Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught

Not really a like for like show.
I watched last year were the American footballer went to a mayo club team and played a micky mouse challenge game, where as aidan o shea went to the nfl trials. The rugby boyo went to a Donegal club and played a challenge match again where as Murphy is going to an actual top of the sport club in France for rugby.
if Williams went to train with Donegal and played at least a McKenna cup game you would be on the right track for getting like for like. It's far too lenient on the professional sports guys coming here.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11546 - 18/01/2017 17:51:47
It is the most appropriate you will get. Aidan O Shea went to one of many combines as that's what was allowed. The American Footballer took part in a friendly gaelic game as we can safely assume no club would agree to playing a player who never played the game in anything more and the same with the American footballer playing an inter county game
We don't even know what level of rugby Murphy may play in or if he will only train with Clermont and we don't know yet what level he will train with Clermont when in france

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 18/01/2017 18:54:42    1946741

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Not really a like for like show.
I watched last year were the American footballer went to a mayo club team and played a micky mouse challenge game, where as aidan o shea went to the nfl trials. The rugby boyo went to a Donegal club and played a challenge match again where as Murphy is going to an actual top of the sport club in France for rugby.
if Williams went to train with Donegal and played at least a McKenna cup game you would be on the right track for getting like for like. It's far too lenient on the professional sports guys coming here."
Fair point that Williams wasn't playing a high standard Hill but Glenswilly are county champions and he impressed many of them there kicking 4 points in a blizzard in a game he never played before. Will look out for it now to see how he actually played, used to love watching him destroying the opposition with his steps and pace.

Them Clermont lads, battered, bruised and dizzy after Michael Murphy, ripped to bits, ran rings around them, then peeled the heads off them in the tackle. They still don't believe him after they drove to training in their fancy cars and asked him how many hundred grand does he get playing ball for club and county. Sure the French bucks just thought it was the sense of humour difference when he told them he was an amateur athlete playing only for the love of the jersey.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 18/01/2017 19:49:17    1946757

Replying To Bain:  "In years to come when ex pro players are suffering from brain injuries that affect every aspect of their lives, we'll look back at the footage of weekends like the one gone by in horror and day why were them players not taken off for their safety. Seems like all sports need to put player welfare top of the agenda. Rugby can bury its head in the sand about brain injury but it'll end up like the NFL. Huge payouts that can be avoided and lives saved from early deaths."
Even if they don't have long term brain injury those guys won't be able to walk up the stairs in their 50's. Very few have retired from professional rugby to go back to their clubs to play for a couple of seasons where they started out. Almost all intercounty GAA players go back to finish off playing with the club they started with...to 'give something back'.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 18/01/2017 20:54:24    1946767

Even if they don't have long term brain injury those guys won't be able to walk up the stairs in their 50's. Very few have retired from professional rugby to go back to their clubs to play for a couple of seasons where they started out. Almost all intercounty GAA players go back to finish off playing with the club they started with...to 'give something back'.
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts:3232 - 18/01/2017 20:54:24
All depends on their insurance and issues with that,
All inter county GAA players are playing with the club they started with all during their time playing inter county so they simply stop making the county team. Its completely different with pro sport.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 18/01/2017 21:56:04    1946800

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Even if they don't have long term brain injury those guys won't be able to walk up the stairs in their 50's. Very few have retired from professional rugby to go back to their clubs to play for a couple of seasons where they started out. Almost all intercounty GAA players go back to finish off playing with the club they started with...to 'give something back'.
All inter county GAA players are playing with the club they started with all during their time playing inter county so they simply stop making the county team. Its completely different with pro sport."
There you go again with 'pro sport'. Tsk. Regardless, they all started with their club, would be fitting if they could finish with it too.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 18/01/2017 22:52:35    1946824

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Even if they don't have long term brain injury those guys won't be able to walk up the stairs in their 50's. Very few have retired from professional rugby to go back to their clubs to play for a couple of seasons where they started out. Almost all intercounty GAA players go back to finish off playing with the club they started with...to 'give something back'.
All inter county GAA players are playing with the club they started with all during their time playing inter county so they simply stop making the county team. Its completely different with pro sport."
No it is nothing to do with Pro Sport. Amazing the number of GAA lads who go off to play rugby professionally then when retired go play a few years with their GAA club.

In rugby the clubs mean 0 to the Pro Players as they go into 'the Academy' out of school so have little affiliation with them.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 19/01/2017 09:54:47    1946880

Replying To keeper7:  "
There you go again with 'pro sport'. Tsk. Regardless, they all started with their club, would be fitting if they could finish with it too."
Like you said the toll of playing rugby for years at a high level is a big one so even if they wanted to probably wouldn't physically be able.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 19/01/2017 10:25:01    1946890

Very few have retired from professional rugby to go back to their clubs to play for a couple of seasons where they started out. Almost all intercounty GAA players go back to finish off playing with the club they started with...to 'give something back'.
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts:3234 - 18/01/2017 20:54:24   1946767 

how many professional soccer players or cricket players go back to their original clubs or indeed any professional team sport players

Lot of them cant go back playing club rugby because either
1 they retired due to injury or wear and tear and cant no longer play and /or
2 can affect their insurance payouts and also
3 they have careers to catch up on and if they were playing with a 1a or 1b club your looking at training 4 nights a week plus game at weekend

Good few of them do go back playing with their clubs e.g. fionn carr and johne murphy at naas, scott deasy and ivan dineen (ex munster) now back playing club rugby, as did mike prendergast , , marcus horan, paul neville, conan doyle, stephen keogh, tom hayes, paul neville,conan doyle and tim ryan (all ex munster), andreew dunne mark hugh -

even more will go into club coaching e.g the aforementioned prendergast,jackman, horan , mark mchugh, peter coyle, mick galwey, denis leamy, david corkery,john oneill, emmett farrell eric miller james blayney brett wilkinson. ex wales coach mike ruddock is coaching at lansdowne , paul oconnell and ian keatley have done underage coaching at young munster

Find it great when coaching my under 8s at blitzes to find one of the opposition coaches is an ex inter county player!. Alway great when an ex elite level player goes back coaching

was in sixmilebridge last night for clare game, got a dose of the sniffles for me trouble , fine facility , great win limerick last night good performance good crowd for a cold wednesday night

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 19/01/2017 10:34:36    1946900

In rugby the clubs mean 0 to the Pro Players as they go into 'the Academy' out of school so have little affiliation with them.
witnof (Dublin) - Posts:1072 - 19/01/2017 09:54:47

disagree -they all started their rugby with a club and will have an attachment to that club - i go to a lot of club rugby (and gaa) very common to see current pro players attending club games to support their club, (often see them at club hurling too) ciaran ruddock, and mick mcgrath are two other ex pros playing club rugby

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 19/01/2017 10:39:22    1946906

There you go again with 'pro sport'. Tsk. Regardless, they all started with their club, would be fitting if they could finish with it too.
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts:3234 - 18/01/2017 22:52:35
How many pros from other sports continue as an amateur when they finish playing pro?

No it is nothing to do with Pro Sport. Amazing the number of GAA lads who go off to play rugby professionally then when retired go play a few years with their GAA club.
The clubs don't at all mean zero to pro players. All players in an academy will be playing regularly with a club while in the academy. All members of the provincial academies in recent years will have been playing AIL rugby while in the academy until they make the pro12 team. Garry Ringrose was playing with UCD before playing with Leinster in pro12, Keith Earls will have played with Thomond, Young Munster. Robbie Henshaw played with Buccaneers. etc etc

Like you said the toll of playing rugby for years at a high level is a big one so even if they wanted to probably wouldn't physically be able.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts:3191 - 19/01/2017 10:25:01
Or if when finished playing professionally in mid 30s they go into coaching or media work and don't want to play

how many professional soccer players or cricket players go back to their original clubs or indeed any professional team sport players
1 they retired due to injury or wear and tear and cant no longer play and /or 2 can affect their insurance payouts and also
3 they have careers to catch up on and if they were playing with a 1a or 1b club your looking at training 4 nights a week plus game at weekend
Good few of them do go back playing with their clubs e.g. fionn carr and johne murphy at naas, scott deasy and ivan dineen (ex munster) now back playing club rugby, as did mike prendergast , , marcus horan, paul neville, conan doyle, stephen keogh, tom hayes, paul neville,conan doyle and tim ryan (all ex munster), andreew dunne mark hugh -
even more will go into club coaching e.g the aforementioned prendergast,jackman, horan , mark mchugh, peter coyle, mick galwey, denis leamy, david corkery,john oneill, emmett farrell eric miller james blayney brett wilkinson. ex wales coach mike ruddock is coaching at lansdowne , paul oconnell and ian keatley have done underage coaching at young munster
Find it great when coaching my under 8s at blitzes to find one of the opposition coaches is an ex inter county player!. Alway great when an ex elite level player goes back coaching
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:981 - 19/01/2017 10:34:36
Agree with a lot of that but what 1A sides train 4 times a week? You have to be taking gym work that players do in their own time in that rather than squad sessions if talking about 4 sessions a week.

disagree -they all started their rugby with a club and will have an attachment to that club - i go to a lot of club rugby (and gaa) very common to see current pro players attending club games to support their club, (often see them at club hurling too) ciaran ruddock, and mick mcgrath are two other ex pros playing club rugby
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:981 - 19/01/2017 10:39:22
To be fair. Mick McGrath was with Leinster starting at 23 and then was released from them very recently. He is quite different to pros finishing in their early 30s after 10+ years as a pro

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 19/01/2017 12:34:23    1946949

ormond - 4 days a week includes gym session

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 19/01/2017 13:05:04    1946960

http://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/Off_The_Ball/GAA_on_Off_The_Ball/175788/Michael_Murphy_in_Studio__Clermont__Donegal_in_2017

Easy to see why Michael Murphy is not just a class footballer but a great captain.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 20/01/2017 06:45:58    1947226

There handling of two concussions over the weekend were nothing short of disgraceful
both players Murray and Sefton were allowed to return and play on when in Murray's case he was clearly knocked out.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11554 - 16/01/2017 20:43:10 194

according to this he clearly was not -

http://www.epcrugby.com/europeanrugbychampionscup/news/34808.php#.WIXl4fmLS1s

one should ascertain the facts before posting,- he was on limerick live 95fm sat morning and said it was a bang on the neck he got - when there is neck injury they are told to stay still, he did hia during game, after game and third one with neurosurgeon. and by the way i think it was correct they did review it- we cannot be too careful.

superb atmosphere in thomond saturday - crowd really got behind the team, nearly everyone knew the implications of winning in terms of home quarter final, the winning margin in terms of potential semi final, hence it was really tense -- anybody who thinks a munster game is some sort of social event really doesnt have a clue what they are talking about, good match too munster had to play well as racing came to play

of course after the high of saturday comes the downer - gutted over losing mcgrath cup final = massive performance by limerick absolutely massive but gutted to have lost it- if we were hammered i wouldnt feel so bad!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 23/01/2017 11:26:01    1948026

Janesboro
so you really believe everything that players officials or managers speak to media about? I didn't have you down for a gulla bull or even a gulla calf now.
he was clearly unconscious on the ground of course he is going to come out and defend the medical staff and himself just like jim Gavin States such a player is fully fit and trained all week when they are nearly on crutches, your sounding like a certain other rugby boyo off here believing that they don't lie.
As for your other gibe regarding thomond park I have no reason to lie I gave an honest account which was backed up by news articles from other rugby grounds by rugby people relating to it being a problem. I just don't find having to dodge alcohol constantly a great experience at a sports event and half the people around me not watching the action on the pitch and being hushed by the same people when it comes to a penalty who didn't even see why a penalty was given in the first place because they were either down at the bar topping up or chatting with backs to the pitch.
I said I enjoyed what happened on the pitch itself as I'm a sports fan just not the experience off it, if that's not classed as social stuff (which Ormond States it is and feels it's totally reasonable too) in limerick well each to their own.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/01/2017 14:08:28    1948095

hill16man he was clearly unconscious on the ground of course
well the review group appears to have a different view, as do the medics and doctors who would be acting under medical and professional guidelines and are answerable to their relevant professional body. and as i do not have a medical background i am not going to question their judgement or integrity

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 23/01/2017 14:46:43    1948111

Replying To janesboro:  "hill16man he was clearly unconscious on the ground of course
well the review group appears to have a different view, as do the medics and doctors who would be acting under medical and professional guidelines and are answerable to their relevant professional body. and as i do not have a medical background i am not going to question their judgement or integrity"
Come on you well know administrators turn a blind eye to things that will cause them headaches, it's one area the media are ripping into rugby at present the whole area of concussions there not going to give them a stick to beat them with.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 23/01/2017 15:18:15    1948119

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "There you go again with 'pro sport'. Tsk. Regardless, they all started with their club, would be fitting if they could finish with it too.
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts:3234 - 18/01/2017 22:52:35
How many pros from other sports continue as an amateur when they finish playing pro?

The clubs don't at all mean zero to pro players. All players in an academy will be playing regularly with a club while in the academy. All members of the provincial academies in recent years will have been playing AIL rugby while in the academy until they make the pro12 team. Garry Ringrose was playing with UCD before playing with Leinster in pro12, Keith Earls will have played with Thomond, Young Munster. Robbie Henshaw played with Buccaneers. etc etc

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts:3191 - 19/01/2017 10:25:01
Or if when finished playing professionally in mid 30s they go into coaching or media work and don't want to play

1 they retired due to injury or wear and tear and cant no longer play and /or 2 can affect their insurance payouts and also
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:981 - 19/01/2017 10:34:36
Agree with a lot of that but what 1A sides train 4 times a week? You have to be taking gym work that players do in their own time in that rather than squad sessions if talking about 4 sessions a week.

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:981 - 19/01/2017 10:39:22
To be fair. Mick McGrath was with Leinster starting at 23 and then was released from them very recently. He is quite different to pros finishing in their early 30s after 10+ years as a pro"
Why is any of this being discussed on a GAA forum?

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 23/01/2017 16:54:39    1948160

hillman you are portraying drinking at games as just being a rugby issue -it isnt it happens at a lot of sports --but you dont mention that, and i can guarantee you if the gaa let people into stands or terraces with drink it will become an issue there . I have been at games in gaelic grounds wher pub accross the road would be packed before the game, same with croke park the pubs going up dorset st be packed inside and outside before the game, same in thules for musnter championship games You go to horse racing fellas do be drinking at it (me a kids spend the day between parade ring,jockeys room and course dont go near bookies or bars) , same for soccer, look at the darts of the christmas (an i thought i was overdressed going to limerick games with a flag round me)

I was at that maori game and almost , same as all the munster games this year, the majority were there to watch the game and support the team, If it was just a social occasion there would have been no cheering at the haka , when musnter scored or a tackle made or when munster attacked the atmosphere was racous that night, but was 5 times that on saturday. the majority of the crowd knew the permutations and importance of the result hence the tension, terraces were full about 40 mins before ko

REgarding the drink -while i aint teetotal -My view dont let it into the stands or terraces - its a nuisance especially if you are in the stand with people going to and fro and you watching the game , keep it to the bar areas -really hope the gaa keep it out of the stands and terraces, If you wanna drink and watch a game - do it at home or in the pub

no such issues at mcgrath cup final with drinking in stand - great game small crowd - their loss was fine game

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 24/01/2017 10:01:41    1948334

"hill16man he was clearly unconscious on the ground of course
well the review group appears to have a different view, as do the medics and doctors who would be acting under medical and professional guidelines and are answerable to their relevant professional body. and as i do not have a medical background i am not going to question their judgement or integrity"

Hillman are you a medical professional - i am not -- as per my post above the medics looked at him and acted as they saw fit the incident was reviewed by a medical review group- so we have to take the relevant medical professionals on their word

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 24/01/2017 10:13:56    1948339

Janesboro so you really believe everything that players officials or managers speak to media about? I didn't have you down for a gulla bull or even a gulla calf now. he was clearly unconscious on the ground of course he is going to come out and defend the medical staff and himself just like jim Gavin States such a player is fully fit and trained all week when they are nearly on crutches, your sounding like a certain other rugby boyo off here believing that they don't lie. As for your other gibe regarding thomond park I have no reason to lie I gave an honest account which was backed up by news articles from other rugby grounds by rugby people relating to it being a problem. I just don't find having to dodge alcohol constantly a great experience at a sports event and half the people around me not watching the action on the pitch and being hushed by the same people when it comes to a penalty who didn't even see why a penalty was given in the first place because they were either down at the bar topping up or chatting with backs to the pitch. I said I enjoyed what happened on the pitch itself as I'm a sports fan just not the experience off it, if that's not classed as social stuff (which Ormond States it is and feels it's totally reasonable too) in limerick well each to their own.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11559 - 23/01/2017 14:08:28
Being knocked out doesnt mean concussion and there is professional and ethical guidelines that all medical practicioners must follow or they can lose their license. Munster were even investigated and they followed all procedures corrrectly.
You are a complete hypocrite and sound like a miserable old man. All inter county gaa games have people at games drinking and drinking plenty. We all have clubs who will bring buses and people drink on the bus to the ground for championship games and drink in the ground. Sports games are social events and for every so called diehard there is 1 if not 2 people who are not as dedicated and will have a few drinks.

Come on you well know administrators turn a blind eye to things that will cause them headaches, it's one area the media are ripping into rugby at present the whole area of concussions there not going to give them a stick to beat them with.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11559 - 23/01/2017 15:18:15
Thats so naive and paronoid its laughable. If you think rugby admin turn a blind eye you know nothing of what they do.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 24/01/2017 14:10:18    1948414