Kildare V Mayo

Replying To mayo_123:  "one thing for sure is kildare will be in croke park sat eve and can o neill will have to eat some humble pie after comments he made on news"
No they won't. And mayo if they have any bottle won't be either. Stand by Lillie's. Don't let mayo bottle it again.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2018 21:39:19    2115001

Fair play to Kildare.

About time someone took a stand, the same should happen every time Dublin get drawn away to play somewhere that's not suitable!!

It's another case of the GAA bigwigs making it up as they go along with the only excuse being to make as much money as possible.

Good on them.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1354 - 25/06/2018 21:41:06    2115002

Any Kildare fans who have bought tickets for the game in Croke Park should probably ask for that transaction to be cancelled, stick the GAA where it hurts them.

spiritofeslin (Leitrim) - Posts: 136 - 25/06/2018 21:43:32    2115003

The GAA is one big farce. I don't have much faith in them since they made a balls of the Leinster Final in 2010. I'm with the lillies here 100%. They are my second team in Leinster. Stand your ground and don't give in. The GAA only care about the big teams.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 25/06/2018 21:43:53    2115004

If this was about 'capacity issues' in newbridge, then the logical fix would be Portlaoise and Clones for the Cavan Tyrone match. (Believe me, nobody here wants the trip to Dublin).
But this is a Sky call, pure and simple. Time has now come to stand against it. All Cavan and Tyrone supporters should boycott Croke Park on Saturday. How will that look on Sky Main Event?

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 25/06/2018 21:47:17    2115007

Replying To clondalkindub:  "A bit worried of safety ? Give over they'll all be fine , Kildare have a venue that holds ten thousand what's the problem here? They were drawn out first and should have home advantage and as we can see Mayo have no problem going to Newbridge. Please don't start the "safety worried" bs"
Just my opinion, ive played at the ground and been there i would say well over 100 times.

Roads will be gridlocked, no parking, there is one stand and grassy verges, the stand if it holds 1000 people its doing well, one terrace. The one narrow entrance and exit is straight onto the busy main street and a narrow foot path. Ive been to county finals, OB Cup games in it and its been ropey. It really is an awful venue thats not fit for purpose, if a crowd of 15l-20k turn up it wont be safe its that simple really. The ground isnt fit for purpose or safe in my opinion.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4446 - 25/06/2018 21:47:27    2115008

There must be something stirring and this has tipped it off. A lot of angry posts and rightfully so. We're starting to sound like GAA hippies wanting some changes made. Even RoyalDunne is backing Kildare. A beautiful thing.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7386 - 25/06/2018 21:51:34    2115011

I can appreciate where people are coming from. Though Tyrone will always prefer to travel as we generally are worse at home anyway. 'Home disadvantage'

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 25/06/2018 21:54:56    2115014

Replying To royaldunne:  "No they won't. And mayo if they have any bottle won't be either. Stand by Lillie's. Don't let mayo bottle it again."
this coming from a bunch of nobodys in the modern era,

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 25/06/2018 21:55:19    2115015

Replying To Vishred:  "this coming from a bunch of nobodys in the modern era,"
At least they dont blame a curse for their inability to win when it counts!

MadgeKing (Cavan) - Posts: 493 - 25/06/2018 22:02:00    2115020

Are there any loopholes for the GAA to get around it?

Health and Safety is an excuse used by the GAA to get more money. They done it in Ulster this year charging in under 16s. Said they had to charge people for health and safety reasons....

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 25/06/2018 22:02:15    2115021

Replying To Vishred:  "this coming from a bunch of nobodys in the modern era,"
And how many all ire have mayo got in modern era compared to Meath??? Yeah good lad. BOTTLERS. And not to forget that glorious all ire final replay in 96.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2018 22:03:16    2115022

Replying To TheUsername:  "Just my opinion, ive played at the ground and been there i would say well over 100 times.

Roads will be gridlocked, no parking, there is one stand and grassy verges, the stand if it holds 1000 people its doing well, one terrace. The one narrow entrance and exit is straight onto the busy main street and a narrow foot path. Ive been to county finals, OB Cup games in it and its been ropey. It really is an awful venue thats not fit for purpose, if a crowd of 15l-20k turn up it wont be safe its that simple really. The ground isnt fit for purpose or safe in my opinion."
I don't agree , it's all ticket it will be grand.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/06/2018 22:07:37    2115026

Replying To GreenandRed:  "link

There must be something stirring and this has tipped it off. A lot of angry posts and rightfully so. We're starting to sound like GAA hippies wanting some changes made. Even RoyalDunne is backing Kildare. A beautiful thing."
HAHA. Never thought I'd see the day myself lol.
But someone has to take a stand, we can't continue like this. Rules are rules. Kildare were drawn first, they have home advantage unless they want to change to a venue OF THEIR choosing. They don't.
My one issue with this is mayo, they must stand with a county, it's Kildare this time, but as this mayo team recedes it could be mayo soon.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/06/2018 22:09:18    2115027

Replying To royaldunne:  "And how many all ire have mayo got in modern era compared to Meath??? Yeah good lad. BOTTLERS. And not to forget that glorious all ire final replay in 96."
You've managed to use an issue that is none of Mayo's making or fault to have a pop at Mayo for no good reason at all. You do realise that you're behaving like a 10 year old?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 25/06/2018 22:11:41    2115031

Replying To MadgeKing:  "If this was about 'capacity issues' in newbridge, then the logical fix would be Portlaoise and Clones for the Cavan Tyrone match. (Believe me, nobody here wants the trip to Dublin).
But this is a Sky call, pure and simple. Time has now come to stand against it. All Cavan and Tyrone supporters should boycott Croke Park on Saturday. How will that look on Sky Main Event?"
This is exactly it. Sky have everything set up for matches in Croker I assume given so many games there. Not having in Croker would involve then incurring extra costs setting up in 2 provincial venues. Bless them, we can't have that. They don't make their millions that way.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 25/06/2018 22:12:04    2115032

Replying To royaldunne:  "And how many all ire have mayo got in modern era compared to Meath??? Yeah good lad. BOTTLERS. And not to forget that glorious all ire final replay in 96."
your irrelevant now, and you will be watching us again this summer ;)

Vishred (Mayo) - Posts: 303 - 25/06/2018 22:12:22    2115033

Replying To royaldunne:  "No they won't. And mayo if they have any bottle won't be either. Stand by Lillie's. Don't let mayo bottle it again."
I was wondering when the smart ass Mayo jokes would start...:your in no position to talk considering ye failed to give poor Louth a replay after that fiasco a few years back.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11248 - 25/06/2018 22:12:43    2115034

Replying To royaldunne:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "link

There must be something stirring and this has tipped it off. A lot of angry posts and rightfully so. We're starting to sound like GAA hippies wanting some changes made. Even RoyalDunne is backing Kildare. A beautiful thing."
HAHA. Never thought I'd see the day myself lol.
But someone has to take a stand, we can't continue like this. Rules are rules. Kildare were drawn first, they have home advantage unless they want to change to a venue OF THEIR choosing. They don't.
My one issue with this is mayo, they must stand with a county, it's Kildare this time, but as this mayo team recedes it could be mayo soon."
It's absolutely ridiculous to have any issue with Mayo over this. Mayo have done nothing wrong! Throwing the whole "bottlers" thing around for absolutely no good reason, it is clearly obvious that you have some issues when it comes to Mayo. What happened?

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 25/06/2018 22:14:44    2115038

100% behind Kildare here, they gave taken a stand not only for themselves but for the good of the wider Association. I have been posting my concerns for quite a while at the direction the GAA is going. It's NO longer about the greater good but the corporate concerns of a small minority. I have nothing against SKY as a a broadcaster but there was going to come a time when their money and influence started to dictate. The Super 8s and matches at Croke Park seem to be their main interest and the GAA suits are facilitating this for SKY. It's leaving a lot of angry, frustrated and very disillusioned Gaels in it's wake.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9719 - 25/06/2018 22:14:59    2115039