of them available each year on average?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/09/2017 17:34:54    2041885

Replying To Weary:  "Haha. You're dead right. Too many exclusively county supporters around. Tickets go to clubs in participating counties. Not enough tickets go to the club. Volunteers in clubs around the country are the real heartbeat of the GAA. Without the clubs who nurture the players from a young age there would be no county game. Simples"
I play club football so dont paint everybody with one brush
Clubs are probably the most unfair in my experience for getting tickets even before croker became all ticket you could get tickets all year off them then come semi finals and finals people who you never seen before in the club were getting tickets over people who went all year.
the season ticket schemes only allow a limited amount of people join, they should be opened up to far more numbers.
Why won't the club members go to the all ireland club finals each year as neutrals?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/09/2017 17:42:07    2041887

Replying To hill16no1man:  "That's not the issue here
the issue is why should they be entitled to tickets to a final of teams that has nothing to do with them over supporters who have gone to watcg the teams play all year?
If you want to reward club members there is an all ireland club final day where you get both football and hurling showpieces why don't these people get the tickets for that day when there is 50thousand of them available each year on average?"
The inter county finals are the pinnacle of the year. I know lads in my club who wouldn't get tonmany Mayo games early in the year due to club commitments. They absolutely deserve their All Ireland final ticket.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 02/09/2017 18:04:19    2041888

Replying To yew_tree:  "The inter county finals are the pinnacle of the year. I know lads in my club who wouldn't get tonmany Mayo games early in the year due to club commitments. They absolutely deserve their All Ireland final ticket."
Why do they deserve it because their work in a club ? Well why can't they be rewarded by tickets been made available for the biggest day on the club scene the all ireland club finals?
Why must they be getting tickets for inter county all ireland final?
That's like saying people that put in so much effort for their club senior team should be rewarded by having a place on the inter county team even if they haven't got the ability. if they put so much into the club scene reward them on the biggest day of the club scene, if somebody has travelled all over supporting their county team they absolutely deserve a ticket over that person from a club in another county.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/09/2017 19:03:40    2041913

Interesting thread. I think we can all agree that the GAA's system for allocating tickets is imperfect, insofar as too few tickets end up with the competing counties, and there are always stories of good GAA people falling through the cracks come final day.

But at the same time, I like the GAA's idea of trying to reward the grassroots also. Because for those of ye that aren't aware, being involved with a club is a right pain in the a**e most of the time, not being helped by the propensity of grown adults to act like children. The time-consuming duties include: registration and payment to the county board/ GAA /LGFA/ Camogie Association ( LGFA in their wisdom decided to introduce a separate registration system and method of payment a couple of years ago); actually getting people to pay their fees; fundraising initiatives; getting local businesses to sponsor you; arranging pitches and tournaments; arranging logistics for away trips; putting up nets/ lining pitches ahead of matches; arranging post-match food and drink; liaising with county board (which takes up a lot of time); representing your club at the county convention/ annual congress; gong to coaching seminars/ taking training; organizing promotional activities; arranging medical care for games; cajoling existing players to turn out/ encouraging new ones to turn up; when your club is short, turning out yourself even if you're injured/ chronically unfit; organizing underage training/teams and getting into schools.

I list these as in most cases, I find that people who merely play haven't the foggiest idea of how much energy goes into keeping a club on the road. So yeah, I would say these people deserve the tickets more so than mere supporters, many of whom are already looked after through season ticket schemes.

With regard to Hill's club enquiry, the All-Ireland senior final is the blue riband game of the season, which is why people prefer to see it over the club finals.

Here's a link to the All-Ireland ticketing breakdown: https://www.balls.ie/gaa/who-gets-all-ireland-tickets-allocation-346444

Personally, I believe that the GAA can strike a better balance between looking after the grassroots and the competing counties by trimming some of the allocations and redistributing accordingly. It seems to me that
there are certain categories of allocation that can't really be touched, such as the box seats, premium level, media etc. However, there probably is some low hanging fruit in other categories.

For example, there are probably no more than 20 past presidents still knocking around, given the typical age profile of candidates for the position, yet they get 800 tickets between them.

Downsizing that portion by a couple of hundred wouldn't make too much difference to them, especially given the contacts such people have. Likewise, it seems that the schools/ educational bodies get a huge amount of tickets, some of which could be reallocated to the county team supporters. Do sponsors need one thousand tickets?

500-600 tickets for fans who can prove that they've been following the side consistently throughout the year (league match ticket book could be used as proof) would ease the burden a bit. Dublin may be the one exception to this, but you couldn't ease the pressure they have for tickets without tearing up the system completely IMO.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 03/09/2017 07:26:28    2042053

I agree that Presidents shouldn't be getting such a large allocation, considering every County and sponsor is already taken care of anyhow.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 03/09/2017 13:14:15    2042129

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Why do they deserve it because their work in a club ? Well why can't they be rewarded by tickets been made available for the biggest day on the club scene the all ireland club finals?
Why must they be getting tickets for inter county all ireland final?
That's like saying people that put in so much effort for their club senior team should be rewarded by having a place on the inter county team even if they haven't got the ability. if they put so much into the club scene reward them on the biggest day of the club scene, if somebody has travelled all over supporting their county team they absolutely deserve a ticket over that person from a club in another county."
Mayo and Dublin are in the final this year. As far as I am concerned every club in both counties couldn't get enough tickets.
You said you played football with a club so you must understand the basic structures of the GAA. Without the clubs there would be no county football.
You do understand that all the players that line out in two weeks started off in a club coached by a volunteer. That's why clubs/volunteers deserve as many tickets as possible. There is no argument against it.
Two tickets to every club outside the competing counties is ok with me. If they are used for fundraising so be it. Looking after volunteers should not be seen as a problem.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 03/09/2017 13:23:01    2042133

Replying To hill16no1man:  "That's not the issue here
If you want to reward club members there is an all ireland club final day where you get both football and hurling showpieces why don't these people get the tickets for that day when there is 50thousand of them available each year on average?"
What about all the so called dublin supporters who couldn't be bothered turn up for the minor game last sunday or the ones on the Hill who were there early but clearly just there to get a good position as the never got behind there minor team. These people will probably get tickets for the final but there are plenty of gaa people around the country who are more deserving both inside and outside the competing counties

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 03/09/2017 15:19:54    2042165