12 stadia to make up Ireland's 2023 RWC Bid

Replying To hill16no1man:  "tearintom
you see most country people dont know much about dublin if im being honest
they think we all have ryan tubridy accents and pockets to match
or else we have nidge from love/hate accent and are involved in same trade as him.
they think dublin starts at the red cow and ends at 3arena and theres no coast line unless your talking about the wild atlantic west sure thats the other side of ireland BOYYYYYYYYYYYYY.
the media versus the people
rugby is very much a minority in dublin yet look at the coverage it gets nationaly which is described as dublin media by country folk
which in turn leads them to think rugby must be huge in dublin.
its an upper class sport, inclusive to those from high social status, your doctors, your lawyers.
your ivor's of this world, would you like to be classed as an ivor?????
so next time someone from dublin thinks your a cabbage munching culchie farmer just because your from the country
would you say sure whats the big deal with that haha
gaa and soccer are sports played by ordinary people in dublin, they accept anybody as sport should be
rugby clubs in dublin look down their noses and only want the a type of person to keep their clubs at a high social standard.
On the northside of dublin rugby barely exists even."
That a boy,hill.I honestly dont think a lot of country people understand the rugby situation in Dublin.Maybe if they lived up here all their lives they wouldn't be so quick to embrace the game.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 16/11/2016 10:04:05    1934599

Peoples objections are nothing to do with the them or us argument which is a red herring, as a lot of gaa clubs and rugby clubs have a very good working relationship in the communities they are based.
My argument with it is the arrogance and 2facedness of those in croke park who keep issuing dictats about only gaa games are allowed on gaa grounds and fining clubs for allowing local rugby/soccer clubs to use their grounds, yet those same suits can stand up in front of the gaels of Ireland waxing lyrical about the great benefits it would bring to Ireland and the gaa by having the rugby world cup. Do they not see the hypocrisy in this. Have they told the rugby crowd about their rules and fines for allowing other sports to use grounds, you can be damned sure they haven't. Then again it's all about the corporate money. When croke park was opened up the first time it was only meant to be a temporary arrangement whilst Lansdowne was being converted.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 16/11/2016 10:10:28    1934600

Lets hope Croke Park are earning a king's ransom for this. Still a bit hypocritical that local clubs cannot earn a few much-needed quid, when Croker sit in their ivory towers beseeching us to eat cake.

http://www.the42.ie/dromard-gaa-jamie-carragher-fine-2585772-Feb2016/

Whatever goes upon two legs is an enemy.
Whatever goes upon four legs, or has wings, is a friend.
No animal shall wear clothes.
No animal shall sleep in a bed.
No animal shall drink alcohol.
No animal shall kill any other animal.
All animals are equal

4/5/6/7 changed to:
No animal shall sleep in a bed with sheets.
No animal shall drink alcohol to excess.
No animal shall kill any other animal without cause.
All animals are equal but some are more equal than others.

It seems that the rules being applied to clubs are not the rules of our glorious leaders. Time to stop this hypocrisy.

Cully (Laois) - Posts: 375 - 16/11/2016 10:12:03    1934601

Replying To hurler32:  "The Independents reaction today to the GAA giving 8 of their Stadia for the IRFU bid is to moan about how much the GAA might make out of it rather than a bit of credit for the GAA helping out another sports body with their attempts to pull in a big Competition in their sport..the GAA cant win when the Independent are involved....."
Yeah saw that alright. The Independent is a complete rag in anyways.

What struck me was the fact that the €30m seems very low for the GAA to be getting.

I mean the GAA are going to end up supplying at least half of the stadia, move the All-Ireland Finals (Football, Hurling, Camogie, Ladies Football) back a month or so, lose out on countless media attention in the run up to the tournament, give a rival organisation the best platform ever to advertise and lose out on a lot of revenue at local level as county championships are on at the same time. €30m seems like a terrible deal for the GAA.

I know they are in a poor negotiating position because the IRFU know that the media would have ripped the GAA apart had they the gall to refuse but it's still a poor return, no doubt about it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 16/11/2016 10:16:39    1934602

Replying To janesboro:  "It is not the GAA's job to help out rugby which is a rival.Regardless of the bull that will be spun , all sports are competing with each other for players and fans.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts:1014 - 15/11/2016 22:27:51

just as well soccer didnt take this attitude or you would never have had gaa at wembley
http://craic-it.com/watch-dublins-gaa-victory-kerry-wembley/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2lmw9tMYVd4
Google gaa wembley youd find lots of videos -used to be very common"
The thing is Lanesboro, soccer and rugby don't have rules barring clubs renting out grounds to other sports which is in the gaa rule book, rugby and soccer authorities don't fine clubs for letting out their grounds which the gaa does. Is the hypocrisy and double standards not glaring.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 16/11/2016 10:18:21    1934605

Replying To bloodyban: "I wonder did Limerick GAA lobby not to have the Garlic Grounds included. It wouldnt surprise me. I think its a joke that limerick has just one stadium nominated."
It's a funny one. Maybe the Irfu were happy to just have Thomond.
===================================================================================================================

It's obviously very politically motivated. Would Castlebar and Celtic Park be included except for Kenny and McGuinness?

Pairc Ui Caoimh was always going to be included as Cork is too big to be ignored and it will be a really nice new stadium. Killarney, Kilkenny and Galway are big tourist destinations.
Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts:1385 - 16/11/2016 01:00:42

I think Derry City was probably considered on the basis of it's current population size, a City population which is rapidly expanding since 2015, after a series of massive planning approvals were finally granted inside the City, to ease chronic housing shortages, which had forced thousands of people to move to Satellite towns in Donegal and surrounding Derry area's.

Thousands of these new houses are finally at long last underway (2400 New houses were approved in the City in 2015/2016), with similar numbers of approvals expected in 2017 and 2018. As a result, the actual City itself is set to exceed the 120,000 population mark in the next 3-5 years.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 16/11/2016 10:26:30    1934608

Lads the likes of royaldunne doesn't speak for all of us culchies

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 16/11/2016 10:56:00    1934613

rugby clubs in dublin look down their noses and only want the a type of person to keep their clubs at a high social standard.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11373 - 16/11/2016 09:46:15   
That a boy,hill.I honestly dont think a lot of country people understand the rugby situation in Dublin.Maybe if they lived up here all their lives they wouldn't be so quick to embrace the game.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4821 - 16/11/2016 10:04:05   19

i would dispute this i lived in dublin for 3 years and played with old wesley, am working class and have a limerick accent (trying to attract women in dublin with a limerick accent aint easy!!) . Outside of the game while working in dublin youd get the odd smart comment about being from limerick stab city etc, generally by people who had never been there, my response was to tell them to get lost and take no notice. With wesley i played in nearly all the dublin clubs and never had an issue with my background home or away. Played GAA too and never had an issue. Never a smart comment.

now back in limerick with young munster, I do all the home game and most away ones, follow lot of club and county gaa where i coach at club level too,. Being going to games in Dublin regularly since 1991. This year alone i have been to belvo clontarf, trinity, marys, and terenure. Hillman your relatives will probably know young munster is a working class club, we make a virtue of it sometimes a bit too much! For away games in dublin We always go in early and have tea in the clubhouse In all cases i find the Dublin Club rugby guys are very welcoming , yes they come from a different economic background background but to be honest they are very very sound and decent . Theyd alway come over an talk to you. When they come down to us we try to be as welcoming. Now when the game starts its bitter its intense , they wanna win , we wanna win, roaring and shouting, the usual . And hillman im happy to say and club games drinking during games is very rare

Was in terenure last week - was a great trip (a bonus point win is always a great trip), few things i noticed, we were there a bit early to strolled around templeogue - on templeogue road we stumbled accross a pitch and went in for a look , there was a ground with three soccer pitches and a rugby pitch. On the rugby pitch they were putting up GAA goals accross the field for a football game. Would you be allowed put rugby goals on a GAA pitch?As my kids are playing gaa/soccer and rugby and i am involved coaching i love to see the sports cooperate.

Before the senior game our under 10s and 13s played against teams from terenure and the rugby hotspot of vienna. Weird seeing guys play rugby and talking german . The terenure guys looked after the kids very well e.g. fed them etc. During the game i was wondering up and down the sideline following the game, when i came accross the terenure under 20s team, i noticed at least 6 of them had hurleys and helmets, Got talking to them turns out there are a lot of the terenure lads playing for Faughs and they were playing a match earlier that morning and travelled up to watch the rugby.

To summary of course i am aware the fellas supporting clubs in dublin are wealthier than I and have different accents, but still in the main they are generally a grand welcoming bunch. Go to a game yourself you might be surprised. Maybe others have had different experiences but nobody has come on and said anything specific only generality and perception. There is nothing stopping anybody from any background going to a soccer, GAA or rugby club and playing/watching or participating.

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 11:08:41    1934618

Yeah saw that alright. The Independent is a complete rag in anyways.

What struck me was the fact that the €30m seems very low for the GAA to be getting.

I mean the GAA are going to end up supplying at least half of the stadia, move the All-Ireland Finals (Football, Hurling, Camogie, Ladies Football) back a month or so, lose out on countless media attention in the run up to the tournament, give a rival organisation the best platform ever to advertise and lose out on a lot of revenue at local level as county championships are on at the same time. €30m seems like a terrible deal for the GAA.

I know they are in a poor negotiating position because the IRFU know that the media would have ripped the GAA apart had they the gall to refuse but it's still a poor return, no doubt about it.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts:10253 - 16/11/2016 10:16:39

I don't think the GAA will actually gain €30 million the week after the RWC ends, I actually think that amount will be offset when considering how much the GAA themselves are contributing to Stadium developments around the Country.

If anything, the GAA will probably be out more than the €30 million they are set to gain to get Stadiums ready, but as I already said previously, these tournaments don't make money for the host nation, It's more of a morale boost to the Host nation rather than the financial boost.

I'm still in favour of the RWC bid.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 16/11/2016 11:16:02    1934621

Replying To Breffni39:  "Lads the likes of royaldunne doesn't speak for all of us culchies"
I don't know Breff. I mean he makes a compelling argument.

There was that fella he knew once……...

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 16/11/2016 11:24:40    1934623

I don't think the GAA will actually gain €30 million the week after the RWC ends, I actually think that amount will be offset when considering how much the GAA themselves are contributing to Stadium developments around the Country.

If anything, the GAA will probably be out more than the €30 million they are set to gain to get Stadiums ready, but as I already said previously, these tournaments don't make money for the host nation, It's more of a morale boost to the Host nation rather than the financial boost.

I'm still in favour of the RWC bid.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts:2877 - 16/11/2016 11:16:02

I'm not necessarily against it either. As long as it doesn't cost the taxpayer, north and south, too much then I'd broadly be in favour as a lot of people will get a tremendous amount of enjoyment from it and that's important too. We'll never be able to host the World Cup or Olympics so this is the best we could do in terms of a fairly international tournament.

I'd just take exception with the comments that this is going to make us all millions and that it is a great idea for the GAA.

The GAA had no choice in this as the fall out to rejecting it would have been enormous in the media and political world for obvious reasons.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 16/11/2016 11:32:06    1934625

Lads, to be fair most points can be addressed:

1) Perceived large investment: Potential investment required but most of the stadia are in place. Why not use the investment to bring some of these stadia up-to-date (media facilities etc.).
2) County Finals: Not every county is effected, however in many counties with stadia selected for RWC there are secondary stadia that could also host a county final and still no be a max capacity (Galway used Athenry this year for the hurling final, footballers always harping on about Tuam!)

Let use the RWB to the GAA families advantage and get our stadia upgraded etc.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 708 - 16/11/2016 11:32:54    1934626

Replying To janesboro:  "It is not the GAA's job to help out rugby which is a rival.Regardless of the bull that will be spun , all sports are competing with each other for players and fans.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts:1014 - 15/11/2016 22:27:51

just as well soccer didnt take this attitude or you would never have had gaa at wembley
http://craic-it.com/watch-dublins-gaa-victory-kerry-wembley/
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2lmw9tMYVd4
Google gaa wembley youd find lots of videos -used to be very common"
Yeah it was big of the English FA, especially as the GAA was such a big threat for the hearts and minds of young lads from around North London.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 16/11/2016 11:34:26    1934628

Replying To hurler32:  "The Independents reaction today to the GAA giving 8 of their Stadia for the IRFU bid is to moan about how much the GAA might make out of it rather than a bit of credit for the GAA helping out another sports body with their attempts to pull in a big Competition in their sport..the GAA cant win when the Independent are involved....."
yeah it seems that way alright, well our national newspapers and media really are only subsidarys of whats across the water
so maybe across the water have a vested interest in ireland not getting to host it, always an angle with media outlets

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/11/2016 11:34:32    1934629

Replying To bulmccabe:  "Peoples objections are nothing to do with the them or us argument which is a red herring, as a lot of gaa clubs and rugby clubs have a very good working relationship in the communities they are based.
My argument with it is the arrogance and 2facedness of those in croke park who keep issuing dictats about only gaa games are allowed on gaa grounds and fining clubs for allowing local rugby/soccer clubs to use their grounds, yet those same suits can stand up in front of the gaels of Ireland waxing lyrical about the great benefits it would bring to Ireland and the gaa by having the rugby world cup. Do they not see the hypocrisy in this. Have they told the rugby crowd about their rules and fines for allowing other sports to use grounds, you can be damned sure they haven't. Then again it's all about the corporate money. When croke park was opened up the first time it was only meant to be a temporary arrangement whilst Lansdowne was being converted."
sure now they are considering moving the all ireland final to host opening rugby match in croker.
did they actually go to congress and pass a vote for to allow all the stadiums ?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/11/2016 11:36:51    1934631

Replying To MesAmis:  "Yeah saw that alright. The Independent is a complete rag in anyways.

I know they are in a poor negotiating position because the IRFU know that the media would have ripped the GAA apart had they the gall to refuse but it's still a poor return, no doubt about it."
yeah seems ridiculously small figure

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/11/2016 11:38:37    1934632

Replying To Laois76:  "So to date, we've given them a stadium a few years ago so Ireland could "mature as a nation". We gave them the unique ability to catch a ball over their heads. And now we're giving them 8 (Eight) stadiums for THEIR Worldwide showcase.

Hard to fathom what they owe us in return.
Breffni39 (Cavan) - Posts:10631 - 15/11/2016 14:39:16 1934

There are players, rugby and aussie rules, all over the World who can catch a ball over their heads and they never touched a gaelic ball.

You can live in the 19th century or the 21st century. As Brian O'Driscoll said on the news this evening, what makes Irish people unique, in a sporting sense, is our love of all sports. Catching the ball over our head certainly doesn't make us unique!! And the skill is seen less often now in gaelic."
Yeah that was a joke. Any time an Irish rugby player catches a high ball, their apparent GAA background is always referenced.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 16/11/2016 11:44:02    1934633

I actually think it'd be a huge publicity faux pas to move the all Ireland final.

The buzz around Dublin on All Ireland final day is like no other day of the year. What better way to impress the touring masses than to give them a taste of Dublin on the 3rd Sunday in September?

I'd be in favour of playing 2 games in the Aviva that day, one early (say 10am to suit Oz, NZ, etc.) And one at 8pm. But I'd leave time in between to showcase the all ireland, play it live in the fanzones, etc.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 16/11/2016 11:57:43    1934637

Before the senior game our under 10s and 13s played against teams from terenure and the rugby hotspot of vienna. Weird seeing guys play rugby and talking german . The terenure guys looked after the kids very well e.g. fed them etc. During the game i was wondering up and down the sideline following the game, when i came accross the terenure under 20s team, i noticed at least 6 of them had hurleys and helmets, Got talking to them turns out there are a lot of the terenure lads playing for Faughs and they were playing a match earlier that morning and travelled up to watch the rugby.

To summary of course i am aware the fellas supporting clubs in dublin are wealthier than I and have different accents, but still in the main they are generally a grand welcoming bunch. Go to a game yourself you might be surprised. Maybe others have had different experiences but nobody has come on and said anything specific only generality and perception. There is nothing stopping anybody from any background going to a soccer, GAA or rugby club and playing/watching or participating.

janesboro
yeah but your already a rugby man going there , so there not thick they see your from limerick and have a background in rugby so its like a gaa club here getting a kilkenny guy wanting to play hurling they think its great haha
but its the age of joining a rugby club in dublin, its almost like if your not of a certain social standard or havent got a mercedes pulling up well maybe you be better off not sending young sean or mary in here kind of answer.
Again id say they have no problem welcome rugby clubs to play them from all over country, as they see them as their own people with same interest and they can pick up contacts but within dublin is where they have the holier than thou attitude.
again faughs is in a rugby pocket there of templeogue and terenure, most going to school there would have to more than likely have an interest.
where im from on the northside you have three rugby clubs clontarf,sutton and malahide.
its no coincidence they only exist in the posh areas haha
cricket rugby and tennis are all of similiar west brit status and social standards in dublin.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/11/2016 12:02:56    1934639

sure now they are considering moving the all ireland final to host opening rugby match in croker.
did they actually go to congress and pass a vote for to allow all the stadiums ?
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11376 - 16/11/2016 11:36:51 1934631

went to congress in 2013 .

IF the gaa were to gain €30million, its 30million they would not otherwise be getting. Could buy a lot of footballs, kits, sliotars, hurleys helmets with that.

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 16/11/2016 12:03:11    1934640