Fair Play to Aindreas Doyle

Bosco
County: Carlow

I dislike the Dubs, no problem saying it.

Im not surprised Bosco, it was criminal the way they kept ya locked in that little box all those years.

Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 03/07/2012 17:34:28    1208717

for gods sake jimbo, why arent ye allowed train there? As if that makes it any less of a home tie. How about because it is in your back garden and ye will have a huge crowd compared to opponents who have to travel, and ye play every single game on it compared to others who have to play on different pitches of various sizes, surfaces and weather effects. Look, if the connacht final was in mchale park then I would say it was an advantage to mayo. Are you not capable of doing the same? Or is honesty just a 'culchie' thing?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/07/2012 17:36:51    1208723

Horse
County: Laois

Bosco
County: Carlow

I dislike the Dubs, no problem saying it.

Im not surprised Bosco, it was criminal the way they kept ya locked in that little box all those years.

Unfortunately we didn't lock him in and throw away the key Horse

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 03/07/2012 17:42:22    1208728

i know clondalkin its an inferiority complex some of them have

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/07/2012 17:43:19    1208732

moomoo

Hill I knew we were disliked but it's only since I've joined this forum I realise how much were hated. It's very bad I couldn't believe the stick we got after the Kilkenny game. They hammer everyone but we took more stick than anyone ever has.

Its funny the only ones who say the Dubs are disliked are the Dubs themselves, no one else says it.

well your hardly going to prove yourself wrong

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/07/2012 17:45:17    1208734

icehonesty
County: Wexford

It's a pity this thread got hijacked.

The main point about Dublin playing all their games at Croke Park, for me isn't as much about it being a home venue (which it clearly is). The main point I'd like to make about it is that Dublin are well suited to playing on the biggest pitch in the country.

Ah I see. It's the size of the pitch now. That's debatable for starters. Do you know how to fix that? Train harder! That's what the champions are doing so if you want to match them then do as they do and stop blaming the loss on anything other than your own players.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4749 - 03/07/2012 17:49:28    1208741

icehonesty

can you think of any more excuses?
while your at it why dont you throw in that dublin have more expensive houses to live in that has to be an advantage too

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/07/2012 18:13:42    1208765

Just a thought on the advantage of having a large support in Croker
I've been to many away games with the dubs back in the day and we've always had the. Aborting of support no mater where we play!
To me the argument about having a huge partisan crowd being unfair on opposing counties is no greater than jealousy! Bring a bigger crowd !

bernardmessi (Dublin) - Posts: 182 - 03/07/2012 18:21:33    1208775

The grass in 0.001 mm on average shorter in Croker so the Dubs have an advantage.
The temperature in the dressing rooms in 2 degrees warmer on average in Croker so the Dubs have an advantage.
Also i believe the wind is a factor also....Us Dubs really do have such an advantage.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1663 - 03/07/2012 18:24:34    1208780

Wexford GAA are in huge debt, the reality is they need to play in Croke park. A pitch is a pitch.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4678 - 03/07/2012 18:24:55    1208781

waterford are in bigger trouble even owl jedward couldnt get a crowd into fraher field to boost their coffers the other night

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/07/2012 18:31:33    1208797

Just a reminder to everyone that Dublins have had most success at u21 level with 3 All irelands in 10 years. All won with nearly all (possibly all) games being played outside Dublin where tho opposition had most of the support in every game. If youre good enough you will win no matter what. If anything Croke park has been a burden to the seniors over the years.

CapitalGains (Dublin) - Posts: 40 - 03/07/2012 19:07:58    1208833

CapitalGains

Just a reminder to everyone that Dublins have had most success at u21 level with 3 All irelands in 10 years. All won with nearly all (possibly all) games being played outside Dublin where tho opposition had most of the support in every game. If youre good enough you will win no matter what. If anything Croke park has been a burden to the seniors over the years.

Great point

bernardmessi (Dublin) - Posts: 182 - 03/07/2012 19:56:28    1208877

CapitalGains

More flawed logic. First off nobody is doubting the u21s, fair play to them. Secondly, saying 'you should be good enough' doesnt cut it, the fact is they shouldnt have to worry about it as they dont need to be good enough to win away from home, they should only need to be good enough to win in a neutral venue. Finally, if it has been a burden that is down to the team, the fact is it is an advantage, and if the team are any ways decent they will make the best of that advantage.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/07/2012 21:36:14    1208993

Sorry, did I mention my proposal in my last post?

I wasn't referring to your last post. I thought this was preety clear.

And secondly, you dont even have the facts of the proposal correct. Hardly inspiring faith in your ability to argue is it?

Waffle. All your arguments here are based on opinion and you continuosly ignore the facts given by posters here against your arguments - Comhairle Laighean decide the fixtures not the Dubs.

Clearly my point was to underline how ridiculous this notion that the dubs being at home is actually a hindrance, and so croker being in dublin is not an advantage. Wasnt much of an hindrance the last day was it?

Most Dubs on here have admitted that there is an advantage for Dublin against Wexford in Croke Park so stop your waffle. Its as if you don't want to hear that. Wexford will have an advantage if they are playing anyone else in Croke Park this year. Wexford play in Croke more often than most other teams.

Would all those boo-boys have been there if the game was somewhere else? Lucky they were, they were dublin's most influencial attribute.

Who knows. Stop lecturing me about facts of proposald when all you are giving here is opinions.

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 03/07/2012 21:59:47    1209026

I can see a few things came up since I posted.

Croke Park is a very big pitch, will up to the maximum dimensions. Look at the distance between the 65 yard lines at Croke Park versus at a random county ground for example.

The Dubs lads complaining about not being allowed train there? Seriously. Cop on.

Another thing. It is a lot easier as, for example, a Dublin freetaker to kick frees if they have played every match and kicked every free at the same venue than it is for a player from another county to kick frees at Croke Park having only played there once or twice before.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2592 - 04/07/2012 10:06:34    1209091

Another thing. It is a lot easier as, for example, a Dublin freetaker to kick frees if they have played every match and kicked every free at the same venue than it is for a player from another county to kick frees at Croke Park having only played there once or twice before.

Rubbish! Posts are posts no matter where they ate put and once the ground/sod is of good order than a place kicker has no excuse! It's up to him to concentrate his own mind which is his responsibility and his alone while kicking!

bernardmessi (Dublin) - Posts: 182 - 04/07/2012 10:19:31    1209110

Interesting.......

http://www.hoganstand.com/forum/MessagePage.aspx?PageNumber=2&TopicID=50172

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 04/07/2012 10:32:01    1209122

bernardmessi

1209110 Another thing. It is a lot easier as, for example, a Dublin freetaker to kick frees if they have played every match and kicked every free at the same venue than it is for a player from another county to kick frees at Croke Park having only played there once or twice before.

Rubbish! Posts are posts no matter where they ate put and once the ground/sod is of good order than a place kicker has no excuse! It's up to him to concentrate his own mind which is his responsibility and his alone while kicking!

spot on bm posts are posts and at the end of the day if your good enough you will get it over ...

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 04/07/2012 10:35:44    1209126

The Dubs lads complaining about not being allowed train there? Seriously. Cop on.

Why?

We're not allowed to train on our home pitch?

How is that fair? It would be more of an advantage for our preparations in the build up to our championship games, one that is enjoyed by other teams around the country. If this whole thing is about fairness and such... other counties get to train on their home pitches, where they ALSO play their championp games.

We'd know Parnell Park far better because we train there, we'd have thousands of hours covered over that turf... the same cannot be said about Croke Park.

Why cant we train in Croker if thats our home ground? I ask that in the most straight forward way... country teams have an advatage of training and plalying on their home pitch.

So why dont we? Either it's our home pitch or it's not... make your mind up lads.

It's time for a new stadium in Dublin... so we can move out of Croker and train and play on our own patch.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/07/2012 10:36:35    1209127