Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught

Replying To janesboro:  "cue - sorry to hear about the loss of your gran"
No problem.Cheers.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/02/2017 10:50:59    1951165

Replying To GreenandRed:  "
Replying To cuederocket:  "[quote=ormondbannerman:  "I avoid it here also jimski!Haven't looked at this thread in weeks and am surprised it is still going.If i had a magic button to delete the thread i would,believe me.
Egg ball is the preserve of the silver-spooned,eliteist,private schooled south county Dublin posh boys and the less of it anywhere the better.In the capital,GAA folk and eggball folk are chalk and cheese.Zero in common.Always has been and always will be.Lets stop giving the Ireland's Call brigade anymore airtime on here.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4991 - 31/01/2017 23:21:12
Hahahaha the irony of this. Rugby is far from the "preserve" of elitist people. You just show yourself as elitist and ignorant with posts like that. There is thousands and thousands and thousands of people are both GAA and Rugby in Dublin and the country overall. Your bitterness is hilarious."
Haha ormonde,you could be right there.I was down in Tipp last week at my Gran's funeral and was talking to a couple of my Kilfeacle cousins.They love the rugby and reckon another cousin,International rugby ref John Lacey from Tipp town will be getting some big games this year.

I'm winding a few up on here with my dissing of all things rugby.I don't hate it.Never have.I didn't like the way it was in Dublin growing up (non existant out my way) but i always enjoyed watching it.

I bunked off school in 1st year in Clondalkin and me and a pal got the bus into Landsdowne Rd to watch a rugby world cup group game with Ireland v Japan.It remains the only game i ever attended.

I never missed a 5 nations game on the box with me Dad.I used love that old scottish commentator on BBC and players like Gavin Hastings and some Hendry lad.I remember leapin round the sittin room when Ireland beat England in '85 with a last gasp drop goal.

Also,for over 10 years ive worked around the city for every single rugby international and big Leinster games and had manys a good conversation with fans from all over.

There is no doubting though that rugby was only played in the private schools and affluent areas of Dublin when i was growing up.No one i ever knew played it.It was all GAA and soccer.To be honest i would have liked to have given it a go.Me cousins in Tipp say id have made a good front row.However due to the geography and circumstance it was never an option.Thankfully it does seem to be changing for the better now.

It's good to rile the rugby toffs who have a bit of an attitude.Believe me,i've encountered a few,but most the rugby lads on here seem to be genuine and have a passion for it(even if it is a GAA forum!).It will always be down the list of favourite sports for me but when you get a good international game it makes for good viewing.That's the final comment i'll be making on rugby on here."
Cued, have you seen any of the Ronnie hustling in America program yet? Is it worth looking out for? I heard him talking about it. Said no top pool player would ever make it in snooker but that it would take him about a year to be a top pool player. I was thinking it'd take him less than a year."]I enjoyed last weeks show.He played famous US pool player Earl the Pearl and although Ron went 4-1 up he's not sure if he was histled as he lost 6-5.Was it staged?Who knows.

Ronnie seems at peace with himself on this show abd tonight he hustles famous Asian American female player.The pockets are like buckets to a great snooker player like Ron but the tactics of pool is where he could be caught out.I'll be tuning in anyway.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/02/2017 11:33:13    1951184

Haha ormond,you could be right there.I was down in Tipp last week at my Gran's funeral and was talking to a couple of my Kilfeacle cousins.They love the rugby and reckon another cousin,International rugby ref John Lacey from Tipp town will be getting some big games this year.
I'm winding a few up on here with my dissing of all things rugby.I don't hate it.Never have.I didn't like the way it was in Dublin growing up (non existant out my way) but i always enjoyed watching it. I bunked off school in 1st year in Clondalkin and me and a pal got the bus into Landsdowne Rd to watch a rugby world cup group game with Ireland v Japan.It remains the only game i ever attended.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4996 - 02/02/2017 01:44:18
But you only have a perception but up from the outside of rugby. You talk of rugby using cliches and not direct experience of clubs and rugby.
I never missed a 5 nations game on the box with me Dad.I used love that old scottish commentator on BBC and players like Gavin Hastings and some Hendry lad.I remember leapin round the sittin room when Ireland beat England in '85 with a last gasp drop goal. Also,for over 10 years ive worked around the city for every single rugby international and big Leinster games and had manys a good conversation with fans from all over. There is no doubting though that rugby was only played in the private schools and affluent areas of Dublin when i was growing up.No one i ever knew played it.It was all GAA and soccer.To be honest i would have liked to have given it a go.Me cousins in Tipp say id have made a good front row.However due to the geography and circumstance it was never an option.Thankfully it does seem to be changing for the better now.
It's good to rile the rugby toffs who have a bit of an attitude.Believe me,i've encountered a few,but most the rugby lads on here seem to be genuine and have a passion for it(even if it is a GAA forum!).It will always be down the list of favourite sports for me but when you get a good international game it makes for good viewing.That's the final comment i'll be making on rugby on here.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4996 - 02/02/2017 01:44:18
It isnt really true to say rugby has(was) only been played in affeunt areas of the city in Dublin. Clubs may have been based in many of these areas but the clubs were always open to all and was geography really an excuse? Only your perceptions that the sport was only for people who are "x" and you are "y"

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/02/2017 14:08:04    1951239

Replying To cuederocket:  "
Replying To GreenandRed:  "[quote=cuederocket:  "[quote=ormondbannerman:  "I avoid it here also jimski!Haven't looked at this thread in weeks and am surprised it is still going.If i had a magic button to delete the thread i would,believe me.
Egg ball is the preserve of the silver-spooned,eliteist,private schooled south county Dublin posh boys and the less of it anywhere the better.In the capital,GAA folk and eggball folk are chalk and cheese.Zero in common.Always has been and always will be.Lets stop giving the Ireland's Call brigade anymore airtime on here.
cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts:4991 - 31/01/2017 23:21:12
Hahahaha the irony of this. Rugby is far from the "preserve" of elitist people. You just show yourself as elitist and ignorant with posts like that. There is thousands and thousands and thousands of people are both GAA and Rugby in Dublin and the country overall. Your bitterness is hilarious."
Haha ormonde,you could be right there.I was down in Tipp last week at my Gran's funeral and was talking to a couple of my Kilfeacle cousins.They love the rugby and reckon another cousin,International rugby ref John Lacey from Tipp town will be getting some big games this year.

I'm winding a few up on here with my dissing of all things rugby.I don't hate it.Never have.I didn't like the way it was in Dublin growing up (non existant out my way) but i always enjoyed watching it.

I bunked off school in 1st year in Clondalkin and me and a pal got the bus into Landsdowne Rd to watch a rugby world cup group game with Ireland v Japan.It remains the only game i ever attended.

I never missed a 5 nations game on the box with me Dad.I used love that old scottish commentator on BBC and players like Gavin Hastings and some Hendry lad.I remember leapin round the sittin room when Ireland beat England in '85 with a last gasp drop goal.

Also,for over 10 years ive worked around the city for every single rugby international and big Leinster games and had manys a good conversation with fans from all over.

There is no doubting though that rugby was only played in the private schools and affluent areas of Dublin when i was growing up.No one i ever knew played it.It was all GAA and soccer.To be honest i would have liked to have given it a go.Me cousins in Tipp say id have made a good front row.However due to the geography and circumstance it was never an option.Thankfully it does seem to be changing for the better now.

It's good to rile the rugby toffs who have a bit of an attitude.Believe me,i've encountered a few,but most the rugby lads on here seem to be genuine and have a passion for it(even if it is a GAA forum!).It will always be down the list of favourite sports for me but when you get a good international game it makes for good viewing.That's the final comment i'll be making on rugby on here."
Cued, have you seen any of the Ronnie hustling in America program yet? Is it worth looking out for? I heard him talking about it. Said no top pool player would ever make it in snooker but that it would take him about a year to be a top pool player. I was thinking it'd take him less than a year."]I enjoyed last weeks show.He played famous US pool player Earl the Pearl and although Ron went 4-1 up he's not sure if he was histled as he lost 6-5.Was it staged?Who knows.

Ronnie seems at peace with himself on this show abd tonight he hustles famous Asian American female player.The pockets are like buckets to a great snooker player like Ron but the tactics of pool is where he could be caught out.I'll be tuning in anyway."]Sorry for your loss Cued.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 02/02/2017 15:02:08    1951253

cuederocket when exactly were you growing up? As there would have been club underage rugby in all clubs with clubs open to all...

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/02/2017 15:51:29    1951276

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "cuederocket when exactly were you growing up? As there would have been club underage rugby in all clubs with clubs open to all..."
I'm done with the rugby talk,ormonde.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 02/02/2017 15:54:42    1951279

It's amazing to think that all this time Rugby wasn't posh at all. It was all just a worldwide collective misrecognition.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 02/02/2017 16:26:14    1951286

It's amazing to think that all this time Rugby wasn't posh at all. It was all just a worldwide collective misrecognition.
Breffni39 (Cavan) - Posts:10838 - 02/02/2017 16:26:14
Is it?
Rugby isnt posh. To say so is ridiculous. And certainly has been an open sport and not exactly closed by wealth or other means, Access isnt restricted unlike other sports.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/02/2017 16:37:39    1951291

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "It's amazing to think that all this time Rugby wasn't posh at all. It was all just a worldwide collective misrecognition.
Breffni39 (Cavan) - Posts:10838 - 02/02/2017 16:26:14
Is it?
Rugby isnt posh. To say so is ridiculous. And certainly has been an open sport and not exactly closed by wealth or other means, Access isnt restricted unlike other sports."
It was always played in Dublin in upper class areas by doctors lawyers and the likes just look at the northside of Dublin there's no club near me and only three I know of suttonians, clontarf and malahide that says it all as all three are the only posh areas on the northside haha

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/02/2017 19:24:27    1951325

When we return to the doldrums the kids will lose interest and we'll probably lose out on a whole generation of talent as a result. The it's 16 years wait again :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 02/02/2017 21:07:36    1951345

It was always played in Dublin in upper class areas by doctors lawyers and the likes just look at the northside of Dublin there's no club near me and only three I know of suttonians, clontarf and malahide that says it all as all three are the only posh areas on the northside haha
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11603 - 02/02/2017 19:24:27
As well as labourers, and every other kind of profession.
Where do you live hill? There is a few others like BGF Ravens

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/02/2017 21:08:42    1951346

Great to have the Six Nations back again, lots of coverage this weekend on the papers, radio & TV. A great sporting weekend.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 02/02/2017 21:49:47    1951356

Replying To realdub:  "When we return to the doldrums the kids will lose interest and we'll probably lose out on a whole generation of talent as a result. The it's 16 years wait again :D"
16 years isnt a wait - we are waiting 44 year for liam thats if we ever see him again -ive seen halleys comet more times than all ireland wins

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 02/02/2017 22:39:05    1951369

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "It was always played in Dublin in upper class areas by doctors lawyers and the likes just look at the northside of Dublin there's no club near me and only three I know of suttonians, clontarf and malahide that says it all as all three are the only posh areas on the northside haha
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11603 - 02/02/2017 19:24:27
As well as labourers, and every other kind of profession.
Where do you live hill? There is a few others like BGF Ravens"
swords has a club, also skerries and balbriggan, tallaght has a club too.

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 02/02/2017 22:51:39    1951373

The title of the thread is can the GAA survive the rugby onslaught , the answer to quote braveheart is "we can and we will". Rugby will never top the GAA as the No 1,

I played soccer rugby hurling and football all my life,my kids do now and i coach all four. Go to lots of clubs games accross all four codes and all the munster and limerick hurling/football games. Luckily the rugby and gaa dont clash too much. Lived in Dublin years and played all four up there too . I liked Dublin, still do, whe west coast of dublin is stunning. Went to every soccer international rugby international and major GAA game when i lived there. I played in most of the Dublin club rugby and gaa grounds,good lot of soccer places too Even though i am working class have a limerick accent and am from limerick, i never once experienced any of this elitism despite the fact that i had a totally different background, in fact was made feel at home. Got stick from a minority in workplaces about being from limerick eh yer all criminals down there ...stab city and all that tripe (never from anybody who knew limerick!!), but never once in a sports club or field.

Of course i understand most of the rugby in dublin is played in the fee paying schools. Some dublin footballers have that background too. But if any body from Dublin want to play or watch a game they can do so if they want, you wont be barred due to class. You will be made welcome in 2016 i was at young munster games in belvedere,clontarf, marys,terenure, lansdowne and trinity, in all grounds our players and supporters (and we have good support) were made most welcome.

Limerick while soccer is king in the city, football in the west and hurling everywhere else, rugby is well supported. Got around 8 clubs alone in the city as many as gaa. Its massive down here. Its a normal working class game like gaa, the sports get on and we dont diss each others sports. Most people who follow rugby follow hurling and vice versa. Most of my sons pals will have a munster jersey a soccer jersey and a limerick one

The rugby does wonder for the city economically too. The club game is strong too - got garryowen v young munster tomorrow will be at least 2500 there. Both team and supporters will be going full throttle,fire and brimstone at it believe me , Id recommend anybody around limerick tomorrow to go to this one. ill be bag of nerves watchin this

Youd be amazed going around the province of munster the amount of munster jersies and jackets youd see as well as GAA ones. Even in the remote rural areas. Miltown malbay has pubs decked in rugby flags etc in bruff co limerick they have a mural ofJohn Hayes, waterford castle too often has a munster flag, For the quarter final limerick city will be bedecked with munster flags, when the hurling gets going it will be limerick flags

Rugby will never top GAA. Its not as popular as GAA , but that does not means its unpopular, because it well supported, and i know from experience its not an elitist sport anybody who wants to play or watch can go, just like hurling and football, have a look for yourself and you will see,you wont be stopped, you might even like. you wont be forced to choose between rugby soccer and gaa. and it better for kids to have a go at all four of the major team sports too.

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 02/02/2017 22:57:27    1951376

Replying To moc.dna:  "Great to have the Six Nations back again, lots of coverage this weekend on the papers, radio & TV. A great sporting weekend."
Plenty of coverage on here too. So called GAA fans can't stop talking about it.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 02/02/2017 23:33:57    1951389

Replying To realdub:  "When we return to the doldrums the kids will lose interest and we'll probably lose out on a whole generation of talent as a result. The it's 16 years wait again :D"
It's a professional sport so it will always get coverage. Sure look - it's got over 800+ posts and 37,000 views on a so called GAA website.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 02/02/2017 23:38:56    1951392

Replying To jimski:  "It's a professional sport so it will always get coverage. Sure look - it's got over 800+ posts and 37,000 views on a so called GAA website."
Again if admins shut it down like they do other threads that go off topic it would have been closed long long ago.
plenty of threads would have that many views and comments if they were met too.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/02/2017 09:09:21    1951427

Replying To janesboro:  "The title of the thread is can the GAA survive the rugby onslaught , the answer to quote braveheart is "we can and we will". Rugby will never top the GAA as the No 1,

I played soccer rugby hurling and football all my life,my kids do now and i coach all four. Go to lots of clubs games accross all four codes and all the munster and limerick hurling/football games. Luckily the rugby and gaa dont clash too much. Lived in Dublin years and played all four up there too . I liked Dublin, still do, whe west coast of dublin is stunning. Went to every soccer international rugby international and major GAA game when i lived there. I played in most of the Dublin club rugby and gaa grounds,good lot of soccer places too Even though i am working class have a limerick accent and am from limerick, i never once experienced any of this elitism despite the fact that i had a totally different background, in fact was made feel at home. Got stick from a minority in workplaces about being from limerick eh yer all criminals down there ...stab city and all that tripe (never from anybody who knew limerick!!), but never once in a sports club or field.

Of course i understand most of the rugby in dublin is played in the fee paying schools. Some dublin footballers have that background too. But if any body from Dublin want to play or watch a game they can do so if they want, you wont be barred due to class. You will be made welcome in 2016 i was at young munster games in belvedere,clontarf, marys,terenure, lansdowne and trinity, in all grounds our players and supporters (and we have good support) were made most welcome.

Limerick while soccer is king in the city, football in the west and hurling everywhere else, rugby is well supported. Got around 8 clubs alone in the city as many as gaa. Its massive down here. Its a normal working class game like gaa, the sports get on and we dont diss each others sports. Most people who follow rugby follow hurling and vice versa. Most of my sons pals will have a munster jersey a soccer jersey and a limerick one

The rugby does wonder for the city economically too. The club game is strong too - got garryowen v young munster tomorrow will be at least 2500 there. Both team and supporters will be going full throttle,fire and brimstone at it believe me , Id recommend anybody around limerick tomorrow to go to this one. ill be bag of nerves watchin this

Youd be amazed going around the province of munster the amount of munster jersies and jackets youd see as well as GAA ones. Even in the remote rural areas. Miltown malbay has pubs decked in rugby flags etc in bruff co limerick they have a mural ofJohn Hayes, waterford castle too often has a munster flag, For the quarter final limerick city will be bedecked with munster flags, when the hurling gets going it will be limerick flags

Rugby will never top GAA. Its not as popular as GAA , but that does not means its unpopular, because it well supported, and i know from experience its not an elitist sport anybody who wants to play or watch can go, just like hurling and football, have a look for yourself and you will see,you wont be stopped, you might even like. you wont be forced to choose between rugby soccer and gaa. and it better for kids to have a go at all four of the major team sports too."
Never say never. 100 years ago cricket was the most popular sport in Kilkenny and boxing was the no 1 sport in the world !

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 03/02/2017 12:02:11    1951498

Replying To bad.monkey:  "Never say never. 100 years ago cricket was the most popular sport in Kilkenny and boxing was the no 1 sport in the world !"
Hard to see soccer not being the number 1 sport worldwide for a long time to come. Cricket is popular at home amongst the Pakistani community and some of the younger Pakistani lads are good hurlers.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 03/02/2017 21:46:52    1951702