Division 1 2017

I also think Donegal could struggle given they've had to deal with so many players leaving within a few days of each other. They could find themselves in difficulty very quickly, especially if we come out of Letterkenny with a win on the opening day.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:2027 - 17/01/2017 14:29:46

The only thing you will be coming out of Letterkenny with will be a sore backside.

We have not forgotten the treatment we got in Tralee last year & have been looking forward to this fixture all winter!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 18/01/2017 15:12:04    1946684

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well considering that there was more bite and atmosphere in the game in Tralee last year than in any Championship match I saw after, whatever happens, its going to be an intriguing match."
We're always very hospitable up these parts. I expect a good clean game of football with a quiet afternoon at the office for the referee. :P

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 18/01/2017 15:56:13    1946701

The Cats to go at the league with a bit more vigour this year to unearth new talent and take the Div1 title.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 18/01/2017 16:29:11    1946707

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Fair enough, completely agree that you need to set targets and be ambitious. But the other Roscommon poster must be a regular spectator at Donegal club matches if he knows so much about our boys coming through."
Fair enough but I could say the same about the posters including ones from your own county writing off roscommon

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 18/01/2017 18:59:42    1946743

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I also think Donegal could struggle given they've had to deal with so many players leaving within a few days of each other. They could find themselves in difficulty very quickly, especially if we come out of Letterkenny with a win on the opening day.

The only thing you will be coming out of Letterkenny with will be a sore backside.

We have not forgotten the treatment we got in Tralee last year & have been looking forward to this fixture all winter!!"
You boys started it, don't be sour because you left the Kingdom with nothing to show for it! And tell Rory Gallagher he can quit the antics on the sideline this time, he wasn't impressing anyone with his carry on...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/01/2017 19:12:05    1946747

Replying To ulster83:  "1. Tyrone
2. Dublin
3. Kerry
4. Donegal
5. Mayo
6. Cavan
7. Roscommon
8. Monaghan"
Monaghan bottom! Knew it had to be from a Tyrone man

eirekeeper (Monaghan) - Posts: 113 - 18/01/2017 19:18:50    1946748

Replying To ulster83:  "1. Tyrone - Always hard to beat in league and think are team to beat this year in general
2. Dublin - expect many to be rested and more than likely they wont be going flat out
3. Kerry - Always there or therabouts
4. Donegal - All this talk of retirments and going downhill is nonsense they still have plenty expeience and wont have gone away mark my words
5. Mayo - Wont be too bothered about league other than surviving
6. Cavan - Barely might avoid relagtion
7. Roscommon - Extremely poor side as proved in last years championship. Don't expect much of them this year
8. Monaghan - One man team springs to mind and dont have much coming through"
Jesus ye Tyrone men think very little of Monaghan! Could get the buck this year

eirekeeper (Monaghan) - Posts: 113 - 18/01/2017 19:22:50    1946749

Replying To MadgeKing:  "1. Tyrone- expect them to be flat out all year. A big push for all ireland on the cards
2. Dublin- slow start followed by the usual class
3. Kerry- may put a bit more into this year's league as a rebuilding job is underway
4. Cavan- will surprise a few including an early win against Dublin
5. Mayo-will go through the motions this spring. 5 or 6 points will do
6. Roscommon- no high pressure games except Mayo, will pick enough against weaker Ulster teams
7. Donegal- may not get their house in order in time to survive. Tired.
8. Monaghan- lack of class has to catch them up eventually, this is the year. No midfield, and one injury away from oblivion."
LOL. The only people putting Monaghan in the relegation zone are Cavan and Tyrone! Think the tables will be turned. Cavan always fall second to Monaghan, sour grapes showing eventually

eirekeeper (Monaghan) - Posts: 113 - 18/01/2017 19:28:40    1946753

Replying To eirekeeper:  "LOL. The only people putting Monaghan in the relegation zone are Cavan and Tyrone! Think the tables will be turned. Cavan always fall second to Monaghan, sour grapes showing eventually"
lol, noticed that as well, all other counties seem to be putting Cavan at bottom but they themselves have us there....

Iamlegion666 (Monaghan) - Posts: 285 - 18/01/2017 21:44:55    1946787

I hate to say it but I don't see Cavan been at the bottom of any table this year. They were on the up last year and with a new manager they're going to improve.
They're going to cause a few surprises.
So don't count on them being at the bottom.
Also Tyrone have cleared the cobwebs again and I wouldn't be counting on them being in the bottom two either.
Kerry always leave it late to stay up but that doesn't surprise anyone as they only start playing championship football in the end of June.
Mayo do likewise they leave it to the last few games.
Donegal are no pushovers either.
Its certainly going to be an interesting Div 1 competition.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 18/01/2017 22:32:50    1946814

1. Dublin
2. Kerry
3. Tyrone
4. Mayo
5. Monaghan
6. Roscommon (hopefully)
7. Donegal
8. Cavan

Just like last year I think it will be extremely tight for the bottom six. Kerry can afford to throw on their newfound young guns and given that we ourselves managed to finish within a point of Dublin last year, perhaps they will be able to catch them on the hop this early in the year. Dublin still favourites though naturally enough.
From our own point of view I think we are currently on a par with Cavan, but this could be skewed in either direction by the end of the league. Our one hope is that we can beat Cavan and also beat Donegal with the raft of retirements that they have had over the past few months.
While i'm not of our delusional fans i remain optimistic, but i think it's very hard to decide what to prioritise and at what times to peak in the year as out of the choices of a good championship run or another year of division one football I don't know which would be the most beneficial.

RoscoMan (Roscommon) - Posts: 80 - 18/01/2017 22:53:48    1946826

Replying To TheHermit:  "
Replying To MuckrossHead:  "I also think Donegal could struggle given they've had to deal with so many players leaving within a few days of each other. They could find themselves in difficulty very quickly, especially if we come out of Letterkenny with a win on the opening day.

We have not forgotten the treatment we got in Tralee last year & have been looking forward to this fixture all winter!!"
You boys started it, don't be sour because you left the Kingdom with nothing to show for it! And tell Rory Gallagher he can quit the antics on the sideline this time, he wasn't impressing anyone with his carry on..."
Come on now you're fooling no one. Donaghy chokeslammed Murphy inside the first minute

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 18/01/2017 23:46:35    1946839

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "lol, noticed that as well, all other counties seem to be putting Cavan at bottom but they themselves have us there...."
a few of my fellow county men are received gift vouchers for spec savers for Christmas and spent them on Rose Tinted glasses!
Sure, we have a new manager but it's the same talent pool, actually a reduced panel pool.
It's one thing being optimistic, it's another being realistic.
I can't see us surviving in Division 1. Naturally I hope I'm wrong, but last nights defeat to UUJ showed we have no depth of squad.
In general over the past number of years we have been second best to Monaghan and Tyrone.
So unless we catch Roscommon on a bad day, I can't see us picking up any points. I'm not a pessimist... Realist !!!
I'll be there roaring Cavan on and willing them to win but I won't be wearing rose tinted glasses.

FrDougalMaguire (Cavan) - Posts: 152 - 19/01/2017 09:53:26    1946879

Replying To eirekeeper:  "LOL. The only people putting Monaghan in the relegation zone are Cavan and Tyrone! Think the tables will be turned. Cavan always fall second to Monaghan, sour grapes showing eventually"
"Cavan always fall second to Monaghan"

Think you're on the wrong forum buddy: http://www.hoganstand.com/Ladies/ForumPage.aspx

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 19/01/2017 10:21:14    1946888

Replying To MadgeKing:  "1. Tyrone- expect them to be flat out all year. A big push for all ireland on the cards
2. Dublin- slow start followed by the usual class
3. Kerry- may put a bit more into this year's league as a rebuilding job is underway
4. Cavan- will surprise a few including an early win against Dublin
5. Mayo-will go through the motions this spring. 5 or 6 points will do
6. Roscommon- no high pressure games except Mayo, will pick enough against weaker Ulster teams
7. Donegal- may not get their house in order in time to survive. Tired.
8. Monaghan- lack of class has to catch them up eventually, this is the year. No midfield, and one injury away from oblivion."
What a lazy post- in what way are we tired????

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 19/01/2017 10:22:08    1946889

1. Dublin
2. Tyrone
3. Kerry
4. Mayo
5. Cavan
6. Monaghan
7. Donegal
8. Roscommon

I think it might end up like this, Dublin as the winners and the relegation battle between Roscommon, Donegal & Monaghan. I hope Donegal can avoid relegation but it will be a struggle, we have 4 home games so I guess we could win 3 of those. I think Cavan will survive as they will be going all out to stay in Division 1. I doubt if Kerry and Mayo will be that interested in the league but I still expect them to finish in the top 4.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1874 - 19/01/2017 10:25:29    1946892

We'll definitely be wanting to put a marker down with Kerry just as they did with us in Tralee last year, it was a feisty game and a great atmosphere to be at as well.

I still think Kerry will win on the opening day but hopefully we put in a good performance. I'd completely forgotten about beating Monaghan in Letterkenny in 2014 to be honest, every time I've watched us there it's usually been a disappointing day out. On top of that, I think Kerry at home may be too big an ask for a lot of our boys, considering the type of team we'll be putting out and no Murphy or Gallagher who would be big, big presences for us in the middle, especially in a physical game which I think it will be.

Fair play to Kerry last year they made it that type of game because they weren't going to get beat in their own backyard, though I still feel we left it behind us that day in many ways. Really looking forward to this match though.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 19/01/2017 10:35:56    1946902

Replying To JoeSoap:  "We'll definitely be wanting to put a marker down with Kerry just as they did with us in Tralee last year, it was a feisty game and a great atmosphere to be at as well.

I still think Kerry will win on the opening day but hopefully we put in a good performance. I'd completely forgotten about beating Monaghan in Letterkenny in 2014 to be honest, every time I've watched us there it's usually been a disappointing day out. On top of that, I think Kerry at home may be too big an ask for a lot of our boys, considering the type of team we'll be putting out and no Murphy or Gallagher who would be big, big presences for us in the middle, especially in a physical game which I think it will be.

Fair play to Kerry last year they made it that type of game because they weren't going to get beat in their own backyard, though I still feel we left it behind us that day in many ways. Really looking forward to this match though."
Murphy will be playing

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 19/01/2017 11:18:55    1946918

Replying To JoeSoap:  "We'll definitely be wanting to put a marker down with Kerry just as they did with us in Tralee last year, it was a feisty game and a great atmosphere to be at as well.

Fair play to Kerry last year they made it that type of game because they weren't going to get beat in their own backyard, though I still feel we left it behind us that day in many ways. Really looking forward to this match though."
What game were you watching? A very ugly game that turned me off the remainder of the league. I would like to think that both teams go into this one with no baggage. We should try to avoid the 'who started it' finger pointing as if you audited the first 5 minutes it would be as complicated as the outbreak of the first world war as to who was to blame.

I would like to see as many of our lads ready and up for a winning start here, as home games are vital to our survival this time.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 19/01/2017 11:49:10    1946930

Kerry could go well in the League this year, they have a few good youngsters who must be chomping at the bit to get a chance, could make the final against Dublin if they are in the mood
Relegation is a 2 from 4 situation. Hard to read what is going on in Roscommon and Donegal at the moment. Cavan have a weakened squad but a better manager supposedly. McManus has a tough draw this year and his match with Cavan at home could prove critical, though he always seems to turn over one of the big ones. I'll go for Roscommon and Cavan to be relegated

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 19/01/2017 12:07:12    1946937