Mayo's 1 to 2 year Window

Replying To cjx:  "Mayo have good U21s coming through and at least 5 of them should be brought in Kerry after 3 good minor wins are same Tyrone have 2-3 more to come into the team and I really don't see Dublin's panel changing a lot. I can't believe Dublin have 3 in a row I them. Cold analysis says they staggered to this All-Ireland with Mayo making mistake after mistake. So to me it's Kerry v Tyrone to watch out for and if Mayo do the cold analysis and let the disgust breed over the winter there is no reason at all why Mayo can't win it in 2017."
Tyrone are building for sure but it could be a bit early just yet for the ultimate prize.Mayo will be too strong for Kerry at this stage I'd say but you know they have a real problem when it's there for the taking.
I have my doubts if they can take these relentless disappointments and get stronger.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 07/10/2016 21:30:31    1923936

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "There's talent coming through all right for sure on a couple of fronts.Dublin will find it extremely hard to win another title next year agreed but I think they will plan differently and will have to place less emphasis on the league. Kerry will be the problem for mayo though in the semi I think as they have the knack of timing it right and are a bogey team for them.
Time will tell anyway but until they win it there will be doubts."
Jim Gavin is a great Manager .He'll have seen that Dublin were tired in September and he'll plan for next year accordingly.Absolutely right that he should forget about winning the League and concentrate on having his star players primed for the Summer.Dublin do have strength in depth .They beat my county in U21 All-Ireland Finals with quality teams in 2012 and 2014 and many of those players are yet to come through to senior.Conor McHugh was brilliant in the 2014 Final.Don't know if he's played senior yet.I fancy Dublin will do the three in a row and I think with returning players and some new players,the Dubs will be stronger next year than they were this year.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2174 - 07/10/2016 21:33:40    1923938

Replying To endgame:  "Jim Gavin is a great Manager .He'll have seen that Dublin were tired in September and he'll plan for next year accordingly.Absolutely right that he should forget about winning the League and concentrate on having his star players primed for the Summer.Dublin do have strength in depth .They beat my county in U21 All-Ireland Finals with quality teams in 2012 and 2014 and many of those players are yet to come through to senior.Conor McHugh was brilliant in the 2014 Final.Don't know if he's played senior yet.I fancy Dublin will do the three in a row and I think with returning players and some new players,the Dubs will be stronger next year than they were this year."
McHugh does look promising alright and is probably the pick of the upcoming players.Hasn't got much exposure at this level yet but that could change next spring
Costello is a real talent for me and will surely see more game time too.However, it would be extraordinary to think a three in a row would happen and that is very much against the odds.Here's hoping.
What's the sense in Ros with McStay assuming control,have to say I think it's for the best but I'm sure there is more to it then meets the eye!

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 07/10/2016 21:56:19    1923942

I think most of the chasing pack including Mayo are no more than 1-2 players away. All have had underage success in recent times so it wouldn't be any great surprise if new players emerge and they got over the line.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 07/10/2016 22:27:17    1923949

Mayo lost by a single point to Dublin in a replay, and I thought Mayo were by far the better side in the first game and should have won by a large margin. Mayo made Dublin look human, and I estimate with a few tweaks or re-calibration, they could push it a bit further.

We sometimes get caught up with chat of teams being in transition, but in truth a team like Mayo could add one or two players next term and win the All Ireland. It is that simple, they have that capability.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 07/10/2016 22:30:56    1923950

I thought this was a post for advertising windows at first and thinking windows that last a year or 2 must be made of paper, then I read the comments, Mayo's biggest worry is most of this panel have been pushing hard since 2011 and maybe the legs aren't there for another year, the head can say yes but the body may say no

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 07/10/2016 22:44:55    1923955

Contrary to popular belief, Mayo's problem has never been a lack of heart or bottle but a lack of scoring forwards. Since 1989, the only Mayo forwards to have scored more than two points from play in an All-Ireland senior final are James Horan and Andy Moran. That is a shocking statistic and unless we can find another scoring forward it will be tough for us to win Sam. Hopefully one or both of the Hanleys miss the rain and Irish breakfasts ;)

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 08/10/2016 08:40:02    1923979

Replying To Gleebo:  "Contrary to popular belief, Mayo's problem has never been a lack of heart or bottle but a lack of scoring forwards. Since 1989, the only Mayo forwards to have scored more than two points from play in an All-Ireland senior final are James Horan and Andy Moran. That is a shocking statistic and unless we can find another scoring forward it will be tough for us to win Sam. Hopefully one or both of the Hanleys miss the rain and Irish breakfasts ;)"
Said that before the final gleebo in the end it's what really cost us!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 09/10/2016 13:47:27    1924201

Roll up Roll up,would you back Mayo at 4-1 for the 2017 All Ireland?

To be taken to the absolute limits of their mental and physical endurance by a team that matches anything that has come before for physical and mental resilience; a team that only knows it is beaten when its beaten - and only half believes it then.

That's who and what Dublin beat to become All-Ireland champions.

The above quote is from Keith Duggan of the Irish Times.Is that the reality or is it sentimental auld guff?

Would you back them or are the Mayo bookies loving Duggan?

charlie1980 (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 09/10/2016 15:11:53    1924216

Mayo are better equipped to beat Dublin than anyone else in the country right now. Over 160 mins of football they gifted one of the greatest teams ever 3 goals, were probably on the sharper end of some refereeing decisions and still managed to come in just a point behind them. The problem, as jimbo rightly alludes to, is that Dublin have one of the greatest half backs ever coming back in to the team.

Interesting to note that we're not being mentioned anywhere in the discussion despite going further than Donegal or Tyrone this year!

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 09/10/2016 15:20:23    1924219

Replying To roundball:  "Mayo are better equipped to beat Dublin than anyone else in the country right now. Over 160 mins of football they gifted one of the greatest teams ever 3 goals, were probably on the sharper end of some refereeing decisions and still managed to come in just a point behind them. The problem, as jimbo rightly alludes to, is that Dublin have one of the greatest half backs ever coming back in to the team.

Interesting to note that we're not being mentioned anywhere in the discussion despite going further than Donegal or Tyrone this year!"
Dubs had to adapt to survive

For all the talk about this Dubs team I've been saying for a while that we were only a couple of players better than the chasing top teams

That was proven this year

McCaffrey / O'Carroll were major loses but we reshuffled moved a few lads around and had a game plan

Going for back to backs right away puts you at a major disadvantage, attach the loss of key players and is it any wonder why Dublin found it tough going

But despite all that to beat Donegal, Kerry and Mayo and being tested to the maximum

Add all of that together, it's easily one of the greatest AI's Dublin has ever won, to think they even went unbeaten

Mad stuff Ted

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 09/10/2016 21:07:48    1924295

Mayo dont have the nous,they are not street wise enough to win an all ireland.It's always the blame game with Mayo.Brolly has them sussed,they are

celebrity losers!

charlie1980 (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 09/10/2016 21:14:17    1924299

Replying To charlie1980:  "Mayo dont have the nous,they are not street wise enough to win an all ireland.It's always the blame game with Mayo.Brolly has them sussed,they are

celebrity losers!"
Good man Charlie. Sign up to post that? Wtf have you accomplished that you can be so dismissive? Very easy to kick a man when he's down.

I agree with Brolly on Hennelly and his tweets. Toughen up, shut up and get on with it.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 09/10/2016 21:49:42    1924308

Mayo have 10/11 footballers who are as skillful, committed and tough as any footballers in the country. They are out and out warriors and winners.

Where the problem lies is some extra quality up front, an x factor out of their control and 2 or 3 players who more is required of on the big days. If a few of those players stepped up to the mark they would have overcome the deficit in forward skill and won the all-ireland this year. To me it's that simple. Add one brilliant scoring forward to the setup and/or get more out of those few under performers. These are under performers with regards to their talent. Preferably sort both these scenarios.

A few players need to go home and burn with hurt and anger this winter. They need to steel themselves say they will make sure there is a next time and when that next time comes grab it with both hands.

In 1996 Liam Griffin put up a picture of a disconsolate Stuart Pearce after missing a penalty in the 1990 World Cup against West Germany in the dressing room alongside a euphoric one of the player after scoring a penalty against Germany in Euro 1996. He asked the players for their thoughts. Liam Dunne said he got a second chance. Yeah said Griffin...he got a second chance, how many more do you lads want? Wexford at this stage had lost numerous league and leinster hurling finals. George O'Connor 17. The players realised chances don't come around forever. They beat Offaly in the Leinster final. Liam Dunne was asked what was different the way they brushed Offaly aside by 8pts. He said today WE DECIDED we were going to beat Offaly! They beat Limerick in an all-ireland final. George O'Connor a week shy of 37 played in midfield. The perennial bridesmaids and losers had won.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 09/10/2016 22:23:57    1924314

Okay Laois76?
This thread is about the Mayo county team,not my achievements.
Two examples of Dublin's nous/streetwise call it what you want.

Connolly does Keegan up like a kipper and gets him a black card.Keegan knew going into that game that he had to play it smart but no.

Vaughan tries to throw his weight around and achieves nothing with his antics and then James mccarthy takes care of him.

Mayo need to wise up.

charlie1980 (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 09/10/2016 23:10:50    1924323

Replying To charlie1980:  "Okay Laois76?

Connolly does Keegan up like a kipper and gets him a black card.Keegan knew going into that game that he had to play it smart but no.

Vaughan tries to throw his weight around and achieves nothing with his antics and then James mccarthy takes care of him.

Mayo need to wise up."
I started the thread, don't tell me what it's about.

Connolly no more did Keegan like a kipper than i did. Poor kickout led to a card, very debatable whether it was black. Keegan 'kippered' Connolly with a class goal. Donal Vaughan can handle himself with anyone.

Just begrudging the neighbours pure and simple and don't like to be called out on it. Small minded living on the county border mentality. Anyone can throw out insults. Mayo are getting to all-ireland finals which is far better than Galway and Laois. Mayo lost a replayed all-ireland by a point. You could apply your quote to the Galway hurlers, have ye a few celebrity losers? All ireland hurling finals 1990, 1993, 2001, 2005, 2012 and replay, 2015 all lost who does that remind you of.. But i don't adhere to that theory. Galway hurlers were unlucky not to win at least 3 of those finals, probably 1990,1993 and the 2012 drawn match.

Galway footballers had gifted footballers 1998-2001. Mayo aren't celebrity losers because they don't have that calibre of forward. Since 2001 Croke Park hasn't been sunshine and rainbows for your footballers. And the present Galway footballers need to be reminded that they should prepare for the oldest tactic in gaelic football...the long ball kicked into the opposing forwards.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 10/10/2016 00:03:26    1924336

Mayo need to wise up."
We have a rivalry with Offaly and it's intense. Also with Carlow.

But at the end of any match most of us have great respect for the neighbours. Because as a small rural county they've won 4 hurling and 3 football senior all-irelands. And if Carlow or Offaly beat us in the morning and were in an all-ireland i'd support them because they'd be coming from the same background as us.

Thought you'd have a bit more respect for a team coming out of the west of ireland with the extra hardships involved in keeping teams together, travelling longer distances to training, emigration etc.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 10/10/2016 00:13:45    1924340

Mayo need to wise up."
Genie mac Charlie aren't we supposes to be the dirty cynical diving team in the gaa? According to posters from certain counties?

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 10/10/2016 07:07:43    1924354

Replying To Laois76:  "Mayo have 10/11 footballers who are as skillful, committed and tough as any footballers in the country. They are out and out warriors and winners.

Where the problem lies is some extra quality up front, an x factor out of their control and 2 or 3 players who more is required of on the big days. If a few of those players stepped up to the mark they would have overcome the deficit in forward skill and won the all-ireland this year. To me it's that simple. Add one brilliant scoring forward to the setup and/or get more out of those few under performers. These are under performers with regards to their talent. Preferably sort both these scenarios.

A few players need to go home and burn with hurt and anger this winter. They need to steel themselves say they will make sure there is a next time and when that next time comes grab it with both hands.

In 1996 Liam Griffin put up a picture of a disconsolate Stuart Pearce after missing a penalty in the 1990 World Cup against West Germany in the dressing room alongside a euphoric one of the player after scoring a penalty against Germany in Euro 1996. He asked the players for their thoughts. Liam Dunne said he got a second chance. Yeah said Griffin...he got a second chance, how many more do you lads want? Wexford at this stage had lost numerous league and leinster hurling finals. George O'Connor 17. The players realised chances don't come around forever. They beat Offaly in the Leinster final. Liam Dunne was asked what was different the way they brushed Offaly aside by 8pts. He said today WE DECIDED we were going to beat Offaly! They beat Limerick in an all-ireland final. George O'Connor a week shy of 37 played in midfield. The perennial bridesmaids and losers had won."
Speaking of George oconnor I read in Denis Walsh's hurling the revolution years that he had to physically prise his hands on to the hurley before matches because of the on set of arthritis!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 10/10/2016 07:12:17    1924355

Replying To charlie1980:  "Mayo dont have the nous,they are not street wise enough to win an all ireland.It's always the blame game with Mayo.Brolly has them sussed,they are

celebrity losers!"
Brolly will turn around and say we are a great bunch of lads the next minute! I can see some of his point but he has a habit of saying things for the sake of it and to attract controversy but I would be angered by the language he uses. I feel he has been very personal in his critism towards the Mayo players. Sure there's plenty of Mayo supporters that always go to the blame game but there's many of us that deal with realism, mistakes were made fair enough and we haven't enough good forwards in games like that against Dublin and then there is the fact that Dublin are the best team in a generation but we are always close to them.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 10/10/2016 07:18:56    1924356