Bordering Counties Who Dont Have Much Of A Rivalry

Leitrim and Longford wouldn't be too intense good craic when we meet each other in matches really. As for the rossies we wouldn't be too fond of them now at all!

rahoorahoo (Longford) - Posts: 56 - 13/02/2018 17:23:52    2076587

What about Westmeath and Cavan?

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/02/2018 17:54:20    2076597

Replying To rahoorahoo:  "Leitrim and Longford wouldn't be too intense good craic when we meet each other in matches really. As for the rossies we wouldn't be too fond of them now at all!"
Speaking of Leitrim it has two more Ulster neighbours with which they have no rivalry ! Fermanagh and Donegal ! Very amicable footballing people in lovely Leitrim altogether ;-)

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 13/02/2018 20:07:00    2076622

Replying To Gleebo:  "I honestly don't think that's true, the majority of Mayo folk respect Galway's tradition, even if we obviously want to beat them. We also have a genuine rivalry with them, as evidenced by the celebrations when Galway beat us in MacHale Park a couple of years back. Galway have obviously won several more Sams than us and fair play to them, but the head-to-head and provincial records are sufficiently close to foster a decent sense of competition between the two counties.

On the other hand, it's hard to fathom the vitriol coming from the other side of the fence when the recent record against the Rossies is so one-sided.

When others refer to class, I refer to honesty. I consider it disrespectful to plámas or BS people. How people take it is up to themselves."
Whatever! Ye think that ye have a God given right to win Sam and have choked so many times. I'm fine that we are behind Galway and Mayo in Connacht but it's relative really considering we are a much smaller and way more sparsely populated county. It's looking like this Mayo winning Sam boat may have finally flown. It seems it's not going to happen. Galway look like they have more natural forwards into the future and may in the next number of years be in with a chance of winning Sam. So get over your obsession let a good man and face reality.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 13/02/2018 22:08:33    2076653

Replying To moros:  "Whatever! Ye think that ye have a God given right to win Sam and have choked so many times. I'm fine that we are behind Galway and Mayo in Connacht but it's relative really considering we are a much smaller and way more sparsely populated county. It's looking like this Mayo winning Sam boat may have finally flown. It seems it's not going to happen. Galway look like they have more natural forwards into the future and may in the next number of years be in with a chance of winning Sam. So get over your obsession let a good man and face reality."
LOL! Maybe Mayo will win Sam, and maybe we won't, but we'll be a lot closer to it than your crowd will in any case. I recall a lot of Rossies getting carried away before the All-Ireland quarter-final last year, and that didn't end too well for ye, so it seems to me that you can see the mote in your neighbour's eye but not the log in your own. 22 points, that must have stung alright.

And let's not forget that you haven't beaten Mayo in the championship since 2001,including a number of occasions when your team have been favourites.

Pretty sad latching on to Galway, though.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 14/02/2018 08:49:56    2076687

Replying To moros:  "Whatever! Ye think that ye have a God given right to win Sam and have choked so many times. I'm fine that we are behind Galway and Mayo in Connacht but it's relative really considering we are a much smaller and way more sparsely populated county. It's looking like this Mayo winning Sam boat may have finally flown. It seems it's not going to happen. Galway look like they have more natural forwards into the future and may in the next number of years be in with a chance of winning Sam. So get over your obsession let a good man and face reality."
Not a hint of bitterness there at all!!

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 14/02/2018 09:55:49    2076701

Replying To rahoorahoo:  "Leitrim and Longford wouldn't be too intense good craic when we meet each other in matches really. As for the rossies we wouldn't be too fond of them now at all!"
actually combined for the Masters football

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 14/02/2018 11:39:49    2076737

Replying To Gleebo:  "LOL! Maybe Mayo will win Sam, and maybe we won't, but we'll be a lot closer to it than your crowd will in any case. I recall a lot of Rossies getting carried away before the All-Ireland quarter-final last year, and that didn't end too well for ye, so it seems to me that you can see the mote in your neighbour's eye but not the log in your own. 22 points, that must have stung alright.

And let's not forget that you haven't beaten Mayo in the championship since 2001,including a number of occasions when your team have been favourites.

Pretty sad latching on to Galway, though."
And the clock keeps ticking!

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 14/02/2018 11:45:39    2076740

Replying To Rosineri1:  "actually combined for the Masters football"
They only had 13 v Offaly. Not a good sign.

LooseCannon (Offaly) - Posts: 86 - 14/02/2018 11:50:08    2076745

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Meath and Cavan..

Cavan may have a rivalry but Meath don't give Cavan a second thought."
only when Meath fans are pegging rocks at Cavan fans returning from Croker, after been beaten by a team that wasn't Meath..............

ramor101 (Cavan) - Posts: 289 - 14/02/2018 12:11:10    2076747

Replying To ramor101:  "only when Meath fans are pegging rocks at Cavan fans returning from Croker, after been beaten by a team that wasn't Meath.............."
ziggy lives in the Ashbourne area. He wouldn't have a clue.

gaelicgab (USA) - Posts: 878 - 14/02/2018 12:15:51    2076750

what defines a rivalry?
for example,wexford and waterford would have little or no rivalry.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 14/02/2018 12:21:28    2076751

I've never felt much of a rivalry between Tyrone and Derry.

;)

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 14/02/2018 12:26:28    2076754

New York and Galway

abitawit (Fermanagh) - Posts: 274 - 14/02/2018 13:02:59    2076770

Replying To moros:  "And the clock keeps ticking!"
That's what clocks tend to do.

Didn't John Evans promise the Rossies an All-Ireland senior title a few years' back? I imagine the clock's ticking on that one too.

http://www.the42.ie/roscommon-john-evans-all-ireland-2070553-Apr2015/

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 14/02/2018 13:13:31    2076776

Take out some of the big rivalries such as Dublin/Meath Galway/Mayo Cork/Kerry Tyrone/Armagh I think a lot of it comes down to where you are from within the county. I know in Longford the south of the county would view Westmeath to be our biggest rivals where up North Longford it would be Cavan and west it would be Roscommon but I think the rivalry stems in those areas because of a lot more interaction/dealings with the closest neighbouring county through schools, social scenes etc shared across borders.

I'm sure there are people in Meath/Cavan who acknowledge a rivaly between the two more so than people say on the Longford Side of cavan because of where they are situated.

But because the way things can go in championship a lot of 'Rivalries' are never pl;ayed out unless youre like the teams I mentioned above who constantly play at a higher level together or are in a smaller province and meet more frequently!

Id love to play Westmeath a bit more but as we both often Yo-yo through the leagues and Leinster is so big it doesn't happen often

LongfordSham (Longford) - Posts: 106 - 14/02/2018 17:26:52    2076871

Oldcastle, Kells, Nobber, Carnaross, those areas of Meath would have rivalry with Cavan.

Somebody on the Meath/Dublin border obviously would've see it as a rivalry.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 14/02/2018 17:44:33    2076872

Haha same as!
Willie Hegarty wrecks my head on Shannonside. Full duck or no dinner! GOOAAALLL for Roscommon! The oul lad would retort back at the radio as if talking to him "that ya may burst before yis ever score another one"!

Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - Posts: 235 - 14/02/2018 18:50:24    2076887

Replying To Gleebo:  "That's what clocks tend to do.

Didn't John Evans promise the Rossies an All-Ireland senior title a few years' back? I imagine the clock's ticking on that one too.

Evans" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.the42.ie/roscommon-john-evans-all-ireland-2070553-Apr2015/"
Evans could say what he wanted. We didn't gag him like. Ye have been choking since 89 and your time seems up now bud. Oh the green and red of Mayo ! Lol

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1080 - 14/02/2018 21:35:00    2076925

Replying To rossy15:  "When was the last time leitrim played cavan"
Never in the championship. If ever in the league, it hasn't been recently.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1030 - 15/02/2018 00:07:25    2076951