Martin McGuinness RIP

Had the pleasure of being in his company once at a rugby match and function of all things. Just a normal bloke that seemed to seek a bit of craic at every opportunity. Regarding the troubles, they would have happened just as bad with or without him, however they would no way have ended when they did had he not been involved in the first place, such was the esteem he held in republicanism.

RIP

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 21/03/2017 22:15:54    1969761

RIP Martin Mc Guinness.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 21/03/2017 22:28:23    1969768

Replying To gotmilk:  "I share the thoughts of a lot of you on this thread. Driving into work this morning a sense of fear and sadness came over me. I'm afraid of the direction the Republican movement in the North will head. Will it follow the way of the DUP and watch the principles disappear for greed. I hope it doesn't. Will republicanism have a leadership that will be willing to bend as much as Martin was for the greater good. There is no doubt that Martin McGuiness was willing to look at the bigger picture and the broader community. It may not seem it to some in the south but the moves he made in relation to policing had a lot of people who would have been supporters of his in the past vying for his blood. What may have seemed like simple gestures were actually quite massive when you consider the backwards nature of a lot of people in Northern Ireland. Shaking the Queens hand and going to a NI soccer game were massive step forwards.

For a man that I never met I am actually quite upset. Martin McGuiness did not know any of my family members but he had a massive impact on our lives and the lives of Catholics up and down the country. At a time when we were been treated as second class citizens in our own country, a time when we could not get a job, we could not vote, we could not get an education, we couldn't even be christened what we wanted to be (my father is known as Sean but on his birth cert his name is John because those over the birth cert refused to accept Sean as a legitimate name.), he fought back. He stood up for the people who were being punished, he fought back for those that were being discriminated against, he fought back for those that were being burned from their homes, he fought back for those who were considered legitimate targets by security forces and loyalist paramilitaries based on where they went on a Sunday morning. He also had the vision to realise that you could only fight back so much before you had to talk to your enemy and work out your differences from there.

There are only two politicians this island has produced that I feel cared about it's citizens. Both are now deceased, one was David Ervine, the other Martin McGuiness. This island is definitely the poorer for both being deceased. It is now time for those with the capabilities to stand up and deliver like both of these men did."
Great post GotMilk.

RIP Martin

Solas na bhFlaitheas dá anam uasal

turkeyplucker (UK) - Posts: 137 - 22/03/2017 09:46:31    1969851

RIP Martin.

If the boys up in the Dail today ever done half as much as he done for peace and for his country, they'd be doing well.

A true Gael.

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - Posts: 174 - 22/03/2017 10:36:05    1969869

Replying To Monaghansclown:  "RIP Martin.

If the boys up in the Dail today ever done half as much as he done for peace and for his country, they'd be doing well.

A true Gael."
Even Gerry Adams?

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 22/03/2017 11:23:49    1969890

He was a good man who did many bad things. However, crucially, he died a good man in a country where many people are alive today who may not be if it were not for him and David Ervine.

For me the two biggest heroes of the entire process are McGuinness and Ervine.

RIP Martin, in the end, you did your country and your people, all of your people, a great service

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/03/2017 11:40:23    1969897

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "He was a good man who did many bad things. However, crucially, he died a good man in a country where many people are alive today who may not be if it were not for him and David Ervine.

RIP Martin, in the end, you did your country and your people, all of your people, a great service"
It's amazing how anybody could couple David Irvine with Martin McGuinness - unbelievable. R.I.P Martin, a true leader in whatever field he was involved in.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 22/03/2017 12:44:59    1969919

RIP Martin.

I think Gerry put it very well, that he didn't go to war - the war came to him.

A great leader and people underestimate how much danger he put himself in by negotiating with the British, even going to an NI match would have caused him problems. And in the face of one of the most obstinate leaders of the DUP I've ever come across, he was always dignified.

Republicanism has lost a giant.

Codladh sámh

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 22/03/2017 13:04:20    1969937

RIP Martin

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 22/03/2017 13:35:04    1969960

RIP Martin. A builder of bridges and a true Republican.

LetterkennyMan (Donegal) - Posts: 393 - 22/03/2017 14:43:45    1969989

The peace process would not have happened without the IRAs secret negotiations with the British Government - that's a fact among the academics .

Terrible things have happened in all conflicts including the Irish Free States struggle in the turn of the century .

RIP Martin

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 22/03/2017 15:09:58    1970007

Replying To neverright:  "It's amazing how anybody could couple David Irvine with Martin McGuinness - unbelievable. R.I.P Martin, a true leader in whatever field he was involved in."
They were both exceptional men who took huge risks to end the killing. Fair play to both of them.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 22/03/2017 16:15:08    1970030

Thinking of Martin today, googled his famous speech at the 1986 Ard Dheis, what an Irishman, what a legacy.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 22/03/2017 21:15:17    1970162

Rest in peace Martin, a great man who did his best for his country and never forgot his roots, very sad to die so young,he deserved a good long happy retirement after a lifetime of struggle, he will never be forgotten,
Ar dheis Dé do raibh a anam.

El_Torro (Tyrone) - Posts: 155 - 22/03/2017 22:27:19    1970197

Replying To browncows:  "RIP
A remarkable Irish man- grew up in very difficult times in the north of our country. His brother (Tom McGuiness) was a top Derry inter county midfielder in the 70's, which not many folk may have known."
Yes, I recall Tom playing for Derry,
Think he might have won an AI under 21 title in late 60s.
I also saw him play League of Ireland soccer with Finn Harps

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 506 - 22/03/2017 22:37:30    1970200

RIP Martin..

delordub (Kildare) - Posts: 108 - 22/03/2017 23:05:28    1970214

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "He was a good man who did many bad things. However, crucially, he died a good man in a country where many people are alive today who may not be if it were not for him and David Ervine.

RIP Martin, in the end, you did your country and your people, all of your people, a great service"
I agree but I'd have John Hume up there.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 22/03/2017 23:23:34    1970221

Replying To yew_tree:  "I agree but I'd have John Hume up there."
I agree re Hume, David Ervine's role is/was overplayed.
He obviously was more progressive than others in the UVF/PUP,however, im not sure if the influence he had in the 90s would have been allowed to continue.
The side lining of more progressive elements after his death within the PUP/UVF, namely Dawn Purvis (his protégé) and seemingly now Sophie Long, suggest they are anything but a progressive party.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 23/03/2017 10:44:23    1970302

RIP Martin McGuinness - A hero to many, and a proud son of Derry.

As a northern Catholic & Irish Republican my heart is sore today. Ireland has lost one of her greats. Martin, you will be sorely missed.

My thoughts and prayers are with his entire family circle, his comrades, his city and for the Republican family all over Ireland.

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 23/03/2017 12:00:56    1970347

RIP Martin, I think for anyone under 35 from the south is is very had to imagine the darkness of the North in the 60's & 70's. Martin lived through this and worked hard in everything he done to make it a better place, which it thankfully is now. Martin's hard and courageous work will be remembered for hundreds of years to come. While his death is a massive loss to his family it is also a massive loss to Irish politics, he leave very big shoes to fill and I hope someone of his foresight is brave enough and capable enough to come forward and fill them. Any politician can speak and give sound bites but with Martin he lead by his actions and courage and for that the people of this island will be forever indebted to you. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 23/03/2017 12:11:58    1970353