All Ireland U21 Football Championship

I wouldn't begrudge anyone for not enjoying watching us. There's no doubt we don't play the 'traditional' way and are quite defensive without the ball, though that is definitely the optimal way to play in my view (all the top senior teams play that way now). Because we are a handpassing county that means there is a lot of running involved playing this way but the lads are tactically very mature, hard-working and disciplined. They attack in pods of 3s and 4s much like the senior team, and anyone can be part of that attack. A few times you will see a full back intercept the ball, play a pass out of defense and then continue the run, all the way to the other end of the pitch if necessary.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 11/04/2017 15:23:57    1978441

Replying To greatpoint:  "You will never please some people. The one dimensional analysis that's parroted by significant portions of the media bears responsibility for this, and those who are unable to form an independent opinion too."
True to your name with that post. I agree completely that is where the roots of this come from. Especially one man in particular.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 11/04/2017 15:26:37    1978444

Replying To TheHermit:  "Just wondering what Galway posters views are on the Kerry semi-final on Saturday? Would ye see yourselves as underdogs or do you reckon you have a good chance?

Kerry looked awesome in the Munster final but Cork were so poor, somebody was saying the Cork minors had actually beaten them in a challenge game a few days before."
Well we are definitely underdogs although you'd have to wonder how good Cork actually were this year considering Limerick could easily have beaten them in the Munster semi-final. That Munster final might not have done Kerry much good in the long run. It's definitely a talented Galway side. I'd say they could easily have won last year's U-21 title but I think the standard is a lot higher this year with these Kerry and Donegal sides about.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2217 - 11/04/2017 15:49:13    1978458

Replying To GDL:  "I am sure Declan Bonner and the people of Donegal are upset that you did not enjoy their win. Write a strong letter of protest to the Donegal Democrat newspaper and Donegal county board."
Maybe he is a Derry supporter.
On a more serious note, well done Donegal. Derry were unfortunate to lose their best forward and their captain to cards and also hitting the cross-bar. Had they been able to keep their players on the park and got the goal they would have been able to put up a stiffer challenge to Donegal in the second half and Donegal might have benefited from it, The last four teams in this competition are very strong and should make for a great finish.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 11/04/2017 16:18:07    1978481

I do think the standard is higher this year but we'll only know for sure a couple of years down the line.

As for Galway if we could swap managers I'd be feeling a bit more confident. We've got some good forwards but don't think their anything like the 2013 team that had Shane Walsh, Damien Comer & Ian Burke on it. We're strong around the middle where we have 3 good fielders. Cooke will be partnered by either Brennan or D'Arcy. Defensively we'll have to tighten up, gave away too many soft frees against Sligo.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 11/04/2017 16:22:30    1978486

Agree with the poster about Niall O'Donnell. If he can stay injury free and retain focus he will be a huge player for us in the years to come. Just a really, really intelligent footballer.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9151 - 11/04/2017 16:27:22    1978492

watched the Ulster Final last night on TG4 and they essentially said Kerry will have their hands full in the final against Donegal or Dublin. G word not even mentioned. This is interesting considering that Donegal lost in the minors to G last year. Semi in Ennis might be closer than they think. Gaillimh Abu. shhhhhh.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1670 - 11/04/2017 16:34:54    1978498

Donegal U21s not great to watch? Ah now this uninformed, cliched guff has to cease. 6 goals and 34 points in an Ulster Semi Final and Ulster Final is exceptional going. They're a savage outfit, I just wonder if 4 day turnaround to a semi final is top little. It sounds nuts when you think about it. Regardless of what they do for the rest of the year, they're a serious group of players who have progressed immensely for years under the careful and dedicated watch of Declan Bonner. Some great teams remaining so it's stuff competition. Hopefully this translates to senior in the year ahead

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 11/04/2017 17:12:48    1978513

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "watched the Ulster Final last night on TG4 and they essentially said Kerry will have their hands full in the final against Donegal or Dublin. G word not even mentioned. This is interesting considering that Donegal lost in the minors to G last year. Semi in Ennis might be closer than they think. Gaillimh Abu. shhhhhh."
It's like deja vu from 2011. I remember the Cork team of that year getting talked up in a very big way. To listen to some they were almost unbeatable. No mention of Galway beforehand but they fairly did a number on them.

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 11/04/2017 19:01:03    1978547

wel have a good day out in ennis
hope kerry have pity on us poor galwegians
sure were in awe of them
and I hope wel be able o give the Kerry boys a game at least

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 11/04/2017 19:10:13    1978549

Replying To TheHermit:  "Just wondering what Galway posters views are on the Kerry semi-final on Saturday? Would ye see yourselves as underdogs or do you reckon you have a good chance?

Kerry looked awesome in the Munster final but Cork were so poor, somebody was saying the Cork minors had actually beaten them in a challenge game a few days before."
That minor story sounds like pure blarney

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 11/04/2017 22:34:45    1978603

Looking forward to a trip to Cavan on Sat to face the concrete warriors.

It should be a great game between two good footballing sides & the forecast looks set fair, I might even risk wearing the old Magees jersey!!

From a Donegal point of view I fear that some people here are getting a bit carried away & losing the run of themselves. Yes, they are a fine young side with some super footballers who, I am confident, will feature on the senior team for years to come. They can put up big scores & will blow teams away if they are let.

There are a couple of warnings though. They came within a whisker of going out in the drawn game against Tyrone & if the Tyrone forward had taken an easy point instead of going for goal with the last kick of the game then that would have been that. Derry also gave as good as they got until Donegal got 1-1 just before half time, until then Donegal looked uncomfortable. The Derry red card also had a big bearing.

Dublin will be a big step up, they always are, & Donegal will need to be at 100% to get past them. A one point win will be greeted with delight by everyone at chez MuckrossHead.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 12/04/2017 08:25:51    1978663

Replying To TheWestIsAwake:  "Come on lads I'm not knocking the team I'm just stating their hardly great to watch. I fully expect it to be a Kerry & Donegal final and for it to be a close match.

Anyone else think Donegal were very physically developed? Jason McGee is some size lad for a minor last year."
and who are the teams "that are great to watch" then..................

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 920 - 12/04/2017 10:12:44    1978711

Replying To totalrecall:  "and who are the teams "that are great to watch" then.................."
I don't know what the Galway poster is talking about. Their game against Kildare the last day was crap but they won. Doubt too many out west were bothered about the style?

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9151 - 12/04/2017 11:03:40    1978732

I am amazed that anyone would think this Donegal under-21 team are not good to watch. They have put up some terrific scores against some very tight Ulster defences. This team do not take a backward step. I suppose its a case of give a dog a bad name. Our senior team have not been attacking enough in the past couple of seasons, something RG has acknowledged himself and is trying to rectify but the under-21 side cannot be accused of that.

It should be a great match against Dublin and really looking forward to it. It's probably a big step up for both teams in terms of what they have faced so far in their province. I haven't seen Dublin play, do they play in a similar style to the senior team?

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 12/04/2017 12:01:18    1978763

Replying To Green_Gold:  "I am amazed that anyone would think this Donegal under-21 team are not good to watch. They have put up some terrific scores against some very tight Ulster defences. This team do not take a backward step. I suppose its a case of give a dog a bad name. Our senior team have not been attacking enough in the past couple of seasons, something RG has acknowledged himself and is trying to rectify but the under-21 side cannot be accused of that.

It should be a great match against Dublin and really looking forward to it. It's probably a big step up for both teams in terms of what they have faced so far in their province. I haven't seen Dublin play, do they play in a similar style to the senior team?"
Exactly the same green_gold, same swagger, same impenetrable accents, same brutal haircuts......

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 12/04/2017 13:32:44    1978794

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Exactly the same green_gold, same swagger, same impenetrable accents, same brutal haircuts......"
Playing the dreaded blanket defence as well, just horrible to watch lol. Oh wait a minute, Dublin don't play with a blanket defence.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 12/04/2017 14:13:42    1978807

Out of the 4 teams left it's a toss up, Ennis on Saturday should be a cracker

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 12/04/2017 14:26:45    1978810

Kerry have to be favourites after their comprehensive win over Cork and considering they won the last 3 minor All Irelands.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 12/04/2017 14:28:14    1978813

Replying To Condorman:  "Kerry have to be favourites after their comprehensive win over Cork and considering they won the last 3 minor All Irelands."
I think the last 3 minor titles is a bigger factor than the Cork win. Cork could easily have been beaten by Limerick in the semi-final only for a missed penalty so it may not have been a particularly good Cork side this year.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2217 - 12/04/2017 14:57:38    1978830