Fair play McStay

Replying To Superglue:  "I'd nothing on but the radio yesterday"
Were you not foundered?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 06/03/2017 17:03:52    1964702

McStay was whinging about the ref yesterday when the biggest decision of the day - the penalty- was a complete farce of a decision.

1.Not a foul and 2. Outside the box!

And to make things worse RTE devoted at least 5 minutes to devotedly backing their man, has any other IC manager ever had such sipport?

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 06/03/2017 17:51:28    1964728

In Killarney against Monaghan Kerry got 8 points from frees and Monaghan's defence was brilliant, Kerry only got 2 frees inside the Kerry 45 not because Monaghan done anything different to Kerry. The referee decided that the Monaghan tackling was fouling yet Kerry doing the exact same thing wasn't. That was drives me nuts. One rules for one team different rules for another. Padraig Hughes done the exact same Saturday night. This is what drives players, management and supporters crazy.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1930 - 06/03/2017 18:50:51    1964752

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "McStay was whinging about the ref yesterday when the biggest decision of the day - the penalty- was a complete farce of a decision.

1.Not a foul and 2. Outside the box!

And to make things worse RTE devoted at least 5 minutes to devotedly backing their man, has any other IC manager ever had such sipport?"
McStay had a right to defend himself against the abuse and lies directed at him and the team on local radio.
RTE didnt hold back when we were hammered by Galway and Clare last summer.

You obviously were not at game as Smith was fouled right from the edge of the square up until the point where he was thrown out of the large square.

Ref was atrocious and let kerry cynically foul all day. Best team won anyway and I can see Kerry winning Sam later in the year when the real stuff starts.

salvador (Roscommon) - Posts: 439 - 06/03/2017 19:05:34    1964762

Replying To shaggylegend:  "In Killarney against Monaghan Kerry got 8 points from frees and Monaghan's defence was brilliant, Kerry only got 2 frees inside the Kerry 45 not because Monaghan done anything different to Kerry. The referee decided that the Monaghan tackling was fouling yet Kerry doing the exact same thing wasn't. That was drives me nuts. One rules for one team different rules for another. Padraig Hughes done the exact same Saturday night. This is what drives players, management and supporters crazy."
Disagree with you about the Monaghan vs Tyrone game. Didn't think Hughes was that bad. I feel Monaghan completely lost their discipline. Monaghan had at least 3 frees moved in from Monaghan players mouthing. McAdam was at it again in the second half. 2 red cards. Says it all really. Monaghan got plenty of scoreable frees in the game.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 06/03/2017 21:37:16    1964834

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Disagree with you about the Monaghan vs Tyrone game. Didn't think Hughes was that bad. I feel Monaghan completely lost their discipline. Monaghan had at least 3 frees moved in from Monaghan players mouthing. McAdam was at it again in the second half. 2 red cards. Says it all really. Monaghan got plenty of scoreable frees in the game."
As a Tyrone you couldn't have any complaints about refereeing. But most Monaghan people I talked to both at the game and watch on to were infuriated by the refereeing.
The mouthing by Monaghan players wasn't great but a lot of that was down to decisions going against the team. McAdam was furious with Malone's sending off and I know from watching it back it looks worse than it was. I do believe Malone didn't intentionally hit Burns in the face I think it was an accidental act. Tyrone got quiet a lot of frees in the first half compared to Monaghan.
Tyrone where a mile better over the course of the game but refereeing was poor in most Monaghan's people's eyes.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1930 - 06/03/2017 23:15:00    1964871

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Disagree with you about the Monaghan vs Tyrone game. Didn't think Hughes was that bad. I feel Monaghan completely lost their discipline. Monaghan had at least 3 frees moved in from Monaghan players mouthing. McAdam was at it again in the second half. 2 red cards. Says it all really. Monaghan got plenty of scoreable frees in the game."
The referee wasn't bad! Your having a laugh, Dermot Malone got a straight red for brushing the tyrone lad's ear (who then fell like a sack of spuds)! Maybe he was afraid he was going for his hair. Ye Tyrone men seem to be very precious about your hair! Then countless times Monaghan won possession in midfield at a pivotal time in the match for a dubious free to be given to Tyrone. It was that bad, Armagh men beside me were laughing at how bad he was. And we all know the dislike between Armagh and Monaghan. No matter, when Monaghan started to play the gap was too large. Hopefully it will eat at them till they get another go at Tyrone in the championship! ;)

eirekeeper (Monaghan) - Posts: 113 - 06/03/2017 23:24:24    1964875

Then the penalty! Still baffles me as to how it was a penalty. Wouldn't even be worthy of a free further out the field!

eirekeeper (Monaghan) - Posts: 113 - 06/03/2017 23:25:56    1964876

Replying To salvador:  "McStay had a right to defend himself against the abuse and lies directed at him and the team on local radio.
RTE didnt hold back when we were hammered by Galway and Clare last summer.

You obviously were not at game as Smith was fouled right from the edge of the square up until the point where he was thrown out of the large square.

Ref was atrocious and let kerry cynically foul all day. Best team won anyway and I can see Kerry winning Sam later in the year when the real stuff starts."
Kerry always have and continue to get away with murder in comparison to other teams. Just watch their games this summer to you see. No other team in this country gets away with what they get away with. It's not fair.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 07/03/2017 00:00:02    1964886