Casement Park redevelopment.

Whilst Clones, and the likes of Thurles may have its merits re atmosphere and craic, there are many GAA followers who enjoy attending matches for the sporting contests that they are and like to get back on the road pronto after the match: Clones is a nightmare in this respect: Casement redevelopment will factor in the surrounding infrastructure to facilitate large crowds; anyone who has been to Pairc Ui Chaoimh on Munster Final day will note the lack of pubs etc in the neighbouring surrounds yet it does not take away from the occassion: has this prevented Cork and the Munster Council from future redevelopment in Cork; I think not; so embrace it for the good news that it is: it may well bring employment and economic regeneration to the local economy, including many unemployed GAA members and inspire the younger generation of Gaels and clubs in Belfast to play in a state of the art Stadium

KevHill (Antrim) - Posts: 271 - 04/09/2012 21:12:51    1259432

KevHill

1259432 Whilst Clones, and the likes of Thurles may have its merits re atmosphere and craic, there are many GAA followers who enjoy attending matches for the sporting contests that they are and like to get back on the road pronto after the match: Clones is a nightmare in this respect: Casement redevelopment will factor in the surrounding infrastructure to facilitate large crowds; anyone who has been to Pairc Ui Chaoimh on Munster Final day will note the lack of pubs etc in the neighbouring surrounds yet it does not take away from the occassion: has this prevented Cork and the Munster Council from future redevelopment in Cork; I think not; so embrace it for the good news that it is: it may well bring employment and economic regeneration to the local economy, including many unemployed GAA members and inspire the younger generation of Gaels and clubs in Belfast to play in a state of the art Stadium

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 04/09/2012 21:18:53    1259440

Awful long trip from Kerry to Casement.

Omagh or Breffni be handier.

dingle2 (Kerry) - Posts: 278 - 04/09/2012 21:37:50    1259468

Brend the Red: as a juvenile always looked forward to the opportunity to play in Casement on "big days" and that was the point I was trying to convey: have played many times in the old Casement, in Omagh, the likes of Bellaghy, Carrickmore, Coalisland, Dungannon and have enjoyed every minute; would have loved to have played at Croke but alas not to be: there are not too many players who do not enjoy playing in Casement; obviously as a Tyrone man I wouldn't expect you to have the same affinity with Casement as I or any other Antrim man, but I certainly wouldn't begrudge if Omagh had been chosen by the Ulster Council: it is debate like this that our dear friend Patrique would loved to have held court.

KevHill (Antrim) - Posts: 271 - 04/09/2012 21:40:15    1259470

KevHill

1259470 Brend the Red: as a juvenile always looked forward to the opportunity to play in Casement on "big days" and that was the point I was trying to convey: have played many times in the old Casement, in Omagh, the likes of Bellaghy, Carrickmore, Coalisland, Dungannon and have enjoyed every minute; would have loved to have played at Croke but alas not to be: there are not too many players who do not enjoy playing in Casement; obviously as a Tyrone man I wouldn't expect you to have the same affinity with Casement as I or any other Antrim man, but I certainly wouldn't begrudge if Omagh had been chosen by the Ulster Council: it is debate like this that our dear friend Patrique would loved to have held court.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 04/09/2012 21:52:48    1259482

The reason Casement has been chosen is because Antrim after all are leading the way when it comes to all GAA games.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 05/09/2012 10:46:21    1259587

How long is it now since Patrique passed is it just over a year?

He would have loved a lot of the stuff on here recently. He wasn't fond of Tyrone though.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 05/09/2012 10:59:35    1259607

TheGateKeeper

Croke park is in the middle of skanger ville as well. But that doesn't have any bad effects on match days whatsoever. i hope the GAA have a plan lined out for Antrim football and hurling similar to what was done with Dublin hurling. It has huge potential for the growth of GAA.

BettystownRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 3353 - 05/09/2012 11:05:18    1259614

Let's avoid the derogatory terms for the people of both areas - I know many fine people from both areas. Generalisations is the language of bigots.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 05/09/2012 11:30:10    1259648

Lads, do ye know is there any drawings or mock-up pictures available to view of how the new stadium will look? I personally favour maintaining and renovating Clones as Ulster's headquarters, however we should grab our share of the allocation from the executive and if there are no plans for a large stadium in central Ulster, then Casement is a good option.

Agree with above, we shouldn't cast aspersions on those living in the areas around Casement and Croker, in fact Drumcondra is quite and affluent middle-class area.

LetterkennyMan (Donegal) - Posts: 393 - 05/09/2012 13:02:27    1259766

It is nice to know that the people of West Belfast, never mind fellow Gaels, are held in such high esteem from those from neighbouring counties.

Its hard enough to listen to those from a unionist and british background continually berate the area and community I live among but im disgusted when it comes from people who should know better.

I also am aware that there are a few contibutors who hope that i and others will rise to the bait and maybe i am here, however, my issue is that it is the usual 'village geniuses' like Tom1916 and his ilk from Tyrone who continually enjoy insulting my community and do so at every given opportunity.

So keep up the good work Tom1916 et al, im sure you make pearse, connolly etc proud that youre a 'superduper irishman'.

As for redeveloping casement itself, well its in the countrys second city and the biggest city in Ulster so why shouldnt they move the football final there given the hurling one is already sorted.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 05/09/2012 14:57:41    1259908

bumpernut
It's shameful even in jest I've drawn attention to it above. There's a great GAA community up the West, those working for it deserve all the support and praise in the world particularly given the context they operate in. GAA and boxing to name a few have done untold good for the city's youth and the people involved need all the support and recognition they can get.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 05/09/2012 15:51:11    1259963

Its great news for our second city and all Antrim GAA people, as it should be fo all in Ulster GAA.

£40m or so from the Brits. Grab it fast.

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 05/09/2012 19:52:20    1260199

Lettterkennyman
The design team have just been appointed so no drawings at this point apparently they worked on Wembley (Whoops) and Emirates (Better).

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 05/09/2012 20:55:02    1260285

I would be in support of the main Ulster ground being located in Tyrone.
Tyrone is naturally the most central county in all of Ulster, and for that reason alone should be considered.

Take the money grant and build up Healy park into a super ground. The new A5/N2 Derry to Aughnacloy/Dublin dual carriageway would pass it, and lead to the Belfast motorway at Ballygawley. Omagh is certainly big enough to cater for huge crowds, and the new Dual carriageway would make access to it easy.

Then divide the pitch into 9 even sections, and bring equal amount of soil from every county in Ulster to make up the pitch. Also source the materials across the 9 Ulster counties. This would truely make the ground the home of Ulster GAA, were all 9 county teams could claim they play on home soil. Make a neutral venue.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 05/09/2012 21:13:22    1260321

The second city on this island is finally getting what it deserves a decent stadium,

Now my Donegal friend, if Donegal get to an Ulster final in 4 years time - you and the many fans will go.
Clones was the main venue because it was a train station town, close to the border with Mr O'duffey viving for it,
Clones was good - but its well past its sell by date,

If we want to improve then Casement is the answer

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 05/09/2012 21:23:39    1260333

cuchulainn35
County: Armagh

1260333 The second city on this island is finally getting what it deserves a decent stadium,

Now my Donegal friend, if Donegal get to an Ulster final in 4 years time - you and the many fans will go.
Clones was the main venue because it was a train station town, close to the border with Mr O'duffey viving for it,
Clones was good - but its well past its sell by date,

If we want to improve then Casement is the answer

I strongly disagree about Casement being the answer. Belfast gets enough trade with concerts and all sorts of large events.

I do agree that casement should be upgraded.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3057 - 05/09/2012 21:43:40    1260366

Great to see Casement being redeveloped but 40,000 is too big. We have too many white elephant stadia in the GAA. Why not do something different and turn it into a 20,000 all seater stadium with a roof. It could then be a real cash cow for the GAA as it could be also used for many other events such as concerts etc. and when in use for league and early rounds of the championship it would not look so empty. Dublin GAA did something similar with Parnell Park though without the roof.

mod (Mayo) - Posts: 859 - 05/09/2012 21:48:03    1260372

IS CASEMENT PARK ONE OF THE STADIUMS WHICH MAY BECOME AVAILABLE FOR THE RUGBY WORLD CUP? IF SO WHY NOT TAKE THE MONEY FORM THE RUGBY, THE BRITHISH GOVERNMENT AND BUILD A STATE OF THE ART STADIUM OF A FRACTION OF THE COST TO THE GAA.
BELFAST IS THE 2ND LARGEST CITY IN THE COUNTRY OK SO HALF THE PEOPLE UP THERE WOULD NEVER GO TO A GAA MATCH, THE THE NEW FACILITIES WOULD HELP TO PROMOTE GAA GAMES.
GO FOR IT.

premiumdub (Dublin) - Posts: 22 - 06/09/2012 09:14:41    1260432

Clones and Casement are the only two main pitches in Ulster not to undergo significant redevelopment over the last number of years. Infact, Clones has continually been the last to make the move.

They have not upgraded to a decent stand, they were the final pitch to have floodlights installed (and yet to be used) and the spectator facilities leave a lot to be desired - most of the same can be said about Casement. But with the Ulster Council backing the Casement project, does the Monaghan county board need to get its finger out and start a development of Clones soon? Pitches like the Athletic Grounds and Healy Park have overtaken it in my eyes

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 06/09/2012 09:51:08    1260450