Kerry v Mayo

Replying To Laois76:  "That's it re. someone being his favourite.

Whoever's flavour of the month. Very childish. Reminds me of Dunphy when he loved Roy Keane, then fell out with him and was eulogising DJ Carey for a while!"
Dunphy's dad was a Kilkenny man. He has a love for Kilkenny hurling and I think really is in awe of DJ Carey, as many of us are.

Brolly is in awe of himself.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7358 - 18/08/2017 12:33:52    2035082

If Mayo play the way they did against Roscommon they should shade it. If Mayo play the way they did against Roscommon (first day) they haven't a hope

Draw written all over it then

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 18/08/2017 12:56:09    2035092

Replying To clondalkindub:  "One thing I can't understand is why Fitzmaurice is playing Jonny Buckley it makes zero sense to me , I don't like slagging him off cause he's seems like a sound lad and he's a good player but he lacks pace big time and he's been found out a million times in these bigger games, Mayo's backs who are fast and won't stop running all game will give him an awful time of it, what happened to the Kerry number 11 from the league final he seemed like the answer for centre forward to me."
I like Buckley but he does lack pace alright. He is strong as a horse, good with the ball in hand, he can kick a point and can field, if he had pace he would be some player. I can't really remember too many games where he has been found out, he has been injured a lot over the years. We are not bursting with options at 11 anyway.

Who are you talking about from the league final? Michael Geaney was no 11 IIRC, he was excellent that day but hasn't brought that form into the championship so far. Kevin McCarthy was no. 13 and played out around the middle for a lot of the game as well. He was injured against Galway but is back in the panel for Sunday. He is a good option from the bench if he doesn't start, which I suspect he won't.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 18/08/2017 13:07:24    2035097

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I like Buckley but he does lack pace alright. He is strong as a horse, good with the ball in hand, he can kick a point and can field, if he had pace he would be some player. I can't really remember too many games where he has been found out, he has been injured a lot over the years. We are not bursting with options at 11 anyway.

Who are you talking about from the league final? Michael Geaney was no 11 IIRC, he was excellent that day but hasn't brought that form into the championship so far. Kevin McCarthy was no. 13 and played out around the middle for a lot of the game as well. He was injured against Galway but is back in the panel for Sunday. He is a good option from the bench if he doesn't start, which I suspect he won't."
The '13 semi final and '15 final against Dublin he was taken off at half time , you could see clear as day in them games he just didn't have the legs. He'd one very good half against Tyrone in '15 but other than that I can't think of him doing it in the big games.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/08/2017 13:29:52    2035101

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I like Buckley but he does lack pace alright. He is strong as a horse, good with the ball in hand, he can kick a point and can field, if he had pace he would be some player. I can't really remember too many games where he has been found out, he has been injured a lot over the years. We are not bursting with options at 11 anyway.

Who are you talking about from the league final? Michael Geaney was no 11 IIRC, he was excellent that day but hasn't brought that form into the championship so far. Kevin McCarthy was no. 13 and played out around the middle for a lot of the game as well. He was injured against Galway but is back in the panel for Sunday. He is a good option from the bench if he doesn't start, which I suspect he won't."
How about Brendan O'Sullivan at no. 11? Play well on the junior team and is strong and fast. Has senior level experience before the suspension.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 18/08/2017 15:13:47    2035122

Replying To Gaa Fan:  "How about Brendan O'Sullivan at no. 11? Play well on the junior team and is strong and fast. Has senior level experience before the suspension."
Too late into the Championship for Brendan to be involved this year Id say, next year could be a big year for him. I'm fact there's about a half dozen young lads that should be part of the starting day 15 come the 2018 League.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/08/2017 16:03:10    2035146

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Dunphy's dad was a Kilkenny man. He has a love for Kilkenny hurling and I think really is in awe of DJ Carey, as many of us are.

Brolly is in awe of himself."
I knew that about Dunphy's dad. Remember the wailing Dunphy did with Gay Byrne on THe Meaning of Life!!

Still around 2002 when DJ returned after the car accident and played brilliantly against Tipp and Clare Dunphy kinda latched onto his star.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/08/2017 17:06:30    2035182

I'm fed up hearing how will Mayo cope with Donaghy or O'Donoghue or Geaney or Moran or the rest of the quality Kingdom players. We know Kerry are good but no team is unbeatable. It's time Rochford comes up with a plan to give Kerry something to think about on Sunday. If we don't we should stay at home.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7358 - 18/08/2017 19:43:33    2035231

Replying To GreenandRed:  "I'm fed up hearing how will Mayo cope with Donaghy or O'Donoghue or Geaney or Moran or the rest of the quality Kingdom players. We know Kerry are good but no team is unbeatable. It's time Rochford comes up with a plan to give Kerry something to think about on Sunday. If we don't we should stay at home.

Maigh Eo Abú!"
Exactly. Go at it like the last day and make them answer questions.

It's an old adage but attack is the best form of defence. Ye have plenty to worry them.

7th year in a row at all-ire semi stage. Not too many with that record. Someday the bit of luck will come.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/08/2017 19:47:33    2035235

The Kerry Senior Football Team to play Mayo in the All Ireland Senior Football Championship Semi Final in Croke Park on Sunday next shows three changes in personnel from the side that defeated Galway in the quarter final;
Killian Young comes into the full back line in place of Fionn Fitzgerald; Anthony Maher starts in midfield in place of Jack Barry and Stephen O'Brien starts in the half forward line in place of the injured Donnchadh Walsh.

Bryan Sheehan and Gavin Crowley come into the match day panel and are included in the substitutes.

The team captained by Johnny Buckley is as follows:

Brian Kelly
Killarney Legion
Shane Enright
Tarbert
Mark Griffin
St Michaels-Foilmore
Killian Young
Renard
Peter Crowley
Laune Rangers
Tadhg Morley
Templenoe
Paul Murphy
Rathmore
David Moran
Kerins O'Rahillys
Anthony Maher
Duagh
Michael Geaney
Dingle
Johnny Buckley (Captain)
Dr Crokes
Stephen O'Brien
Kenmare Shamrocks

Paul Geaney
Dingle

Kieran Donaghy
Austin Stacks
James O'Donoghue
Killarney Legion

Fir Ionaid:

Shane Ryan
Rathmore
Jack Barry
Na Gaeil
Fionn Fitzgerald
Dr Crokes
Barry John Keane
Kerins O'Rahillys
Jonathan Lyne
Killarney Legion

Jack Savage
Kerins O'Rahillys

Darran O'Sullivan
Glenbeigh-Glencar
Tom O'Sullivan
Dingle
Sean O'Shea
Kenmare Shamrocks

Bryan Sheehan
St Marys
Gavin Crowley
Templenoe

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 18/08/2017 20:02:38    2035238

When is the Mayo team named?

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 18/08/2017 20:03:15    2035239

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "The Kerry Senior Football Team to play Mayo in the All Ireland Senior Football Championship Semi Final in Croke Park on Sunday next shows three changes in personnel from the side that defeated Galway in the quarter final;
Killian Young comes into the full back line in place of Fionn Fitzgerald; Anthony Maher starts in midfield in place of Jack Barry and Stephen O'Brien starts in the half forward line in place of the injured Donnchadh Walsh.

Bryan Sheehan and Gavin Crowley come into the match day panel and are included in the substitutes.

The team captained by Johnny Buckley is as follows:

Brian Kelly
Killarney Legion
Shane Enright
Tarbert
Mark Griffin
St Michaels-Foilmore
Killian Young
Renard
Peter Crowley
Laune Rangers
Tadhg Morley
Templenoe
Paul Murphy
Rathmore
David Moran
Kerins O'Rahillys
Anthony Maher
Duagh
Michael Geaney
Dingle
Johnny Buckley (Captain)
Dr Crokes
Stephen O'Brien
Kenmare Shamrocks

Paul Geaney
Dingle

Kieran Donaghy
Austin Stacks
James O'Donoghue
Killarney Legion

Fir Ionaid:

Shane Ryan
Rathmore
Jack Barry
Na Gaeil
Fionn Fitzgerald
Dr Crokes
Barry John Keane
Kerins O'Rahillys
Jonathan Lyne
Killarney Legion

Jack Savage
Kerins O'Rahillys

Darran O'Sullivan
Glenbeigh-Glencar
Tom O'Sullivan
Dingle
Sean O'Shea
Kenmare Shamrocks

Bryan Sheehan
St Marys
Gavin Crowley
Templenoe"
Only when you read through it that you realise how strong it is. Killian Young back in the corner?

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 18/08/2017 20:17:52    2035242

Replying To Laois76:  "Only when you read through it that you realise how strong it is. Killian Young back in the corner?"
Connacht Walsh is a big loss to Kerry.A very underrated player.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2170 - 18/08/2017 20:36:47    2035247

Replying To Laois76:  "Only when you read through it that you realise how strong it is. Killian Young back in the corner?"
Yep corner back. Mayo probably will have a two man full forward line so not sure how much time he will stay in there.

I think Enright and Griffin will pick up Andy Moran and Cillian O Connor but I could be wrong.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 18/08/2017 20:38:36    2035248

Replying To endgame:  "Connacht Walsh is a big loss to Kerry.A very underrated player."
Donnacha Walsh.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2170 - 18/08/2017 20:57:09    2035250

Replying To endgame:  "Connacht Walsh is a big loss to Kerry.A very underrated player."
Connacht Walsh is a big loss to Kerry.A very underrated player.

thats some prediction text lol

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 18/08/2017 20:58:54    2035251

Replying To lilypad:  "Connacht Walsh is a big loss to Kerry.A very underrated player.

thats some prediction text lol"
Duly corrected above.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2170 - 18/08/2017 21:13:08    2035254

Replying To endgame:  "Donnacha Walsh."
Still incorrect but you get pass mark this time as your not far off -)

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 18/08/2017 21:27:15    2035257

Replying To endgame:  "Donnacha Walsh."
Underrated how? He's a great work horse for Kerry that kicks a point a game give or take but compared to the lethal forwards Kerry have had/have and they've had a lot he's way down the list. I think Kerry supporters are happy O Brien is starting he brings blistering pace and will give the Mayo defence way more to worry about than Walsh would.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 18/08/2017 21:28:24    2035258

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "When is the Mayo team named?"
About 15:20 on Sunday if previous games are anything to go by.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7358 - 18/08/2017 21:57:59    2035262