Cavan v Dublin

Replying To TheHermit:  "Live coverage of this and only deferred coverage of Kerry and Donegal, disgraceful decision making by TG4."
disgraceful because your to mean to go to the game ? got ya

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 02/02/2017 11:01:25    1951172

Replying To TheHermit:  "Live coverage of this and only deferred coverage of Kerry and Donegal, disgraceful decision making by TG4."
Don't the Kerry lads tell us how little the league means to them , it's all about Sam sure they are not even trying blah blah blah yet you have this joker thinking when they play it should be a feature game , little bit of a contradiction me thinks , at least Dublin have proven what the league means , Cavan have gotten promotion , remind me how serious Kerry and Donegal view the league and ask me which game should be on

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 02/02/2017 11:14:53    1951178

Replying To Damothedub:  "Don't the Kerry lads tell us how little the league means to them , it's all about Sam sure they are not even trying blah blah blah yet you have this joker thinking when they play it should be a feature game , little bit of a contradiction me thinks , at least Dublin have proven what the league means , Cavan have gotten promotion , remind me how serious Kerry and Donegal view the league and ask me which game should be on"
After the League match last year and the fact there was more intensity in that match, than any Championship game I saw last year, I would have naturally assumed it would have top billing. Esp because it's two of the top 4 sides going toe to toe.

Plenty of times Kerry were All-Ireland Champions and they never bothered showing us live on the opening day.

And Letterkenny is a good 11-12 hour round trip, so forgive me if I decide at this time of the year to skip that ordeal.

That ok with you, JOKER DAMO????

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/02/2017 11:33:47    1951186

Replying To TheHermit:  "True and we were playing Mayo and all and given the two epic semi-finals of the previous August it was a strange decision not to have the cameras down in Killarney that day."
I think tg4 going to Cavan on Sunday is more to document the dubs leaving crokepark for a game the hermit,
I mean come on who'd believe it otherwise?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/02/2017 11:34:16    1951187

The Kerry boys seem to be very interested in this game alright.

I read Donaghy's book and he recalled Paul Galvin before the 2007 all ireland saying it didn't matter if the beat Cork in every game for the next 100 years, if Cork won the first ever all ireland between the two they'd have bragging rights forever.
Similarly, it seems the Kerry boys, despite all their success, are still irked by the fact we beat them in the game of the century in New York. And even worse, after Tyrone schooling the in every big meeting last decade, now Dublin are doing it this decade.

Chin up lads. Ye aren't doing too bad.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 02/02/2017 11:41:33    1951190

Replying To cavanman47:  "The Kerry boys seem to be very interested in this game alright.

I read Donaghy's book and he recalled Paul Galvin before the 2007 all ireland saying it didn't matter if the beat Cork in every game for the next 100 years, if Cork won the first ever all ireland between the two they'd have bragging rights forever.
Similarly, it seems the Kerry boys, despite all their success, are still irked by the fact we beat them in the game of the century in New York. And even worse, after Tyrone schooling the in every big meeting last decade, now Dublin are doing it this decade.

Chin up lads. Ye aren't doing too bad."
You mean the game where we were up by 8 points inside 15min and then just to make sure the Yanks wouldn't have to watch a whitewash, two perfectly legitimate goals by Kerry were then whistled back for free in's (look it up). Sure its no wonder ye won after that disgraceful carry on just to keep the game competitive. I'd say the Kerry boys threw it in disgust.

As for Tyrone and Dublin, let them have their moments - what's a year or two when you have a century of domination to be proud of...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/02/2017 11:56:51    1951194

Replying To TheHermit:  "You mean the game where we were up by 8 points inside 15min and then just to make sure the Yanks wouldn't have to watch a whitewash, two perfectly legitimate goals by Kerry were then whistled back for free in's (look it up). Sure its no wonder ye won after that disgraceful carry on just to keep the game competitive. I'd say the Kerry boys threw it in disgust.

As for Tyrone and Dublin, let them have their moments - what's a year or two when you have a century of domination to be proud of..."
Haha hermit,what's a year or two he says?We're catching up on ye bigtime pal.Ye have 37 but we now have a very respectable 26 All Irelands.In fact we have a better final win ratio than the Kingdom.Dublin have won 66% of their finals to Kerry's 62%.When we get to Septembers showpiece we usually seal the deal!

P.S Kerry's record in last 6 All Ireland finals v Cavan,Tyrone and Dublin : Played 6 Won 0 Lost 6!!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/02/2017 13:18:48    1951219

Replying To TheHermit:  "You mean the game where we were up by 8 points inside 15min and then just to make sure the Yanks wouldn't have to watch a whitewash, two perfectly legitimate goals by Kerry were then whistled back for free in's (look it up). Sure its no wonder ye won after that disgraceful carry on just to keep the game competitive. I'd say the Kerry boys threw it in disgust.

As for Tyrone and Dublin, let them have their moments - what's a year or two when you have a century of domination to be proud of..."
Wow man, let it go

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 02/02/2017 13:22:27    1951221

Replying To TheHermit:  "After the League match last year and the fact there was more intensity in that match, than any Championship game I saw last year, I would have naturally assumed it would have top billing. Esp because it's two of the top 4 sides going toe to toe.

Plenty of times Kerry were All-Ireland Champions and they never bothered showing us live on the opening day.

And Letterkenny is a good 11-12 hour round trip, so forgive me if I decide at this time of the year to skip that ordeal.

That ok with you, JOKER DAMO????"
Ah yeah this one is probably just for the dedicated, true fans

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 02/02/2017 13:28:51    1951227

Replying To Breffni39:  "Ah yeah this one is probably just for the dedicated, true fans"
Don't question my dedication to watching my county. I assure you've I spent more money following Kerry than you have following Cavan.

Although considering the mighty Cavan usually play 2 games per Championship, I suppose I do have an natural advantage in that regard :D.

As for letting 47 go, YOU brought it up. Tis a pity ye have to go so far back to find a time when ye could compete with us.

But for the record I'll go further back still and remind you that it was Cavan's belly aching after being beaten fair and square by Kerry in the 1925 semi-final that robbed Kerry of that year's All-Ireland and lead to a fiasco where Galway were awarded the title without ever playing a semi-final!!!

Now can we quite the playground stuff please. I'm not a true supporter because I'm skipping one League game that means driving in bad weather for 12 hours or more - jaysus lad do you run to matches in Clones or Croker in your bare feet or something to prove your loyalty???

P.s. Cue, it's easy to have a good win ratio when ye appear in so few finals. And I can safely predict ye will never catch Kerry's haul and even if ye do they'll be an asterisk beside it saying 'won by having millions of tax payers money pumped in just to allow us to compete with them'.

In sport consistency is the sign of true greatness. And Kerry have been consistent for a century.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/02/2017 14:06:31    1951238

Replying To cavanman47:  "Ah sure look. Isn't it ye who have it all to lose and us who'll be happy to keep it kicked out to the 'tidal wave'.

Hope ye have sorted our Joe out with a free ticket at the very least!"
Not to worry cavanman I'm sure the dubs have taken care of Joe,
I wonder who he'll be shouting for on Sunday.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 02/02/2017 14:12:36    1951241

Replying To cuederocket:  "Haha hermit,what's a year or two he says?We're catching up on ye bigtime pal.Ye have 37 but we now have a very respectable 26 All Irelands.In fact we have a better final win ratio than the Kingdom.Dublin have won 66% of their finals to Kerry's 62%.When we get to Septembers showpiece we usually seal the deal!

P.S Kerry's record in last 6 All Ireland finals v Cavan,Tyrone and Dublin : Played 6 Won 0 Lost 6!!"
2015, 2011, 2008, 2005, 1947 that's five Cue not six.

Of course since then we have only won Sam in what, 1953, 1955, 1959, 1962, 1969, 1970, 1975, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1997, 2000, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2014.

I'll take that any day.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/02/2017 14:43:16    1951248

Replying To TheHermit:  "Don't question my dedication to watching my county. I assure you've I spent more money following Kerry than you have following Cavan.

Although considering the mighty Cavan usually play 2 games per Championship, I suppose I do have an natural advantage in that regard :D.

As for letting 47 go, YOU brought it up. Tis a pity ye have to go so far back to find a time when ye could compete with us.

But for the record I'll go further back still and remind you that it was Cavan's belly aching after being beaten fair and square by Kerry in the 1925 semi-final that robbed Kerry of that year's All-Ireland and lead to a fiasco where Galway were awarded the title without ever playing a semi-final!!!

Now can we quite the playground stuff please. I'm not a true supporter because I'm skipping one League game that means driving in bad weather for 12 hours or more - jaysus lad do you run to matches in Clones or Croker in your bare feet or something to prove your loyalty???

P.s. Cue, it's easy to have a good win ratio when ye appear in so few finals. And I can safely predict ye will never catch Kerry's haul and even if ye do they'll be an asterisk beside it saying 'won by having millions of tax payers money pumped in just to allow us to compete with them'.

In sport consistency is the sign of true greatness. And Kerry have been consistent for a century."
I didn't actually bring up 47 and I was clearly only slagging about the dedication thing.

I don't think anyone intended to wind you up so much.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 02/02/2017 15:03:28    1951254

Replying To TheHermit:  "2015, 2011, 2008, 2005, 1947 that's five Cue not six.

Of course since then we have only won Sam in what, 1953, 1955, 1959, 1962, 1969, 1970, 1975, 1978, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1997, 2000, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2014.

I'll take that any day."
Sorry,i forgot to put Armagh in.That's four counties that ye just cant beat in yere most recent final clashes (:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/02/2017 15:05:24    1951256

I know all about the goals. .I've footage of that game on DVD. but I've only ever heard kerry folk refer to them as 'perfectly legitimate'.

If it was so one sided and Cavan were to be mere cannon fodder for Kerry then how did we retain the all ireland the following year?

History shows that cavan team to have contained some all time greats, none more so than John Joe Reilly. The kerry team, meanwhile, in kerry terms were good but not great. The Cavan team of the late 40s / early 50s was way ahead of anything gaelic football had seen up to then. Mayo and Meath were more of a threat than Kerry at the time also.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 02/02/2017 15:08:57    1951259

Is is tax payers money that we produce;

The greatest rock band in the world

A multi golf Major winner

A Ryder cup captain winner

The two UFC champion and the most famous sports man on the planet right now

The England Cricket Captain

The greatest rugby player of the them all

Ireland's top goal scorer and most capped player

I could go on and on but while you's are winning handy all Ireland's Dubliners are dominating the world

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/02/2017 15:14:47    1951261

Replying To Breffni39:  "I didn't actually bring up 47 and I was clearly only slagging about the dedication thing.

I don't think anyone intended to wind you up so much."
Well I'm probably only showing my own frustrations that I can't actual go.

In fact between one thing and another I'll probably miss a few League games this year which is a balls. Not to mention the fact a family member decides to have their wedding, all the way up the country, the weekend of the Munster football final. Some people are just so inconsiderate!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/02/2017 15:25:09    1951266

Replying To cavanman47:  "I know all about the goals. .I've footage of that game on DVD. but I've only ever heard kerry folk refer to them as 'perfectly legitimate'.

If it was so one sided and Cavan were to be mere cannon fodder for Kerry then how did we retain the all ireland the following year?

History shows that cavan team to have contained some all time greats, none more so than John Joe Reilly. The kerry team, meanwhile, in kerry terms were good but not great. The Cavan team of the late 40s / early 50s was way ahead of anything gaelic football had seen up to then. Mayo and Meath were more of a threat than Kerry at the time also."
True between 46 and 53 we weren't at our best.

Ah ya, a true son of Breffni was the gallant John Joe of Cornafen.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/02/2017 15:28:03    1951268

Replying To TheHermit:  "Don't question my dedication to watching my county. I assure you've I spent more money following Kerry than you have following Cavan.

In sport consistency is the sign of true greatness. And Kerry have been consistent for a century."
Ye have a handy route in Munster though hermit.Five hurkung counties and only when Cork put a decent team together every 10 years do ye have any competition.Ye could sail into All Ireland semis for over 100 years.

Apart from Dublins dominance in Leinster over the last 10 years,Leinster has been fairly competetive down the years with a fine spread of Provincial winners.Longford,Meath,Wexford,Kildare,Louth,Lapis,Westmeath,and Offaly have all proud football traditions and have shared a multitude of provincial honours.

You conveniently concentrate on Dublins recent dominance,only.Leinster has been very competetive down the years.

Say if Dublin and Kerry had swapped places 125 years ago.I have no doubt Dublin would have more than our current 26 All Irelands and Kerry would have less than yere 37.Ye would have been caught out a lot more in Leinster than ye were the odd time v Cork.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/02/2017 15:48:59    1951274

Replying To TheHermit:  "True between 46 and 53 we weren't at our best.

Ah ya, a true son of Breffni was the gallant John Joe of Cornafen."
The nerny gives a great rendition on youtube

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 02/02/2017 15:53:01    1951278