Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught

Replying To galwayford:  "Regarding on field violence this very week World rugby critiszed Northampton for letting George North play with concussion. Hardly good practice for a Professional sport or game. Also there is never any crowd trouble at GAA matches. There can be at Soccer. So any comments to make on this."
Oh the can be crowd troubles at gaa matches trust me, Meath v Tyrone 96 Meath v mayo 96, Meath v Tyrone 07 , probably most famous of them all meath v Louth 10, where Gardaí actually got worried that things could turn into a riot at train stations etc, sean Boylan was even assaulted in stands, my young daughter was spat at , and plenty of skirmishes at meath dubs matches in 80s 90s. Lets not kid ourselves , while its not a major problem it does happen.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/01/2017 11:07:31    1945795

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "is the great Mick O'Connell not from the Kingdom of kerry, hardly a weak football county, he does not even look at kerry playing now.
lads sorry but football is a bore to watch!!!!"
Not disagreeing that there are plenty of dull games in the championship, but I wouldn't use Mick O' Connell not liking something as knockout evidence.

He doesn't like gaelic football, but from the sounds of it the man doesn't seem to like anything.

cobby (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 16/01/2017 07:26:34    1945975

Replying To SlasherMcGurk:  "You lot remind me of the unionist in the north. You fear Rugby the same way they fear unification. So ye try to belittle and make it an enemy instead of respecting the game and accepting that people may actually follow something other than your beloved games. It's time you all get over yourselves and learn to accept there is more than 2 field games in this country. If people like Gaelic or Hurling. If people like Rugby good for them. As long as we have children playing sports and not getting fat who cares what there playing."
very well said here, we shouldnt be worrying about other sports if our games are promoted right people will come and play them.

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 16/01/2017 11:54:24    1946041

Replying To SlasherMcGurk:  "You lot remind me of the unionist in the north. You fear Rugby the same way they fear unification. So ye try to belittle and make it an enemy instead of respecting the game and accepting that people may actually follow something other than your beloved games. It's time you all get over yourselves and learn to accept there is more than 2 field games in this country. If people like Gaelic or Hurling. If people like Rugby good for them. As long as we have children playing sports and not getting fat who cares what there playing."
Maybe you should leave the political situation in the north out of it.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 16/01/2017 12:36:51    1946059

Replying To neverright:  "Maybe you should leave the political situation in the north out of it."
He was making his point using it as an example.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 16/01/2017 12:49:19    1946064

agree with you slasher, time to work together, RWC 2023 could be in Casement Park and Pearse Stadium among others with a bit of worthwhile investment

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1671 - 16/01/2017 13:11:09    1946074

So much for ormonds constant use of the word pro regarding everything involved in rugby attitude
There handling of two concussions over the weekend were nothing short of disgraceful
both players Murray and Sefton were allowed to return and play on when in Murray's case he was clearly knocked out.
throw into the bargain it was clearly a massive round of games in the biggest competition and yet there was around the 100thousand attended the ten games played, a mere average of only 10thousand a game, they can huff and they can puff but will they blow out house down? ??

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/01/2017 20:43:10    1946168

In years to come when ex pro players are suffering from brain injuries that affect every aspect of their lives, we'll look back at the footage of weekends like the one gone by in horror and day why were them players not taken off for their safety. Seems like all sports need to put player welfare top of the agenda. Rugby can bury its head in the sand about brain injury but it'll end up like the NFL. Huge payouts that can be avoided and lives saved from early deaths.

Bain (Donegal) - Posts: 470 - 16/01/2017 22:01:03    1946186

If Munster were at home I presume there would have been a 20k plus attendance, Leinster tend to have close to full capacity for their home games, Connacht attendance is limited by the capacity of their ground (around 8k I think) and with the way they have grown their support in the last year I would think they could probably attract another couple of thousand extra for last weekend's mismatch and foregone conclusion win if they had the space. Ulster were away as well. Not sure if I'm right in this but it seems to me that attendances at pro rugby games are proportionately much bigger in Ireland than they are in the other participating countries. For instance, Glasgow is really a soccer city so rugby will always be secondary there. Generally speaking, its the same in England.. English Premiership soccer dominates everything and rugby, though widely followed, is down the pecking order somewhat..Anyway I'd expect teams like Bath or Leicester, or Gloucester would really only appeal to people who live in those places and would not enjoy the broad territorial appeal that a regional team like Munster or Leinster would have.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1904 - 16/01/2017 22:26:58    1946194

Replying To royaldunne:  "Oh the can be crowd troubles at gaa matches trust me, Meath v Tyrone 96 Meath v mayo 96, Meath v Tyrone 07 , probably most famous of them all meath v Louth 10, where Gardaí actually got worried that things could turn into a riot at train stations etc, sean Boylan was even assaulted in stands, my young daughter was spat at , and plenty of skirmishes at meath dubs matches in 80s 90s. Lets not kid ourselves , while its not a major problem it does happen."
I see the common denominator in your post royaldunne is Meath.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/01/2017 22:37:05    1946196

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "If Munster were at home I presume there would have been a 20k plus attendance, Leinster tend to have close to full capacity for their home games, Connacht attendance is limited by the capacity of their ground (around 8k I think) and with the way they have grown their support in the last year I would think they could probably attract another couple of thousand extra for last weekend's mismatch and foregone conclusion win if they had the space. Ulster were away as well. Not sure if I'm right in this but it seems to me that attendances at pro rugby games are proportionately much bigger in Ireland than they are in the other participating countries. For instance, Glasgow is really a soccer city so rugby will always be secondary there. Generally speaking, its the same in England.. English Premiership soccer dominates everything and rugby, though widely followed, is down the pecking order somewhat..Anyway I'd expect teams like Bath or Leicester, or Gloucester would really only appeal to people who live in those places and would not enjoy the broad territorial appeal that a regional team like Munster or Leinster would have."
According to the European rugby website there were 5607 at the Connacht game on Saturday. A poster on here yesterday congratulated Connacht rugby on their excellent traffic management...

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 16/01/2017 23:21:42    1946203

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "If Munster were at home I presume there would have been a 20k plus attendance, Leinster tend to have close to full capacity for their home games, Connacht attendance is limited by the capacity of their ground (around 8k I think) and with the way they have grown their support in the last year I would think they could probably attract another couple of thousand extra for last weekend's mismatch and foregone conclusion win if they had the space. Ulster were away as well. Not sure if I'm right in this but it seems to me that attendances at pro rugby games are proportionately much bigger in Ireland than they are in the other participating countries. For instance, Glasgow is really a soccer city so rugby will always be secondary there. Generally speaking, its the same in England.. English Premiership soccer dominates everything and rugby, though widely followed, is down the pecking order somewhat..Anyway I'd expect teams like Bath or Leicester, or Gloucester would really only appeal to people who live in those places and would not enjoy the broad territorial appeal that a regional team like Munster or Leinster would have."
they have had much less success in scotland u have to remember...ireland we get big crowds in all sports if the team is going well..especially in rugby

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 16/01/2017 23:29:32    1946204

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I see the common denominator in your post royaldunne is Meath."
In the pre 1996 era, they did all their pucking on the field...

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 17/01/2017 11:29:43    1946268

throw into the bargain it was clearly a massive round of games in the biggest competition and yet there was around the 100thousand attended the ten games played, a mere average of only 10thousand a game, they can huff and they can puff but will they blow out house down? ??
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11543 - 16/01/2017 20:43:10   1

in 2016 Dublin hurlers averaged around 10k for championship. Dublin v kilkenny got 10000 approx , Dublin v cork hurling got 10000 approx (mostly all cork) Dublin v Wexford hurling got 13k (part of double header with kildare) -- they were to quote hillman "clearly a massive round of games in the biggest competition and yet there was around the 100thousand attended the ten games played, a mere average of only 10thousand a game" dublin hurling can huff and they can puff but will they blow out house down? ??

More dublin people go to watch Leinster rugby than dublin hurling , Football on the other hand obliterates the other two for support -why wouldnt it given dublin success and style of play

If you took the crowds the the least followed gaa sport gets in all the munster counties you will find that munster rugbys support is pretty good. e.g. tipp v cork, Limerick v clare and tipp v waterford got around 8k overall for 5 counties - throw in kerrys hurling support, your talking around 9k for championship- Munster rugby will get 10k in thomond for a pro 12 game and around 7 in cork.

Over the christmas all the provinces fill their stadia - thats 70k approx with not a huge travelling suportt, thats not bad support is it. Also the internationals get great crowds. while rugby is nowhere near as popular as gaa and never will be - one has to say the rugby crowds are pretty decent

Mind you the crowds at gaa games when you take account of the country small population are on a par if not better then most other sports in the world - i mean our under age games get better crowds than a lot of under 20 soccer world cup games . Think of it 18k for limerick v wexford under 21 final thats some crowd

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 17/01/2017 17:40:29    1946421

they have had much less success in scotland u have to remember...ireland we get big crowds in all sports if the team is going well..especially in rugby
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:1415 - 16/01/2017 23:29:32   194620

yes but i would say especially in rugby soccer and Gaa

in 2007 Limerick v Waterford for semi had around 55k and 48k for munster final - when they played first round in both 2009 and 2011 - attendance was closer to 20k

in 2010 Look at how dublins support plummeted in after losing leinster final - 2 good results later ye got massive crowd v cork in semi, Limerick and Kerry got over 30k for munster final that year , following year in first round - got around 7k, Limerick v Cork football got around 10k in round 4- compare that the the crowd cork brought to final

2011 - Dublin v Tipp hurling got over 40k - they had a lot less for 2014 quarter final
2013 hurling semis cork v dublin and clare v limerick got 60k each
in 2015 all four counties played qualifier games as part of triple header in front of around 17k
Limerick v Clare in 2015 got around 20k and even less than that for 2016 qualifier
Cork v Dublin in 2016 got around 10k -with very little travelling dublin support

2014 cork played tipp in semi final in front of nearly 70k - in 2016 they played in front of around 25k
2015 kilkenny v galway all ireland final got 80k - same team in leinster final got 30k

Its the same in all sports when gaa teams aint winning the crowds are down when the get success the momentum builds and the crowds are up, rugby is no different Munster were not playing well the last few seasons the crowds were down (still got around 16ish to two dead rubbers in europe v sale and stade) , the team is now playing well so crowds are up.

Big weekend of sport coming up in Limerick got munster v racing on sat and Limerick v Kerry in hurling and football in mcgrath cup and munster leagues on sunday

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 17/01/2017 17:41:43    1946424

i see shane williams scored four points for glenswilly in the toughest trade the other night -and michael murphy heading to clermont -- be good programme that when it comes out

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 17/01/2017 17:44:15    1946425

Replying To janesboro:  "they have had much less success in scotland u have to remember...ireland we get big crowds in all sports if the team is going well..especially in rugby

in 2007 Limerick v Waterford for semi had around 55k and 48k for munster final - when they played first round in both 2009 and 2011 - attendance was closer to 20k

in 2010 Look at how dublins support plummeted in after losing leinster final - 2 good results later ye got massive crowd v cork in semi, Limerick and Kerry got over 30k for munster final that year , following year in first round - got around 7k, Limerick v Cork football got around 10k in round 4- compare that the the crowd cork brought to final

2011 - Dublin v Tipp hurling got over 40k - they had a lot less for 2014 quarter final
in 2015 all four counties played qualifier games as part of triple header in front of around 17k
Limerick v Clare in 2015 got around 20k and even less than that for 2016 qualifier
Cork v Dublin in 2016 got around 10k -with very little travelling dublin support

2014 cork played tipp in semi final in front of nearly 70k - in 2016 they played in front of around 25k
2015 kilkenny v galway all ireland final got 80k - same team in leinster final got 30k

Its the same in all sports when gaa teams aint winning the crowds are down when the get success the momentum builds and the crowds are up, rugby is no different Munster were not playing well the last few seasons the crowds were down (still got around 16ish to two dead rubbers in europe v sale and stade) , the team is now playing well so crowds are up.

Big weekend of sport coming up in Limerick got munster v racing on sat and Limerick v Kerry in hurling and football in mcgrath cup and munster leagues on sunday"
we arent going to get into this janesboro..there is no need to rush to rugbys defence..i simply pointed out why scottish teams get worse crowds than in ireland...our rugby teams have had way more success and we dont have as popular a domestic soccer league either which plays a part

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 18/01/2017 01:03:31    1946546

Replying To janesboro:  "they have had much less success in scotland u have to remember...ireland we get big crowds in all sports if the team is going well..especially in rugby

Big weekend of sport coming up in Limerick got munster v racing on sat and Limerick v Kerry in hurling and football in mcgrath cup and munster leagues on sunday"
especially in all sports not just those 3 you mentioned..rugby is just a notable example of it because of the success

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 18/01/2017 01:04:17    1946547

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I see the common denominator in your post royaldunne is Meath."
Would that be an own goal!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 18/01/2017 11:45:12    1946606

Replying To janesboro:  "i see shane williams scored four points for glenswilly in the toughest trade the other night -and michael murphy heading to clermont -- be good programme that when it comes out"
Not really a like for like show.
I watched last year were the American footballer went to a mayo club team and played a micky mouse challenge game, where as aidan o shea went to the nfl trials. The rugby boyo went to a Donegal club and played a challenge match again where as Murphy is going to an actual top of the sport club in France for rugby.
if Williams went to train with Donegal and played at least a McKenna cup game you would be on the right track for getting like for like. It's far too lenient on the professional sports guys coming here.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/01/2017 17:51:47    1946725