These theatrics are creeping in everywhere, not just Mayo. gigoer (Wexford) - Posts: 1998 - 30/04/2012 12:25:35 1163042 Link 0 |
Well done rebel og an honest post cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1691 - 30/04/2012 12:33:50 1163058 Link 0 |
It was embarrassing, there's no other word for it. I agree it is prevalent in a lot of counties but Mayo certainly seem to the worst for it pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 30/04/2012 12:34:28 1163060 Link 0 |
Maybe it cost Mayo more in the end as the ref may have decided the RHB had dived when pushed in the back going through on goal and gave nothing. 20 seconds later the ball is in the Mayo net, at least a 4 point turnaround. O'Leary is quite a dangerous man no doubt but the best laugh was when the Mayo sub tried to take Cadogan late near the end and collapsed as if he had hit a brick wall. Cadogan's look of contempt was hysterical omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 30/04/2012 12:34:35 1163061 Link 0 |
Hopefully the newer generation is moving away from this as evidenced in the reaction of Cork's 19-year-old Conor Lehane to a shoulder in the chest from Michael Fennelly in the first minute of their league game. He simply got up again, passed the ball to Pat Horgan for the free and trotted back to his position. Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 30/04/2012 12:38:50 1163069 Link 0 |
vice99 jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/04/2012 12:43:35 1163078 Link 0 |
Lads Vaughan did the exact same thing against Dublin, he nailed Connolly with a shoulder from behind then Connolly ran after him and just when he was about to meet him Vaughan dived to the ground holding his face after not being touched. Embarrassing. clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/04/2012 12:45:01 1163081 Link 0 |
Lads it happens everywhere its all in the matter if the ref and officials see it or not. To be punished for it I dont think its necessary unless there is 0 contact made to the player because if a referee got a bad angle and reckoned he saw a dive and booked the diver when there was contact they would be criticisms made on HOGANSTAND and elswhere about referees, players , etc. Leitrim4conn (UK) - Posts: 24 - 30/04/2012 13:04:17 1163111 Link 0 |
Every fan should look at their own team all do it from every county not just mayo cork you get nothing for being nice in gaa stupid thread stupid wum s on ere trying to rise mayo and cork people mayo have enough fans to talkin about their own county s ye should look after your own county s and dont be worrying about mayo or cork what ye should be worry about is why your team were not their yesterday and not diving . Well done to cork yes day better team on day ref left few things go yesterday but on both sides day didnt help either side and its easy for egits who watch it on tv to say this and that was done and he and him should have been etc cork are top class team and wil be hard bet this year didnt relise colm o neil was as good very strong good player congrats cork hope we get another crack at ye later on in the year give people more stuff to talk about tiocfaidh as lä dannyone (Mayo) - Posts: 176 - 30/04/2012 13:04:23 1163112 Link 0 |
Lads Vaughan did the exact same thing against Dublin, he nailed Connolly with a shoulder from behind then Connolly ran after him and just when he was about to meet him Vaughan dived to the ground holding his face after not being touched. Embarrassing. JamesMayo (Mayo) - Posts: 126 - 30/04/2012 13:12:28 1163128 Link 0 |
Diving is a blight all right, this is the worst one I have ever seen. paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 30/04/2012 13:25:27 1163144 Link 0 |
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 30/04/2012 13:41:14 1163166 Link 0 |
I know you're only trying to get a rise out of our Northern cousins Paddy, but for once I almost agree with you. festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3154 - 30/04/2012 13:41:21 1163167 Link 0 |
paddyogall Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 30/04/2012 14:02:27 1163195 Link 0 |
Shocking by Canavan all right and not befitting his status as one of the greatest of all time. In Tyrone though we'll condemn our sportsmen who cheat instead of making excuses for them pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 30/04/2012 14:10:28 1163212 Link 0 |
pplocal paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 30/04/2012 14:13:49 1163218 Link 0 |
So now we have some circumstantial evidence of Mayos tactical diving, can we use that against them for the next 10 years or so? Maybe give it a label of some description, chunder football? Perhaps it can be used to undermine any success they may have in the future, not for begrudging reasons of course, but for the sake of genuine analysis. We could even say they invented it and it was the begininng the end of Gaelic Football. We could even tag it on to their province as well. Seems a bit far-fetched but... Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 30/04/2012 14:37:00 1163242 Link 0 |
Breffni39 paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 30/04/2012 14:42:06 1163248 Link 0 |
paddyogall Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 30/04/2012 14:47:25 1163253 Link 0 |
Its easy knowing I have Paddy rattled as he always brings up my job haha. Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 30/04/2012 14:50:36 1163259 Link 0 |