Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught

Come on guys - rugby has effectively 4 clubs with only 3 in competition with the GAA. Some club county finals get better crowds than these rugby games. I encounter All Ireland League rugby on a regular basis and there are more people at a junior B ladies game in February. International rugby is different and it always got a great following due to the its social and corporate aspect. Basically rugby is not a threat to the GAA but certainly the GAA could learn a trick or 2 from it on the marketing, business and organisational side of things.

Redslayer (Westmeath) - Posts: 100 - 07/11/2016 22:13:20    1932562

Come on guys - rugby has effectively 4 clubs with only 3 in competition with the GAA. Some club county finals get better crowds than these rugby games. I encounter All Ireland League rugby on a regular basis and there are more people at a junior B ladies game in February. International rugby is different and it always got a great following due to the its social and corporate aspect. Basically rugby is not a threat to the GAA but certainly the GAA could learn a trick or 2 from it on the marketing, business and organisational side of things.
Redslayer (Westmeath) - Posts:94 - 07/11/2016 22:13:20
That's just ignorant and arrogant. Rugby in Ireland doesn't just have 4 sides or 3 in competition with GAA.
You encounter AIL rugby in what capacity?
Rugby isn't a threat to the GAA. Never has. The hurling and gaelic clubs and rugby clubs could all and should all work together more often and learn from each other more.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 07/11/2016 22:24:43    1932565

redslayer
Some club county finals get better crowds than these rugby games.
some do but most of them dont
I encounter All Ireland League rugby on a regular basis and there are more people at a junior B ladies game in February.
which junior b ladies club games get better crowds than the AIL - i go to lot of club games in both gaa and rugby myself - in limerick the gaa does get better crowds at club games, club rugby in limerick gets ok crowds too. even watch the odd ladies game at my club - dont get better crwds than the ail -munsters v garryowen got around 2500 last year

International rugby is different and it always got a great following due to the its social and corporate aspect.
or maybe is it because people like the game and wanna support their team, i never went to a game gaa/soccer or rugby myself due to the social/corporate aspect.
I wonder does anybody go to an inter county gaa game for the social corporate aspect , i myself to support my team

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 07/11/2016 22:50:09    1932571

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "the independent had 7-8 people covering the rugby alone...im well aware a test in rugby is a bit different to a normal friendly but a world cup it aint
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:861 - 07/11/2016 17:47:47
7/8 people writing on a game/event doesn't mean that the event is over hyped or anything. And where are you getting 7/8 people from? They will have had a journo who will have his match report. That journo will also have some sort of article. They'll have 2/3 columnists. And maybe another article.

That win on Saturday night is getting a lot of coverage which is understandable and fairly justified but for people to think that rugby is bigger than gaa or football then your deluded. There are more gaa clubs in cork than rugby clubs in all of Ireland. Rugby is in a good place at the moment but 2 heavy defeats to New Zealand and Australia could swing the mood. There are only 10 serious countries when it comes to rugby.
Bain (Donegal) - Posts:403 - 07/11/2016 18:44:34
Who are the 10 serious countries when it comes to rugby then? Name them?
Who has said rugby is better than GAA or soccer? The GAA is multiple sports and there is multiple clubs within the one area that are essentially one club so stating more gaa clubs in cork than rugby clubs in Ireland is not fair.

yeah id go along with that in limerick the main clubs ground all got good covered terracing whereas the rugby clubs dont- nothing fancy but stops you gettin wet e.g. caherconlish,bruff kilmallock, rathkeale newcastlewest, cappamore
mind you was in st marys pitch in templeogue the weekend very impressive facility
janesboro (Limerick) - Posts:778 - 07/11/2016 20:22:09
Rugby clubs in Limerick facilities are fine though. You can watch from your car in many of them. In plenty you can also watch games from club houses like Bohs, Bruff, Thomond. Garryowen. Id rather money go on underage development in these clubs considering the issues they face dealing with schools than investing in facilities."
look at the irish independent front page and inside it today..names the list of people in relation to the game

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/11/2016 22:50:31    1932572

Replying To janesboro:  "It's main struggle seems to be ridding itself of its elitist tag, particularly in Dublin. Until it can do that it will struggle to grow anymore I think.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts:10185 - 07/11/2016 10:43:15 1

yeah it has that perception but to be honest ive been at games either watchin or playin in nearly every dublin ground and have never had a problem with anything remotely related to elitism, (in either rugby or gaa) and thats me with me common auld limerick accent (sham!!!!), have been to away games in con trinity and st marys this season with no issue - in fact in marys they couldnt have been more welcoming...its just a perception go a club game and see for yourself"
its more than a perception in my experience..and iv played and attended lots of games

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 07/11/2016 22:51:34    1932573

look at the irish independent front page and inside it today..names the list of people in relation to the game
alano12 (Dublin) - Posts:864 - 07/11/2016 22:50:31
Ah yeah. I was only counting those from sports supplement and its the same for big GAA games. Its the same during European soccer championships etc.
There will be a match report. That journo will also another piece on game
There will be several 'colour' pieces. Several will have been in Chicago but most will have been in Dublin and again who cares if there is 8 writing on the game. Its the same with all other big events/news stories.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 07/11/2016 23:06:00    1932577

Alano.in which clubs or schools have.u had bother with elitism sorry to hear you've had.such bother

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 07/11/2016 23:17:17    1932578

The biggest threat that the GAA faces is from itself. The one dimensional focus on the county player/game and the inability to create proper playing season for adult club playersis resulting in players drifting away who can get more organised fixtures in other codes - soccer more so than rugby.

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 08/11/2016 06:29:19    1932588

Does anyone know how many rugby clubs there are in Ireland? I think in kildare we have 7 compared to about 50 gaa clubs.

11jm11 (Kildare) - Posts: 366 - 08/11/2016 08:07:52    1932590

Replying To alano12:  "
Replying To janesboro:  "It's main struggle seems to be ridding itself of its elitist tag, particularly in Dublin. Until it can do that it will struggle to grow anymore I think.

yeah it has that perception but to be honest ive been at games either watchin or playin in nearly every dublin ground and have never had a problem with anything remotely related to elitism, (in either rugby or gaa) and thats me with me common auld limerick accent (sham!!!!), have been to away games in con trinity and st marys this season with no issue - in fact in marys they couldnt have been more welcoming...its just a perception go a club game and see for yourself"
its more than a perception in my experience..and iv played and attended lots of games"
I don't feel its a perception anyway.
I play Gaelic but I'm involved/support multiple other sports. I have studied them and understand them to a fair level for basic pub talk at the very least
but...
My opinion is always incorrect because I'm a gaelic man. I didn't go to private school and my parents don't have money so how in the world would I understand Rugby.

I think fair play to Ireland. And I actually don't mind the media/publicity it gets. What annoys me is that GAA could never dream of getting that level of media (unless its negative media).

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 08/11/2016 08:58:05    1932599

Replying To 11jm11:  "Does anyone know how many rugby clubs there are in Ireland? I think in kildare we have 7 compared to about 50 gaa clubs."
about 206 ish - theres more gaa clubs in cork (around 260 ish) ---in limerick is approx 70 gaa and 14 rugby

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/11/2016 09:37:42    1932609

dstuction (Donegal) -- I didn't go to private school and my parents don't have money so how in the world would I understand Rugby.
didnt go to a private school myself so my dad thought of a mad revoloutionary and radical idea to get me playing - he brought me down to my local rugby and gaa clubs, bet he saved himself a few quid .

What annoys me is that GAA could never dream of getting that level of media (unless its negative media).
dont know about that when we won munster title in 2013 twas like mass hysteria down there -pitch invasion - there was even a song out for the semi final, same in 94 96 and 2007 im sure there was lots of positive media coverage when donegal won 2012 and for 2014 final

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/11/2016 09:43:01    1932612

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_rugby_union_playing_countries according to this there is around 18000 rugby clubs worldwide

http://www.joe.ie/sport/infographic-the-number-of-gaa-clubs-in-every-county-in-ireland-and-every-continent-around-the-world/420318
according to this there is about 2600 ish GAA clubs

so unless im reading it wrong -- seems there are more gaa clubs in ireland than rugby clubs in any one individual country (bar usa)- factor in population its an amazing stat, just goes to show the love we have for gaa i think -- so i dont think gaa has anything to fear from rugby - can learn from it of course and vice versa - but there room for all of these fantastic sports

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/11/2016 09:51:16    1932614

Replying To janesboro:  "about 206 ish - theres more gaa clubs in cork (around 260 ish) ---in limerick is approx 70 gaa and 14 rugby"
In Wexford I think it's about
50 GAA clubs(or maybe a couple less)
40+ Soccer clubs
4 Rugby clubs (only one in each major town I think)

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 08/11/2016 09:54:24    1932615

I don't think you get what I mean.

As long as people see that a lot of the Irish/Leinster players are posh lads from private school backgrounds they are unlikely to go to their local rugby club. They just won't. Some might but the majority will not. It's an issue for rugby and will continue to be unless they do something about. We've been told for the past part of decade about all the 'great work' being done in non traditional rugby areas by the IRFU but to be honest as someone who is from, lives and works in a working class area I haven't seen any evidence of this. I'm sure they are doing some work but nowhere near the levels of other sporting organisations which is very evident. It'll be very hard for the IRFU to change 100+ years of their sport being the sport of the elite in Dublin.

People don't like talking about class issues in Ireland but not talking about them doesn't mean they are not there.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13725 - 08/11/2016 10:24:19    1932626

Replying to the title of the thread I don't think it'll be a problem for the GAA.

In Leinster specifically Rugby at the highest level (Leinster schools) is pure elitist and that's where the professional setup draw most if not all there players from.

They go to the private schools in and around dublin 4 and not down to your local CBS or GAA field.

So don't panic, the GAA will be fine.

Out of curiosity, how many of the guys against NZ were publicly schooled?

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 08/11/2016 10:54:30    1932636

Of course GAA will always be the number one sport in Ireland IMO. It part of the fabric of a large portion of the population and is not a threat to GAA however threatened some here seem to be by it.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 08/11/2016 10:59:08    1932638

i understand your point mesamis, there is a perception there probably among fella who wouldnt normally go to club rugby that its eitist but ive been playing and supportin the game all my adult life and been to all the dublin clubs-never had a bother with class or elitism and im from and living a working class area of limerick city,

what i say to those fellas is go to a club game youlll be made welcome, the supporters are very passionate too, and if your in dublin come down to lakelands for terenure v munsters on sat,

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/11/2016 11:09:08    1932640

I think fair play to Ireland. And I actually don't mind the media/publicity it gets. What annoys me is that GAA could never dream of getting that level of media (unless its negative media).
dstuction (Donegal) - Posts:1061 - 08/11/2016 08:58:05 1932599

Ah now we got an RTE documentary on our 2012 winning side and the journey they went on, and that was just for a 20 year drought!

I genuinely think the sports media as a whole in Ireland are very negative and reactionary and us being GAA people see it more with GAA but I think it happens to our national sides in both codes, as well as the negativity that surrounded Munster and Leinster under Penney & O'Connor respectively - the fight Connacht has had to put up to even continue existing! The Irish media notoriously drove Gatland out, EOS and Kidney both had a terrible time in the end from them and Schmidt got it earlier this year to an extent. In soccer you have Dunphy crapping all over LoI for years until Dundalk made it fashionable not to.

Of course there are positive news stories around rugby, just like GAA and just like soccer. There are pundits and columnists who have biases and who love to wax lyrical about certain teams, good pundits and bad pundits etc. You also have to allow that rugby is the only sport where we consistently produce genuinely world class players and should be expected to compete on the world stage regularly. O'Driscoll is one of the best centres to have ever lived, if not the best. That alone gets people interested and the media of course follow the interest. But GAA gets the same, probably more coverage in the media than rugby. They don't compete with eachother directly apart from the National League & 6 Nations which isn't really a fair comparison. I think a much fairer comparison is the National League versus Pro12, and I know what all the papers would lead with the weekend there's no 6 Nations.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 08/11/2016 11:57:17    1932649

Replying To daytona11:  "Replying to the title of the thread I don't think it'll be a problem for the GAA.

In Leinster specifically Rugby at the highest level (Leinster schools) is pure elitist and that's where the professional setup draw most if not all there players from.

They go to the private schools in and around dublin 4 and not down to your local CBS or GAA field.

So don't panic, the GAA will be fine.

Out of curiosity, how many of the guys against NZ were publicly schooled?"
is there not a few dublin players who went to private schools?

of the rugby team i think i thinkg the following players didnt
furlong, ryan, murray , henshaw , dillane cronin, marmion - could be more also stander payne bealham non irish educated

personally i dont care what school they go to - if they play for ireland i cheer for them

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/11/2016 12:06:53    1932656