Is there bad blood between Dub and Mayo?

Noooooooooooot a drop...lovely nice cuddly Lads :)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 29/09/2016 21:00:00    1920718

I don't think there's much bad blood between the players. If you're to take Lee Keegan's word for it he has plenty of respect for Diarmuid Connolly and by all accounts any niggly stuff between them is left on the field and they actually get on quite well off it. Some of the fans go a bit overboard, but I wouldn't say it's anything nobody has seen before.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 29/09/2016 21:07:32    1920720

Imagine if HS was around in june 1991 .....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 29/09/2016 21:39:10    1920730

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "Imagine if HS was around in june 1991 ....."
Imagine trying to make a case for either Dublin or Meath after the 3rd match, 2nd replay. All logic gone out the window.

Final game on Saturday the 6th July. I remember rte screened it live. At this time, up until 1995, only all-ire semis and finals were shown. With odd exceptions like the Munster hurling final of 1989 between Tipp and Waterford. It was the 100th Munster Hurling Final. On that 6th July 1991, finished the silage making early and in for the match :)

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 29/09/2016 22:02:47    1920738

bad blood driven by a biased media

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 29/09/2016 23:41:37    1920755

Yew_tree is right. Facebook etc are full of degenerates, keyboard warriors who don't want to be seen as bad losers as they turn to the Dublin or Mayo beside them with the most insincere smile and begrudging handshake. In other words, cowards.
So yes, deep down there is bad blood but it's just the simple fact that people are bad losers mostly.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 30/09/2016 02:23:10    1920760

Oh I nearly forgot, The Master. I remember the Nazi incident, but I do not like to see anyone embarrassed off the stage, so come back and stoke the fire. It's all part of the fun. No big deal, funny if anything.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 30/09/2016 02:25:51    1920761

I dont think bad blood exists between most of the supporters.There is an edge to the rivallry but thats only natural.Two top teams closely matched in a fast physical sport. Ive had some bad experiences with Mayo supporters, as I've had with Dublin ones too down through the years. Usually {but not always} they are the younger brigade who dont know their arse from their elbow when it comes to decorum or respecting your county colours, every county is blessed with these gobshites. The majority of GAA fans have respect for their fellow Gaels so best not to listen to The fourth Estate and the fools that gobble up their garbage. I am looking forward to having the craic and a few pints with the lads and cailini from the west on saturday, win or lose. All Ireland finals are amazing occasions to be involved in so it's not Bad blood we should be talking about. It's an unique celebration of our culture in many ways so lets not spoil it with media driven crap. Na Dubs Abu

CaogaCuig (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 30/09/2016 02:43:39    1920762

Replying To waynoI:  "Are the players and supporters of Dublin and Mayo actually developing a very bitter attitude towards one another ?

I have to say that Dublin's rivals certainly in the last 4 years of so, seem to be Mayo.

We've beaten Kerry each and every time we've played them, Mayo on the other hand seem to have our number. They've taken us to a replay the past two years now.

With all the shinanigans from the Keegan/Connolly crap that happened last year and is spilling out again this year, Paired with the fact the two teams are very close in terms of ability (results speak for themselves too), The ticket situation, The taking over of the hill, The tunnel incident etc...

Is there actually bad blood there ?

Judging by the various Mayo and Dublin facebook and twitter pages, there is certainly no love lost, A lot of personal stuff being posted in the comments between Dublin and Mayo "supporters" .."
Between fans I doubt theyre is much more than the odd isolated drunken brawl in a pub over a bit of slagging.I'd imagine the Mayo fans may have a little bit more rage with Dublin than the other way around ,simply because Dublin have been doing what Mayo can't ,win AI's.Dublin are just are out there on their own as the county most have a natural disliking towards.

It's hard not to hate the neighbour with a new merc and your going around still driving a 1999 Honda civic . . but then everyone else is a little bit jealous of Dublin , same thing with Kilkenny for years and Kerry some years ago.

I doubt the players actually hate each other but a few match ups might be a little more anger fueled ,particularly Connolly and Keegan ..and no harm , always makes for good entertainment.

I quite enjoy Dublin/Mayo games because of this rivalry that has been going the past few years.With Mayo and Dublin I always think before the game I'm not sure who will win , I can't say I feel this way about Dublin and any other team, even ourselves or Kerry ( in my opinion)are not yet ready to actually run Dublin to the wire for 75 mins . The Kerry/Dublin rivalry is dying off simply because Kerry can't beat Dublin anymore . Mayo can and that is what I think gets under the Dubs skin a little . Most other teams just hope for the best against Dublin ,Mayo 100% believe they can win and I think nearly every Dub fan knows in the back of their minds when playing Mayo there's a chance they might lose..I know you can say there is a chance that Dublin could lose Kerry or Tyrone but if I was a Dub fan I probably wouldn't right now believe they would lose to either,but Mayo would be the team that would have me worried and that is where a good rivalry comes from , two evenly matched teams and that feeling of terror and anxiety as a fan not knowing for sure who will win .

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 30/09/2016 09:23:26    1920790

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Between fans I doubt theyre is much more than the odd isolated drunken brawl in a pub over a bit of slagging.I'd imagine the Mayo fans may have a little bit more rage with Dublin than the other way around ,simply because Dublin have been doing what Mayo can't ,win AI's.Dublin are just are out there on their own as the county most have a natural disliking towards.

It's hard not to hate the neighbour with a new merc and your going around still driving a 1999 Honda civic . . but then everyone else is a little bit jealous of Dublin , same thing with Kilkenny for years and Kerry some years ago.

I doubt the players actually hate each other but a few match ups might be a little more anger fueled ,particularly Connolly and Keegan ..and no harm , always makes for good entertainment.

I quite enjoy Dublin/Mayo games because of this rivalry that has been going the past few years.With Mayo and Dublin I always think before the game I'm not sure who will win , I can't say I feel this way about Dublin and any other team, even ourselves or Kerry ( in my opinion)are not yet ready to actually run Dublin to the wire for 75 mins . The Kerry/Dublin rivalry is dying off simply because Kerry can't beat Dublin anymore . Mayo can and that is what I think gets under the Dubs skin a little . Most other teams just hope for the best against Dublin ,Mayo 100% believe they can win and I think nearly every Dub fan knows in the back of their minds when playing Mayo there's a chance they might lose..I know you can say there is a chance that Dublin could lose Kerry or Tyrone but if I was a Dub fan I probably wouldn't right now believe they would lose to either,but Mayo would be the team that would have me worried and that is where a good rivalry comes from , two evenly matched teams and that feeling of terror and anxiety as a fan not knowing for sure who will win ."
Great Post and spot on GOT.
Well said

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/09/2016 10:01:07    1920799

Mayo Dublin games are the best games of the season, the games I look forward to and dread most.
For Dublin, you can't be great champions unless you've beaten great opponents. Who was the team of the naughties, in my view, Tyrone, because Kerry got more but softer All-Irelands.
For Mayo, Dublin are setting the standard, the standard we have to beat.

Does that cause a rise in tension. Yes.
Bad blood, I don't think so.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 30/09/2016 11:07:03    1920822

Replying To GameOfTyrones:  "Between fans I doubt theyre is much more than the odd isolated drunken brawl in a pub over a bit of slagging.I'd imagine the Mayo fans may have a little bit more rage with Dublin than the other way around ,simply because Dublin have been doing what Mayo can't ,win AI's.Dublin are just are out there on their own as the county most have a natural disliking towards.

I quite enjoy Dublin/Mayo games because of this rivalry that has been going the past few years.With Mayo and Dublin I always think before the game I'm not sure who will win , I can't say I feel this way about Dublin and any other team, even ourselves or Kerry ( in my opinion)are not yet ready to actually run Dublin to the wire for 75 mins . The Kerry/Dublin rivalry is dying off simply because Kerry can't beat Dublin anymore . Mayo can and that is what I think gets under the Dubs skin a little . Most other teams just hope for the best against Dublin ,Mayo 100% believe they can win and I think nearly every Dub fan knows in the back of their minds when playing Mayo there's a chance they might lose..I know you can say there is a chance that Dublin could lose Kerry or Tyrone but if I was a Dub fan I probably wouldn't right now believe they would lose to either,but Mayo would be the team that would have me worried and that is where a good rivalry comes from , two evenly matched teams and that feeling of terror and anxiety as a fan not knowing for sure who will win ."
I'd have to agree with with a lot of that. I think Mayo are the one team that have the players capable of going toe-to-toe with Dublin for 75 mins. Was hoping Tyrone would beat them in the quarters. There's been a hair between us in 2012, 2013, 2015 and this year.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 30/09/2016 11:29:51    1920829

Dubs by 6

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/09/2016 13:39:04    1920877

In all seriousness

May the best team win

Both will be much deserving winners and the warmest of congrats goes to the victors

All the best

Over and out.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/09/2016 14:21:35    1920889

Replying To jimbodub:  "In all seriousness

May the best team win

Both will be much deserving winners and the warmest of congrats goes to the victors

All the best

Over and out."
But Jimbo the worst team never lost in a all ireland Final to Mayo either !

Can this GREAT Dublin team do it? lose to Mayo?

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 30/09/2016 15:16:26    1920904

Yeah it makes for a worthy final. Mayo have gotten under our skin it's true. Dublin want the 2 in a row to silence any doubters. But obviously Mayo have the bigger itch to scratch.

There is a genuine fear for the Dubs that Mayo are going to prove too strong. Great for neutrals!

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 01/10/2016 00:50:45    1920991