The Kerry Fiasco

when have Kerry set the place alight in the league ?. They will do enough to survive, will have given fringe players valuable experience against tough opposition and will be firing on all cylinders when the summer comes around. Their main goal is Dublin in the Summer.
Dublin are a fantastic team, probably one of the best ever to play the game, If you take them out of the equation then Kerry are there or thereabouts. I have been impressed with some of the young Kerry players then I have seen this league so far. As someone said they will surely beat ourselves and Roscommon and then they are safe.. job done... then down to the serious business.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 28/02/2017 12:01:00    1962001

Listen, Men of the Kingdom, it is your destiny to stop the Dubs winning streak. Don't panic. Kerry will beat Dublin.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 28/02/2017 12:29:37    1962015

While most of us in Kerry aren't really looking to win the League in a given year, we are looking to see how the League is being used to develop new players, new styles and tactics and to find a relatively settled team in place for the Championship.

Now the problem is that the last two games have been a concern in this regard; fringe players are not making any real impact, other players are being played out of positions, there is still some major issues surrounding our kickout strategy and how our half forward line and full forward line are linking up. Most worryingly is that there is a core group of 7-8 players who are in their late 20's, have an All-Ireland under their belt but still do not seem to be putting themselves forward as the new leaders for this panel, setting standards and driving things on when we are on the back foot in games.

Now as a counter argument you might say that in both the Mayo and Monaghan games we had our chances to win and just didn't take them. JOD and Geaney are nursing knocks. Last Sunday was pretty brutal weather wise and Monaghan had a pretty decent side out, so maybe it just wasn't Kerry's day.

Roscommon are not setting the world alight so if we put in a poor performance up there, I will be far more worried. As it stands, I'll just write the last two games off as typical Kerry inconsistency in February under Fitzmaurice.

As a final point As_Ky, perhaps discussions like this should be kept to the Kerry page, you are only giving a platform to the usual shower of posters/WUM's wanting to have a dig.

At least the majority of them stay away from the Kerry page, though I see one or two are sad enough to go looking for trouble over there.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/02/2017 13:06:43    1962057

It's not about the performance, it's the same failing tactics that's the negative! The league is used to set out your stall for the year and we are seeing nothing new or fresh this year!

as_ky (Kerry) - Posts: 535 - 28/02/2017 13:07:57    1962058

Kerry will beat Roscommon well

Kerry will be in a AI semi-final soon enough, with a realistic chance of winning that game and all this silly talk will soon be forgotten

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/02/2017 13:45:20    1962081

Replying To galwayford:  "Listen, Men of the Kingdom, it is your destiny to stop the Dubs winning streak. Don't panic. Kerry will beat Dublin."
The problem is they haven't beaten them in the Championship in 8 years now, so I wouldn't be holding my breath.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 28/02/2017 14:25:35    1962111

Replying To greatpoint:  "The problem is they haven't beaten them in the Championship in 8 years now, so I wouldn't be holding my breath."
And it took them 35 years before that to beat us, and before Sept 2011 people were saying the same thing about Dublin not being able to beat Kerry.

Swings and roundabouts

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/02/2017 14:44:53    1962120

Replying To TheHermit:  "And it took them 35 years before that to beat us, and before Sept 2011 people were saying the same thing about Dublin not being able to beat Kerry.

Swings and roundabouts"
... only because ye were brutal in the 90's thehermit

We'd have smoke yiz no problem

We beat the Munster champs back then (Cork).. not our fault ye weren't good enough to win Munster

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 28/02/2017 15:07:36    1962129

Replying To jimbodub:  "... only because ye were brutal in the 90's thehermit

We beat the Munster champs back then (Cork).. not our fault ye weren't good enough to win Munster"
Don't forget Clare in '92. Sure Hermit we haven't beaten Waterford footballers in over a hundred years now.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/02/2017 15:30:32    1962144

Replying To jimbodub:  "... only because ye were brutal in the 90's thehermit

We beat the Munster champs back then (Cork).. not our fault ye weren't good enough to win Munster"
Ye had plenty of chances to beat us in the 80s and 2000's, instead ye got hockeyed.

At least we are only losing in one score games (and let's not pretend 2013 was anything but that!)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 28/02/2017 15:35:00    1962147

Replying To TheHermit:  "And it took them 35 years before that to beat us, and before Sept 2011 people were saying the same thing about Dublin not being able to beat Kerry.

Swings and roundabouts"
Irrelevant to the discussion.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 28/02/2017 15:41:03    1962153

Its not like we have limitless resources and population to be able to compete with Dublin year on year, it isn't even close to a level playing field.

With a limited young population , our rate in developing good players will very much cyclical it's not practical or realistic to expect otherwise. It appears based on the last few years we will be in a position to compete 3/4 years down the line but there is no guarantee especially with the AFL hawking around trying to poach and with very little jobs in the region we are way more susceptible to losing players to them

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 28/02/2017 15:59:10    1962163

To avoid some of the less measured and more excitable Kingdom based posters the trouble, can I assist by asking the obvious question.

Sure isn't time to consider splitting the Monaghan region in two ?

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 358 - 28/02/2017 16:35:46    1962193

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "Its not like we have limitless resources and population to be able to compete with Dublin year on year, it isn't even close to a level playing field.

With a limited young population , our rate in developing good players will very much cyclical it's not practical or realistic to expect otherwise. It appears based on the last few years we will be in a position to compete 3/4 years down the line but there is no guarantee especially with the AFL hawking around trying to poach and with very little jobs in the region we are way more susceptible to losing players to them"
Poor poor Kerry

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 28/02/2017 16:48:53    1962198

Replying To Knoxboya:  "To avoid some of the less measured and more excitable Kingdom based posters the trouble, can I assist by asking the obvious question.

Sure isn't time to consider splitting the Monaghan region in two ?"
Are we not entitled criticise a bad performance from players and management alike???

It in no way takes from what Monaghan achieved last Sunday as I outlined in my post

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 28/02/2017 16:58:21    1962204

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "Its not like we have limitless resources and population to be able to compete with Dublin year on year, it isn't even close to a level playing field.

With a limited young population , our rate in developing good players will very much cyclical it's not practical or realistic to expect otherwise. It appears based on the last few years we will be in a position to compete 3/4 years down the line but there is no guarantee especially with the AFL hawking around trying to poach and with very little jobs in the region we are way more susceptible to losing players to them"
You seem to talk about emigration/lack of resources in Kerry as if it doesn't happen in every other county. AFL have poached many a player from various counties.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 28/02/2017 18:05:10    1962245

Replying To Ulsterman:  "No doubt Tyrone will get the blame before the week's out."
oh give over, you absolute moan.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 28/02/2017 18:26:26    1962259

Replying To galwayford:  "Listen, Men of the Kingdom, it is your destiny to stop the Dubs winning streak. Don't panic. Kerry will beat Dublin."
Will you give me the lotto numbers for tomorrow night tks.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 28/02/2017 18:45:34    1962267

Jaysus ye Kerry folk are a hard bunch to please. Padid O Se was right in what he said all those years ago, roughest bunch of effing animals I think he said!

fergie (Carlow) - Posts: 1115 - 28/02/2017 19:53:05    1962290

I would say emigration from Kerry was rampant in the 1970s and 1980s. You were dominant then.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 28/02/2017 19:59:25    1962295