Are you blaming the capitulation against those teams on playing in Croker? In my eyes ye were just beaten by teams who were much better than ye at that time. Dublin are not as hated as you seem to think ye are (well not until ye won last year anyway and snuff and the like raised there heads). A lot of people around the country were rooting for Dublin last year v Kerry, myself included. tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 29/06/2012 15:37:18 1205046 Link 0 |
I'll ask again, Wexford had home advantage in 2010 why did they not play the game in Wexford? Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/06/2012 15:39:57 1205048 Link 0 |
Jackeen Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 29/06/2012 15:44:49 1205051 Link 0 |
It was a serious question Breff! Someone who claims to have been on the board when the decision was made to play in Croke park said they knew why! Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/06/2012 15:49:39 1205057 Link 0 |
breff your a bundle of laughs. superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2901 - 29/06/2012 17:53:05 1205146 Link 0 |
we did not have home adv. in 2010 thats a lie Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3115 - 29/06/2012 17:59:30 1205151 Link 0 |
lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 29/06/2012 19:10:52 1205192 Link 0 |
Aindreas Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 29/06/2012 20:06:10 1205224 Link 0 |
people claiming that the GAA are making dublin play in Croker for financial reasons are covering up the real issue here - it is the fact that playing there is an advantage that prompts these decisions from the GAA. cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5331 - 29/06/2012 20:11:14 1205229 Link 0 |
Jackeen moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 29/06/2012 20:18:27 1205233 Link 0 |
i could be wrong and stand corrected if so but im nearly sure in '09 when the times and places were set for the championship that wexford was set for the main event however the powers to be stepped in and said they would lose to much money and that it was to be played in croke park i think a few people might be getting mixed up with mayo saying they would prefer croker there their hometown or maybe its me getting mixed up ;-)... dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 29/06/2012 22:01:38 1205314 Link 0 |
Spade a Spade bernardmessi (Dublin) - Posts: 182 - 30/06/2012 09:46:36 1205329 Link 0 |
I think we'll all have to differ on this one I am afraid. After all the posts and arguments we are still being asked the same question and the response is the same. The GAA can't make Dublin win anything fortunately we have to it on the pitch like everyone else. Where we play gives a huge pay day to the GAA, we are caught in this as much as anyone. Your team losing abysmally in front of 80K cuts both ways. The Leinster Board and the GAA between need the money end off. arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 30/06/2012 09:59:26 1205333 Link 0 |
There is a piece in the Indo today from Billy Keane about this. Sounds like Kerry people still have forgiven us for 2011. witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 30/06/2012 10:33:46 1205341 Link 0 |
The problem is obvious here isn't it? This most recent piece in the paper confirms it. Culchies are jealous of the Dubs and will stop at nothing to put the boot into them, simple as that. The Dubs and their support are the Gaa sure, be criminal not to pander to them at every possible opportunity. Bosco (Carlow) - Posts: 664 - 30/06/2012 11:09:13 1205361 Link 0 |
Ye have it in a nutshell bosco, AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 30/06/2012 14:15:57 1205445 Link 0 |
I strongly disagree with andreas here. Leave the dubs in croke park. The last time i remember the boys in blue coming down to play us in wexford park their fans decided to climb onto the roof of the old stand and have a party, down with this sort of thing theanylist (Wexford) - Posts: 151 - 30/06/2012 15:00:19 1205465 Link 0 |
The roof collapsed as well, Wexford park was a bit of a hole back then! Tight game as far as I can remember 11-7 bernardmessi (Dublin) - Posts: 182 - 30/06/2012 17:58:05 1205658 Link 0 |
Fair play to the home crowd. When the players didnt have it in them they put their shoulder to the wheel and jeered every free brosnan had to take into the hill enough times to win the dubs the game. But of course, that can be a disadvantage to the dubs too. Somehow... TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/07/2012 11:02:08 1208101 Link 0 |
Master it really is amazing how many tykes can fit into such a small space on the hill. lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1022 - 03/07/2012 11:28:03 1208136 Link 0 |