Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught

Replying To janesboro:  "http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=263574

one discovers something new every day - great to see ye are back hope ye can compete at that level and grow the game up there ,
-hav ye a team in nhl?"
That's enough disingenuity for one day janesboro.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12125 - 06/02/2017 13:36:33    1952711

Replying To Breffni39:  "That's enough disingenuity for one day janesboro."
no i am glad cavan are back, as a hurling fan ex player and now juvenile coach . i think it is good that every county has a team that supporters and young players can aspire to. I didnt know they were back fielding a team in lory meagher after being out for the last 5 years. Hopefully the team is competitive and later on can try move up the tiers. The lory meagher has the big prize of a croke park final which a fine prize for cavan hurling to aspire to

Didnt see any cavan team mentioned in nhl fixtures so i am assuming ye are not entering that (could be wrong), do think it would be better if ye did. . i do think its a bit funny that some cavan posters seem more interested in having a pop at rugby rather than showing concern as to the state of hurling in their county , but then again having heard the news about barry nash leaving the limerick panel a week before a crucial NHL game it looks like we have our own worries.

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 06/02/2017 13:59:02    1952727

Replying To janesboro:  "no i am glad cavan are back, as a hurling fan ex player and now juvenile coach . i think it is good that every county has a team that supporters and young players can aspire to. I didnt know they were back fielding a team in lory meagher after being out for the last 5 years. Hopefully the team is competitive and later on can try move up the tiers. The lory meagher has the big prize of a croke park final which a fine prize for cavan hurling to aspire to

Didnt see any cavan team mentioned in nhl fixtures so i am assuming ye are not entering that (could be wrong), do think it would be better if ye did. . i do think its a bit funny that some cavan posters seem more interested in having a pop at rugby rather than showing concern as to the state of hurling in their county , but then again having heard the news about barry nash leaving the limerick panel a week before a crucial NHL game it looks like we have our own worries."
Neither hurling or rugby are popular in Cavan really. There's no correlation to be made, it's just the way it is.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12125 - 06/02/2017 14:17:23    1952741

Replying To optimist:  "Professional Rugby is not really a sport, it's more of an entertainment franchise, a bit like UFC or WWW. Unfortunately the actors (players) are often old private school / college chums of those in control of our media outlets so therefore they tend to get more attention than they deserve. We have at most 4 professional rugby teams in the country that lap up this media attention. The amateur game is almost non existant.
This weekend saw 3 international rugby matches, a quick check on aertel will show that RTE coverage is bang up to date with scores , scorers and results. The equivalent section for the GAA still doesn't even have the final scores for last nights matches let alone anything that happened today.
The problem here is not actually game of rugby itself, because in fairness, the amateur game is hardly going to trouble the GAA anytime soon, but the way it is reported and followed by certain sections of the media who fawn over our handful of pro teams."
I thoroughly agree. Ryle Nugent being a prime example. He nearly burst out of the TV on Saturday at kickoff, such was his level of excitement. Nauseating.

What match was Lenihan watching? Told us that Scotland were dominating the game, just because they were scoring the few times they went up the field, and built a big lead. I don't know anything about rugby, but I stand to be corrected if Scotland were dominating that game for any sustained spell last Saturday.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3477 - 06/02/2017 14:36:19    1952753

Ryle Nugent is gas. I never noticed this before but I happened to watch Saturdays match with no sound at all and it was grand. Watching the highlights later with Nugent absolutely losing his mind on commentary was pretty comical.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12125 - 06/02/2017 14:56:09    1952774

breffni - i had clare fm on for the ballyea game - the commentary was brilliant - pure passion

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 06/02/2017 15:01:11    1952780

Replying To Breffni39:  "Neither hurling or rugby are popular in Cavan really. There's no correlation to be made, it's just the way it is."
Is there a historic reason that Virginia have a rugby club? They have a few Ulster underage players.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7373 - 06/02/2017 16:48:02    1952868

Replying To Breffni39:  "Neither hurling or rugby are popular in Cavan really. There's no correlation to be made, it's just the way it is."
Laois would be the same - football number one, hurling next and then soccer. Rugby in Laois is played by two clubs. A lot of GAA lads use it (or soccer) to keep fit over the winter.

Heraf (Laois) - Posts: 316 - 06/02/2017 17:03:04    1952878

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Is there a historic reason that Virginia have a rugby club? They have a few Ulster underage players."
I've no idea I'm afraid GNR.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12125 - 06/02/2017 17:11:05    1952886

T

rebelfan (Cork) - Posts: 70 - 06/02/2017 17:43:01    1952904

Replying To janesboro:  "no i am glad cavan are back, as a hurling fan ex player and now juvenile coach . i think it is good that every county has a team that supporters and young players can aspire to. I didnt know they were back fielding a team in lory meagher after being out for the last 5 years. Hopefully the team is competitive and later on can try move up the tiers. The lory meagher has the big prize of a croke park final which a fine prize for cavan hurling to aspire to

Didnt see any cavan team mentioned in nhl fixtures so i am assuming ye are not entering that (could be wrong), do think it would be better if ye did. . i do think its a bit funny that some cavan posters seem more interested in having a pop at rugby rather than showing concern as to the state of hurling in their county , but then again having heard the news about barry nash leaving the limerick panel a week before a crucial NHL game it looks like we have our own worries."
Yeah Cavan are back for the Lory Meagher. Doesn't make sense they're not in the league though. Even Warwickshire are in it. Incidentally, there's a good tradition of camógie in Cavan.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 06/02/2017 18:01:47    1952911

Really interesting article in today's irish independent health supplement about concussion in rugby. It's seems to be a sport littered with collision injuries at all levels and nothing can change that as it's the nature of the sport.It's actually quite worrying looking at the collisions in Rugby (and American football) knowing the damage that can be done by them , if I had kids there is no way I'd let them play rugby plenty of other much safer sports that can be enjoyed out there.The GAA really should be emphasizing the safety of both football and hurling where collision injuries are very very rare.

40% of schoolboy rugby players have suffered a concussion, I genuinely didn't think it was close to that level.I never got close to one when playing football or hurling and the only time I had any sort of head injury is when one of my team mates hit me in the face with an O'Neill's ball by accident.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 06/02/2017 18:18:51    1952921

This thread is really going off topic, it was initially about media coverage, now all it seems is bashing other sports, our sport is better then yours kind of thing, even some childish comments calling rugby not even a sport and more of an entertaining acting like WWE, I think this thread needs to end

rebelfan (Cork) - Posts: 70 - 06/02/2017 18:51:46    1952941

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "Really interesting article in today's irish independent health supplement about concussion in rugby. It's seems to be a sport littered with collision injuries at all levels and nothing can change that as it's the nature of the sport.It's actually quite worrying looking at the collisions in Rugby (and American football) knowing the damage that can be done by them , if I had kids there is no way I'd let them play rugby plenty of other much safer sports that can be enjoyed out there.The GAA really should be emphasizing the safety of both football and hurling where collision injuries are very very rare.

40% of schoolboy rugby players have suffered a concussion, I genuinely didn't think it was close to that level.I never got close to one when playing football or hurling and the only time I had any sort of head injury is when one of my team mates hit me in the face with an O'Neill's ball by accident."
No wonder Offaly have gone to the dogs...

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 06/02/2017 19:46:23    1952965

Constantly whenever Ireland don't do well in international sport people say "if it wasn't for the GAA having so many people playing their sports we'd have a better chance".That line gets trotted out all the time after an irish failure at some international sporting event.
uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts:1039 - 05/02/2017 16:28:11
That phrases like that appear isn't a slight on the GAA. It simply states that the GAA dominated the country and people by and large don't get as great an opportunity to try other sports which are played internationally and therefore many of our better athletes who may be better suited to playing other sports are only playing hurling and or gaelic.

Ormond,who gives you the right to question other posters experiences in regards to rugby?You come across as an arrogant and awkward person,to me.Always trying to pick holes in just about every post.Who do you think you are trying to tell posters from Dublin what rugby is like in the capital?We have all grown up here.Your attitude stinks and your a pain in the hole!
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:5020 - 05/02/2017 16:33:02
So I am not meant to know what rugby is like in Dublin when I have lived in the city, played rugby with a club in the city, have a brother currently playing for a Dublin city club. Have uncles on Dublin city club committees. regularly am at games in the city
Also its a discussion forum. Of course you are meant to pick holes in peoples posts. its a discussion/debate and that's what debates are about.

Professional Rugby is not really a sport, it's more of an entertainment franchise, a bit like UFC or WWW. Unfortunately the actors (players) are often old private school / college chums of those in control of our media outlets so therefore they tend to get more attention than they deserve. We have at most 4 professional rugby teams in the country that lap up this media attention. The amateur game is almost non existant.
This weekend saw 3 international rugby matches, a quick check on aertel will show that RTE coverage is bang up to date with scores , scorers and results. The equivalent section for the GAA still doesn't even have the final scores for last nights matches let alone anything that happened today.
The problem here is not actually game of rugby itself, because in fairness, the amateur game is hardly going to trouble the GAA anytime soon, but the way it is reported and followed by certain sections of the media who fawn over our handful of pro teams.
optimist (Louth) - Posts:154 - 05/02/2017 16:49:41
That's a rather tragic post and is completely false

Really interesting article in today's irish independent health supplement about concussion in rugby. It's seems to be a sport littered with collision injuries at all levels and nothing can change that as it's the nature of the sport.It's actually quite worrying looking at the collisions in Rugby (and American football) knowing the damage that can be done by them , if I had kids there is no way I'd let them play rugby plenty of other much safer sports that can be enjoyed out there.The GAA really should be emphasizing the safety of both football and hurling where collision injuries are very very rare.
40% of schoolboy rugby players have suffered a concussion, I genuinely didn't think it was close to that level.I never got close to one when playing football or hurling and the only time I had any sort of head injury is when one of my team mates hit me in the face with an O'Neill's ball by accident.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts:1039 - 06/02/2017 18:18:51

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 06/02/2017 20:19:31    1952991

But wait. I thought the media was biased in favour of RUGBY and never said anything bad about it. Rugby isn't littered with collision injuries. It isn't at all worrying and rugby has very safe practices in place to help prevent injuries
And when I played gaelic/hurling I can remember there being potential head injuries occurring to team mates quite a bit but education on the issue is miles behind rugby and other sports which lead the way in concussion information/training/support

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 06/02/2017 20:23:15    1952998

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Really interesting article in today's irish independent health supplement about concussion in rugby. It's seems to be a sport littered with collision injuries at all levels and nothing can change that as it's the nature of the sport.It's actually quite worrying looking at the collisions in Rugby (and American football) knowing the damage that can be done by them , if I had kids there is no way I'd let them play rugby plenty of other much safer sports that can be enjoyed out there.The GAA really should be emphasizing the safety of both football and hurling where collision injuries are very very rare.
But wait. I thought the media was biased in favour of RUGBY and never said anything bad about it. Rugby isn't littered with collision injuries. It isn't at all worrying and rugby has very safe practices in place to help prevent injuries
And when I played gaelic/hurling I can remember there being potential head injuries occurring to team mates quite a bit but education on the issue is miles behind rugby and other sports which lead the way in concussion information/training/support"
You say it isn't littered with injuries and yet there is a report in the irish independent today saying 40% of schoolboy players have suffered a head injury 40% is a truly alarming number.The supposed better education people in rugby have around the issue is irrelevant because of the nature of the sport there is a much greater risk of a head injury than most other sport and even without an injury occurring repeated collisions have been proven to have negative long term affects.

You just want to bury your head in the sand as usual rather than face up that it is a dangerous sport compared to pretty much every other one played in ireland.

It's quite worrying when you read numerous reports about the effect repeated collisions and concussions can have.You unfortunately are blinded by bias to see the dangers of the sport it's a complete waste of time talking to you about anything.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 06/02/2017 20:43:09    1953010

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "
Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Really interesting article in today's irish independent health supplement about concussion in rugby. It's seems to be a sport littered with collision injuries at all levels and nothing can change that as it's the nature of the sport.It's actually quite worrying looking at the collisions in Rugby (and American football) knowing the damage that can be done by them , if I had kids there is no way I'd let them play rugby plenty of other much safer sports that can be enjoyed out there.The GAA really should be emphasizing the safety of both football and hurling where collision injuries are very very rare.
And when I played gaelic/hurling I can remember there being potential head injuries occurring to team mates quite a bit but education on the issue is miles behind rugby and other sports which lead the way in concussion information/training/support"
You say it isn't littered with injuries and yet there is a report in the irish independent today saying 40% of schoolboy players have suffered a head injury 40% is a truly alarming number.The supposed better education people in rugby have around the issue is irrelevant because of the nature of the sport there is a much greater risk of a head injury than most other sport and even without an injury occurring repeated collisions have been proven to have negative long term affects.

You just want to bury your head in the sand as usual rather than face up that it is a dangerous sport compared to pretty much every other one played in ireland.

It's quite worrying when you read numerous reports about the effect repeated collisions and concussions can have.You unfortunately are blinded by bias to see the dangers of the sport it's a complete waste of time talking to you about anything."

It's quite worrying when you read numerous reports about the effect repeated collisions and concussions can have.You unfortunately are blinded by bias to see the dangers of the sport it's a complete waste of time talking to you about anything.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts:1040

Tomsmith here from County Cavan

I can tell you that it is important in Ireland (when going for an interview) what school you were at and what sports you played.
It would be much more impressive if you played full back for a Rugby team than full back on a GAA team
Sure at the interview you could talk up agreat game about your school rugger days, even if you only carried the water bottles.
Sure that what an interview is all about being a good talker and have a nice rugger line

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 06/02/2017 22:10:58    1953071

Replying To tomsmith:  "
Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "[quote=ormondbannerman:  "Really interesting article in today's irish independent health supplement about concussion in rugby. It's seems to be a sport littered with collision injuries at all levels and nothing can change that as it's the nature of the sport.It's actually quite worrying looking at the collisions in Rugby (and American football) knowing the damage that can be done by them , if I had kids there is no way I'd let them play rugby plenty of other much safer sports that can be enjoyed out there.The GAA really should be emphasizing the safety of both football and hurling where collision injuries are very very rare.

It's quite worrying when you read numerous reports about the effect repeated collisions and concussions can have.You unfortunately are blinded by bias to see the dangers of the sport it's a complete waste of time talking to you about anything."

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts:1040

Tomsmith here from County Cavan

I can tell you that it is important in Ireland (when going for an interview) what school you were at and what sports you played.
It would be much more impressive if you played full back for a Rugby team than full back on a GAA team
Sure at the interview you could talk up agreat game about your school rugger days, even if you only carried the water bottles.
Sure that what an interview is all about being a good talker and have a nice rugger line"]What jobs would they be, specifically?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7373 - 07/02/2017 09:42:32    1953160

Tom Smith stirring the pot again! Good man Tom!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1907 - 07/02/2017 10:03:11    1953167