Can the GAA survive the Rugby onslaught

Replying To tearintom:  "Heres the thing though.

When you look at some of the ignorance in the comments on here against rugby supporters etc (not true Irish People, nothing but West Brits, a different breed etc etc) would you actually blame people for not bringing their kids anywhere near a GAA Club??

We have a rural GAA club where we took a decision a few years to work with rather than against our local soccer club and the town Rugby club. I remember as a young fella being forced to choose between soccer training and GAA training. For me it was always GAA but other kids didnt and were lost to the Club forever. All it took was simple dialogue at the start of the year with both clubs to try and work schedules that kids and even adults could play both GAA and Rugby or as is more the case Soccer and GAA.

Of course there is still situations where there are conflicts with matches etc. But simply because kids etc arent given an ultimatum that they need to attend this GAA match or not bother turning up for the rest of the year they end up coming back even if they miss one match etc. There was also ultimatums on the Rugby/Soccer side over the years too.

Underage in our Club has never been stronger and families who never would have been GAA families have their kids coming to the pitch all summer and loving it.

Soccer and Rugby are winter sports so it stands to reason that they can combine well with the GAA season. Maybe if people opened their minds a little they would actually be doing more service to their Clubs and organisation. The GAA welcomes everyone no matter what their background, religion and supposed social standing is, a few people would do well to remember that."
Its not a one cap fits all scenario tom, It obviously makes sense for local villages to all get behind their teams, be they hurling, football soccer or rugby.

Its usually a bit more complicated in cities where you don't have that loyalty/identity. A soccer team in the city for example has no reason to identify with the local GAA club bar a few kids maybe playing for both. The reality is, certainly in Belfast anyway and id imagine Dublin too, that soccer clubs are quite hostile towards and imo jealous of GAA clubs in Belfast.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 02/12/2016 15:17:34    1938033

GAA will always be irelands main sport, however if Rugby goes to global calender and pro12 and Champions Cup could be on in summers, it may effect GAA attendances and vice versa

rebelfan (Cork) - Posts: 70 - 02/12/2016 20:47:50    1938090

Well it seems clive woodward has formed the same opinion as I encountered at Thomond Park and judging by the comments under the article it seems to be a widespread issue for rugby.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/twickenhams-not-a-public-bar-clive-woodward-hits-out-at-drinking-culture-at-rugby-matches-35262809.html

Clive Woodward has shone a light on one of rugby's biggest issues - but it has nothing to do with the on-field product.
The World-Cup-winning coach used his Daily Mail column to chide Twickenham fans who consistently leave their seats during games to go to the bar, producing a never-ending visual obstruction for stationery supporters.
Rugby stadiums allow fans to bring alcohol down to their seats during matches, something that many in attendance routinely take advantage of.
However, Woodward feels that such behaviour detracts from the atmosphere at Twickenham and urges fans to confine their revelry to before and after matches.
"Twickenham is not primarily a public bar, it's a wonderful ground where rugby must come first, second and third and where members of the public of all ages must feel completely comfortable and welcome," he said in the Mail.
"I seemed to touch on a very raw nerve the other day when I mentioned how irritating the constant procession of fans to and from the bars and lavatories at Twickenham is getting during the game.
"It has got out of control recently and is fast becoming a real issue.
"I would seriously think about shutting the drinks outlets 10-15 minutes before kick-off and not opening them again until the final whistle is blown.
"Guys - and girls - it's only an hour and 20 minutes with a 15-minute half-time break for essential calls of nature. Surely we can manage that? You wouldn't think of behaving like this at a theatre or cinema."

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 03/12/2016 00:27:50    1938118

GAA will always be irelands main sport, however if Rugby goes to global calender and pro12 and Champions Cup could be on in summers, it may effect GAA attendances and vice versa
rebelfan (Cork) - Posts:30 - 02/12/2016 20:47:50
Rugby may change its calendar slightly but pro12 and champions cup wont change too much in terms of playing in the summer months. Pro12 would start later and finish later. It would have less games in September and maybe some games in June

Well it seems clive woodward has formed the same opinion as I encountered at Thomond Park and judging by the comments under the article it seems to be a widespread issue for rugby.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/rugby/twickenhams-not-a-public-bar-clive-woodward-hits-out-at-drinking-culture-at-rugby-matches-35262809.html
Clive Woodward has shone a light on one of rugby's biggest issues - but it has nothing to do with the on-field product.
The World-Cup-winning coach used his Daily Mail column to chide Twickenham fans who consistently leave their seats during games to go to the bar, producing a never-ending visual obstruction for stationery supporters.
Rugby stadiums allow fans to bring alcohol down to their seats during matches, something that many in attendance routinely take advantage of.
However, Woodward feels that such behaviour detracts from the atmosphere at Twickenham and urges fans to confine their revelry to before and after matches.
"Twickenham is not primarily a public bar, it's a wonderful ground where rugby must come first, second and third and where members of the public of all ages must feel completely comfortable and welcome," he said in the Mail.
"I seemed to touch on a very raw nerve the other day when I mentioned how irritating the constant procession of fans to and from the bars and lavatories at Twickenham is getting during the game.
"I would seriously think about shutting the drinks outlets 10-15 minutes before kick-off and not opening them again until the final whistle is blown.
"Guys - and girls - it's only an hour and 20 minutes with a 15-minute half-time break for essential calls of nature. Surely we can manage that? You wouldn't think of behaving like this at a theatre or cinema."
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11455 - 03/12/2016 00:27:50
Its not a problem though. I get the same issues at hurling and gaelic games and sports of all kinds. People go to them as a social outlet. I wouldn't bother close bars. Its not worth the hassle

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 03/12/2016 18:49:38    1938179

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Well it seems clive woodward has formed the same opinion as I encountered at Thomond Park and judging by the comments under the article it seems to be a widespread issue for rugby.

"Guys - and girls - it's only an hour and 20 minutes with a 15-minute half-time break for essential calls of nature. Surely we can manage that? You wouldn't think of behaving like this at a theatre or cinema.""
Lavatories? Have they no jacks in Twickenham?

It's no more annoying than pissed people arriving late in Croke Park or getting up during the match to go to the jacks cos they're half cut. Have seen a few sneak their drinks into the stands, either bought in Croker or brought into the ground. People having a few inside Croker or pre-match are grand, but the few, usually teens/ early twenties that think their hilarious with their drunk mates and ruin a game for others should be left outside.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 03/12/2016 20:02:23    1938190

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Lavatories? Have they no jacks in Twickenham?

It's no more annoying than pissed people arriving late in Croke Park or getting up during the match to go to the jacks cos they're half cut. Have seen a few sneak their drinks into the stands, either bought in Croker or brought into the ground. People having a few inside Croker or pre-match are grand, but the few, usually teens/ early twenties that think their hilarious with their drunk mates and ruin a game for others should be left outside."
While it does happen & there'll always be a few who break the rules, the fact that in Gaelic Games there's either no bar or if there is you are not permitted to bring alcohol to your seat/terrace means it is less of a problem. Clive Woodward has pointed out a modern day problem in rugby & the usual culprits feel the need to whitewash his point or try to say it's as bad in the GAA.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 03/12/2016 21:58:42    1938210

Replying To keeper7:  "While it does happen & there'll always be a few who break the rules, the fact that in Gaelic Games there's either no bar or if there is you are not permitted to bring alcohol to your seat/terrace means it is less of a problem. Clive Woodward has pointed out a modern day problem in rugby & the usual culprits feel the need to whitewash his point or try to say it's as bad in the GAA."
'The Usual Culprits'! It's a problem not just in Rugby, GAA but a lot of aspects of Irish life. Even without a bar in the grounds people coming to games locked and bringing drink with them.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 03/12/2016 22:29:18    1938212

Replying To GreenandRed:  "'The Usual Culprits'! It's a problem not just in Rugby, GAA but a lot of aspects of Irish life. Even without a bar in the grounds people coming to games locked and bringing drink with them."
So the GAA should take it upon themselves to campaign for prohibition??? The GAA doesn't have massive alcohol sponsorship, unlike rugby. So which sporting organisation do you think is doing most to discourage drinking (despite the obvious financial gains to be had)?

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 04/12/2016 14:04:03    1938244

Replying To keeper7:  "So the GAA should take it upon themselves to campaign for prohibition??? The GAA doesn't have massive alcohol sponsorship, unlike rugby. So which sporting organisation do you think is doing most to discourage drinking (despite the obvious financial gains to be had)?"
Who said anything about prohibition or discouraging drinking? Does anyone need Clive Woodward to tell them there's a drink culture in rugby supporters and has been for years? Is there no drink culture amongst GAA supporters? Have Irish people's drinking habits changed since Guinness stopped sponsoring the hurling championship? Maybe more took up drinking Guinness since they sponsor the rugby November games. My own opinion, naively, is that alcohol sponsorship shouldn't be banned for any sport. I don't think that 16 year olds goibg out drinking to get drunk rather than enjoying themselves and having a few drinks paya blind bit of notice is Sport X or Y is sponsored by Jameson or by Kellogs. But that the sponsors contribute to alcohol and drugs awareness classes in our school. Whether you see that as pro-Rugby, anti-GAA stance it's up to you but it's my opinion.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 04/12/2016 15:51:01    1938258

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Who said anything about prohibition or discouraging drinking? Does anyone need Clive Woodward to tell them there's a drink culture in rugby supporters and has been for years? Is there no drink culture amongst GAA supporters? Have Irish people's drinking habits changed since Guinness stopped sponsoring the hurling championship? Maybe more took up drinking Guinness since they sponsor the rugby November games. My own opinion, naively, is that alcohol sponsorship shouldn't be banned for any sport. I don't think that 16 year olds goibg out drinking to get drunk rather than enjoying themselves and having a few drinks paya blind bit of notice is Sport X or Y is sponsored by Jameson or by Kellogs. But that the sponsors contribute to alcohol and drugs awareness classes in our school. Whether you see that as pro-Rugby, anti-GAA stance it's up to you but it's my opinion."
I take your points & agree with some of them. I'm merely pointing out how many posters ritually bash the GAA while failing to criticise the IRFU for the same flaws.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 04/12/2016 17:14:48    1938271

Interesting discussion on radio this evening about Connacht rugby. The writer of a book on Connacht rugby expressed regret that Joe Canning did not continue his dalliance with rugby and concentrate on it. Said it would have been wonderful to have seen him and John Muldoon, 2 men from Portumna, side by side playing for Connacht. Says it all really. My sense is that if Joe Canning was 10 years younger or if the rise of Connacht rugby had happened 10 years earlier, he would have been lost to hurling and would never have played senior for Galway. Portents of the future in my opinion....

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1908 - 04/12/2016 17:27:18    1938273

Cuala must be bucking the trend in Dalkey so.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 04/12/2016 18:27:18    1938284

Greenandred
Alcohol, cigarettes, pharmaceuticals or any other organistaion that is harmful to the human body and has no benifit to it should not be part of sports sponsorship as it has no place at all or no connection.
it's ironic in rugby the people causing all the hassle with alcohol are the very ones who have the cheek to then turn around and shussshhh people in the crowd when penalties or conversions are being taken,

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/12/2016 20:34:06    1938294

While it does happen & there'll always be a few who break the rules, the fact that in Gaelic Games there's either no bar or if there is you are not permitted to bring alcohol to your seat/terrace means it is less of a problem. Clive Woodward has pointed out a modern day problem in rugby & the usual culprits feel the need to whitewash his point or try to say it's as bad in the GAA.
keeper7 (Longford) - Posts:3196 - 03/12/2016 21:58:42
News to me that you cant bring alcohol to your seat at GAA games as its never stopped me and I don't see too many stopped from drinking at games/at their seats.
Im not whitewashing anything. Do some people go to games as a social occasion and drink quite a bit? Yes but that is only a small proportion.

Who said anything about prohibition or discouraging drinking? Does anyone need Clive Woodward to tell them there's a drink culture in rugby supporters and has been for years? Is there no drink culture amongst GAA supporters? Have Irish people's drinking habits changed since Guinness stopped sponsoring the hurling championship? Maybe more took up drinking Guinness since they sponsor the rugby November games. My own opinion, naively, is that alcohol sponsorship shouldn't be banned for any sport. I don't think that 16 year olds goibg out drinking to get drunk rather than enjoying themselves and having a few drinks paya blind bit of notice is Sport X or Y is sponsored by Jameson or by Kellogs. But that the sponsors contribute to alcohol and drugs awareness classes in our school. Whether you see that as pro-Rugby, anti-GAA stance it's up to you but it's my opinion.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts:3059 - 04/12/2016 15:51:01
I agree banning alcohol sponsorship of sport wont change habits of teens and older people from choosing a certain brand or to drink at all.

Interesting discussion on radio this evening about Connacht rugby. The writer of a book on Connacht rugby expressed regret that Joe Canning did not continue his dalliance with rugby and concentrate on it. Said it would have been wonderful to have seen him and John Muldoon, 2 men from Portumna, side by side playing for Connacht. Says it all really. My sense is that if Joe Canning was 10 years younger or if the rise of Connacht rugby had happened 10 years earlier, he would have been lost to hurling and would never have played senior for Galway. Portents of the future in my opinion....
PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts:513 - 04/12/2016 17:27:18
It is a shame from a rugby perspective. He was a talented rugby player and would have been fantastic to see him play a higher level but its great seeing such a talented guy hurling.
I don't think you can say at all that Canning would have picked rugby if Connacht had came through earlier etc. Hurling considering his family etc would always come first.

Greenandred Alcohol, cigarettes, pharmaceuticals or any other organistaion that is harmful to the human body and has no benifit to it should not be part of sports sponsorship as it has no place at all or no connection.
it's ironic in rugby the people causing all the hassle with alcohol are the very ones who have the cheek to then turn around and shussshhh people in the crowd when penalties or conversions are being taken,
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11458 - 04/12/2016 20:34:06
What nanny state do you want to control?
Pharmaceuticals like what? What would you define as harmful to the human body? Alcohol is ok in moderation like everything.
As for your pathetic jibe about tradition of being silent during a kick. That's a simple tradition and irrelevant to this discussion.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 04/12/2016 22:03:37    1938316

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Greenandred
Alcohol, cigarettes, pharmaceuticals or any other organistaion that is harmful to the human body and has no benifit to it should not be part of sports sponsorship as it has no place at all or no connection.
it's ironic in rugby the people causing all the hassle with alcohol are the very ones who have the cheek to then turn around and shussshhh people in the crowd when penalties or conversions are being taken,"
It is ironic Hill. The phrase 'could do with a good kick in the hole' springs to mind when anyone pissed turns round to people, sober or having a few pints but well-behaved, and shushs them. Unfortunately the law of the land is not on your side if you slap someone who's drunk and being a gobshite even though they deserve it.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 04/12/2016 22:25:03    1938321

ormond
you cannot bring alcohol up onto the hill
it has to be consumed down at the bar
the stewards are always at the exits stopping people

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/12/2016 22:28:39    1938322

What nanny state do you want to control?
Pharmaceuticals like what? What would you define as harmful to the human body? Alcohol is ok in moderation like everything.
As for your pathetic jibe about tradition of being silent during a kick. That's a simple tradition and irrelevant to this discussion.

ormond
how is it a nanny state to realise that sport is a huge health benifit to a person
where as alcohol, cigarettes and so on are the opposite to the human body.
alcohol has no benifit to the human body and causes untold damage in all kinds of different diseases I fail to see how years of moderate drinking makes that fine???
it is relevent to the discussion as you plainly along with the other rugby supporters have no porblem with people spilling alcohol all over other supporters and causing dissruptions throughout a match to the other viewers, but fail to see the hypocrisy in the same people telling others to be quiet out of some ridiculous form of respect, when they cannot respect the peoples rights to view the match without being covered in other peoples booze. If s you say all the time people go to rugby in social aspect to and can drink alcohol then surely people can go to rugby and not have to be made feel they have to remain silent when they are socialising, they are entitled to use their voice during a game.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/12/2016 22:35:11    1938323

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Interesting discussion on radio this evening about Connacht rugby. The writer of a book on Connacht rugby expressed regret that Joe Canning did not continue his dalliance with rugby and concentrate on it. Said it would have been wonderful to have seen him and John Muldoon, 2 men from Portumna, side by side playing for Connacht. Says it all really. My sense is that if Joe Canning was 10 years younger or if the rise of Connacht rugby had happened 10 years earlier, he would have been lost to hurling and would never have played senior for Galway. Portents of the future in my opinion...."
I think Galway should stop trying to be Limerick and Connacht should stop trying to be Munster when it comes to Rugby.In saying that Rugby does provide an opportunity for people that would not have skill levels to play Gaelic Football or Hurling.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1066 - 05/12/2016 00:40:04    1938331

Seriously, this has gone beyond childish!

Rugby is worse because in rugby people are disturbing others by getting up and getting a drink but you cant bring drink to your seats at a GAA match so GAA is better!!! Really!!

Ive been disturbed as much during rugby games, soccer game as i have been in Croke Park etc and to be honest ive been more frustrated in Croke Park with being disturbed than i have been anywhere else because of the different nature of the sports.

Hurling in particular is non stop, end to end which requires attention whereas in rugby the game is very fragmented with an awful lot more stop start.

In many ways because people cant bring drinks to their seats it leads to lads "stocking up" before the game starts and once that happens there is only so much a human bladder can handle. Sitting in Croker with 4 or 5 tanked up young fellas is a complete pain in the ass as i experienced this year, full to the brim late coming to their seats followed by each one in turn heading for the "jacks" over different stages of the game.

In my opinion if a sporting event and arena is going to sell alcohol they should be shut down 30 mins before the game starts and not open till its over.

tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1354 - 05/12/2016 08:33:13    1938340

For all those wondering if the GAA can 'withstand the Rugby onslaught'

A team from DALKEY just won the Leinster hurling championship. All those kids in the stand cheering on Cuala; most of they're dads played Rugby.

Just let that slip in for a moment.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 05/12/2016 11:50:30    1938379