Division 1 2017

Replying To TheHermit:  "But they post that, bizzare."
I know what mean the hermit half my posts don't make it on here and I don't know why because I'm fecking delightful .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/02/2017 17:24:17    1955372

Replying To Iamlegion666:  "Especially when it pushes the final till near or even after Halloween."
sometimes december in certain counties!

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 12/02/2017 17:33:16    1955384

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Fair enough realdub my apologies if I took that up wrong."
Sound enough pal

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 12/02/2017 17:57:25    1955412

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I know what mean the hermit half my posts don't make it on here and I don't know why because I'm fecking delightful ."
Yeh it's hard to understand this place sometimes but I've become immune to it!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 12/02/2017 18:13:44    1955439

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I know what mean the hermit half my posts don't make it on here and I don't know why because I'm fecking delightful ."
I'd say you were especially delightful leaving Austin Stacks last night, I know I was :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/02/2017 18:23:52    1955449

Just thawed out after the Cavan match today, jaysus it was dour.

Some thought that the referee blew a little early, he didn't blow half soon enough for me, indeed I thought the final whistle was worth the entrance fee alone. This was the most inept display of attacking football ever witnessed at inter county level and the weather conditions, while a factor, do not cover the ineptitude of attacking ability.

Both teams especially Cavan defended very well but some of the shooting was appalling. Indeed while watching I could not help but feel that the referees whistle became the most potent means by which to score. Both teams (and indeed supporters) becoming increasingly depended on it for a score as the game wore on. Heaven help them and indeed the game if this continues.

Cavan had the aid of a stiff wind in the first half, but proceeded to kick four of five into the keepers hands. They should have been at lest 4 up at half time. In the second half the wind seemed to die down a bit so you would have to say they threw it away in the first half. The experiment of playing Mc Keirnan at full forward did not work as we shaded any mid-field battle there was, and he would have had more influence out there - there is history there between him and Drew Wylie and I think Mattie hoped it would rattle Drew, but it didn't.

Monaghan attacked, and continued to attack down the wings - the first sign of madness is doing the exact same thing over and over and expecting a different result - surely the should have ran hard up the middle where any frees would at least be in a scoring position. Jaysus I'm doing it myself now.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 12/02/2017 19:16:47    1955506

Replying To Jackeen:  "Possibly but to base it on one performance would be silly. We barely fell over the line against Roscommon last year in the league down in Carrick. Many of you were quick to tell us we were finished then too. It wont last forever obviously and we will be beaten like ALL teams. I imagine HS will lose its trousers when it happens. Posters crawling out of the woodwork to have their say. I see Ulsterman rearing his head today after he went missing when we won the AI last Oct. Predictable but unavoidable. COYBIB!"
It was very much aimed at clondalkin and not yourself Jackeen - not meant for the serious posters at all.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 12/02/2017 19:55:26    1955546

Great result for our young lads today with only 7 of last year's championship team on today. It was a really good game of football but I think we deserved the win. Mc Ginley in goals gifted Roscommon a goal and we should have had the ourselves putting two over and I still doubt know how Marty Reilly didn't score in front of an almost open net.

Difficult conditions today but we were still treated to 12 points from play in a very good second half. This was a massive 2 points and only our second win on the road in the league since 2009!

Finally well done to Roscommon GAA on reopening Hyde Park and best of luck for the rest of the year. I would like to see yous stay up.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 12/02/2017 20:36:38    1955588

Replying To browncows:  "On the night Tyrone were the better team but their shooting was poor cost and them the game. I think you have a problem with a team as good as yourselves and who can compete all over the pitch at your level-you need to get over it."
Got out of jail , mayo's defence is so good made our forwards look very average. Jim will make changes for the replay and I pray we are not that bad again but I'd say Mayo fans will think Mayo can't be as bad either. Some big calls on both lines for the next Paul Flynn n Bernard Brogan are in serious trouble for a start and I'd say Seamie O Shea could be in trouble for Mayo. Mayo will be without Dillon n Regan for the next day two big losses for impact off the bench. People were saying it was a terrible game but when it's your county you don't notice this your on the edge of your seat all day. Please god it's dry the next day were shocking in the rain , poor excuse I know but that's all we have right now.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts:8260 - 19/09/2016 12:00:37 1916148

That's my first post from last years all Ireland final I don't seem to have any problem with Mayo competing with us and being better than us on the day so I think your thoughts on me are wrong.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/02/2017 20:48:20    1955601

indeed I thought the final whistle was worth the entrance fee alone.

Bahaha very good :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 12/02/2017 20:58:39    1955621

Replying To alano12:  "i dont understand the need for a semi final or a final in the league?..surely who ever tops the table should just win the thing?...mad for a showcase final i guess at all levels but still"
Money.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 12/02/2017 21:12:50    1955652

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Got out of jail , mayo's defence is so good made our forwards look very average. Jim will make changes for the replay and I pray we are not that bad again but I'd say Mayo fans will think Mayo can't be as bad either. Some big calls on both lines for the next Paul Flynn n Bernard Brogan are in serious trouble for a start and I'd say Seamie O Shea could be in trouble for Mayo. Mayo will be without Dillon n Regan for the next day two big losses for impact off the bench. People were saying it was a terrible game but when it's your county you don't notice this your on the edge of your seat all day. Please god it's dry the next day were shocking in the rain , poor excuse I know but that's all we have right now.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts:8260 - 19/09/2016 12:00:37 1916148

That's my first post from last years all Ireland final I don't seem to have any problem with Mayo competing with us and being better than us on the day so I think your thoughts on me are wrong."
Good man clondalkin

Putting guys in here in their rightful place like our players do on the pitch

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 12/02/2017 21:16:22    1955663

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Money."
Yea it's as simple as that really

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 12/02/2017 21:17:29    1955668

Jees just watching league Sunday
That last free was never a free !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 12/02/2017 22:48:27    1955767

Replying To rossy15:  "Jees just watching league Sunday
That last free was never a free !"
Shhhhhhhhhhh. Don't tell the Dublin fans that. They will think everyone hates them and make ridiculous comments about refs favouring other teams.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 12/02/2017 23:08:22    1955787

Pull back on the arm is a free

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 12/02/2017 23:11:32    1955792

What about the Tyrone score where James McCarthy was tripped by a their man off the ball trying to tackle the player shooting or the clip they showed of eoghan o gara on the 21 hard line about to shoot when caught around the head and mcquilan 5 metres away and Tyrone go up other end and score. It happened all night yet one clip is all that's mentioned at the very end.
not even a mention of McCarthy injury where he was on pitch a full five minutes standing in one leg or the sending off all they showed was coopers shoulder, seriously one sided footage that don't give you the full picture of a game. Judging by the Kilkenny Waterford match you would sweat Kilkenny were the only team that scored haha
never judge a game by highlights my friend it can mislead you something terrible

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 12/02/2017 23:13:30    1955794

Replying To Jackeen:  "Pull back on the arm is a free"
Fitzsimmons had lost control of the ball man ..
Also why was the tyrone player sent off ..... my be i missed something ??
As for Tiernan mccann black card jesus harsh to say the least

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 12/02/2017 23:20:02    1955798

Replying To hill16no1man:  "What about the Tyrone score where James McCarthy was tripped by a their man off the ball trying to tackle the player shooting or the clip they showed of eoghan o gara on the 21 hard line about to shoot when caught around the head and mcquilan 5 metres away and Tyrone go up other end and score. It happened all night yet one clip is all that's mentioned at the very end.
not even a mention of McCarthy injury where he was on pitch a full five minutes standing in one leg or the sending off all they showed was coopers shoulder, seriously one sided footage that don't give you the full picture of a game. Judging by the Kilkenny Waterford match you would sweat Kilkenny were the only team that scored haha
never judge a game by highlights my friend it can mislead you something terrible"
I was only saying the last free was never a free .... purely stating the obvious friend !
Obviously a touchy subject tho ....

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 617 - 12/02/2017 23:21:54    1955800

Replying To hill16no1man:  "What about the Tyrone score where James McCarthy was tripped by a their man off the ball trying to tackle the player shooting or the clip they showed of eoghan o gara on the 21 hard line about to shoot when caught around the head and mcquilan 5 metres away and Tyrone go up other end and score. It happened all night yet one clip is all that's mentioned at the very end.
never judge a game by highlights my friend it can mislead you something terrible"
What about the McCarthy injury? Unfortunate yes but why would they report about an injury? Also it did show him been brought off the pitch. You must of missed that.
Was it a free to draw the game? Was McCann's a black card? Was Bradley's a red card? These were game changing decisions.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 12/02/2017 23:36:03    1955816