Which One Hurt The Most

Replying To kavvie:  "river boy a few points... limerick lead by a big margin?really? 5 points it was . the dying minutes?still time for offaly to score 2/5!!?? and offaly won by 6 in the end so it wasn't even close?"
Do not forget Offaly done exactly the same thing to the then All Ireland Champions in the Semi Final of Leinster that year. They were down about eight points down after fifteen minutes. They brought on Daithi Regan at midfield and were up by about eight by half time and KK who had all day to recover never did. They utterly destroyed KK in the Leinster Final in 1995, although fair play to the Banner they beat them fair and square in the Final

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 17/02/2017 21:12:19    1957822

Replying To lilywhite1:  "I agree theWestisAwake. I remember watching it in my local GAA club and everyone cheering on Louth.The sense of disbelief and disappointment for Louth after that infamous goal was palpable."
Lilywhite that will be on the opening scene in reeling in the years 2010. After my beloved Wee County the Lillie's are my second team. With the huge population that Kildare have I always feel that they have underachieved. Louth always seem to be a bogey team to Kildare. In 1991 in Drogheda it was Micko,s first championship match Stefan Whites two late goals knocked out Kildare. In 1995 in Newbridge which if my memory serves me right was the first Sunday game live match the present Louth manager Colin Kelly put in a man of the match performance as Louth beat Kildare. In 2010 in Navan another match which was live on TV Louth beat Kildare by 6 points in a high scoring match. The last two championship matches Kildare have won. Kildare are a great GAA county. Best of luck for the rest of the year.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 17/02/2017 21:32:07    1957824

Replying To MesAmis:  "Yous had us on a rack that day. A rush of blood to your keepers head and a wonder goal from James McCarthy got us over the line just about that day.

If you had said to anyone that day that Dublin would winning the All-Ireland 2 months later they'd have laughed at you!"
I'll have to disagree with ye here lads , the 2008 Leinster Final was absolutely horrific, much worse. At least we gave a good account of ourselves in other finals, whatever happened that day I'll never understand

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 17/02/2017 23:19:55    1957844

2013 All Blacks last minute try

rebelfan (Cork) - Posts: 70 - 18/02/2017 21:35:46    1958065

The Gooch being poked in the eye in the '05 final when he was leading the Tyrone defence a merry dance hurt a lot.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7847 - 19/02/2017 11:20:34    1958168

Replying To TheHermit:  "2008 All Ireland Final v Tyrone, I think that was still the toughest one to take overall.

In 2005, I always felt throughout the game that Tyrone were just that bit better than us on the day. However, in 2008 I really thought it was there to be won. We put ourselves in a great position and then at the start of the second half we gave away a really cheap goal which gave the Tyrone lads that bit of belief to mount a charge.
Still with 6-7 minutes to go the momentum had swung back towards us. Declan had a brilliant goal chance and if that rattled the net it was all over - but it just went inches to the left of the Hill 16 goal. In fairness to Tyrone they saw it out strong and our belief just seemed to wilt with that goal spurred.
I actually was looking through my match programme collection over Christmas and was looking at our line up that day, the starting half forward line was bare bones, so that cost us too.

I guess the result hurt most because there was all this lazy, cheap guff about Kerry not being able to beat Ulster teams back then. It was used so much by the 'hurlers on the ditch' brigade to denigrate the amazing achievements of a team that has and will go down as one of the greatest of them all IMO. That defeat of course just added fuel to that fire. In those few years we just always seemed to be on an upward curve when Tyrone were getting knocked out and when they were back in final then, we just seemed to have peaked and been on the way down.
I would have beat my life on Kerry beating them in 04/06/07 or 09 but we just never crossed paths.
Ah well sin e, its history now I suppose.

In fairness as miserable as I was that night, I ended up in Flannerys meeting a girl who would end up being my girlfriend for the next 3 years, so look I have to thank Brian Dooher and co for that at least!

2011 was almost as bad, not so much that it was Dublin just because we were in such control with 7-8 mins left, to an extent that the Dub fans around me where patting me on the shoulder and saying well done ye have us now.
F*ckin Kevin Mcmanamon and his 20 steps!!!! :D"
Excuses Excuses. Ye were beaten by the better team on all the above occasions you my friend seem to think Kerry have a god given right to win the All Ireland every year.Oh and by the way Declans effort was saved by the Tyrone keeper or was that not supposed to happen either.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 19/02/2017 13:26:26    1958203

Replying To dubarra:  "Excuses Excuses. Ye were beaten by the better team on all the above occasions you my friend seem to think Kerry have a god given right to win the All Ireland every year.Oh and by the way Declans effort was saved by the Tyrone keeper or was that not supposed to happen either."
Meeaow...

Some has their claws sharp this morning.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/02/2017 13:45:30    1958210

Losing the All Ireland Hurling semi to Cork is well up there.
I said at the time and still believe, that the Dublin Hurlers will never have a better opportunity to go and win Liam
Can't see it happening in my life time either.

Ballymun losing the AI club final was a sickener. Totally left it behind them.

The loss to Donegal in the AI Football Semi ambush still hurts. Playing great football all that year and to be exposed for our naively was a kick in the ....

As a neutral - Mayo losing them All Ireland finals to Kerry.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 19/02/2017 14:32:06    1958219

Replying To OLLIE:  "Lilywhite that will be on the opening scene in reeling in the years 2010. After my beloved Wee County the Lillie's are my second team. With the huge population that Kildare have I always feel that they have underachieved. Louth always seem to be a bogey team to Kildare. In 1991 in Drogheda it was Micko,s first championship match Stefan Whites two late goals knocked out Kildare. In 1995 in Newbridge which if my memory serves me right was the first Sunday game live match the present Louth manager Colin Kelly put in a man of the match performance as Louth beat Kildare. In 2010 in Navan another match which was live on TV Louth beat Kildare by 6 points in a high scoring match. The last two championship matches Kildare have won. Kildare are a great GAA county. Best of luck for the rest of the year."
Thanks Ollie, You're spot on re the recent history between Kildare and Louth. Coming out of Navan after Kildare's loss to Louth in June 2010 after an excellent performance by Louth I thought that Louth had a great chance of winning Leinster, especially since Dublin wern't the powerhouse that they are now. As it turned out Meath beat them comfortably in the semi-final. Best of luck to Louth. Hopefully ye can get promoted from Division 3 after making a great start. Louth are a better standard than Division 3. If Louth could get to and remain in Division 2 for a couple of years without being demoted, there is no reason why Louth couldn't challenge for promotion to Division 1.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 20/02/2017 14:39:51    1958695

nothing worse for me than seeing your club relegated,especially in gaa where you usually have to win the championship to get back up , happened me twice in gaa once in rugby

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 22/02/2017 23:56:43    1959747

95 AI final against the Dubs

redbomb (Tyrone) - Posts: 167 - 23/02/2017 08:09:13    1959762

So many humiliating defeats over the years, particularly in Croke.

However, the 1991 semi final defeat to Kilkenny hurt more than any other, even the final in '89

For the first time in my memory we were the better side against Kilkenny in a match that mattered, however, 2 late points from DJ and Eamonn Morissey I think, put paid to our hopes of a return visit in September.

As was the norm then the other semi finalists cheered us on, however, this was the first occasion (I never made the offaly semi final in 89) I left without the usual patronising hollow words of 'youse are doing a great job up there' ringing in my ears.

This was the chance to prove 89 wasn't a complete fluke and have a craic at Tipp as it turned out again in the final.

Sadly it was back to the doldrums and routine humiliations then after that with the odd flicker of hope!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 23/02/2017 11:05:44    1959812

The drawn final against Kerry in 2000, coming back from 7 points down to draw level with a few minutes to go knowing Kerry were their for the taking. Galway missed some great chances to win that game and if only Savage had passed the ball to Joyce we'd have been looking at one of the all time great comebacks.

Knew coming out of the game that day we'd left it behind us, its very rare Kerry lose a replay.

TheWestIsAwake (UK) - Posts: 529 - 23/02/2017 11:09:06    1959814

2014 AI final for me. After the high of the Dublin semi-final I had an ominous feeling we wouldn't be able to scale the same heights against Kerry in the final and so it proved. There was also the unfortunate mistake from Papa which lead to Donaghy's goal. All of this coupled with our minors aksi losing meant it was a thoroughly depressing day all round.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 23/02/2017 12:56:28    1959855

Replying To lilywhite1:  "Thanks Ollie, You're spot on re the recent history between Kildare and Louth. Coming out of Navan after Kildare's loss to Louth in June 2010 after an excellent performance by Louth I thought that Louth had a great chance of winning Leinster, especially since Dublin wern't the powerhouse that they are now. As it turned out Meath beat them comfortably in the semi-final. Best of luck to Louth. Hopefully ye can get promoted from Division 3 after making a great start. Louth are a better standard than Division 3. If Louth could get to and remain in Division 2 for a couple of years without being demoted, there is no reason why Louth couldn't challenge for promotion to Division 1."
Lillywhite Brian White from Louth probably had his best match ever in a Wee County jersey when he put in a man a match performance against in Kildare in 2010. Ironically he had a nightmare of a game against Meath in the Leinster final of that year missing frees in front of the net in which he would of scored them with his eyes closed against Kildare. Louth and Kildare are in the same section of the Leinster Championship so I might see you in HQ for a semi-final clash.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 23/02/2017 16:36:45    1959944

Replying To legendzxix:  "The Gooch being poked in the eye in the '05 final when he was leading the Tyrone defence a merry dance hurt a lot."
After the way Mark O'Riordan was put off earlier in the year, that was probably karma.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 23/02/2017 17:02:26    1959961

Replying To OLLIE:  "Lillywhite Brian White from Louth probably had his best match ever in a Wee County jersey when he put in a man a match performance against in Kildare in 2010. Ironically he had a nightmare of a game against Meath in the Leinster final of that year missing frees in front of the net in which he would of scored them with his eyes closed against Kildare. Louth and Kildare are in the same section of the Leinster Championship so I might see you in HQ for a semi-final clash."
Ollie, Yes Brian white was excelent that day in Navan. He wasn't the first White wearing the red of Louth to break our lily hearts. Wasn't it Stephan White who scored that famous goal in Drogheda in Micko's first year- or was it two goals he scored that day?

WE could indeed meet in the semi-final if we can get over Laois or Longford and Louth can beat Wicklow and our mutual neighbour, Royaldunnes's royal troops!

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 23/02/2017 18:18:12    1959983

Replying To lilywhite1:  "Ollie, Yes Brian white was excelent that day in Navan. He wasn't the first White wearing the red of Louth to break our lily hearts. Wasn't it Stephan White who scored that famous goal in Drogheda in Micko's first year- or was it two goals he scored that day?

WE could indeed meet in the semi-final if we can get over Laois or Longford and Louth can beat Wicklow and our mutual neighbour, Royaldunnes's royal troops!"
Lilywhite Stephen White was his dad who was on the great Louth team of 1957 who the All Ireland. Stefan White was his son who scored two late goals to break Lilywhite's hearts in Drogheda in 1991. Stefan played with Monaghan and won an Ulster title with the Farney men in 1988.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 23/02/2017 18:35:06    1959994

Replying To tippdown:  "Down vs Cork 2010. A sad day to break our unbeaten all Ireland final record.
Pity we have gone down since then."
My worst ever defeat too. Specifically loosing the unbeaten in finals tag. The magic of sport died in me that day. Still, they say you can't appreciate the sweet if you never tasted the bitter.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 23/02/2017 21:00:36    1960046