Its that time of the year again - Christmas do for all of us

Id love to attend, it would take the anonymity away too, lot of people know who I am, I say park hotel Mullingar, or hermitage portlaoise both excellent venues.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:9691

The Hermitage? Assume you mean Heritage unless you plan on having such a good (or bad) night you end up in a hospital :)

Whatever happend to the plan for us all to meet up for a massive kickabout in the 15 acres in the Phoenix Park? Everybody just show up in their county jersey and have inter-pro matches the fans actually care about.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 17/11/2016 12:47:01    1935054

Replying To cuederocket:  "We're all here for one reason only ; the love of our two great games.So why not try incorporate it into our two biggest days of the year.Regardless of which counties are in the final?All Ireland weekends are great times.We could all catch up and have the craic while helping each other out with tickets,accomodation,woman (only joking) etc.Just throwing it out there lads."
The only problem I can see with your plan is for fans of the two counties taking part on the day. Chances are posters from those counties will already have their plans to travel/congregate/drink with friends, family etc, which might exclude them from our Virtual Becomes Actual gathering.

Also, organising something like this is pretty awkward when posters are unable to privately message each other. I mean, I'm not obsessed with anonymity but putting my full name, phone number and email on a public forum that anyone can access, no, I'm not doing that and I'd say most would be thinking the same way.

Admin, maybe this is something you can look into?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 17/11/2016 13:12:21    1935066

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Id love to attend, it would take the anonymity away too, lot of people know who I am, I say park hotel Mullingar, or hermitage portlaoise both excellent venues.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts:9691

The Hermitage? Assume you mean Heritage unless you plan on having such a good (or bad) night you end up in a hospital :)

Whatever happend to the plan for us all to meet up for a massive kickabout in the 15 acres in the Phoenix Park? Everybody just show up in their county jersey and have inter-pro matches the fans actually care about."
I'd say given the numbers of posters the match would probably be Dublin against the rest?

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 17/11/2016 13:18:30    1935070

I'd say given the numbers of posters the match would probably be Dublin against the rest?

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts:217 - 17/11/2016

Nothing new there.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 17/11/2016 13:49:41    1935078

Surely but surely it would have to be held where the 8° Meridian West meets the 53°30' North Latitude in the townland of Carnagh East, County Roscommon on the western shore of Lough Ree, opposite the Cribby Islands and 8.85 kilometres NNW of Athlone Town.

There or Derry!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 17/11/2016 14:01:47    1935082

Replying To OLLIE:  "Lads and Lassies. The Louth Hoganstand should be held in Louth. The M1 is the gateway into the Wee County and is only 25 mins from Dublin Airport. Wee might be the smallest county in Ireland but we have the two biggest towns. Take your pick from having it in the D'Hotel in Drogheda, The Crown Plaza in Dundalk or the Four Seasons in beautiful Carlingford which is Louth's gem. Bring your partners with you and you can do a bit a Christmas shopping over the border in Newry. That's my bid in."
and theres a super little pub un drogheda that shares your username...that b the spot for a shin dig

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 17/11/2016 14:18:02    1935085

well it cant be galway cos if the leinster teams wont go there neither will we!! i think it be great bit of craic....

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 17/11/2016 14:20:53    1935086

Replying To cuederocket:  "We're all here for one reason only ; the love of our two great games.So why not try incorporate it into our two biggest days of the year.Regardless of which counties are in the final?All Ireland weekends are great times.We could all catch up and have the craic while helping each other out with tickets,accomodation,woman (only joking) etc.Just throwing it out there lads."
jeremiah ryans be a great spot for a hogan stand bash

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 17/11/2016 14:22:41    1935088

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Surely but surely it would have to be held where the 8° Meridian West meets the 53°30' North Latitude in the townland of Carnagh East, County Roscommon on the western shore of Lough Ree, opposite the Cribby Islands and 8.85 kilometres NNW of Athlone Town.

There or Derry!"
The Hudson Bay Hotel is in that area. That's Brigid area.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 17/11/2016 14:27:17    1935090

Replying To OLLIE:  "The Hudson Bay Hotel is in that area. That's Brigid area."
Hodson Bay Hotel would be lovely - bit of water sports too.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 17/11/2016 14:55:47    1935096

so Tomsmith stands on the door with a phone or tablet or some device. when people arrive they just give their username. Tom invites them to log in to the Hoganstand website as proof that they are who they say they are. obviously lookingaway when password is being typed in. That way you don't even have to reveal your true identity. Once you have signed in you can be issued with a name tag. Perhaps there can be tables set out like a wedding with Tom deciding before hand, who sits with who.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 17/11/2016 15:06:35    1935101

Hodson Bay Hotel would be lovely - bit of water sports too.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts:3162 - 17/11/2016

Depends how many ladies show up I suppose.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 17/11/2016 15:40:05    1935114

Replying To juniorjudge:  "and theres a super little pub un drogheda that shares your username...that b the spot for a shin dig"
Time stands still in that pub JuniorJudge.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 17/11/2016 15:45:28    1935117

tom is leaving a card behind the bar for the first hour,get there early to avoid disappointment!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 17/11/2016 16:40:49    1935131

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "Hodson Bay Hotel would be lovely - bit of water sports too.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts:3162 - 17/11/2016

Depends how many ladies show up I suppose."
I was in no way implying those kinds of water sports if_in_doubt........ ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 17/11/2016 16:59:51    1935142

Would have to be in Dublin as you know how we hate to go on the road.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 17/11/2016 17:06:05    1935145

Tomsmith Cavan here live with you

Well lets decide on avenue
We have the Hudson Bay in Athlone
we have Mull -in- gar
We have Drog-heda
We have the North, and someone suggested the Farnhan and Imperial hotels in Cavan Town
For anyone outside of Cavan these two hotels are fine places with one steeped in GAA tradition.
I suppose for Country posters the Imperial would be the preferred choice for run starts.
In Kells the OLd Headford Arms would be suitable
Lets hear from you where to hold it

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 17/11/2016 20:08:23    1935187

Replying To OLLIE:  "I should say Hoganstand Christmas Party."
Feck it Ollie. Lets make it in the bull.
And I did mean heritage not hermitage, unless it ends up there after few way too many.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/11/2016 21:50:08    1935223

Tomsmith Cavan here

I understand that Croke Park Hotel has several functions lined up in early December
we could tag along with one of them.I understand that parking is no issue
As for posters from weaker Counties that never won a All Ireland youse can always take the Sky walk in the morning and look at the playing field

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 22/11/2016 11:18:15    1935921

Replying To tomsmith:  "Tomsmith Cavan here

I understand that Croke Park Hotel has several functions lined up in early December
we could tag along with one of them.I understand that parking is no issue
As for posters from weaker Counties that never won a All Ireland youse can always take the Sky walk in the morning and look at the playing field"
Tom Smith....Does that mean that any Cavan supporter under the age of 100 will be taking that walk? (joking)

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 26/11/2016 13:11:11    1936809