Another embarrassment in Croke Park

Typical shambolic umpiring decisions , it's too big an occasion to be getting these calls wrong, It never ceases to amaze me.
Mickey Mouse carry on.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1916 - 26/09/2016 10:46:31    1919149

Jaysus you would think after the Leinster Final in 2010 that the GAA would get their act together. You cannot blame Cork because after all it was the umpire who got it wrong. I know how the Dubs ladies are feeling.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 26/09/2016 11:12:50    1919169

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "You completely missed my point. I wasn't having a pop at Dublin"
Fair enough Royal. Glad to hear that this topic isn't being discussed at a Dublin or any county level. Crazy that we have technology available and choose not to use it, resulting in legitimate scores not being given,

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 26/09/2016 11:40:35    1919186

Replying To moc.dna:  "Jeez, what is wrong with Croke Park stadium organisers & the Gaa, another embarrasement today. All the money coming in for the men's replay & Sky TV money were told about & yet no Hawkeye in Croke park today & Dublin denied a legitimate point. The Ladies football might have their own Association but surely Croke Park could have had Hawkeye today. In light of the sponsorship by Lidl nationwide, surely a little more professionalism is not a lot to ask for from Croke Park. In light of Hayes comments on the ladies finals & giving them 10,000 tickets & playing the men's final on the ladies designated day it shows how greedy the whole male Inter county scene has become. The ladies are in the same class as club players, second class citizens in the Gaa. The umpires that missed that point should be ashamed of themselves, another thing that the Gaa won't change, having relatives & friends of the ref as umpires. Some of them are obviously out of their depth. Well done to the Ladies for some great football in bad conditions & the crowd there today. Croke Park, the Gaa & umpires should all hang their heads in shame."
Very silly post which is ignorant of the reality of what happened . The LGFA which administers ladies Gaelic football is an independent, autonomous body which operates outside of the auspices of The GAA. They and they alone made the decision not to have Hawkeye in operation for their three finals . It is The LGFA who should be embarrassed this morning not Croke Patk and certainly not The GAA .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 26/09/2016 12:03:20    1919199

The LGFA don't have the use of hawkeye in their rules, whereas it had to be passed passed at congress for the Mens codes.

JuniorbAllstar (Donegal) - Posts: 9 - 26/09/2016 12:24:32    1919206

Replying To Uimhir.a.3.:  "Your wrong, two players remonstrated with the ref & the umpires. The manager Geoffrey Mc Gonigle got his captain to ask the ref after the incident & he questioned the ref & the LGFA officials at half time. If this happened to the Galway hurlers you would be one of the first people on here, an injustice has occurred as we saw in the Christy Ring final as we saw in the Leinster final of Meath & Louth. An injustice that was avoidable with the technology that was available. The LGFA have a lot of questions to answer, the two umpires & the Gaa, Hawkeye should have been available. If I were Lidl I wouldn't be too happy after investing heavily in sponsoring Ladies Gaa & watching this lack of professionalism. Its amazing how the ladies are not viewed as part of the Gaa family playing Gaelic games by many on here despite all they bring to clubs around the country."
Yeah you know me very well. I'd be one of the first people on here saying what's done is done, decision made...not the right one ..but heck life is unfair sometimes and football and hurling and sport in general often reflects this..

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1907 - 26/09/2016 12:30:49    1919209

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Yeah you know me very well. I'd be one of the first people on here saying what's done is done, decision made...not the right one ..but heck life is unfair sometimes and football and hurling and sport in general often reflects this.."
Just a couple of items. LGFA Central Council voted not to use Hawkeye because of cost alone - no other reason. Croke park is rented to LGFA for their finals and they did not wish to play the high fee for Hawkeye as it was too dear. The Referee was too arrogant to even go to his umpires to check despite being asked to by 2 Dublin players and management - he was miked up but didn't bother to even consult any of his other officials - referee and the officials knew at half time that it was a point. Too late at that stage. There will be no replay due to the Cork managers emphatic reply that it's our All Ireland but it's a shame that this great Cork team's win is tarnished by incompetence of the referee and his local umpires - these are his own umpires (probably from his local club) who, despite doing the official national umpire courses, got it wrong. Cork and Dublin deserve better ! Hopefully lesson learnt - one definitely seems to have been and that is - even in LGFA ethical morals go out the window when it comes to a win. The match was a draw but will be given as a win. Such a pity after a great year of football and sponsorship that the year will be remembered for one wrong decision.

Puppys01 (Wicklow) - Posts: 95 - 26/09/2016 12:58:35    1919219

Replying To county man:  "Don't agree at all...that is like saying Lance Armstrong should keep his 7 Tour De France's because he wasn't caught at that time due to poor officials at the UCI...cheaters shouldn't win....everyone knows Meath cheated in 2010 and they should have had the decency to offer a replay. It's kid of irrelevant though as everyone considers Louth as the Leinster Champions that year anyways.

Cork didn't cheat today, but they won due to an official somehow missing a large football going over the bar, so they know they didn't win fair and square. They should do the decent thing here and offer a replay."
Why ??? Why should cork offer a replay.
I mean the game was played and the result at the end of 60 mins is cork by a point. I mean we have the video evidence of the point going over. But we also have the video evidence of 2/3 frees cork should have been given as well as the penalty they didnt get and the one dublin did get. Do we rewatch the game and assign all these things post match. If Cork knew all this was going to happen they would never have left the dublin player get as far as the square to win the penalty. Dublin will have a crack at it again next year and cork cant keep this level going year in year out. But for now Cork are champions

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 26/09/2016 13:18:59    1919233

Twill be interesting to see if a replay is ordered seeing as Meath-Antrim had to replay the CR final this year due to a ref/umpire cock up. Hawkeye wasn't available that day either, not that it should have made a difference yesterday as on the TV it was clearly a point. I was at the game and thought the ref generally very poor, and at one point in the 1st half, one of the umpires at the Hill 16 end had his back to the play for a good 30 sec's, the ball was down that end as well.

moylagh (Meath) - Posts: 484 - 26/09/2016 13:21:50    1919234

First of all , this is awful and i really feel for the Dublin players, BUT as a referee you cannot blame the referee as he will go with his umpires - it was a mistake , a monumental mistake.... but it wasn't that it was 20/30 feet in the air it was rather close to the crossbar..... weather conditions must have played a part...
But I do feel Cork have come out of this poorly, can you image the same reaction if Meath have had have said we aren't replaying the christy Ring Cup, fair play Meath and well done, in 2000 Cork played against Derry in an All-Ireland minor semi-final with an extra player, the player who was sent off didn't go!! There was widespread appeal for Cork to do the right thing but no replay was coming.....
Yes who is going to give up an All-Ireland , but Cork's use of language could have been better.....

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 26/09/2016 13:25:31    1919236

Replying To Greengrass:  "Very silly post which is ignorant of the reality of what happened . The LGFA which administers ladies Gaelic football is an independent, autonomous body which operates outside of the auspices of The GAA. They and they alone made the decision not to have Hawkeye in operation for their three finals . It is The LGFA who should be embarrassed this morning not Croke Patk and certainly not The GAA ."
Silly post, good man you must sit high & mighty in that Ivory Tower. If you read any of my posts yo would see that 1/ I pointed out that yes the LGFA is independent of the Association & 2/ they were to blame also for this fiasco. But let's point out something here, ladies play Gaelic football & play a large role in all Gaa clubs & are generally accepted to be part of the Gaa family. Yet reading many posts here the hatred & vitriol shown you would be forgiven for thinking they were playing "foreign games". The level of hate shown is disgraceful & maybe many of these girls & their parents instead of being involved with their local club would be better off playing soccer, they would certainly get less abuse. Also if they took the Lidl sponsorship that has benefited many clubs this year & took it to soccer, it might make ye happy. Another point is the lip service paid to Ladies football by the Ard Stiurothoir & President is the same as that paid to vlub players, all plamas. The reality is that the ladies seen as Gaa family & members have to hire Croke Park & pay for everything in the same way as other codes, this is blatantly wrong & with all the money made they couldn't gift Hawkeye for the occasion. It proves one point Croke Park is all about money. No problems shelling out 10% of commercial revenue to the GPA though. Many club people are leaving in droves over issues such as club fixtures, payment to managers, on & off field violence of a very serious nature that is usually swept under the carpet & this is another that will drive girls & parents to other codes. That will probably please people like yourself, I hope ye will be all happy together. It's ironic how many posters were so adamant & outraged (rightly so) after the Meath v Louth Leinster final, you do remember that don't you, lots of posts to reference here still in that subject. The Gaa rent out the Stadium & have come out of this badly, regardless. Ironically enough as someone who has brought numerous teams to Croke Park for games & to the museum, Gaa members pay the same price as tourists, no discount for Gaa members even in groups. I raised this with Croke Park that surely Gaa members should get some concession but it was like trying to talk to the wall, it's all about money. Waste of time being involved in or even debating with people as its full of myopic people who can't see beyond their own nose & what would benefit the whole Gaa family.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 26/09/2016 13:37:37    1919243

Replying To ritchie:  "Why ??? Why should cork offer a replay.
I mean the game was played and the result at the end of 60 mins is cork by a point. I mean we have the video evidence of the point going over. But we also have the video evidence of 2/3 frees cork should have been given as well as the penalty they didnt get and the one dublin did get. Do we rewatch the game and assign all these things post match. If Cork knew all this was going to happen they would never have left the dublin player get as far as the square to win the penalty. Dublin will have a crack at it again next year and cork cant keep this level going year in year out. But for now Cork are champions"
Frees and penos are open to interpretation. Video of a clear point is fact. Maybe Dublin would have built on a 3 point lead. Maybe they wouldn't. Nobody knows. The fact is however both teams scored the same but Cork won. Game over.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 26/09/2016 13:51:07    1919251

would cork not be confident they would win a replay?whatever about a dodgy free/line ball/45/etc,a point is a point and i cannot believe a team who have won 6 in a row would want an all-ireland in those circumstances!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 26/09/2016 14:13:56    1919264

Replying To Jackeen:  "Frees and penos are open to interpretation. Video of a clear point is fact. Maybe Dublin would have built on a 3 point lead. Maybe they wouldn't. Nobody knows. The fact is however both teams scored the same but Cork won. Game over."
We could have done with u out there Jackeen!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 26/09/2016 14:15:11    1919267

Replying To moc.dna:  "Silly post, good man you must sit high & mighty in that Ivory Tower. If you read any of my posts yo would see that 1/ I pointed out that yes the LGFA is independent of the Association & 2/ they were to blame also for this fiasco. But let's point out something here, ladies play Gaelic football & play a large role in all Gaa clubs & are generally accepted to be part of the Gaa family. Yet reading many posts here the hatred & vitriol shown you would be forgiven for thinking they were playing "foreign games". The level of hate shown is disgraceful & maybe many of these girls & their parents instead of being involved with their local club would be better off playing soccer, they would certainly get less abuse. Also if they took the Lidl sponsorship that has benefited many clubs this year & took it to soccer, it might make ye happy. Another point is the lip service paid to Ladies football by the Ard Stiurothoir & President is the same as that paid to vlub players, all plamas. The reality is that the ladies seen as Gaa family & members have to hire Croke Park & pay for everything in the same way as other codes, this is blatantly wrong & with all the money made they couldn't gift Hawkeye for the occasion. It proves one point Croke Park is all about money. No problems shelling out 10% of commercial revenue to the GPA though. Many club people are leaving in droves over issues such as club fixtures, payment to managers, on & off field violence of a very serious nature that is usually swept under the carpet & this is another that will drive girls & parents to other codes. That will probably please people like yourself, I hope ye will be all happy together. It's ironic how many posters were so adamant & outraged (rightly so) after the Meath v Louth Leinster final, you do remember that don't you, lots of posts to reference here still in that subject. The Gaa rent out the Stadium & have come out of this badly, regardless. Ironically enough as someone who has brought numerous teams to Croke Park for games & to the museum, Gaa members pay the same price as tourists, no discount for Gaa members even in groups. I raised this with Croke Park that surely Gaa members should get some concession but it was like trying to talk to the wall, it's all about money. Waste of time being involved in or even debating with people as its full of myopic people who can't see beyond their own nose & what would benefit the whole Gaa family."
You're the one who can't see past your own nose . You made a statement that was my incorrect and you were called on it . Deal with it . Your latest rant is in a similar vein . It's silly nonsense .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 26/09/2016 14:15:28    1919268

Replying To Greengrass:  "You're the one who can't see past your own nose . You made a statement that was my incorrect and you were called on it . Deal with it . Your latest rant is in a similar vein . It's silly nonsense ."
There is the specific issue of why hawkeye was not used and the general situation between the GAA and the LGFA. It would be a complete over simplification of the situation to say the latter resulted in the former but the reality is there is some element of truth to it. Neither side in the GAA v LGFA debate are without fault, there are a lot of men in the GAA who would rather put a knife into a Gaelic football than have women use it to play with and on the other side this independence thing ends up in pathetic situations at the club and national level. The Camogie and GPA have shown that there is room for independence within the GAA structures. Look outside of Ireland where people realise that getting on together for the benefit of the game works, its only in Ireland that people need to grow up and get some sense.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1806 - 26/09/2016 16:26:10    1919336

Replying To zinny:  "There is the specific issue of why hawkeye was not used and the general situation between the GAA and the LGFA. It would be a complete over simplification of the situation to say the latter resulted in the former but the reality is there is some element of truth to it. Neither side in the GAA v LGFA debate are without fault, there are a lot of men in the GAA who would rather put a knife into a Gaelic football than have women use it to play with and on the other side this independence thing ends up in pathetic situations at the club and national level. The Camogie and GPA have shown that there is room for independence within the GAA structures. Look outside of Ireland where people realise that getting on together for the benefit of the game works, its only in Ireland that people need to grow up and get some sense."
That's a separate issue. I don't know any men in The GAA who are opposed to ladies football . I know plenty who work in girls and ladies football. In relation to Hawkeye not operating in Croke Park yesterday that was a decision made by The LGFA and no one else . That is where responsibility for yesterday's controversy lies and not with Croke Park or The GAA .

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 26/09/2016 16:52:50    1919353

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "What are you on about??? Ladies is a separate organisation, something they guard very jealously when it suits them but when it doesn't then they are moaning about the GAA discriminating against them etc.......sorry this mess has nothing to do with the GAA and sits solely at the door of the LGFA.....they were the ones that tried go in the cheap with no Hawkeye and it has come back to bite them"
I would cost is a large part of the reason Hawkeye was not used. The lgfa have a massively different budget to the gaa. The reason the are weary about going into the gaa is the are worried as been treated poorly by it.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 26/09/2016 17:49:32    1919388

Replying To Puppys01:  "Just a couple of items. LGFA Central Council voted not to use Hawkeye because of cost alone - no other reason. Croke park is rented to LGFA for their finals and they did not wish to play the high fee for Hawkeye as it was too dear. The Referee was too arrogant to even go to his umpires to check despite being asked to by 2 Dublin players and management - he was miked up but didn't bother to even consult any of his other officials - referee and the officials knew at half time that it was a point. Too late at that stage. There will be no replay due to the Cork managers emphatic reply that it's our All Ireland but it's a shame that this great Cork team's win is tarnished by incompetence of the referee and his local umpires - these are his own umpires (probably from his local club) who, despite doing the official national umpire courses, got it wrong. Cork and Dublin deserve better ! Hopefully lesson learnt - one definitely seems to have been and that is - even in LGFA ethical morals go out the window when it comes to a win. The match was a draw but will be given as a win. Such a pity after a great year of football and sponsorship that the year will be remembered for one wrong decision."
Excellent post

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 26/09/2016 17:53:37    1919391

Replying To Greengrass:  "That's a separate issue. I don't know any men in The GAA who are opposed to ladies football . I know plenty who work in girls and ladies football. In relation to Hawkeye not operating in Croke Park yesterday that was a decision made by The LGFA and no one else . That is where responsibility for yesterday's controversy lies and not with Croke Park or The GAA ."
It is true to say there are alot of men in the gaa involved in lgfa I have been myself but there is also alot of bitterness directed at the lgfa by men in the gaa even thou some of their family members might be lgfa.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 26/09/2016 18:04:02    1919396