Leinster Minor Hurling: Kildare V Kilkenny

Not a fixture you'd see too often! Have the Lillywhites any chance? So far they've beaten Wicklow & Carlow while the Cats beat Laois & lost to Wexford. I reckon Laois will beat Offaly.

Leinster MHC quarter-finals
Kildare v Kilkenny, Newbridge, 2pm
Laois v Offaly, Portlaoise, 5.15pm

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4105 - 17/05/2013 17:55:16    1385882

I predict that we wont be as bad as Kilkenny minor footballers were against our footballers. Unlike Kilkenny in football we do as other football counties have an underage hurling structure in Kildre.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 3070 - 17/05/2013 18:38:34    1385908

but it has not been doing a lot has it?

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 3115 - 17/05/2013 19:19:11    1385935

From what I know there's a good bit of hurling in Kildare. Particularly round Leixlip and Celbridge. Kildare posters forgive me if I've left out some strongholds!

Hopefully they give a good account of themselves.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 17/05/2013 19:27:02    1385939

Coill Dubh has a fine history as a hurling club. Confey are strong too.

As I said on another thread, Kildare has the population to be in a position to forge a new tradition & establish itself as a future force in hurling.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4105 - 17/05/2013 21:53:42    1386027

I hope the lads give a good account of themselves, they have nothing to lose.

There's great work being done by many clubs in Kildare to promote hurling - Celbridge, Naas, Confey, Ardclough etc. It's a pity there's not more support for the game from the administrators in the county.

beir_bua (Kildare) - Posts: 746 - 18/05/2013 10:44:52    1386053

lilywhite1

I predict that we wont be as bad as Kilkenny minor footballers were against our footballers. Unlike Kilkenny in football we do as other football counties have an underage hurling structure in Kildre.

To be honest I don't think too many people would be surprised if we were on the receiving end of a hiding today, playing the big teams is all part of the development process though and what the lads learn from it and how they respond to it is the important thing. The problem with the Kilkenny minors was that everybody could see it coming and it wasn't a shock to see them pull out afterwards, that's a different debate altogether though.

Stmunnsriver
County: Wexford

but it has not been doing a lot has it?

I must have imagined those two Leinster titles we won at minor and under 21 level last year so.

It's very hard to deny that progress is being made, little acorns, might oaks.

17/05/2013 19:27:02
MesAmis

You really missed out.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 18/05/2013 12:57:41    1386114

A couple of young lads from home are on this Kildare team, one in particular has given some serious performances for the club in senior league and championship, son of a Kildare Legend. Hopefully it won't be a wipeout, that wont do anything for hurling here.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2651 - 18/05/2013 13:51:19    1386139

For those interested Kilkenny are leading 7-14 to 1-6 with 10 or so minutes to go.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 18/05/2013 15:11:22    1386179

7-16 to 1-9 at full time.

Hardly a shock to be fair, hopefully the lads aren't too down about it and are able to learn from todays defeat, a definite step up in opposition anyways.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 18/05/2013 15:46:40    1386206

Not bad, scoring 1-9 against Kilkenny.

bryanadams (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 18/05/2013 15:51:27    1386214

Also considering a few people were wondering how our hurlers would get on against Kilkenny after our minor footballers hammered their Kilkenny counterparts at least now we have the answer.

The gap between both counties footballers is greater than the gap between the hurlers...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3694 - 18/05/2013 15:53:52    1386216

kildare hurlers put in better score against kilkenny then kilkenny footballers did against kildare and its easier to run up bigger scores in hurling.also take into account kildare footballers took their points in that match where as kilkenny hurlers ran up goals it proves the theory people had being saying that kilkenny hurlers would probably double what kildare footballers done well wide of the mark

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/05/2013 16:34:23    1386245

Fair play to Kildare at least they are trying to make progress in regards to hurling, the same can not be said for KK in football.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 18/05/2013 17:03:38    1386263

If in doubt

I know man.

Herself is away so I was at home minding!

Caught it on the box tho.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13846 - 18/05/2013 19:19:57    1386328