NFL Division One: Discussion on a very competitive group

We've had betting topics and predictions but not much discussion. Who's likely to do well in this years league? Who'll be for the drop to the very competitive division 2?

In terms of challengers for the league, I'll reluctantly look past my own county but with semi-finals we can be in the shake-up. That leads to the question, are semi-finals good for the league, with 8 teams and 7 games, for a league, maybe not but it's the route being taken now. Looking past the All-Ireland finalists, who's likely to mount the main challenge?

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 9801 - 03/02/2012 11:53:14    1104756

Winners: Cork
Runners up: Dublin
Semi-Finalists: Kerry and Mayo
Relegation: Laois and Donegal.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 03/02/2012 12:21:55    1104784

Yes a competitive league 1. Down almost made semis last year with 4 away games and 3 at home. This year we also have 4 on the road including in Cork for 2nd year running. Home or away obviously makes a big difference. Dublin for example are unpredictable away from croker and travel 4 times this year. Kerry usually have a decent league and I would fancy them to be the shake up. Cork have 4 games at home and should also be fancied. Armagh without the Cross contingent could struggle. Donegal will obviously miss Murphy and are without other regulars. I feel they may tweak their ultra defensive tactics which may cause them bother. Laois with 4 home games could cause an upset or two. Mayo an unknown force for me.
My League 1 prediction - Kerry

ballybannongael (Down) - Posts: 547 - 03/02/2012 12:38:57    1104796

Hard to look past Dublin, Cork, Kerry and Mayo for the Semis. If I have to choose an outsider, I would go for Armagh.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 03/02/2012 12:41:15    1104800

Mayo will struggle to hang on in there. We will finish sixth again. Kerry, Donegal, Dublin and Cork for the semi's with Kerry winning it.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 03/02/2012 12:45:26    1104803

I think that the introduction of semi -finals could have a big impact on who will actually lift the NFL Division 1 trophy. Equally interesting is who will make it two the semis.

The need to avoid being caught in a relegation fight will push all to aim for a top 4 finish so I suspect that the early games will be very competitive with very little experimentation and mostly full strength teams being fielded. After that whether teams really have the appetite for two more league games will very much depend on their Championship strategy. A second or third place finisher may be more focused to win a league semi and final than a team whose year will be judged on AI performance.

It's not a very original prediction but I would be reasonably confident that last year's top 3 (Dublin, Cork & Kerry) will make the semis with the fourth spot between Down & Mayo. Down have 4 home games (Donegal, Kerry, Dublin & Laois) and a much stronger mid-field than last year. Mayo are well placed to build on last year. This may come down to the head to head between the two.

By contrast Armagh will be without the Crossmaglen players and Ronan Clarke against Cork, Kerry, Mayo and Dublin. Donegal have been weakened for the opening rounds by injuries. Laois, I suspect, will be happy just to survive in Division 1 but perhaps could be the surprise package.

This weekend is crucial with Cork, Down & Mayo each needing 2 points from the opening games if they are to be confident of a top 4 finish.

kickpass (Down) - Posts: 208 - 03/02/2012 13:34:07    1104836

Cant see Donegal doing to well at the start anyway with out endless list of injuries ! Murphy out for at least 3 and McFadden out for 2 will be huge loss. Mark McHugh is a doubtfull with a groin injury but I hear he is training this week. Eamon McGee and Eoin waide also doubtfulls. McGee with groin i think and waide with brokenthumb or something

up_donegal (Donegal) - Posts: 659 - 03/02/2012 16:51:56    1105045

I think Mayo will have to take the league seriously this year. They will need a semi final/final appearance to give them some competitive action before their easy introduction to the championship. They might not get a right test again until the Connacht final.
Other semi finalists Cork, Kerry and Down

Westmayo (Mayo) - Posts: 335 - 03/02/2012 17:20:34    1105071

The thing about division one in my own honest opinion is that anyone can literally beat anyone else.

Dublin (All ireland champions), Kerry (All ireland runners up), Cork (All ireland champs 2010), Mayo (All ireland semi finalists), Donegal (All Ireland semi finalists), Down (All ireland runners up 2010) and Laois/Armagh (Noteable exceptions in last 2 or 3 years) have all been there or thereabouts in either 2010 or 11. Mayo of corse got to a league final in 2010 , Dublin last year. So really on any given day anyone can beat anyone which is fantastic to see.

You can make an argument for any of the top 6 to go on and win division one. Dublin are All ireland champions , Kerry and Cork have won leagues between them in the last 6-8 years, Mayo of corse as i already mentioned have been beaten finalists recently so by that anyone can go on to claim the title so the next few months will be entralling to say the least

For my winners i will go for Cork, They have won the last two and i expect them to win it again. Dublin who havent been beaten in the league since March 2010 (Galway defeated us by one goal) will be there or there abouts again if they take it as seriously as they have done the previous two years. My dark horse for the league is actually Armagh.. I dont think they will win it but i believe they can make the final. Laois to be relegated along with donegal.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 03/02/2012 17:24:55    1105073

Strange to see anyone tipping Armagh as dark horses.... from my perspective I would regard it as a huge achievement to stay up this year.... Don't think anyone in Armagh is looking past that!!

JP91 (Armagh) - Posts: 316 - 03/02/2012 18:14:39    1105105

1. Down
2. Cork
3. Dublin
4. Armagh
5. Kerry
6. Donegal
7. Laois
8. Mayo

52cavans (Cavan) - Posts: 8 - 03/02/2012 18:33:40    1105122

Laois are lucky in that their more winnable games are at home . Down mayo and Armagh . Someone above said down are home to laois but that's incorrect . We are away to cork and Kerry which is fine cause they'd bash us anywhere

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 818 - 03/02/2012 18:55:32    1105142

52cavans

1105122 1. Down
2. Cork
3. Dublin
4. Armagh
5. Kerry
6. Donegal
7. Laois
8. Mayo

What part of Galway are you from ;-)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 03/02/2012 19:17:25    1105160

Playing at Croker is a huge advantage to Dublin during the league,it's great that they can blood players on the big stage,over a few games,big big help on them winning the all-Ireland last year,anyway I expect another Dublin and Cork final,as for relegation? Laois and Armagh

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/02/2012 20:50:21    1105206

Next Saturday's game at McHale Park is huge for the Dubs now. Lose it and they'll struggle to make the Semi's.

Delighted with Mayo's win in Portlaoise last night, played poorly and came away with a comfortable 6 point win.

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 05/02/2012 15:58:26    1105739

Cracker of a game some comeback from Armagh

b.mullins (Dublin) - Posts: 1413 - 05/02/2012 16:03:06    1105742

Armagh and Cork was a crackin game in the end.
Malachy Mackin was excellent, nice to see all the
lads shakin hands and gettin on after an intense
battle. A great alternative to the other over-hyped
sports on at the same time.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 05/02/2012 16:08:01    1105752

Armagh robbed by a very ordinary Cork side. Own goal was a shame. On this evidence Armagh should stay up. Cork same as ever , big ,strong but little in way of real class.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 05/02/2012 16:11:57    1105756

Much improved second half performance from Armagh when all 15 men started pressuring the ball - wee bit of composure lacking otherwise it could have been a famous win. Mackin put in a great shift again once pulled back into the middle.

crossranger (Armagh) - Posts: 96 - 05/02/2012 16:58:40    1105780

TheGateKeeper

1105752 Armagh and Cork was a crackin game in the end.
Malachy Mackin was excellent, nice to see all the
lads shakin hands and gettin on after an intense
battle. A great alternative to the other over-hyped
sports on at the same time.

watched it meself lad start to finish though armagh were in for a hiding but the most exciting game of the league so far compared to the rest played what a come back should have one missed 2 chances late on but id imagine that was down to tired legs,shocking goal though but anyway great game well done armagh

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 05/02/2012 17:02:22    1105786