All Ireland Club Hurling Championship

that is what the inter county game is lacking!ballyea had thurles where they wanted and they dumped them out.
i love the club championship because you only get 1 chance,take it or leave it.
it was a right game.
oulart disposed of st rynaghs,no surprise there.but they will need massive improvement to beat o'loughlin gaels.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 06/11/2016 17:50:38    1932103

If Slaughtneill are knocked out of the club football before Christmas they will win the hurling A.I. However I do believe they will be in the football final on St Patrick's Day. That will mean their hurling will take a back seat. Hope to see Dublin represented in the hurling final, again they will be affected by the Dublin County Football given that CO'C is likely to be away with them.

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 06/11/2016 18:41:04    1932112

Replying To 1914:  "The beauty of the club championship - the easiest call of the weekend and your prediction was upset! Of course, Thurles were entitled to be hot favourites, the Lord only knows who will win the provincials, never mind the AI!"
Egg on my face! How wrong was I? Well done to Ballyea! Great stuff by Glen and St Mullins also... A serious shake up after yesterday's results!

PortInFaithful (Offaly) - Posts: 472 - 07/11/2016 10:38:33    1932280

Thurles flatter to deceive once again.Didn't see it as was at FAI Cup final but i did predict that their forwards were not good enough to win the All Ireland.Lar is long finished.Ruth got bad injury.I thought they'd win Munster but its not a big surprise as Ballyea beat some top teams in Clare and playing in Ennis (yes,home advantage hill) is worth a few points.

In Leinster,story of the day is the ridiculous 4-3 scored by Dublin footballer Con O Callaghan.Fantastic sharpshooting I thought St Rynaghs would run Oulart a little closer but it was always going to be difficult at Wexford Park.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/11/2016 10:55:21    1932290

With the players they have Thurles really are underachieving .They still haven't made it to a club All Final never mind win it.
Fair play to Ballyea on a great win.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 07/11/2016 15:06:19    1932395

"Thurles flatter to deceive once again.Didn't see it as was at FAI Cup final but i did predict that their forwards were not good enough to win the All Ireland"

Their forwards were excellent yesterday actually & scored some great points. A bad start & a bad finish (in normal time) in a game they largely dominated meant extra-time. It was always gonna be a lottery after that.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 07/11/2016 15:36:12    1932404

Replying To keeper7:  ""Thurles flatter to deceive once again.Didn't see it as was at FAI Cup final but i did predict that their forwards were not good enough to win the All Ireland"

Their forwards were excellent yesterday actually & scored some great points. A bad start & a bad finish (in normal time) in a game they largely dominated meant extra-time. It was always gonna be a lottery after that."
I hope the rest can do P Maher,R Maher and M Cahill good.No harm in having a couple months free to recharge the batteries Every cloud has a silver lining.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 07/11/2016 15:48:39    1932413

In fairness to Sars, Richie Ruth and Mickey Cahill were huge losses to them and they obviously didnt have lads good enough to replace them. They had 10 / 11 exceptional players but also had a few passengers who are too light for this time of the year.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 07/11/2016 15:53:25    1932416

Ballyea lost 2 lads to injury inside 10 mins and also missing Eoghan Donnellan due to a serious neck injury he got in training between drawn and replayed county finals. Injuries were not the issue, it was poor shooting and lack of stomach for the graft when the game was in the melting pot that cost Thurles. Ballyea wanted it more and in Tony Kelly they have a supreme talent.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 07/11/2016 16:37:33    1932439

Replying To Clareman:  "Ballyea lost 2 lads to injury inside 10 mins and also missing Eoghan Donnellan due to a serious neck injury he got in training between drawn and replayed county finals. Injuries were not the issue, it was poor shooting and lack of stomach for the graft when the game was in the melting pot that cost Thurles. Ballyea wanted it more and in Tony Kelly they have a supreme talent."
Totally agree. Ballyea simply wanted it more. Tony Kelly was such an inspiration for them and Deasy was deadly too. Cahill and Ruth were missing for Thurles but as you pointed out Ballyea had their fair share of losses. If Ballyea bring the same work rate and intensity to the final then I can't see Glen Rovers living with them (then again I couldn't see Ballyea living with Thurles so what would I know!). It's been awhile since we had a Clare-Cork final pairing.

Oulart and Cuala had more than enough for St Rynagh's and Borris Kilcotton after. Brilliant result for St Mullins beating Raharney in Mullingar, having lost out to them by eight points two years ago. Semi-finals on Sunday week are: St Mullins v Cuala, Oulart v O'Loughlin Gaels. What can we expect from O'Loughlin?

Any thoughts on the intermediate competition? Kerry champions Kilmoyley had a huge win over Monaleen away yesterday and now face Dan Shanahan's Lismore while Ahascragh Fohenagh and Ballyhaunis finished level AET in the Connacht final. I presume Richie Powers Carrickshock are favourites outright? County senior finalists in 2013. They would have to be considered the strongest Kilkenny reps at this level for a few years?

PortInFaithful (Offaly) - Posts: 472 - 07/11/2016 17:28:38    1932464

Replying To Joe_Bloggs:  "In fairness to Sars, Richie Ruth and Mickey Cahill were huge losses to them and they obviously didnt have lads good enough to replace them. They had 10 / 11 exceptional players but also had a few passengers who are too light for this time of the year."
Yea they did look quite light up front this year, Lar didn't go out of his way killing himself either. That said they were 7 points up with ten minutes to go, 2 all-star defenders, should have hung on. Great entertaining game of hurling though .

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 07/11/2016 19:10:49    1932492

Any thoughts on the intermediate competition? Kerry champions Kilmoyley had a huge win over Monaleen away yesterday and now face Dan Shanahan's Lismore while Ahascragh Fohenagh and Ballyhaunis finished level AET in the Connacht final. I presume Richie Powers Carrickshock are favourites outright? County senior finalists in 2013. They would have to be considered the strongest Kilkenny reps at this level for a few years?
PortInFaithful (Offaly) - Posts:114 - 07/11/2016 17:28:38 193

was at the monaleen/patrickswell double headers - very impressed with kilmoyley - glen v well was good too

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 07/11/2016 20:50:47    1932530

They were losses no doubt but Thurles should of won that game by 10+ points they were a country mile the better team how they threw that game away I'll never know.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/11/2016 09:06:23    1932601

Replying To 1914:  "The beauty of the club championship - the easiest call of the weekend and your prediction was upset! Of course, Thurles were entitled to be hot favourites, the Lord only knows who will win the provincials, never mind the AI!"
None of the experts gave St. Mullins a chance against Raharney last Sunday, personal I always thought they were in with a good chance, with cuala being a different challenge, it will be on the day, the Saints are in with a good chance of causing another upset in a 50/50 game
I bravely predict an oulart-the ballagh - St.Mullins leinster final.

Scallioneater (Carlow) - Posts: 293 - 08/11/2016 09:24:45    1932605

"They wanted it more", the most annoying cliche in the GAA. I know a good few of the Thurles lads and if you think they didnt want it enough, your badly mistaken. Ballyea got a run on them and they couldnt hold them, when that happens you tell somebody to go down to break the momentum and waste a bit of time, Lar did and it cost them dearly.

Personally I think that the reason Thurles / Tipp teams dont do well in Munster is because of the club championship, way too many teams and one sided games. Sars were winning games at a canter and didnt get a decent game all year. Drom / Loughmore & Nenagh who I would consider to be the strongest teams after Sars were all gone by the time the semi final pairings were made.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 08/11/2016 09:41:46    1932610

Replying To Scallioneater:  "None of the experts gave St. Mullins a chance against Raharney last Sunday, personal I always thought they were in with a good chance, with cuala being a different challenge, it will be on the day, the Saints are in with a good chance of causing another upset in a 50/50 game
I bravely predict an oulart-the ballagh - St.Mullins leinster final."
That game was always 50/50 for me.Mount Leinster showed there is good club hurlers in Carlow.In saying that i fully expect Cuala to reach another Leinster final.

Other semi final is hard to call.Oulart have the experience but O Loughlin's looked very impressive and fit v Ballyhale.They've had a nice two week break and i'll give them a hesitant vote of confidence on Sunday.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/11/2016 10:06:23    1932621

i see ballyhea v glen rovers is on in thurles - surely limerick would be easier to get to would it not

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/11/2016 10:12:49    1932622

Replying To Joe_Bloggs:  ""They wanted it more", the most annoying cliche in the GAA. I know a good few of the Thurles lads and if you think they didnt want it enough, your badly mistaken. Ballyea got a run on them and they couldnt hold them, when that happens you tell somebody to go down to break the momentum and waste a bit of time, Lar did and it cost them dearly.

Personally I think that the reason Thurles / Tipp teams dont do well in Munster is because of the club championship, way too many teams and one sided games. Sars were winning games at a canter and didnt get a decent game all year. Drom / Loughmore & Nenagh who I would consider to be the strongest teams after Sars were all gone by the time the semi final pairings were made."
Absolutely and i just posted as much on the Tipp forum.When i visit the folks down there every few months i usually try attend a game.Granted,it's usually south Tipp games and south Tipp would be historically the weakest,but i thought the standard and intensity of the south final a couple months back between Killenaule and Mullinahone was pretty poor.

Isn't there over 30 senior teams in Tipp?I've heard from people in Tipp who attend games in Kilkenny that quite a few senior teams in Tipp would only be intermediate standard in Kilkenny.I cannot say if that's fair or not.

One thing i have noticed by checking match results in paper or online is the vast amount of lopsided beatings dished out in many Tipp games while that happens far less frequently in Kilkenny.Obviously a lot of miss-matches in Tipp at senior level and that may give an example of why a Tipp team hasn't won a club All Ireland in 30 years.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/11/2016 10:24:47    1932627

Ya theres 29 or 30 I think. Two went down this year and one up.
I think this year that only 16 teams in the upper tier can actually win Dan Breen. If your in the lower tier you need to win your divisional final to have a chance of winning it. I could be wrong saying that but it should make for more competitive and meaningful games.

The Kilkenny championship would be far more competitive alright. You have the case of Carrickshock being in a county final in 2013 and getting relegated in 2015. They won the intermediate in 2016 and would have a chance of competing for a senior county final in 2017. There isnt a hope that would happen in Tipp.

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 08/11/2016 11:21:47    1932643

Replying To janesboro:  "i see ballyhea v glen rovers is on in thurles - surely limerick would be easier to get to would it not"
Cork city is a good bit further from Limerick than Ballyea so Thurles is probably fairer. Theres a precedent for a coin toss to decide venue. I think they ought to have continued it with a final in Cusack Park or Flower lodge.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 08/11/2016 16:21:09    1932779