Donegal vs Tyrone

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Far too many posters from round the country being complimentary for my liking, to me it shows that we are still not seen as serious contenders.

God be with the days when all we got was abuse, that's when you know you are seen as a real threat."
Fair point.

But Donegal are in a better place than many predicted at the start of the year.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 18/03/2017 23:19:33    1968334

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Far too many posters from round the country being complimentary for my liking, to me it shows that we are still not seen as serious contenders.

God be with the days when all we got was abuse, that's when you know you are seen as a real threat."
ha nice.

Good performance

Tyrone weren't at the races though. I wonder what kind of training have they been at or did they just not want to show anything.

What I liked though is that we didn't get drawn into the dirty side of it. Whenever there was a melee we somehow got back into the football very quickly.
Paddy McGrath was silly to get a black card but he scored so ill let him away with it for once.

I hope there no injuries across the board. I worry about players like ban. His style of play involves alot of running and taking alot of hits. This means that 4 games (3 against tyrone and 1 monaghan) in 2 weeks is very tough going. In saying that he was superb again today.

Credit where credit is due I thought Eamon Doherty was solid today. Best game for Donegal I would say.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 18/03/2017 23:34:04    1968342

Replying To The_Fridge:  "God help us if this is the type if "supporter" Tyrone produce."
take off the rose tinted glasses lad, Donegal played at least 4 u21s tonight and had a few more on the bench who played on wed night, but yet mh still puts out the same sort of team playing the same tactics. How are lads meant to get experience of big games. I pays me money and i'm entitled to an opinion and I;m certainly not sorry if you don't like my criticism of mh but when sitting in ballybofey ball froze and soaked watching that tonite and seeing tyrone carved up it certainly looks like a few players just can't handle wet conditions and certainly their shot choices left a lot to be desired, even Cavanagh looked resigned to a defeat early on. So get over yourself because playing like tonight won't get us far this summer. And the conditions were the same for both teams.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 19/03/2017 01:16:25    1968358

I wouldn't entirely agree Muck, I think it means other counties a have well earned respect for Donegal and still see them as a threat for the time being, I do for one!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 19/03/2017 01:49:20    1968363

Replying To bulmccabe:  "take off the rose tinted glasses lad, Donegal played at least 4 u21s tonight and had a few more on the bench who played on wed night, but yet mh still puts out the same sort of team playing the same tactics. How are lads meant to get experience of big games. I pays me money and i'm entitled to an opinion and I;m certainly not sorry if you don't like my criticism of mh but when sitting in ballybofey ball froze and soaked watching that tonite and seeing tyrone carved up it certainly looks like a few players just can't handle wet conditions and certainly their shot choices left a lot to be desired, even Cavanagh looked resigned to a defeat early on. So get over yourself because playing like tonight won't get us far this summer. And the conditions were the same for both teams."
Was it the same conditions in the Dublin game when we drew, arguably should of won? That's something you would here from some ole boy about 80 years of age, "Tyrone don't like getting their hair wet". It's actually laughable. Tyrone have won many games in wet weather.
Again Tyrone may have had a tough week with training, we don't know. I'm disappointed the same as the rest of the Tyrone supporters but it's a league game in March. We have 7 points, joint top of the table and aren't going to get relegated. If we qualify for the top two it would be a pleasant bonus but if not it's not the end of the roll.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 19/03/2017 08:49:03    1968384

Replying To essmac:  "Very poor by Tyrone. Well done Donegal. Tyrone are nowhere near where they need to be."
I've said it a few times in previous posts Tyrone are a very good team with lots of potential but too many "nice" footballers who haven't got it when the chips are down unless Mickey decides to play the players who've got the fire in the belly that's needed at this level. Somebody got slated for talking about hair gel and fake tan but he isn't as far from the truth as people think. Donegal were fantastic and will have a big say this year - those 2 new lads in midfield are real gems - fair play Donegal.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 19/03/2017 08:50:54    1968386

On the contrary to some of the Tyrone lads I think they came for a battle and were maybe a bit surprised by our first half performance. We tackled ferociously but there was no nonsense in the first half at all, we played some great stuff and Thompson hit a few brilliant points. Add on some very bad wides for Tyrone, away from home with ourselves in the ascendency and that's a hard match to claw back from 5 points down. You's will be a completely different proposition come championship time.

I was absolutely delighted with our lads I have to say. I hope in the summer when we inevitably have a poor game from our forwards that the talk of Murphy in the square gets shot down quickly. He is too important to us and he is showing how fantastic he can be in the middle third.

A brilliant performance from him. I still expect lazy analysts to trot out the old lines about us because they take a couple years to catch up with what's happening on the pitch. We're a young, very fast team now and confidence is flowing through them. The thing is, we will give you chances as well. I'm impressed with our one-on-one defending so far this year, but even at 5 points up I wasn't comfortable. We can let a team in for a handy goal, whereas the 2012 team I'd have been planning for the next match at 5 points up.

Really pleased with how we've gone since the Kerry match. And great to keep our Ballybofey record in tact as well.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 19/03/2017 09:56:12    1968398

Very good performance from Donegal but Tyrone played nowhere near their usual high standard. I don't think we should get carried away as it is only a league match in March, it will be a different story come championship time when these two teams inevitably meet.

Tyrone are a much better side than they showed last night and I don't think they need to panic. Their shooting was poor but the conditions were difficult. As for Donegal it is great to see us competing so well with the big teams as I honestly thought we would be in a relegation battle.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 19/03/2017 16:13:05    1968529

I said on the Donegal for Sam thread that it was a great performance from the donegal lads.It was also a performance lacking any real intensity from Tyrone.The half time lead.....maybe a heavy weeks training and the poor weather also contributed to a below par performance.All teams can have an off day like that,wouldn't worry too much just yet.We took care of Cavan quite convincingly last week and they in turn got a great victory over Mayo today but I'm sure most people still rate Mayo in the top 3/4 teams.About the hair gel and fake tans......quite funny but a bit unfair.We dont credit the hair and fake tan when these lads turn in a good performance.The most obvious player that this would seem to refer to to my mind would be Tiernan Mc Cann,and to be honest I think he has been playing great over all.Barging forward and creating plays and bangin over some scores of his own also.Maybe posters are referring to other players? The lads looked a bit flat yesterday but losing a game in the league in March can be a good thing to help teams look at their shortcomings and get better prepared for the next game.Still plenty to be hopeful about for the year ahead.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 19/03/2017 17:39:03    1968601

Replying To seanie_boy:  "I said on the Donegal for Sam thread that it was a great performance from the donegal lads.It was also a performance lacking any real intensity from Tyrone.The half time lead.....maybe a heavy weeks training and the poor weather also contributed to a below par performance.All teams can have an off day like that,wouldn't worry too much just yet.We took care of Cavan quite convincingly last week and they in turn got a great victory over Mayo today but I'm sure most people still rate Mayo in the top 3/4 teams.About the hair gel and fake tans......quite funny but a bit unfair.We dont credit the hair and fake tan when these lads turn in a good performance.The most obvious player that this would seem to refer to to my mind would be Tiernan Mc Cann,and to be honest I think he has been playing great over all.Barging forward and creating plays and bangin over some scores of his own also.Maybe posters are referring to other players? The lads looked a bit flat yesterday but losing a game in the league in March can be a good thing to help teams look at their shortcomings and get better prepared for the next game.Still plenty to be hopeful about for the year ahead."
I agree with a lot here. I think that Tyrone may have been at the wrong end of heavy training. Sometimes at this time of the year weights are involved and it could have been just that. I also believe that the big plus of the Donegal team this year is youth. They are really very fast indeed and it will take a team to foul us to stop us. Couple this with Frank McGlynn, Murphy, Neil McGee and McGrath breaking up the pitch and we have a lot going for us. The older lads seem to be reignited by the likes of Eoin Ban, Eoin McHugh, Ciaran Thompson, Jason McGee and a few others. I normally would be very careful to up a team and their chances, but I am at the stage now of believing that there is no point in playing beal bocht, you should credit your team or any team if they are performing well and playing the game well. I am looking forward to the Monaghan game. I think it will be a good and very different test of our lads. As for the last game in Castlebar, that will be playing against the grip of a drowning man, also a great test.

As for Tyrone, I think they have the talent to push on past this result . It was only one game. You also have to consider that they went to croke park and almost beat the dubs. That has to be factored into any criticism of the team. However, there seems to be a defaulting pattern in Tyrone that when it comes to big games, they seem to go missing somewhat. I think that Sean Kavanagh will have to play out of his skin this year, as well as he has played in 10 years if Tyrone are going to challenge for the big honors later in the year as their seems to be a pattern in Tyrone's results directly proportionate to how he performs. A lot to look forward to.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 19/03/2017 18:37:27    1968655

I think people are being a bit hard on the Tyrone players. OK it wasn't a great performance from them but it was terrible conditions and it is league match in March after all. I think any team in the country would be delighted to have Tiernan McCann in their team, top footballer. The Tyrone team of noughties was one of the all-time great teams and it's very hard to live up to that.

Having seen the Tyrone under-21 team in action last week, there are definitely a few excellent players there, especially Mulgrew and Brennan. I think Mickey Harte should be brave enough to pick them.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 20/03/2017 14:40:07    1969110

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I think people are being a bit hard on the Tyrone players. OK it wasn't a great performance from them but it was terrible conditions and it is league match in March after all. I think any team in the country would be delighted to have Tiernan McCann in their team, top footballer. The Tyrone team of noughties was one of the all-time great teams and it's very hard to live up to that.

Having seen the Tyrone under-21 team in action last week, there are definitely a few excellent players there, especially Mulgrew and Brennan. I think Mickey Harte should be brave enough to pick them."
Couldn't agree more. Ballybofey is probably one of the most difficult places to play in, its tight and compact and suits Donegal. Tyrone are in a good position, i believe that we haven't hit our stride yet this year but have still 7 points on the board. We also seemed to have solved the free taking issue. Very interested to see how we get on against Mayo and Kerry.

I agree about the U21s. If they are good enough they should play. Brennan in particular has been one of the top club players in Tyrone over the last 2 years and really impressed when Tyrone won the U21 All Ireland. He is one of the most clinical forwards ive ever seen. Always seems to hit the target.

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 20/03/2017 16:31:14    1969179

Some brilliant long range point kicking from Donegal in poor conditions.
They really look to be a team that have serious pace now also in a lot of quarter and will really put it up to any of the top teams. I'd imagine Tyrone will improve on that performance as they looked dead in their boots and their was only going to be one winner.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 20/03/2017 16:59:38    1969197

Replying To TakeyourPoint.:  "Couldn't agree more. Ballybofey is probably one of the most difficult places to play in, its tight and compact and suits Donegal. Tyrone are in a good position, i believe that we haven't hit our stride yet this year but have still 7 points on the board. We also seemed to have solved the free taking issue. Very interested to see how we get on against Mayo and Kerry.

I agree about the U21s. If they are good enough they should play. Brennan in particular has been one of the top club players in Tyrone over the last 2 years and really impressed when Tyrone won the U21 All Ireland. He is one of the most clinical forwards ive ever seen. Always seems to hit the target."
The old urban myth that Ballybofey is a 'tight' pitch. That pitch is the maximum size allowed by the GAA rule book (150*90m I think).

I think I read somewhere that there are only 9 designated county grounds in the country that are full size....ballybofey is one of them

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 20/03/2017 17:28:35    1969210

ALL IN METRERS Lenght-Width-Total

Antrim Casement Park 145.0 90.0 13,050
Donegal McCumhaill Park 145.0 90.0 13,050
Armagh Athletic Grounds 143.0 88.0 12,584
Mionaghan St Tiernach's Park 142.0 87.0 12,354
Tyrone Healy Park 142.0 86.0 12,212
Cavan Breffni Park 142.5 85.5 12,184
Fermangh Brewster Park 145.0 83.0 12,035
Derry Celtic Park 138.1 84.1 11,614
Down Pairc Esler 137.8 80.7 11,120

Clare Cusack Park 145 90 13,050
Tipperary Semple Stadium 145 90 13,050
Cork Pairc Ui Rinn 145 88 12,760
Pairc Ui Chaoimh 144 88 12,672
Kerry Fitzgerald Stadium 144 82 11,808
Waterford Walsh Park 142 80 11,360
Limerick Gaelic Grounds 137 82 11,234

Galway Pearse Stadium 145 90 13,050
Roscommon Dr Hyde Park 145 90 13,050
Sligo Markievicz Park 142 90 12,780
Leitrim Pairc Sean Mac Diarmada 142 87 12,300
Mayo McHale Park 137 82 11,234

Six counties have claimed to have the maximum playing surface of 13,050m²:
Antrim
Clare
Donegal
Galway
Roscommon
Tipperary

BigJohn.6_8 (Galway) - Posts:585 - 01/09/2010 13:22:59 762370

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 20/03/2017 17:32:56    1969213

Replying To himachechy:  "The old urban myth that Ballybofey is a 'tight' pitch. That pitch is the maximum size allowed by the GAA rule book (150*90m I think).

I think I read somewhere that there are only 9 designated county grounds in the country that are full size....ballybofey is one of them"
There ye are, would never have thought that - Its deceiving.

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 20/03/2017 18:06:00    1969233

Nothing won in March we are in a good place as MH usually says.We will be well analysed by the time summer comes.Tyrone be smarting for the next few months dreaming of beating us in Ulster. No disrespect to Derry and Antrim i am looking forward to this game.

neutral (None) - Posts: 358 - 21/03/2017 07:42:18    1969366