Standard of Refs

Leaving Mullingar yesterday I felt some what cheated by the Gaa and by the ref. How many times can a ref so strongly influence a game, i understand that a ref is human and can make bad calls, perhaps 1 or 2 a game, however yesterday was ridiculous to say the least and im sure everyone westmeath fan would agree. It left me thinking is it just poor standard or did the ref have some to gain from such a result.

I dont wana sound like a bad loser or always blaming the ref, but how many results in one championship will be decided by the ref?? I think refs should have to be held accountable for bad performances. A ref should never be a talking point yet they seem to be on a regular basis. I thought Pat Mac would have helped the situation as he was one of the best but he hasnt changed anything.

Easy for lads to say thats part of the game, itl balance itself out over the year....but really it shouldnt have to, could the GAA monitor refs performances better, could they improve the standards or have stronger punishments for bad performances......

Just think lads train from January for these poor decisions to put them out of the Championship........What is the point?

Sex (Louth) - Posts: 25 - 01/07/2012 14:38:25    1206188

Thought Coldrick had a poor game yesterday too. Some baffling decisions that went against both teams.

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 01/07/2012 14:50:07    1206196

How in the name of God can you blame the ref for your players stupidity. They struck. Red card. Get over it

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 01/07/2012 14:59:34    1206200

Do Louth ever actually lose a game or is it always the refs fault?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 01/07/2012 15:06:01    1206204

square_ball_69
County: Westmeath

How in the name of God can you blame the ref for your players stupidity. They struck. Red card. Get over it

Ye the first red card was a red card......the second wouldnt even merit a yellow card, were ya watching the same game?? Westmeath should of had two men sent off in the second half long before the sending off. Decisions all over the field went against Louth, any true Wmeath man would admit that.

Sex (Louth) - Posts: 25 - 01/07/2012 15:11:52    1206208

He caught him with a high tackle with a closed fist.. After this he tried to drag the clearly injured player back to his feet.. He deserved the red for stupidity alone. What were the two stone wall red cards for Westmeath out of curiosity?

square_ball_69 (Westmeath) - Posts: 826 - 01/07/2012 15:21:05    1206212

Standard of refin is disgraceful in both hurling and football, Gavin last week in the Tipp Cork game was a disgrace, and he has been for along time.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 01/07/2012 15:49:04    1206251

Reid was caught late on the head, was a red card, didnt get booked.
Dessie was brought down and him 1 on 1 with the keeper.....no booking. The same happened rooney.
Reid pulled down in the box, should have been a peno.
The foul on JP Rooney should have been a yellow and that guy was already on a yellow.
Heslin should have walked long before he did.

Do you actually think that was a good performance by the ref yest?

Sex (Louth) - Posts: 25 - 01/07/2012 17:30:41    1206412

The standard of reffin is poor . There is no consistency from one game to the next. And this so called 2/3 minutes of added time needs to be taken from the refs hands. Bring in the clock before some team get mullered over a bad timekeeping decision

richiej (UK) - Posts: 1430 - 01/07/2012 19:18:03    1206577

i thaught both refs in croker today vwere very poor
that clare fella hickey was only short of kicking the frees for wexford today and as for mick collins well how he blew for half time when meath were shooting was poor

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/07/2012 19:28:36    1206595

U say no sonsustency from game to game, I disagree its worse.

Dubs Connolly correctly sent for punch, Wex player should have got at least yellow for hitting him first.

A little earlier Eric Bradley punched Dubs midfielder in the face in the middle of the field, Ref wagged a finger at him.

Why the difference ? I dont thing its bias against a particular team but some refs only love to "sort out" a player with a reputation but then forget the rules apply to all 30 on the field.

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 01/07/2012 19:31:17    1206600

KELF

Well said, I can't understand some of the ref's decisions today Connolly deserved to walk, no arguments but the defender deserved a yellow atleast. In both games high tackles where inconsistently blown up, sometimes it was punished sometimes with a yellow and sometimes let go. Its the inconsistency that gets on players and fans nerves.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 01/07/2012 19:38:18    1206607

KELF

have to agree with you if connally deserved to go for hitting him how on earth did the wexford player not go too as he struck connally first its amazing how the umpire can only tell the ref to send connally off,and that ben brosnan goes then from any tackle and he kept getting frees he clearly throwing himself in front of the ref its about time the diving was clamped down on its no coincidence its the soccer style hairdo players and flashy boots that are doing this

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/07/2012 19:43:30    1206615

Refs were poor today. Shocking blown the whistle after meath shooting for a point would of been some contraversy if had of went over and meath lost by a point. Also wexford lad should of went aswell as connolly...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 01/07/2012 19:56:52    1206641

Threads like this are exactly what is wrong with the standard of refereeing.
Standard of referees will only improve when people show them respect, accept that they are human and will make mistakes. Only when that happens will better people be attracted to the job. How many people on here are referees, tried refereeing or would consider refereeing? Because if it's as easy as everyone says and they are all a disgrace, why dont you show us all how it's done?
(And by the way DUB1 Brian Malone did not deserve to go for his part in the Diarmiud Connolly incident, yes he should have been booked but did not deserve to be sent off)

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 01/07/2012 21:19:07    1206816

Pinkie
County: Wexford

Treads like this, are you havin a laugh???? This is a forum to discuss GAA issues and highlighting the poor standard of refs is definitely needed. Im not saying its the easiest job in the world, but your argument makes no sense at all, your trying to say its a hard job, there only human after all, try telling that to players who have trained all year for bad decisions to put them out the championship.

All my point is that the GAA need to address this problem, perhaps refs should be made accountable for there decisions. The standard of refs at the minute is very poor and I feel that improvements needs to be made.

Sex (Louth) - Posts: 25 - 01/07/2012 21:58:58    1206901

Whatever about red or yellow cards, the ref clearly cant count, connolly scored the first goal on the ninth step. When did that rule change ?

yellabelly (Wexford) - Posts: 1062 - 02/07/2012 08:23:25    1206916

Pinkie
County: Wexford

There is absolutley no excuse for the shocking referee at the Meath match none whatsoever it was littered with appalling errors and poor officiating. He could have caused mayhem with his ridiculous blow up. I coach at juvenile level and it beggars believe what passes for officiating but we grin and bear it. Unfortunately at Inter-county level what was served up over the weekend is just not good enough. A lot of people involved with the GAA will have children also playing other sports and there is just no comparison in this regard. There are very few sports where the referee's are "liked" but most will grudgingly respect them for doing a tough job. But my god what I saw over the weekend was shocking and ha to be very worrying for the tougher matches ahead.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4968 - 02/07/2012 09:11:47    1206957

Collins was a disaster in the Meath Kildare game.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 02/07/2012 09:27:43    1206987

Mr Louth man, have you ever made a mistake of human error and especially when you were under pressure? Referees are human and if you think a system whereby they are accountable for every decision they make which is wrong is the answer, well you wont have many referees very soon.
Looking at the Derry manager last night was only disgraceful. The referee made a perfectly correct decision but the manager did not agree, and made an attempt to vindicate his players by having a go at the referee.
I do think a 2nd referee should be deployed for games but overall the standard of refereeing is as good as it ever was. The big difference now is that supporters cannot accept the referee's decisions when they go against there team, regardless of whether he is right or not. The culture of abusing the referee has been allowed to continue unabated at club level which is why people are not interested in doing the job - sure why would you want that abuse most of us would say.
Why dont you look at the attitude of the players within your county, buggering off as soon as they are beaten in Leinster. That is the reason why you lost, not the referee.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 02/07/2012 09:32:14    1206993