Drinking ban culture in GAA

Rugby has been mentioned 5 or 6 times on this thread, but still no sign of Ormondthebanner. That must be a record. Hope he's alright.

himachechy (Donegal) - Posts: 293 - 26/10/2016 17:06:41    1929262

lockjaw
yes it should be illegal
alcohol contributes directly to over half of all drug related deaths every year in ireland and the numbers are growing
while the illegal drug numbers of deaths are falling year in year out.
if it was anything else we were talking about it would be made illegal a long time ago.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/10/2016 17:18:39    1929274

in rugby and soccer they come out and warm up and then go back into the dressing rooms get their jerseys on get their team talk and the effects of the warm up are lost. Your body looses the effects of the warm up within 15 minutes and your body returns to its normal state thus making their warm up pointless as they begin the games back at the level their bodies were at before they done any warm up.
The GAA are a leading example of using the warm up to its proper effect of having your body at the level it needs to be at exactly before you start the game by warming up in the 15 minutes before the game situation begins.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11197 - 26/10/2016 15:56:14 19

i guess the 15 minute half time break nullifies the effect of the warm up them!!

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 26/10/2016 18:25:28    1929295

Saw a fella out one sat night absolutely mouldy drunk and him due to play a county final the next day, he went on to give an exhibition and win man of the match, mind boggles

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1913 - 26/10/2016 18:40:22    1929298

Replying To hill16no1man:  "lockjaw
yes it should be illegal
alcohol contributes directly to over half of all drug related deaths every year in ireland and the numbers are growing
if it was anything else we were talking about it would be made illegal a long time ago."
Aw here.
What are your views on cigarettes?
I can't see alcohol ever being banned in this country unless those head lopping, homicidal lunatics in IS achieve their dream of a world wide Caliphate.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 26/10/2016 19:10:33    1929303

Replying To hill16no1man:  "It's an addictive drug that creates a change in personality and makes people become reliant on it for those reasons you stated loosing their inhibitions and mental state which is the biggest selling point for the addiction to it without you knowing, people then become reliant on it to feel anyway like that. when you were young a child a teenager you didnt need alcohol to find a way to enjoy youself did you or become good humored and content, so why not find a way of allowing your mind do the same thing without using a harmfull drug? its only excepted in society that its a good thing simply because its legal.
the vast majority dont drink alcohol sensibly,ireland has the second highest rate of binge drinking in the world.
75% of alcohol consumed in Ireland is done so as part of binge drinking.
The use of alcohol is a factor in more than 200 disease and injury conditions, so just because you didnt physically see the damage it causes when you drink dont be fooled into thinking its harmless.
One in four deaths of young men aged 15-39 in Ireland is due to alcohol.
Alcohol is a factor in half of all suicides in Ireland. Alcohol is also involved in over a third of cases of deliberate self-harm.
Every day, 1,500 beds in our overcrowded hospitals are occupied by people with alcohol-related problems.
Alcohol-related discharges from hospital cost the tax-payer €1.5 billion a year.
People in the public eye like heralded sports people need to be sending out a good message not promoting a drug."
Have to agree with you overall Hill. We should be able to have craic without alcohol. As you have pointed out in your posts alcohol does far more harm than good in society.

We're far too quick to point out and exhalt the happy go lucky merry man with a few drinks on him who's the life of the party and genial as they come. The same fella is often an antichrist at home, the wife and children have to put up with his contrariness with the hangover..or worse than this in many cases. The money the wife and kids need for life's day to day expenses or education is pi**ed away by this street angel and house devil.

As a young lad 17, who didn't drink, i was sick of rounding up my brother and his drunk friends around the local town having to listen to them talk sh**e til 5am on Sunday mornings! Then playing midfield with one of them later that Sunday and everytime the fella jumped for a ball he'd let an unmerciful, smelly, beery fa*t!! He was a great footballer, a great man to catch a ball. He could have played county but he gave up senior club football at 22 as it was interfering with his social life. By the time he was 25 he couldn't run 50 metres.

And 90% of the lads drinking were constantly compairing how many pints they drank. Whether it makes much difference whether it's 8 or 14. Talk about pi**ing away money. The example of the fella having the few pints never seemed to be the norm.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/10/2016 19:27:01    1929305

Replying To Bon:  "Saw a fella out one sat night absolutely mouldy drunk and him due to play a county final the next day, he went on to give an exhibition and win man of the match, mind boggles"
I've seen that phenomenon too Bon. Maybe with a fella who gets very tense and it relaxes him. However it doesn't work in the longterm. It's no coincidence the Henry Shefflins etc achieve the longevity of career they do.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/10/2016 19:32:10    1929306

yes it should be illegal
if it was anything else we were talking about it would be made illegal a long time ago."
Aw here.
I can't see alcohol ever being banned in this country unless those head lopping, homicidal lunatics in IS achieve their dream of a world wide Caliphate.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 26/10/2016 20:31:40    1929317

yes it should be illegal
you want to ban alcohol?..are we becoming a caliphate?..so we should make something illegal just because you dont drink it?..what else do you want to be illegal?..you do realise making alcohol illegal will only increase smuggling

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 26/10/2016 20:52:37    1929324

Replying To alano12:  "you want to ban alcohol?..are we becoming a caliphate?..so we should make something illegal just because you dont drink it?..what else do you want to be illegal?..you do realise making alcohol illegal will only increase smuggling"
Prohibition, as seen in the US, doesn't work. People mixing allsorts of concoctions in their baths etc. There were more drink related deaths than before. I think information and responsible drinking and example by adults is really the only way to go.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/10/2016 21:37:06    1929337

Replying To janesboro:  "in rugby and soccer they come out and warm up and then go back into the dressing rooms get their jerseys on get their team talk and the effects of the warm up are lost. Your body looses the effects of the warm up within 15 minutes and your body returns to its normal state thus making their warm up pointless as they begin the games back at the level their bodies were at before they done any warm up.
The GAA are a leading example of using the warm up to its proper effect of having your body at the level it needs to be at exactly before you start the game by warming up in the 15 minutes before the game situation begins.
hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:11197 - 26/10/2016 15:56:14 19

i guess the 15 minute half time break nullifies the effect of the warm up them!!"
Seriously I just said the benifits go after 15 minutes of a warm up, a warm up is done at a level to prepare you for the match pace to get your heart rate and blood pumping at that level. At half time you are after being playing at a higher level than the warm up so no it doesn't negate it but For me ten minutes would be better though

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/10/2016 22:02:23    1929347

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Aw here.
I can't see alcohol ever being banned in this country unless those head lopping, homicidal lunatics in IS achieve their dream of a world wide Caliphate."
So the fact that alcohol is responsible for over half the drug death toll every year means nothing but if a player smoked a joint after the match in the paper people would go into meltdown haha but yet the can of alcohol would do more harm than the joint to the player. Simply only because the words legal and illegal are placed before both drugs people think one is perfectly fine and the other is terrible.
amazing what way people are easily lead like sheep.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/10/2016 22:06:46    1929351

Replying To Laois76:  "Have to agree with you overall Hill. We should be able to have craic without alcohol. As you have pointed out in your posts alcohol does far more harm than good in society.

We're far too quick to point out and exhalt the happy go lucky merry man with a few drinks on him who's the life of the party and genial as they come. The same fella is often an antichrist at home, the wife and children have to put up with his contrariness with the hangover..or worse than this in many cases. The money the wife and kids need for life's day to day expenses or education is pi**ed away by this street angel and house devil.

As a young lad 17, who didn't drink, i was sick of rounding up my brother and his drunk friends around the local town having to listen to them talk sh**e til 5am on Sunday mornings! Then playing midfield with one of them later that Sunday and everytime the fella jumped for a ball he'd let an unmerciful, smelly, beery fa*t!! He was a great footballer, a great man to catch a ball. He could have played county but he gave up senior club football at 22 as it was interfering with his social life. By the time he was 25 he couldn't run 50 metres.

And 90% of the lads drinking were constantly compairing how many pints they drank. Whether it makes much difference whether it's 8 or 14. Talk about pi**ing away money. The example of the fella having the few pints never seemed to be the norm."
Agree totally

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/10/2016 22:08:29    1929352

Replying To alano12:  "you want to ban alcohol?..are we becoming a caliphate?..so we should make something illegal just because you dont drink it?..what else do you want to be illegal?..you do realise making alcohol illegal will only increase smuggling"
Seriously did you read my posts?
I give literally numerous reasons why it should be banned and none of them related to me at all.
read back and you will see the real damage and reasons why it should be illegal as the amount of lives it takes is probably the biggest cause of death in ireland and over half of the number of direct drug related deaths every year but yet it's legal and the other half all a red together are illegal.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/10/2016 22:11:48    1929354

Biggest problem with alcohol isn't the hangover it's dehydration, playing any sport after alcohol hinders your game, your speed of thought, your reflexes etc, I played a few games with lads that were hung over or still drunk, they made so many mistakes that the rest of the team had to work twice as hard to make up for them, it's a bad sign when you see 1 of them staggering to the sidling to chat to somebody in the stand while the game is still on, now no drinking 2 or 3 weeks is correct, some teams do spot checks on players, a urine sample will show dehydration or not, maybe a text to say training in a few hours, wouldn't you look well drunk the night before thinking no training or game for a week or 2 and get caught out, then there's social media, somebody somewhere always has a camera out and you as a major player for your team will be the eejet that had their snap taken on the lash when no booze ban was in place

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 26/10/2016 23:17:50    1929369

Replying To Laois76:  "Prohibition, as seen in the US, doesn't work. People mixing allsorts of concoctions in their baths etc. There were more drink related deaths than before. I think information and responsible drinking and example by adults is really the only way to go."
exactly..this extreme nonsense has never worked and never will

alano12 (Dublin) - Posts: 2208 - 26/10/2016 23:29:56    1929371

Chips make people overweight. Ban them.
People die in car accidents. Ban cars now.
People drown in water. Ban swimming.

Going by the theory of some here, banning everything solves all problems.

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 27/10/2016 08:38:10    1929389

I work in the UK health service. Alcohol is the number 1 problem in A&E and the amount of Irish that iv come across with alcohol issues is sad. Its changing I think. The under 20s are drinking less now.
Banning substances doesnt work. In my opinion education is better. As Irish we are particularly prone to alcohol abuse issues. i dont know why that is. I dont buy the whole coping with colonial suffering malarky. i think its genetic

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 27/10/2016 09:11:38    1929396

The Tipp panel (well 95% anyway) would be off the beer from Jan 1st (and often have to stay in on New Years Eve because of training the following day). They'd go out after the league ended for them, I think they had a night out during a training camp and then Sunday night off their championship games, the Monday club has been knocked on the head which I think is very extreme.
Its hard for them to enjoy the Sunday nights with lots of drunk supporters hanging out of them so its a pity they cant have the Monday to enjoy themselves on their own. Thats just my own opinion on it.

You cant beat the craic on a Monday after a big championship game or final with the lads you've been putting in the hard slog with all year!

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 27/10/2016 09:17:47    1929400

Replying To hill16no1man:  "So the fact that alcohol is responsible for over half the drug death toll every year means nothing but if a player smoked a joint after the match in the paper people would go into meltdown haha but yet the can of alcohol would do more harm than the joint to the player. Simply only because the words legal and illegal are placed before both drugs people think one is perfectly fine and the other is terrible.
amazing what way people are easily lead like sheep."
Don't be so patronising. I'm fully aware of the disastrous consequences alcohol abuse has on Irish society. I would contend that you could ask any Irish person over the age of 18 if they knew of someone who abuses alcohol on a regular basis, and they'd be able to answer yes.
Banning alcohol is not the answer. Only through education will we see the mindset changing. It may take a generation or two because drink is such an embedded part of our culture.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 27/10/2016 10:00:02    1929416