Players of the Year

Replying To shoulderghost:  "It was as clear as daylight that Gleeson is POTY. Not even the shadow of a doubt about it. If you did'nt/couldn't see that after the year's hurling was done, then...!!!???"
How is it as clear as day, he got roasted in Munster final and TAKEN OFF. Against Wexford he hit 9 wides( that's what Seamie Cal scored from play in all Ireland) ran out of steam again KK and taken off again not to mention the amount of wides he hit. Glesson is a one man band that thinks he can do it all, for every wonderful catch or score he gets he will do three or four stupid things that will cost his team like the three frees in a row he gave away against KK (all scored) like I said stop reading papers and watching highlights and start watching the game without listening to the media trying to blow him up like they did with big Joe.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 05/11/2016 09:06:48    1931760

Replying To therealtmo:  "How is it as clear as day, he got roasted in Munster final and TAKEN OFF. Against Wexford he hit 9 wides( that's what Seamie Cal scored from play in all Ireland) ran out of steam again KK and taken off again not to mention the amount of wides he hit. Glesson is a one man band that thinks he can do it all, for every wonderful catch or score he gets he will do three or four stupid things that will cost his team like the three frees in a row he gave away against KK (all scored) like I said stop reading papers and watching highlights and start watching the game without listening to the media trying to blow him up like they did with big Joe."
It is a joke realtmo.I have little doubt that this Limerick lad might change his tune if it was Limerick who won the All Ire and a Lim player did what Seamie did!!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/11/2016 09:17:08    1931763

Replying To therealtmo:  "How is it as clear as day, he got roasted in Munster final and TAKEN OFF. Against Wexford he hit 9 wides( that's what Seamie Cal scored from play in all Ireland) ran out of steam again KK and taken off again not to mention the amount of wides he hit. Glesson is a one man band that thinks he can do it all, for every wonderful catch or score he gets he will do three or four stupid things that will cost his team like the three frees in a row he gave away against KK (all scored) like I said stop reading papers and watching highlights and start watching the game without listening to the media trying to blow him up like they did with big Joe."
I think shoulderghost might have been taking the p**s, either that or is not familiar with the game.
I suppose in another way its a good thing for the development of the game in the weaker counties because all players now will feel they have a chance to be HOTY, in fact the more wides you hit the better!! Only a handful, and no-one outside Tipp or KK could get to the standard of a P Maher or Callinan when you think of it!!

PremierGold (Tipperary) - Posts: 121 - 05/11/2016 09:18:33    1931764

Replying To shoulderghost:  "It was as clear as daylight that Gleeson is POTY. Not even the shadow of a doubt about it. If you did'nt/couldn't see that after the year's hurling was done, then...!!!???"
You wouldn't understand the significance of scoring 0-9 from play in an All Ireland final v Kilkenny.Being from Limerick you probably never will!Give the award to a lad who must have hit over 20 wides in 4 games,was humiliated and taken off in Munster final and didn't even reach an All Ireland final!I had to check it wasn't April 1st!!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/11/2016 09:26:41    1931766

I'm a big fan of Gleeson and think he could become one of the all time greats but I think Séamie can feel a little hard done by!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 05/11/2016 09:34:32    1931767

good boy austin...as tina said....better than all the rest!!

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 05/11/2016 09:38:02    1931768

Replying To juniorjudge:  "good boy austin...as tina said....better than all the rest!!"
Man junior I'll get you a bigger stick to stir it. Hahaha

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 05/11/2016 10:13:28    1931777

Replying To therealtmo:  "Man junior I'll get you a bigger stick to stir it. Hahaha"
realmo if there was a love button i would have loved your comment!! ahhh of course its a bit of craic but to be fair to the boy he wasnt nominated for no reason. he did have a great year getting to league final, all ireland semi and winning u21...right fair enough maher had an outstanding year also but from how i read it a few people posting here wanted callinan to get it due to a decent year and because he didnt win it previously when maybe he should have. it was the players who voted for this not panelists or supporters. austin had his bad game or two but the youngfella is a marvel that he hurles like he does at his age...eitherway ye have the liam mc...im sure every waterford man woman and child including austin would give up every award ever known to have what ye have...some people from footballing counties posting here are getting ridiculously upset due to an award. one cant help but lol

juniorjudge (Waterford) - Posts: 383 - 05/11/2016 11:00:29    1931789

How could anyone argue with the Keegan decision? He's one of the most complete footballers in the country and easily the best of those nominated. He played half-back and at times full-back this year and also got forward and kicked some really nice scores. He's very versatile and the best man-marker in the game. He takes on responsibility and shows leadership and he's a man for the big occasion. There are very few jobs you could give the guy that he wouldn't be able to do. He'd walk onto any team in the country. And don't start with the Connolly and Cavanagh were "targeted" crap. Cavanagh has no one to blame but himself and he's no shrinking violet and it's a bit rich for Tyrone supporters to start accusing opposition of jig-acting. As for Connolly, where do you even begin with that lad? The ongoing attempts to make him out to be some innocent party is hilarious. Keegan had him marked out of it all day in the AI replay and that's why he did his level best to have him sent off, going down like he was shot and then waving his imaginary card in Deegan's face. Connolly and Cavanagh know exactly what they're doing and the attempt to paint either of them as a victim is laughable. At least Keegan just gets on with it without whinging all the time despite the very best efforts of some to make him out to be some pantomime villain. One of the very best footballers of recent years and fully deserving of the award.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 05/11/2016 11:54:57    1931808

Replying To football first:  "I just don't get this that with O'connor gets two YPOTY awards. He's a decent footballer, but nothing special. As for the Keegan decision- that's farcical."
Don't think you should be able to win young player twice, but if you really think diarmuid oconnor is nothing special you should take up another sport lad

jackmeyhoffer (USA) - Posts: 148 - 05/11/2016 12:17:04    1931812

He is a great footballer but

Kilkenny and Fenton were better this year
He was black carded and was involved in kavanaghs dismissal as well as targeting conolly

Big problem with this award

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 05/11/2016 12:18:58    1931813

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Haha exactly
We now seem to reward players who openly target opposition players by giving them footballer of the year.
what happened the gaa campaign give respect get respect.
Pharcical stuff alright
Seamus calannan was robbed also
Gleeson had great year and was rewarded with young player of year for me callanan was hurler of year without doubt."
Marking the best footballer out there and keeping him living on scraps and to score more than him from half back! I'll let you judge that but I'd know the answer.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 05/11/2016 12:56:17    1931820

Replying To TheUsername:  "Was expecting Keegan to be honest, it was always going to happen, huge sentiment and sympathy behind Mayo, backlash around black cards, Dublin unbeatable/win everything fatigue, the award is voted for by the players.

A very gifted footballer, but the best player in the country this year he is not. But congratulations to him.

Fenton and Kilkenny can console themselves with their Celtic Crosses."
He played the best imo. As you said the lads can console themselves with Celtic crosses and at the end of the day which is more important?

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 05/11/2016 12:59:21    1931821

Replying To football first:  "I just don't get this that with O'connor gets two YPOTY awards. He's a decent footballer, but nothing special. As for the Keegan decision- that's farcical."
The YPOTY award goes to the best U21 player in the country.

Did you see the U21 semi-final or U21 final?
Did you see Mayo vs. Kildare in the senior championshiop?
Who do you think should have got the award ahead of him?

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 05/11/2016 13:12:01    1931826

Replying To Donegalman:  "He is a great footballer but

Kilkenny and Fenton were better this year
He was black carded and was involved in kavanaghs dismissal as well as targeting conolly

Big problem with this award"
They just weren't better this year. Keegan is a better footballer than both. That Kilkenny was even nominated was laughable.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 05/11/2016 13:18:02    1931828

Only 3 times has a POTY award been awarded to a player that didn't win that years All Ireland ; and all three were Waterford hurlers - Tony Browne,Dan the Man and Austin Gleeson.No doubt the neutrals favourites.Everyone loves a sob story.The "nearly men" of hurling!Leave the real awards to Tipp & KK!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 05/11/2016 13:30:37    1931834

Replying To Killarney.87:  "I would have had both players of the year ranked 3rd and I would have gone with Padraic Maher and Ciaran Kilkenny.

I think Callanan and Fenton were the two favourites so I can't make much sense out of Gleeson and Keegan getting the nods.

These awards never fail for shock and surprise. Gleeson was subbed off against Tipp when the likes of Padraic Maher were dominating the half back line. Gleeson wins an all star in the half forward line, which he fully deserved. It's very strange, Padraic Maher got the better of all 5 opponents he faced. Backs don't get the same credit in hurling as forwards do.

I feel sorry for Callanan, missing out three years in a row is hard to take. He was probably 2nd to Hogan and Reid in 14 and 15. So he probably fancied his chances this year in a shortlist without them. The most important thing he has is a Celtic cross though.

Keegan was brilliant this year but I think Kilkenny is amazing and hugely important To Dublin.

On the plus side it is huge motivation For Callanan to shoot the lights out next year. God help the full backs he faces. These awards could be a blessing in disguise for Tipp because at least 2 or 3 players will be very disappointed not to pick up all stars."
Don't think Daithi Burke will be shaking in his boots. The wonderful Seamie didn't get much change out of him this year. "Bubble's" for me had the big game moments this year. Crucial scores at crucial times. But of the three I would of went for Maher. He was the most consistent of the three for me anyway.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 597 - 05/11/2016 15:02:01    1931859

Replying To ZeitChrist:  "They just weren't better this year. Keegan is a better footballer than both. That Kilkenny was even nominated was laughable."
We will agree to disagree on this. I think that Kilkenny was amazing this year as was Fenton. Both very clean sporting players in addition.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 05/11/2016 15:18:31    1931863

I thought Fenton would have won the footballer of the year award but have no issue with Keegan winning it he was top class this year and has been a top class player for a long while.Diarmuid O'Connor was a dead cert for young player of the year fully deserved the award.

Seamus Callanan should have won the hurling award.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 05/11/2016 15:45:13    1931870

Keegan simply head and shoulders above all the rest. A brilliant footballer who man-marks the top opposition forwards out of games, often outscoring them, and still finds time to drive his team forward. If he had not been black carded, wrongly, in the final Mayo might well have made it over the line.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 05/11/2016 17:22:49    1931897