Fenton
Flynn
Kilkenny
Brady
Costello
Rock
Kev mac

It maybe totally different to that team but that's what it maybe ha."
If it is the team i hope Tom Smith has a couple of spare batteries for the scoreboard as he'll be the busiest Cavan man in Breffni!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/01/2017 11:43:22    1948909

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Dublin team may look something like this;

Cluxton
Fitzsimon
Cooper
Byrne
McCarthy
Small
Mccaffrey
MDMA
Fenton
Flynn
Kilkenny
Brady
Costello
Rock
Kev mac

It maybe totally different to that team but that's what it maybe ha."
If Cluxton plays ill snap. There is no need for him to play. End of story. Let Evan Comerford get a chance.

McCarthy wont play in the league i hear.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 26/01/2017 11:49:20    1948911

Replying To cuederocket:  "If it is the team i hope Tom Smith has a couple of spare batteries for the scoreboard as he'll be the busiest Cavan man in Breffni!"
I know Cluxton concedes soft goals but I don't think Tom will be THAT busy. ;)

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 26/01/2017 12:00:03    1948914

Replying To cavanman47:  "I know Cluxton concedes soft goals but I don't think Tom will be THAT busy. ;)"
Haha,problem is he doesnt concede hardly any legitimate goals.Two of the most recent goals were not goals at all : Quigley for Fermanagh was a push and the second Kerry goal was 50/50 at best!Most influential goalkeeper of all time.Davy Fitz,Noel Skehan,Gordon Banks,John O Leary,Brendan Cummins,Schmeichel,Ollie Walsh,Paddy Cullen,Packie Bonnar,Billy Morgan,all rolled into one and still not even close.It will be an honour for ye Cavan folk to see him in action.Simply the best and will never be equalled.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/01/2017 12:11:47    1948919

Wayne I know for a fact Cluxton who is only 35 is going nowhere for another 5 years he loves it. So why not play him?

Ok it might be this as well:

Comerford
Fitzsimon
Byrne
Philly
Lowdnes
Daly
Mccaffrey
Bastic
Carty
Basqual
Kilkenny
Brady
Costello
Rock
Mchugh

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/01/2017 12:17:02    1948922

The biggest show in town are back!The Harlem Globetrotters of the GAA.The glamour.The colour.The glitz.The razmatazz!The team and county that makes GAA sexy.George Best and The Beatles had their day but i doubt they were for funky enough to be Dubs.Love us or hate us country bumpkins,there's no denying we sell papers and put bums on seats abd even Donald Trump couldn't build a wall big enough to stop us from doing 3-in-a-row.Sit back and enjoys lads.Lads like hermit have a grudging respect for us but how could they not?Lets get the ball thrown in,2017 is gonna be one great year!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/01/2017 12:35:28    1948924

If Cluxton is fit he will be playing, he will eventually be the oldest player ever to win an All Ireland medal then he will be forced to retire at 67, health and safety and insurance companies wouldn't let him play past 67 tears of age, fair play to him if he plus another 30 years, come to think of it he has had a easy enough career in goals not like other county goalies who have to keep diving, picking the ball out of the nets and having to thump the ball out 40 times or more in a game

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 26/01/2017 13:28:04    1948939

Replying To riverboys:  "If Cluxton is fit he will be playing, he will eventually be the oldest player ever to win an All Ireland medal then he will be forced to retire at 67, health and safety and insurance companies wouldn't let him play past 67 tears of age, fair play to him if he plus another 30 years, come to think of it he has had a easy enough career in goals not like other county goalies who have to keep diving, picking the ball out of the nets and having to thump the ball out 40 times or more in a game"
I think Mrs brown would keep a clean sheet in goals for Dublin and that's not been disrespectful to Stephen cluxton who I think is a brilliant keeper with great vision and kickouts, and Mrs brown could wash the sheet anyway.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 884 - 26/01/2017 14:06:19    1948956

strange article on mainpage
talking about dublin coming to breffni park
the cavan secretary says this
"Dublin have 3,000 season ticket holders but of course we won't know how many of them will travel," McCabe stated.
"The biggest crowd in last year's National League, barring the finals, was 12,000 for Dublin and Mayo in Croke Park so that gives us a bench mark figure."

dublin have far more than that number ticket holders as we are sold out on gaa season ticket scheme
sold out on parnell pass stand and terrace schemes.
then I dont know where hes getting the biggest crowd was only 12 thousand at a league game
as dublin v mayo didnt even take place in croke park it was in mchale park
and dublin v kerry had 30 thousand on the opening night.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/01/2017 17:46:59    1949025

Replying To hill16no1man:  "strange article on mainpage
"Dublin have 3,000 season ticket holders but of course we won't know how many of them will travel," McCabe stated.
"The biggest crowd in last year's National League, barring the finals, was 12,000 for Dublin and Mayo in Croke Park so that gives us a bench mark figure."

dublin have far more than that number ticket holders as we are sold out on gaa season ticket scheme
then I dont know where hes getting the biggest crowd was only 12 thousand at a league game
and dublin v kerry had 30 thousand on the opening night."
Ha i think he was getting those dodgy figures from reading the funny pages!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/01/2017 18:13:28    1949034

Replying To cuederocket:  "Ha go way outta tha realdub.Forget a club or late bar.You'll be lucky to find an ole shebeen in the sticks,with an outhouse for a jacks,sawdust on the floor,and a few gap-toothed aul lads in tattered suits swiggin out of filthy pint glasses while chewin straw.Think of the two Cavan lads on the Savage Eye!As soon as you drive over the Cavan border it goes back to 1850 (:"
"I'm goan for a sh***e, are ye comin?"
"sure I may as well"

great stuff,
Cavanman I'll see you in the Imperial, round up all your available ladies, or even unavailable :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 26/01/2017 20:15:56    1949058

Funnily enough , on the way home from work I put 15 pounds on for a Cavan win . I can see a very entertaining match in the mix here .

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 26/01/2017 22:10:05    1949082

Rumblings abound that Jack McCaffery may get mins in the half forward line.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/01/2017 22:26:55    1949088

The amount of posters on here that must have lost a lot of money betting against Dublin the last few years.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/01/2017 22:53:49    1949098

Replying To oakleafersir:  "Funnily enough , on the way home from work I put 15 pounds on for a Cavan win . I can see a very entertaining match in the mix here ."
Bloody eck.A full stone?You must of done the Harry Ramsden challenge!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/01/2017 23:04:36    1949103

Replying To hill16no1man:  "strange article on mainpage

and dublin v kerry had 30 thousand on the opening night."
yes. I was thinking that myself. I think there will be closer to 20,000 there than 10,000. If the weather is anyway decent. If we had over 4,000 for a McKenna cup game then surely the visit of Dublin , the all-Ireland and league champions, added to the fact it's our first game back in div1 and our first proper competitive game under new management , and the fact that it's a fairly short trip up the road for the dubs and half of Cavan live in Dublin anyway etc etc.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 27/01/2017 11:40:24    1949164

Yeah there'll definitely be a big crowd only thing that might hold a few back is that it's live on tnag.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/01/2017 11:50:27    1949168

I'd be surprised if there was anywhere near 20,000 at the game.Wont be at it myself due to work reasons but i'll predict an attendance of approx 10,000.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 27/01/2017 11:55:12    1949170

Replying To s goldrick:  "yes. I was thinking that myself. I think there will be closer to 20,000 there than 10,000. If the weather is anyway decent. If we had over 4,000 for a McKenna cup game then surely the visit of Dublin , the all-Ireland and league champions, added to the fact it's our first game back in div1 and our first proper competitive game under new management , and the fact that it's a fairly short trip up the road for the dubs and half of Cavan live in Dublin anyway etc etc."
Would expect no more than 7,500 and probably closer to 6,000 at it

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 27/01/2017 13:18:59    1949192