THE GAA JUST MAKES IT UP AS IT GOES ALONG!!!!
Example 1. Refs demand 'Give Respect - Get Respect'! Whilst not talking about verbal abuse here or anything like that, but rather just 'the rules' seeing as they are supposed to be the custodians of the rules in every game. How are we supposed to respect refs when they for example, diminish the punishment given to one player to offset the supposedly harshness of punishment given to another player, ala Rushe/O'Dwyer.
Example 2. Patrons are not allowed enter the playing area after a game due to fears over health, safety and legals etc! Oh, but feel free to wander out onto the pitch at half time even for a puck around in any other grounds in the country!!!!!!....Ehh, why do the same rules not apply? Is it all still not the GAA afterall?
Example 3. Let the refs, ref the game and dont forget to 'Give Respect - Get Respect'! Then a few days after a match the GAA holds its own 'Referee Disrespect Convention' in HQ and its 'Roll Up, Roll Up and queue up here to get your red cards recinded, no problems at all!!!!
Example 4. Cynical fouling has no place in our games and we are introducing a new (totally nonsensical) 'rule' to cut it out! Then, numerous pundit types (OK, not GAA HQ in fairness) tell our TV screens "Yeah, you would be telling lads to drag down a fellah if he was on for goals and it meant ye might lose the match"!!
Example 5. ..............................numerous others!
The GAA, when it comes to any rule, policy, stance or ethos is totally spineless! It makes up things as it goes along and when its 'rules, policies, stance's or ethos comes up against a difficulty or something that asks questions of it, and Im not talking even about lofty ideals or political positions or anything like that even, Im just talking about simple things here like enforcing its own 'rules' outlined above it bends and sways so as not to upset anyone!
I feel the problem is this: The GAA is a local organisation but with this comes people knowing each other locally and hence I believe a reluctance to enforce the organisations rules locally so as not to upset anyone and hence things are done in a shabby way and people like me get the impression of the organisation I get and am expressing here!
I love the GAA insofar as I love the games and the club and all that, but I have no faith whatsoever in the teeth 'arms' of the higher organisation who are supposed to be the custodians of rules, policies, ethos, etc because I feel that they wear a 'parish' hat whilst dealing with a national organisation it is supposed to lead and be seen to lead properly!
Dont forget, the only rules/policy/ethos the GAA ever took very serious were Rukes 21 & 42!......in other words: 'The rules that alienated people and stopped people enjoying our games'!!! So you see, they have the ability to enforce rules when it suits them!!
Discuss!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 13/08/2013 13:22:30
Snuff,
your 110% correct. Each week the divide between the black suits and the people who make the GAA tick and it's players widens. I dunno how or why it has to be like this but those with the power are making a mockery of the give Respect Get Respect moto.
The GAA is built solely on one thing; our love for the games. In these tough times being an active member of your club or being a player won't put food on your table or pay your mortgage, the only thing keeping us all at it is our love for the game. Without us their would be no GAA..the powers that be will do well to remember that..
crossfieldball (Galway) - Posts: 650 - 13/08/2013 13:56:09
Example 5: Yep!....'The Black Card'!!!!
The worlds best example of half-arsed, ill thought out 'making it up as you go along' rubbish we have all come to expect from the organisation that tries its best in so many ways to make itself look stuipid over and over again!!!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/08/2013 17:23:25
Donegalman,
Draw your horns in lad and take caution in your tone! Try reading my post with an analytical eye and you will see that the only 'Example' I give that refs have express control over is Example 1!......and they are the only ones whom have it in their gift to influence that as it is their 'job'!.....The rest are in the gift of GAA HQ authorities!!
Wake up lad!....stop taking the easy route to making a point!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 24/08/2013 18:24:00
slayer,
I am a very modest person and would not be praising myself at all!
As a successful businessman who resides in the corporate box on match days I freely mingle with the ordinary people when I have to walk among them between Jurys Hotel and the Hogan Stand often indeed giving out food parcels and butter vouchers enroute!....you dont see me praising myself for that do you!
Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 24/08/2013 19:41:51