Galway hurlers to Munster?

Galway going straight into the All Ireland Semi-final, thoughts:

- Does anyone think that this might actually suit the Galway Hurlers a bit better now in the 'modern hurling era' I'm not saying I do or I don't but here are some thoughts and good to get opinions on this:

1) Using the league to establish a panel and nail down certain positions
2) Use a combination of Galway training as well as running of a good few club champ games (they're pretty full-on affairs in Galway) so this should keep players match fit. Use a reformatted club champ where they are playing 4 out of every 6 weekends or something.
3) Don't worry about having to peak until the business end of the championship (thus keeping players fresh and ready go go. With modern sports science I really think that a specific player and position orientated training programme to have them peaking for later end of championship could actually work much better now then in the past.
4) Peaking for an All Ireland Semi then hopefully a Final would mean fresh players mad for road
5) Cant have much worse of a record in finals than under the current Leinster arrangement.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 18/11/2016 11:04:15    1935295

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "Well if the whole thing can't be changed and I wouldn't expect it to for one county then they should go back to the original system where Galway played in the all Ireland semi every year .whats the point in playing in a province with no attachment?
They won 3 all irelands in 60 odd years by playing in the semi final each year. A very poor return.
If the provincials are to be kept well keep it to the counties from the respective province , otherwise it becomes a total farce"
They won 3 and have won none since 1988 simply because they aren't good enough.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 18/11/2016 11:07:17    1935296

From hearing the comments of deveraux, the wexford chairman, and Cillian Buckley, as things stand, we're better off out. Deveraux is looking at it from a wexford point of view, while Buckley said it would be strange going to galway. It was strange when galway entered leinster, but now is almost normal. Isn't right years enough of a trial run. I think Munster's a more natural fit for galway. We have a massive border with Clare, and a smaller one with tipp, while Limerick is also near, and in all Munster counties, hurling is the number one game, while only in kilkenny and possibly wexford is that the case. If the Munster counties wouldn't mind playing our young lads and playing every second game in galway city, then it would work. Besides, all the Munster counties with the exception of kilkenny are a bigger draw than any leinster county, and the atmosphere at those games would be unreal, like in thurles, cork and Limerick. People, who say, "but what about the leinster championship", well, galway for some years have outlined their greviences, and have been ignored and ridiculed. Galway want a permanent home at all levels. The provincial and central councils have decisions to make.

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 18/11/2016 11:12:07    1935300

People, who say, "but what about the leinster championship", well, galway for some years have outlined their greviences, and have been ignored and ridiculed.

galwaydublin (Galway) - Posts:139 - 18/11/2016 11:12:07

I've yet to see or hear anyone ridiculing Galways plight. The Leinster championship, on the other hand, has been regularly and thoroughly ridiculed on here, and by hurling "fans" throughout the land.

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 18/11/2016 11:42:00    1935314

Replying To tiobraid:  "They won 3 and have won none since 1988 simply because they aren't good enough."
Correct.... Limerick haven't won an all Ireland since 1973 so can they switch to Leinster? Or Waterford switch? No they can't . So Galway shouldn't either.
Either change the whole layout or leave it as it was years ago. Plain and simple.

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 18/11/2016 12:02:20    1935315

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "Correct.... Limerick haven't won an all Ireland since 1973 so can they switch to Leinster? Or Waterford switch? No they can't . So Galway shouldn't either.
Either change the whole layout or leave it as it was years ago. Plain and simple."
1) Galway aren't looking to 'switch' because they haven't won an All Ireland. This has nothing to do with winning an All Ireland.

2) Galway would like a level and fair playing field, which we cannot have due to our geographical isolation in terms of hurling.

3) Galway seek inclusion for their underage teams in a provisional system and seek fairness in terms of a home draw every second year. (example: away games in Leinster are scheduled for Antrim in 2017 but not G-town, so I dispute any claims from Leinster hurling 'supporters' that Salthill is an awful place to get to but get Antrim is much easier!).

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 18/11/2016 12:16:17    1935317

Replying To tiobraid:  "They won 3 and have won none since 1988 simply because they aren't good enough."
As a Galway hurling supporter I agree with the fact that Galway have not won an All Ireland because they have been beaten by better teams. This is a fact, I have been at every Galway hurling final since 1990 and bar maybe that final against Cork Galway were beaten by the better team in every final since then until now.

It would be re-miss of me to discuss hurling with a Tipp supporter without first mentioning Tony Keady and secondly Tipp only win an average of 1 All Ireland every 10 years! Lols*

*The above is banter please let it be taken as such

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 18/11/2016 12:19:15    1935318

Replying To The_DOC:  "As a Galway hurling supporter I agree with the fact that Galway have not won an All Ireland because they have been beaten by better teams. This is a fact, I have been at every Galway hurling final since 1990 and bar maybe that final against Cork Galway were beaten by the better team in every final since then until now.

It would be re-miss of me to discuss hurling with a Tipp supporter without first mentioning Tony Keady and secondly Tipp only win an average of 1 All Ireland every 10 years! Lols*

*The above is banter please let it be taken as such"
I didn't think the All Ireland started nearly 300 years ago! Does 1 in 10 mean we scrape in as being a hurling county then?
Simple fact of the matter is ye should ban all hurlers from the city from minor up! Too good of a social scene!

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 18/11/2016 13:05:54    1935329

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "Well if the whole thing can't be changed and I wouldn't expect it to for one county then they should go back to the original system where Galway played in the all Ireland semi every year .whats the point in playing in a province with no attachment?
They won 3 all irelands in 60 odd years by playing in the semi final each year. A very poor return.
If the provincials are to be kept well keep it to the counties from the respective province , otherwise it becomes a total farce"
I think the best structure for the hurling would be to remove 'provincials' have two groups of 5, round robin games, have 1 group of 5 being the Munster Counties - call it the 'Mackey Cup' or some such top 2 teams into the Mackey Final, another 5 made up of Galway + 4 Leinster counties, the 'Bob O'Keefe' , top team with home advantage in the final- winners get to the McCarty cup semi final - McCarthy Cup quarters are Mackey/O'Keefe final losers v's 3rd placed team from opposite championship.
If a team is consistently winning the Christy Ring and finishing in the league placings above another team already in the McCarty cup then promote them in place of the other team or add another 2 Teams.

73forever (Limerick) - Posts: 89 - 18/11/2016 13:55:13    1935348

Open draw. ... minor u21 and senior
What ever bout Galway, Antrim need to be brought back into the fold! @@#?
Another rant from Liam Griffin on today's indo, if he had his why all football's would be burst in wexford, duel status of clubs no excuse for poor standards of both codes in this county

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 18/11/2016 14:35:55    1935359

Replying To 73forever:  "I think the best structure for the hurling would be to remove 'provincials' have two groups of 5, round robin games, have 1 group of 5 being the Munster Counties - call it the 'Mackey Cup' or some such top 2 teams into the Mackey Final, another 5 made up of Galway + 4 Leinster counties, the 'Bob O'Keefe' , top team with home advantage in the final- winners get to the McCarty cup semi final - McCarthy Cup quarters are Mackey/O'Keefe final losers v's 3rd placed team from opposite championship.
If a team is consistently winning the Christy Ring and finishing in the league placings above another team already in the McCarty cup then promote them in place of the other team or add another 2 Teams."
Agree completely. The championship for the Munster counties can continue but not as a provincial championship. The 'provincial' thing has had its day.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 18/11/2016 14:43:34    1935362

Open draw. ... minor u21 and senior 
What ever bout Galway, Antrim need to be brought back into the fold! @@#?
Another rant from Liam Griffin on today's indo, if he had his why all football's would be burst in wexford, duel status of clubs no excuse for poor standards of both codes in this county

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 18/11/2016 14:57:52    1935366

Replying To tiobraid:  "Just read Cillian Buckley's view. He's dead right. I don't remember KK playing too many Leinster games in Nolan Park either. Galway need to be campaigning to get the underage teams in and give up on the home and away rubbish. They are where they are.
Yet another winter in the media for Galway hurlers.
Salthill is an awful spot to get to even for a league game coming from North Tipp. Could you get a worse place for a game of hurling? Might as well play it on the prom!"
I couldn't agree more, personally I couldn't care less about us getting home and away games, but it is inexcusable to not allow our U-21s or Minors into Leinster, it should be all or nothing. If Leinster continue to vote against our Minors and U-21s being allowed into Leinster, then it's time for the GAA to scrap the provincial championships at U-21 and Minor level, and bring in an open draw or champions league style format. I think we all know that the provincial setup will never go in most of our lifetimes at senior level, but nothing wrong with trialing it at U-21 and Minor. On the basis that this will probably not get through either, time for the GAA then to grow a pair, and insist that Galway play at Minor and U-21 level in Leinster.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 18/11/2016 15:04:24    1935368

2 groups of 5 with only the 2 finalist from the previous year seeded , the rest an open draw when deciding groups would make for some fascinating games.
Top 2 in each group head for semis , bottom 2 playoff with losers playing Christy Ring winners for a place the following year.
Every team is guaranteed at least 4 games.
Some games could be even played as double headers.
The way forward...

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 18/11/2016 15:05:07    1935369

Replying To tiobraid:  "I'm struggling to see any logic especially to your last sentence. Why don't we put the 4 semi finalists this year into one group and get all the big games out of the way early. One out of the group then so only one strong team can get to the final.
You want the two best teams in the first game?
I'd go back to straight knockout hurling and give us club hurlers a chance to play some hurling for a change. Wasn't it great when we were U-16!"
If you'd read the previous to last sentence, it might make more sense to you. And where did I suggest making it a 4 team championship? Overreact much? I was talking about having a championship where any team could face any other team from the get go.
The provincial system in hurling is now just a mess. It works for the Munster counties, grand. What about everyone else? What's the provincial system doing for Antrim? Only 2 provinces have competitions in AI series. You have a Munster team playing in Leinster. Actually you could very well have teams from every province playing in Leinster, if Antrim get promoted again. Or after this year, we might have Kerry in the Leinster Championship, and Galway in the Munster championship. Whats the point? Its a mess, and the sooner they scrap this system for hurling, the better, before it becomes a one game championship.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 18/11/2016 21:57:02    1935429

Replying To gilly2308:  "I couldn't agree more, personally I couldn't care less about us getting home and away games, but it is inexcusable to not allow our U-21s or Minors into Leinster, it should be all or nothing. If Leinster continue to vote against our Minors and U-21s being allowed into Leinster, then it's time for the GAA to scrap the provincial championships at U-21 and Minor level, and bring in an open draw or champions league style format. I think we all know that the provincial setup will never go in most of our lifetimes at senior level, but nothing wrong with trialing it at U-21 and Minor. On the basis that this will probably not get through either, time for the GAA then to grow a pair, and insist that Galway play at Minor and U-21 level in Leinster."
Home and away is very important. It works very well here in Munster. There just isnt enough of it. Having a munster championship game at home every so often is so important.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 19/11/2016 12:53:26    1935461

Replying To Marlon_JD:  "If you'd read the previous to last sentence, it might make more sense to you. And where did I suggest making it a 4 team championship? Overreact much? I was talking about having a championship where any team could face any other team from the get go.
The provincial system in hurling is now just a mess. It works for the Munster counties, grand. What about everyone else? What's the provincial system doing for Antrim? Only 2 provinces have competitions in AI series. You have a Munster team playing in Leinster. Actually you could very well have teams from every province playing in Leinster, if Antrim get promoted again. Or after this year, we might have Kerry in the Leinster Championship, and Galway in the Munster championship. Whats the point? Its a mess, and the sooner they scrap this system for hurling, the better, before it becomes a one game championship."
The Munster championship is sacrosanct. Its going nowhere. The hurling championship needs a makeover, a big one. Lets just start at a realistic position. Munster championship continues with maybe some calender adjustment. Any talk of scraping it is just outlandish.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 19/11/2016 12:57:03    1935462

Replying To bloodyban:  "The Munster championship is sacrosanct. Its going nowhere. The hurling championship needs a makeover, a big one. Lets just start at a realistic position. Munster championship continues with maybe some calender adjustment. Any talk of scraping it is just outlandish."
Galway have being getting a raw deal. We would welcome them here in Munster. Let leinster hurling be killed off by the kk dominance. Only then will they realise how important Galway are to leinster hurling. It's a joke really, what ever about home and away agreements. The U21 and minors should be playing in the championship with the seniors. That's just my opinion

TheBlaBoi (Waterford) - Posts: 24 - 19/11/2016 18:42:57    1935496

Replying To gilly2308:  "I couldn't agree more, personally I couldn't care less about us getting home and away games, but it is inexcusable to not allow our U-21s or Minors into Leinster, it should be all or nothing. If Leinster continue to vote against our Minors and U-21s being allowed into Leinster, then it's time for the GAA to scrap the provincial championships at U-21 and Minor level, and bring in an open draw or champions league style format. I think we all know that the provincial setup will never go in most of our lifetimes at senior level, but nothing wrong with trialing it at U-21 and Minor. On the basis that this will probably not get through either, time for the GAA then to grow a pair, and insist that Galway play at Minor and U-21 level in Leinster."
Good points and worth a try but do the GAA even care about U21 anymore?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 21/11/2016 08:56:53    1935674

Replying To bloodyban:  "The Munster championship is sacrosanct. Its going nowhere. The hurling championship needs a makeover, a big one. Lets just start at a realistic position. Munster championship continues with maybe some calender adjustment. Any talk of scraping it is just outlandish."
Spot on. I don't think this is even worth talking about anymore. It's going no where and rightly so.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 21/11/2016 10:24:19    1935700