Dublin v Mayo

Replying To yew_tree:  "Perception is flawed they say and this is especially true in sport. Some people who have seen bits of Mayo have this perception that Mayo are flying.
Bar 35 mins against Kerry and a first half against Roscommon, we have been pretty ordinary. We were awful v Monaghan."
In fairness yew tree you always talk sense, and i would agree 100% with you. I was in Castlebar last Sat and Roscommon were very very poor, and yet they should have had 2 goals in the first half. Mayo are playing well in fits and starts but the Monaghan game from the highlights i saw ye were indeed poor. Croke Park will suit the dubs more than the pitche in Donegal and i just cant see Mayo scoring enough or moreso stopping the Dublin forwards..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 02/03/2017 14:19:04    1962816

Replying To Belclare1:  "In fairness yew tree you always talk sense, and i would agree 100% with you. I was in Castlebar last Sat and Roscommon were very very poor, and yet they should have had 2 goals in the first half. Mayo are playing well in fits and starts but the Monaghan game from the highlights i saw ye were indeed poor. Croke Park will suit the dubs more than the pitche in Donegal and i just cant see Mayo scoring enough or moreso stopping the Dublin forwards.."
Mayo are pretty much doing what you would think at this time of year. I am very happy with how Boland for example is integrating into the team. We do need another forward and I am hoping Loftus and eventually Irwin (not this year) can provide it. I am not convinced by Evan Regan. We see him in flashed but he must do more. I know we gave Roscommon goal chances but don't thin we will be sweeper-less in Croke Park,

I actually give us a chance this weekend depending on what sort of team Dublin put out but I am not excepting a win...neither are the bookies by the looks of it but look it's very hard to back against Dublin in Croke Park.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11249 - 02/03/2017 14:46:06    1962832

Replying To yew_tree:  "Mayo are pretty much doing what you would think at this time of year. I am very happy with how Boland for example is integrating into the team. We do need another forward and I am hoping Loftus and eventually Irwin (not this year) can provide it. I am not convinced by Evan Regan. We see him in flashed but he must do more. I know we gave Roscommon goal chances but don't thin we will be sweeper-less in Croke Park,

I actually give us a chance this weekend depending on what sort of team Dublin put out but I am not excepting a win...neither are the bookies by the looks of it but look it's very hard to back against Dublin in Croke Park."
Dubs hardly pulling up trees either. Even if there is a stronger team named it'll be a first game for some of them.

It'll be a good close game and a decent test at this time of year for both sides. Hopefully we'll meet again come summer.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13729 - 02/03/2017 15:45:54    1962864

Hey guys
Even with my ex husband been from Dublin I can only see one winer in this one. Even with it been a must win game for Mayo I can only see a Dublin win.

Dee (Laois) - Posts: 312 - 02/03/2017 16:29:43    1962875

Big game ahead

I think 2 pts here could put either side firmly in the driving seat for a place in NFL Div 1 final

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20608 - 02/03/2017 16:49:51    1962885

Replying To Dee:  "Hey guys
Even with my ex husband been from Dublin I can only see one winer in this one. Even with it been a must win game for Mayo I can only see a Dublin win."
Must win game for Mayo? How do you figure that one out. Most level headed Mayo supporters only want us to stay in Division 1 and introduce a couple of new players along the way so not sure what logic you are using?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 02/03/2017 18:00:03    1962900

Although I don't think it is a priority for Jim this year if we want to get to the league Final this year we need to win this one, Mayo looked good at the weekend all be it againt a very poor roscommon team. I would like to see Paddy and Connolly start this one. I would like to see Scully, Connolly, KilKenny, Rock, O'gara, Paddy start this game in the backs hope to see COS and McCarthy start. I think Jim will have targeted this game and hoping for a big game.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 02/03/2017 18:22:04    1962906

As has been said priority is to stay up and blood a few of the younger players. If we get two points against the Dubs, good and well, if not then we have three games left to get the necessary points. I don't think there will be much pressure on either side which could lead to a good, open, high scoring game. No matter which way it goes it will have little bearing on the rest of the year.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 02/03/2017 19:13:35    1962918

To hell with all this looking ahead and bigger picture stuff and giving game time wanting people rested and playing down and licking up to the other team.
The sides may not even meet in the championship, there is a national title to play for in this competition, we are going for 5 in a row that was only ever achieved once before. I sure as hell want to see Dublin go out to win every game, it has served us brilliantly to date and remember before we started to take the league seriously we couldn't lay a glove on the championship, hope to see a much more attacking side put out on Saturday night, not like the one that played into Donegals hands and help contribute to the ballybofey borefest , I want to see a croker cracker and a dubs win.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/03/2017 19:23:35    1962925

Replying To hill16no1man:  "To hell with all this looking ahead and bigger picture stuff and giving game time wanting people rested and playing down and licking up to the other team.
The sides may not even meet in the championship, there is a national title to play for in this competition, we are going for 5 in a row that was only ever achieved once before. I sure as hell want to see Dublin go out to win every game, it has served us brilliantly to date and remember before we started to take the league seriously we couldn't lay a glove on the championship, hope to see a much more attacking side put out on Saturday night, not like the one that played into Donegals hands and help contribute to the ballybofey borefest , I want to see a croker cracker and a dubs win."
That's the spirit. I'll hold your jacket.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 02/03/2017 19:43:33    1962931

Replying To yew_tree:  "Name some "great" Mayo wins when it really didn't matter?"
Hockeyed Dublin down in Castlebar in the league a few years back. By any measure it was a great win.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4703 - 02/03/2017 20:28:05    1962945

Replying To hill16no1man:  "To hell with all this looking ahead and bigger picture stuff and giving game time wanting people rested and playing down and licking up to the other team.
The sides may not even meet in the championship, there is a national title to play for in this competition, we are going for 5 in a row that was only ever achieved once before. I sure as hell want to see Dublin go out to win every game, it has served us brilliantly to date and remember before we started to take the league seriously we couldn't lay a glove on the championship, hope to see a much more attacking side put out on Saturday night, not like the one that played into Donegals hands and help contribute to the ballybofey borefest , I want to see a croker cracker and a dubs win."
Hill who doesn't want a Dublin win ?thank Christ your not Dublin Boss you wouldn't have jerseys on their backs but sddles you'd ride them so hard , it's because of Gavins approach we are were we are he has rested players and given lads game time , now for a diehard win at allcosts , every match matters fanatic with no big picture like yourself that might be hard to take but it's the thruth

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 02/03/2017 21:14:11    1962963

Two good games for €12 is some value. Will there be a big crowd at it? Will add to the atmosphere if there is.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 02/03/2017 22:40:50    1963012

Replying To Joxer:  "Hockeyed Dublin down in Castlebar in the league a few years back. By any measure it was a great win."
Only after we got a replay from fog and that night Dublin were giving it to us.

danthefan (Mayo) - Posts: 21 - 03/03/2017 07:19:17    1963037

Just thought I'd throw it out there cause I keep hearing on podcasts or reading in papers that Brian Fenton hasn't lost a game playing for Dublin yet well he has he came on against Cork in the '15 league season we're we lost down there and Hill said he wouldn't attend another Dublin game if Gavin didn't make changes to his satisfaction.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/03/2017 07:38:14    1963039

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Just thought I'd throw it out there cause I keep hearing on podcasts or reading in papers that Brian Fenton hasn't lost a game playing for Dublin yet well he has he came on against Cork in the '15 league season we're we lost down there and Hill said he wouldn't attend another Dublin game if Gavin didn't make changes to his satisfaction."
The stat is he has not lost a game starting for Dublin

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 03/03/2017 08:54:01    1963051

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Just thought I'd throw it out there cause I keep hearing on podcasts or reading in papers that Brian Fenton hasn't lost a game playing for Dublin yet well he has he came on against Cork in the '15 league season we're we lost down there and Hill said he wouldn't attend another Dublin game if Gavin didn't make changes to his satisfaction."
Hills entitled to his views as we are all are they are just views I don't share on this topic.

I saw B Fenton playing for Raheny in St Anne's v Sylvester's about 4 months prior to making a name for himself , and honestly he was nothing special , I certainly didn't pick up on his star quality , my point is he must have being doing something in training that Jim saw as the likes of Scully etc it is for that reason I trust Jims selections no one knows his panel better than Team Gavin

Speaking to a good Dub friend of mine last night and this guy is a die hard , he said the sooner we lose the better , fed up listening to it , Hed rather lose now than in the summer , and feels the unbeaten thing whilst breeding confidence also could become a heavy noose

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 03/03/2017 10:51:13    1963092

Again with the lies
You know full well we were winning by three points and Gavin made 5 changes bringing on 5 inexperienced guys all at the same time in the one game and replacing 5 of our best players on the day which was as i still say silly as the inevitable happened cork went on to clearly dominate the last 20 minutes and win the game. I'll repeat again for you we have seven league games there is no need to throw young or inexperienced players all in at the same time it's too much, with seven games its ideal to use each game to either start one or two and introduce one or two off the bench, it's far more beneficial as they get used to the tempo players who are established at that level will be playing alongside them at.
What I said was if Gavin treated games in that manner by not caring about the result despite 2/3 of the crowd having travelled to the game from Dublin I would consider not making the effort to go to long distance away games like that as it would be pointless if the management didn't care why should anybody else make the effort to go to the trouble to travel that far.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/03/2017 10:58:10    1963096

Replying To Damothedub:  "Hills entitled to his views as we are all are they are just views I don't share on this topic.

I saw B Fenton playing for Raheny in St Anne's v Sylvester's about 4 months prior to making a name for himself , and honestly he was nothing special , I certainly didn't pick up on his star quality , my point is he must have being doing something in training that Jim saw as the likes of Scully etc it is for that reason I trust Jims selections no one knows his panel better than Team Gavin

Speaking to a good Dub friend of mine last night and this guy is a die hard , he said the sooner we lose the better , fed up listening to it , Hed rather lose now than in the summer , and feels the unbeaten thing whilst breeding confidence also could become a heavy noose"
Where did I say he wasn't entitled to his opinion?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/03/2017 11:12:28    1963101

Is this the HILL16 page lads? Should we vote for who we think is the bigger Dubs fan?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7912 - 03/03/2017 11:15:13    1963103