Another embarrassment in Croke Park

Heard the reason for not using Hawk eye is because it is not used in other grounds and they wanted a level playing pitch ! What a joke of an excuse.

It is saying just because the other grounds don't have the technology to make sure the score is/is not correctly given and the best team wins...we won't use it at Croke Park either...we might be able to tell it was a point in Croke Park but no, we won't use it ....ridiculous

It is like saying there is a heart surgeon in Dublin but he can't operate on a dying patient as there isn't one in Cork so everyone should die...

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 25/09/2016 21:53:27    1919037

Poor call by the umpire but I can't understand why we use a white ball & white posts. The older I get the more I have been complaining about this surely it would be very easy to use a different coloured football & this would make it easier at all football grounds.

SligoNSEW (Sligo) - Posts: 15 - 25/09/2016 22:01:02    1919039

Replying To moc.dna:  "I think the fact that Hawkeye wasn't operational that day in Thurles was also a disgrace, what is the point of having the technology in place & not using it. In fairness the ladies have had their All Ireland final date changed previously to accommodate a replay for the men's final with no choice, they have being let down today by their own Association but also by Central Council & Croke Park as Marty Morrisey alluded to this evening as recalibration & cost of same for the different size ball for Hawkeye was also an issue during the week."
mod.dna,

"as Marty Morrisey alluded to this evening as recalibration & cost of same for the different size ball for Hawkeye was also an issue during the week"

He said tonight that wasn't an issue.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 25/09/2016 22:05:47    1919040

Replying To ballydalane:  "Under no circumstances should Cork offer a replay. The same way Meath were dead right not to offer Louth a replay in 2010. It's a county board's job to prepare and field as competitive a team as possible in the respective competitions, and in turn it's the GAA's/LGFA's responsibility to provide a competent set of match officials. Cork (and Meath) upheld their side of the deal, why should they dig the GAA/LGFA out of a hole just because they can't provide decent referees/umpires?

If a county board makes a mess of preparing a team, doesn't have a proper coaching team in place and gets beaten by 20 points in the championship, they can't go to the GAA looking for a replay on the basis that they'll get it right the next time.

The Leinster council hung Meath out to dry last time by dangling the prospect of a replay but leaving it in Meath's court, making Meath out to be the bad guys when they refused. It'll be interesting to see what the LGFA's response will be."
Don't agree at all...that is like saying Lance Armstrong should keep his 7 Tour De France's because he wasn't caught at that time due to poor officials at the UCI...cheaters shouldn't win....everyone knows Meath cheated in 2010 and they should have had the decency to offer a replay. It's kid of irrelevant though as everyone considers Louth as the Leinster Champions that year anyways.

Cork didn't cheat today, but they won due to an official somehow missing a large football going over the bar, so they know they didn't win fair and square. They should do the decent thing here and offer a replay.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 25/09/2016 22:06:03    1919041

I just don't understand, when a blatantly wrong umpiring decision is made, and the team that is punished by it know that it is a wrong decision, why don't they protest/ walk off the field/ sit down on the pitch like Offaly hurling supporters did in that infamous All Ireland hurling semi final versus Clare..do what it takes to make the officials admit that they have made a mistake? I only saw the highlights but it didn't look like the Dublin players voiced any objection at all when the incident happened. On that basis alone they don't deserve a replay. At the end of the day anyway it seems beyond argument that Cork were much the better team.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1907 - 25/09/2016 22:08:57    1919043

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "I just don't understand, when a blatantly wrong umpiring decision is made, and the team that is punished by it know that it is a wrong decision, why don't they protest/ walk off the field/ sit down on the pitch like Offaly hurling supporters did in that infamous All Ireland hurling semi final versus Clare..do what it takes to make the officials admit that they have made a mistake? I only saw the highlights but it didn't look like the Dublin players voiced any objection at all when the incident happened. On that basis alone they don't deserve a replay. At the end of the day anyway it seems beyond argument that Cork were much the better team."
Lyndsay Davy went straight to the umpire to complain. Totally disagree that Cork were the better team too but sure it's done now and fair play to cork. Some team!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 25/09/2016 22:18:37    1919046

Replying To county man:  "Heard the reason for not using Hawk eye is because it is not used in other grounds and they wanted a level playing pitch ! What a joke of an excuse.

It is saying just because the other grounds don't have the technology to make sure the score is/is not correctly given and the best team wins...we won't use it at Croke Park either...we might be able to tell it was a point in Croke Park but no, we won't use it ....ridiculous

It is like saying there is a heart surgeon in Dublin but he can't operate on a dying patient as there isn't one in Cork so everyone should die..."
Sepp Blatter used the same logic about goal line technology in soccer. They wouldn't use it in a World Cup as it wasn't available for players in amateur clubs all over the world. Nonsense is right.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 25/09/2016 22:18:48    1919047

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "I just don't understand, when a blatantly wrong umpiring decision is made, and the team that is punished by it know that it is a wrong decision, why don't they protest/ walk off the field/ sit down on the pitch like Offaly hurling supporters did in that infamous All Ireland hurling semi final versus Clare..do what it takes to make the officials admit that they have made a mistake? I only saw the highlights but it didn't look like the Dublin players voiced any objection at all when the incident happened. On that basis alone they don't deserve a replay. At the end of the day anyway it seems beyond argument that Cork were much the better team."
When an incident occurs during the game players probably go into a mental default mode of we had a bad call but we'll win it anyway. It's a bit like biting your lip when a ref makes a bad call against you. That discipline is built into you. Forget that call..next ball, next ball.

Different at the end of a match like Offaly in 1998. Everyone knew there was 5 min to go. It was the last decision made by the referee and there was no comeback so players had to remonstrate quickly. Also the Offaly fans were very proactive.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 25/09/2016 22:25:34    1919049

Your wrong, two players remonstrated with the ref & the umpires. The manager Geoffrey Mc Gonigle got his captain to ask the ref after the incident & he questioned the ref & the LGFA officials at half time. If this happened to the Galway hurlers you would be one of the first people on here, an injustice has occurred as we saw in the Christy Ring final as we saw in the Leinster final of Meath & Louth. An injustice that was avoidable with the technology that was available. The LGFA have a lot of questions to answer, the two umpires & the Gaa, Hawkeye should have been available. If I were Lidl I wouldn't be too happy after investing heavily in sponsoring Ladies Gaa & watching this lack of professionalism. Its amazing how the ladies are not viewed as part of the Gaa family playing Gaelic games by many on here despite all they bring to clubs around the country.

Uimhir.a.3. (Galway) - Posts: 409 - 25/09/2016 22:54:40    1919054

Replying To Laois76:  "While Laois footballers offering Carlow a replay in 1995 was a decent gesture the overall circumstances were different. Firstly there wasn't an All-Ireland medal on the line. The winners were due to play Dublin in the next round. There was a feeling in Laois (with no disrespect to Carlow) that we were a division 1 team at the time and Carlow division 4 and if we couldn't account for Carlow in the replay we had no business facing the Dubs anyway. Also Carlow were playing well under Bobby Miller and offering a replay would give us another good game under our belts if we progressed to meet the Dubs.

We beat Carlow by 3pts in the replay and lost by 7 to Dublin in Navan a fortnight later. The 7pts probably flattered the Dubs a bit, there was nothing between the teams before 19 year old Jason Sherlock scored his famous goal hitting the ball in his socks after losing his boot."
Not so my Laois friend not so, the overall circumstances were anything but different, it was a championship game, whether it was a first round or final it's the same thing, I was there and part of it, there in fact till May 1999, your sort of right on one count there wasn't an all Ireland medal on the line, but there was a leinster senior football championship match at stake, that was a big deal to us it was also a quarter final, we could and should have won that one and indeed the replay as well, if you were at the game you will be the first to admit we had laois on the rack but that all important score let us down, and let it be said some of Cooneys decisions were very questionable and didn't help at all.
The replay, 2-16 to 1-16 got you over the line but it could so easily have been Carlows day, in theory we may have been div 4 but in practice we played div 1 football, after two games only one score separated us nothing to write home about you might say, you may be right, but I didn't say it.
The leinster council along with Seamus Aldridge quickly got involved as did the Laois and Carlow board, RTE showed a few re runs, of that controversial point, contrary to what you say the pressure was on, but not on Carlow, as a result the "rematch"was offered, after late hours of deliberations, for political reasons the word replay wasn't used, for fear of setting a precedent.
There is no doubt that Dublin are entitled to a replay, make no mistake about it. It's a modern remake of the Laois/Carlow game, instead of putting the onus on Cork to offer a rematch why can't croke park make the offer and who knows maybe, just maybe the Bank of Ireland might present them with a "Fair Play Award" before the throw in, as they did to Laois.

Was Laois flattered with that award.???

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2910 - 25/09/2016 23:04:12    1919059

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Hold on a second here........the Ladies Football is a separate organisation and are the ones dragging their heels on integration.....can't have it both ways where they won't access to GAA facilities up and down the country but want to stay outside the wire so to speak when it suits them....

Nothing to do with 'Croke Park' today and all to do with the Ladies Association.....over to them to sort out their own mess but leave te GAA out of it"
An organization that doesn't have a fraction of the budget of the men's. You can't blame the women for been doubtful about going in with the gaa when you see people with your atitude and unfortunately many others in the gaa

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 25/09/2016 23:50:40    1919072

Replying To supersub15:  "Not so my Laois friend not so, the overall circumstances were anything but different, it was a championship game, whether it was a first round or final it's the same thing, I was there and part of it, there in fact till May 1999, your sort of right on one count there wasn't an all Ireland medal on the line, but there was a leinster senior football championship match at stake, that was a big deal to us it was also a quarter final, we could and should have won that one and indeed the replay as well, if you were at the game you will be the first to admit we had laois on the rack but that all important score let us down, and let it be said some of Cooneys decisions were very questionable and didn't help at all.
The replay, 2-16 to 1-16 got you over the line but it could so easily have been Carlows day, in theory we may have been div 4 but in practice we played div 1 football, after two games only one score separated us nothing to write home about you might say, you may be right, but I didn't say it.
The leinster council along with Seamus Aldridge quickly got involved as did the Laois and Carlow board, RTE showed a few re runs, of that controversial point, contrary to what you say the pressure was on, but not on Carlow, as a result the "rematch"was offered, after late hours of deliberations, for political reasons the word replay wasn't used, for fear of setting a precedent.
There is no doubt that Dublin are entitled to a replay, make no mistake about it. It's a modern remake of the Laois/Carlow game, instead of putting the onus on Cork to offer a rematch why can't croke park make the offer and who knows maybe, just maybe the Bank of Ireland might present them with a "Fair Play Award" before the throw in, as they did to Laois.

Was Laois flattered with that award.???"
I was part of the Laois setup too.

I didn't mean any disrespect. Ye were 5 points up in the replay and we only came back into the game after Mick Lalor licked a massive score.

Yes the replay may have been granted as it was felt if we were to progress an extra game would do us no harm and if Carlow beat us they were saving us from a possible Dublin thrashing.

But look aswell as that Mick Turley's shot was wide and we all knew it. So it was a mixture of things. Fair play mixed with pragmatism! Carlow and Laois never had a nasty rivalry. When Joe Hayden scored the late goal to beat us in 1988 we were cheering for ye against the Dubs next round.

The 1995 games were cracking games. The replay was played on a 30C scorcher of a day.

I hope you didn't retire in May 1999 after the cards fiasco against Westmeath?

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 25/09/2016 23:53:57    1919073

Replying To supersub15:  "Not so my Laois friend not so, the overall circumstances were anything but different, it was a championship game, whether it was a first round or final it's the same thing, I was there and part of it, there in fact till May 1999, your sort of right on one count there wasn't an all Ireland medal on the line, but there was a leinster senior football championship match at stake, that was a big deal to us it was also a quarter final, we could and should have won that one and indeed the replay as well, if you were at the game you will be the first to admit we had laois on the rack but that all important score let us down, and let it be said some of Cooneys decisions were very questionable and didn't help at all.

Was Laois flattered with that award.???"
And yes a first round Leinster Championship match was a big deal. Here's why we were possible looking a little further down the road though...

For Laois our record that decade was:

1990 beat Offaly first rd, 1st to Meath in Leinster semi.
1991 beat Westmeath, Louth after a replay and lost Leister final with 14min by 6pts.
1992 beat Meath by a goal in first rd, lost to Louth in leinster semi
1993 beat Louth then lost to Meath
1994 beat Longford then lost to Meath by 4pts

So we hadn't lost a Leinster first round that decade up to 1995, had appeared in a Leinster final, and having beaten Meath etc we were looking a little forward to a crack off the Dubs.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 26/09/2016 00:06:37    1919075

There have been a good few cock ups recently in Croke Park even excluding the Meath v Louth Leinster final where one of the great midfielders of the time Paddy Keenan & his team mates were denied their moment of victory. This year we have had the Christy Ring final, the wrong score on the score board, the American football clash, the Down team of 25 years clashing with the Kerry minors, tunnel bust ups due to teams coming out at the same time & today's mess. No problem investing millions in the GPA but can't get the simple things right for fans, players & sponsors. Gaa & stadium organisers need to up their game as the big companies spending fortunes in sponsorship won't tolerate this lack of organisation.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 26/09/2016 00:47:54    1919078

Another embarrassment was giving the Cork midfielder lady of the match after Lauren McGee battered them both for the whole game she was outstanding, the Cork lotm was number 14 she kicked 3 incredible scores in the second half.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 26/09/2016 08:38:16    1919088

Replying To clondalkindub:  "Another embarrassment was giving the Cork midfielder lady of the match after Lauren McGee battered them both for the whole game she was outstanding, the Cork lotm was number 14 she kicked 3 incredible scores in the second half."
Would have to agree there full forward won the game for them

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 26/09/2016 09:21:57    1919100

Replying To ballydalane:  "Under no circumstances should Cork offer a replay. The same way Meath were dead right not to offer Louth a replay in 2010. It's a county board's job to prepare and field as competitive a team as possible in the respective competitions, and in turn it's the GAA's/LGFA's responsibility to provide a competent set of match officials. Cork (and Meath) upheld their side of the deal, why should they dig the GAA/LGFA out of a hole just because they can't provide decent referees/umpires?

If a county board makes a mess of preparing a team, doesn't have a proper coaching team in place and gets beaten by 20 points in the championship, they can't go to the GAA looking for a replay on the basis that they'll get it right the next time.

The Leinster council hung Meath out to dry last time by dangling the prospect of a replay but leaving it in Meath's court, making Meath out to be the bad guys when they refused. It'll be interesting to see what the LGFA's response will be."
Totally agree with your comments, not Cork's or Meath's fault that the officials can't do the simple tasks they are assigned. If a player makes a mistake a replay is not offered so it should be the same rules for officials. I feel sorry for Dublin but it's not Cork's fault.

AthboyCelt (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 26/09/2016 09:32:13    1919104

Replying To ROS1:  "An organization that doesn't have a fraction of the budget of the men's. You can't blame the women for been doubtful about going in with the gaa when you see people with your atitude and unfortunately many others in the gaa"
What are you on about??? Ladies is a separate organisation, something they guard very jealously when it suits them but when it doesn't then they are moaning about the GAA discriminating against them etc.......sorry this mess has nothing to do with the GAA and sits solely at the door of the LGFA.....they were the ones that tried go in the cheap with no Hawkeye and it has come back to bite them

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 26/09/2016 09:36:51    1919111

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "What are you on about??? Ladies is a separate organisation, something they guard very jealously when it suits them but when it doesn't then they are moaning about the GAA discriminating against them etc.......sorry this mess has nothing to do with the GAA and sits solely at the door of the LGFA.....they were the ones that tried go in the cheap with no Hawkeye and it has come back to bite them"
correct

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2848 - 26/09/2016 09:56:41    1919119

Jaysus if Joe Sheridan and the Meath boys didnt offer a replay to Louth I can't see it happening here.. Its a shame that it happened to the Dublin ladies but it boils down to a wrong call from an official. It happens all the time in every sport.

The problem may be that calling umpires "officials" is a bit of a stretch. Maybe there should be a training program for inter-county level umpires created and only people who are trained and have the correct level of experience get the big games.. Just like refs.

A properly trained umpire could help out with lots of calls near the goal line and help with off the ball stuff. This would take some pressure of referees too. Right now all they do is stand beside the post which is a terrible angle to see if a ball is over or wide. They should be on the move and position themselves based on where the shot is being taken from.

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 26/09/2016 10:39:41    1919145