7 minutes extra time?

Replying To Torcaill:  "There is no set time to be added for subs. Referees are instructed to add on whatever time is lost for each substitution and incidental delay / time wasting."
There is now. 20 seconds. New directive.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 20/09/2016 22:21:18    1917208

Replying To murphy32:  "Aiden o Shea, Lee Keegan, and MDMC."
Add DC to the pot and we'll call it quits. Although to be honest I don't think any of them should have gone including McCarthy.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/09/2016 23:19:07    1917227

Replying To dstuction:  "I agree its happened a few times in Ulster too this year. No justification in having so much added time.
For instance the ball rolled for Rock and he reset. I understand adding 20 seconds but that was an isolated incident. Its not like other years where keepers were taking 5 minutes to take a free and no time added.

It was clear when the motion for the buzzer was rejected that they want to play for the draw. Make no sense whatsoever having the ref control the time also. He has enough to worry about especially with Keegan attempting to take Conollys clothes off."
And Dermo trying to take Lee's head off but I don't suppose you spotted that.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/09/2016 23:22:08    1917228

Replying To Gleebo:  "
Replying To ormondbannerman:  "20 seconds per sub, think there were twelve subs, which adds on four minutes. Also several lengthy breaks for injuries and general acting the maggot off the ball. Given the time wasting that went on in injury time, Lane actually ended up playing almost nine minutes.
People are complaining about the added time as the GAA previously just seem to add two or three minutes irrespective of what had gone on previously.
Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts:970 - 19/09/2016 17:44:29
Why should there be a specific amount of time added on for a sub coming on? I don't think there should be. Unless there has been significant injuries or unavoidable delay games should only have 2/3 minutes of injury time max."
Because the referee usually has to stop the game to allow the players on and off the pitch for a substitution, but yet the clock rolls on. Having said that I wouldn't be against using a timer as in ladies' football, which would do away with the controversy at the end of games and would also let officials concentrate on their jobs without the distraction of timekeeping."
I was all for the hooter thingy myself until a couple of weeks ago. I was watching a ladies intermediate match on telly. I can't remember the teams but one team were a point up with thirty seconds left when the other team got a forty five. As the ball was being placed for the kick a winning team member kicked it away. The lineswoman was standing beside the spot but took no action as the clock ticked on. The kick was eventually taken and was caught by a forward who shot just as the hooter went. I think the ball went over the bar but I'm not sure as the camera didn't follow it's flight. There didn't seem to be any facility for allowing time to be added on so I just wonder what action was open to the officials as that little piece of gameswomanship decided the game.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 20/09/2016 23:36:11    1917230

7 minutes seemed about right. I'd also stop teams making time-wasting substitutions from the last 5 minutes to the final whistle, unless in cases of clear injury.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 21/09/2016 00:09:23    1917240

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "There was a new directive with regards added on time this year but only has being enforced from quarters on. 20 seconds per sub so that's four minutes. Hard not to see where seven comes from. There was extra couple minutes added on to seven because of hold up in added on time. The standard one at ht and three at ft was always the same regardess of what happened before hand."
It was a miscalculation by the referee.

8 subs on in 2nd half up to the point 7mins was announced. 20 secs per sub only adds up to 2mins 40secs.

There were no lengthy injury delays until stoppage time. No hawkeye moments.

Both keepers restarting the game quickly. I would bet the actual ball in play time was higher than average in the 2nd half.

Still. I'm glad it finished level.

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 21/09/2016 14:40:57    1917469

Replying To Grey_Wolf:  "I've noticed this all summer. It was always 2 or 3 minutes injury time. Now this year a lot of matches are all 5 and 6 minutes injury time. Seemed a bit excessive yesterday. The GAA won't be worried. Another big pay day on the way!!"
Ya should have also noticed its not called injury time anymore - additional time!

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 21/09/2016 15:55:12    1917515

We love comparing our game to other sports without even thinking if the structure of the games are different. Rugby is completely different and leads itself easier to having the ref tell the timekeeper when to stop the game. If managers knew the watch would be stopped there would be far more tactical stopping of the game than there is now - break the momentum of the other team up, slow down the game etc. When the stop the clock in Rugby for an injury they have to wait until the play is back on their feet or off the field - imagine how long the injury breaks in the GAA would be! I think the system works well now - players and managers don't know how much time will be played right up until the last couple of minutes so it cuts out gamesmanship in close games - once the notice goes up everyone knows how much time is left and they generally stick to that time.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 21/09/2016 16:08:22    1917522

Does it matter whether it is 3 minutes or 7 minutes- the more important thing is that it is the same for both teams and the extra time is displayed

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 21/09/2016 17:02:32    1917564

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "And Dermo trying to take Lee's head off but I don't suppose you spotted that."
I spotted it, so did the umpires and the linesman. But who started that? Again, the aggressor got the same punishment as the victim. I was surprised Connolly wasnt sent off. In reality Keegan should have got a red for what he was at and Connolly a yellow for retaliating. Any thumps Keegan got he fully deserved. Maybe if the instigator in these incidents was punished it would discourage players from punching/headlocking/assaulting players. Connolly is not protected enough. Neither is McManus or Murphy. The guy who retaliates seems to always get sent off. Stupid rules. Send both off or the guy who starts it should get more heavily punished. Would end these silly incidents.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 21/09/2016 18:58:20    1917641

7 mins? It's 30 seconds per sub and in the 2nd half Jim Gavin kept putting on subs when Mayo were taking a quick kick out to slow them down and delay the kick out so his great plan backfired, it's he that caused the 7 mins added time

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 22/09/2016 08:50:30    1917817

Replying To riverboys:  "7 mins? It's 30 seconds per sub and in the 2nd half Jim Gavin kept putting on subs when Mayo were taking a quick kick out to slow them down and delay the kick out so his great plan backfired, it's he that caused the 7 mins added time"
Did he bring on 14 subs?? You do realise that you can only bring on subs during a break in play yes?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 22/09/2016 11:12:23    1917849

Replying To riverboys:  "7 mins? It's 30 seconds per sub and in the 2nd half Jim Gavin kept putting on subs when Mayo were taking a quick kick out to slow them down and delay the kick out so his great plan backfired, it's he that caused the 7 mins added time"
1 - Its 20 seconds per sub, not 30
2 - Dublin made 4 changes between the 35th and 70th minute, the same as Mayo - an addition of 1 minute 20 seconds
3 - Your point makes no sense in light of this

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 22/09/2016 11:22:02    1917855

Replying To browncows:  "Does it matter whether it is 3 minutes or 7 minutes- the more important thing is that it is the same for both teams and the extra time is displayed"
Come on, of course that matters.

Longer favours the trailing team.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4235 - 22/09/2016 11:29:23    1917856

On the balance of the extra time argument, I made the very same point after the ulster final and was put in my place very quickly about subs used etc, despite there being almost no stoppages in the 2nd half. Seems that there is an issue after all re added time totally at the discretion of the ref.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/09/2016 11:41:46    1917867

Replying To JayP:  "I spotted it, so did the umpires and the linesman. But who started that? Again, the aggressor got the same punishment as the victim. I was surprised Connolly wasnt sent off. In reality Keegan should have got a red for what he was at and Connolly a yellow for retaliating. Any thumps Keegan got he fully deserved. Maybe if the instigator in these incidents was punished it would discourage players from punching/headlocking/assaulting players. Connolly is not protected enough. Neither is McManus or Murphy. The guy who retaliates seems to always get sent off. Stupid rules. Send both off or the guy who starts it should get more heavily punished. Would end these silly incidents."
Boyle even came along and threw a dig too. No card for him though.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 22/09/2016 12:04:42    1917880

Replying To JayP:  "I spotted it, so did the umpires and the linesman. But who started that? Again, the aggressor got the same punishment as the victim. I was surprised Connolly wasnt sent off. In reality Keegan should have got a red for what he was at and Connolly a yellow for retaliating. Any thumps Keegan got he fully deserved. Maybe if the instigator in these incidents was punished it would discourage players from punching/headlocking/assaulting players. Connolly is not protected enough. Neither is McManus or Murphy. The guy who retaliates seems to always get sent off. Stupid rules. Send both off or the guy who starts it should get more heavily punished. Would end these silly incidents."
There is a lot of talk on here about Keegan being the instigator and Connolly always being the victim. In fact RTE helpfully showed a clip of Keegan pulling down Connolly off the ball giving Ciaran Whelan the ammunition to suggest that booking Keegan early on in the replay will put a stop to all this unpleasantness. How convenient. As was pointed out here, by a Dublin poster, a couple of weeks ago, Brollys outburst after the Mayo, Dublin semi in 2012 led to Jason Doherty being booked in the first couple of minutes of the final. The throw enough S*** and some of it is bound to stick approach. Referees are only human and certain referees may easily be influenced by a little subtle pressure. The reason I mention RTE and the off the ball fouling is that they went to the trouble of finding a clip that showed Keegan to be the aggressor but failed to show a similar clip regarding Connolly. With 68 minutes and 22 seconds on the clock Lee Keegan is sprinting to join a Mayo attack when Diarmuid Connolly running behind him, grabs him by the shoulder and throws him to the ground. Now if I can see that, with my watery eyes, it's somewhat surprising that, in the interests of fair play and to provide a semblance of balance, that incident wasn't also highlighted by RTE. If something similar were to happen the next day and Keegan were to grab Connollys arm as he falls and the two of them roll on the ground, according to the Ciaran Whelan school of refereeing is Lee Keegan going to get booked on his own. Now I know a lot of this pulling and dragging goes on off the ball, by both sides, and I also agree that the instigator alone should get booked provided one of the officials sees the start of the incident and also that the player being fouled doesn't react. If somebody pulls your jersey it doesn't give you the right to punch him in the face. Cooper pushed Seamie O Shea in the back in last years replay, O Shea reacted by throwing him to the ground and got a black. Cooper was not sanctioned. Keegan pulls Connollys jersey Connolly punches Keegan in the face, they both get yellow cards and Connolly is the victim. It is dangerous to adopt the approach that because he has a bit of previous, he was in the area and he looks shifty it must be him. If the referee is going to assume, he might as well call Keegan, Connolly, Boyle, Michael Dara, Aido and Philly to one side before the game and book them all, just to get it out of the way. If we are suggesting that referees have their minds made up about incidences before they even happen then we are entering dangerous territory.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 22/09/2016 12:12:01    1917883

The Connolly foul on Keegan on 68 mins and 22 seconds wouldn't have happened if Lee Keegan had got the colour card he should have in the earlier incident. Look reality is Keegan was at Connolly all game, and refused to let go of his shirt, he subsequently got a couple of knocks on the noggin. Boyle then punched Connolly in the face, you missed that did you?

The instigator should receive a bigger penalty than the person who reacts. Let's be honest here, unless Connolly reacts Keegan will continue to keep his antics up because no official protects Connolly because of his reputation. I think people are foolish to think Connolly will let the likes of Keegan thump lumps out of him for 70 mins plus. He will defend himself, and rightly so.

The problem is the officials. Like how many times did Connolly and Brogan look at the umpires last Sunday whilst the Mayo boys were slapping and punching them........and what help did they get? None.

Players will defend themselves, the ridiculous thing is when they do the umpires/linesmen get an erection and can't wait to call the ref, whilst ignoring what's gone on before. Video refs the only solution.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 22/09/2016 16:11:07    1917997

Replying To JayP:  "The Connolly foul on Keegan on 68 mins and 22 seconds wouldn't have happened if Lee Keegan had got the colour card he should have in the earlier incident. Look reality is Keegan was at Connolly all game, and refused to let go of his shirt, he subsequently got a couple of knocks on the noggin. Boyle then punched Connolly in the face, you missed that did you?

The instigator should receive a bigger penalty than the person who reacts. Let's be honest here, unless Connolly reacts Keegan will continue to keep his antics up because no official protects Connolly because of his reputation. I think people are foolish to think Connolly will let the likes of Keegan thump lumps out of him for 70 mins plus. He will defend himself, and rightly so.

The problem is the officials. Like how many times did Connolly and Brogan look at the umpires last Sunday whilst the Mayo boys were slapping and punching them........and what help did they get? None.

Players will defend themselves, the ridiculous thing is when they do the umpires/linesmen get an erection and can't wait to call the ref, whilst ignoring what's gone on before. Video refs the only solution."
How is it always so one sided with the Dubs, Connolly and now Brogan. It's always an excuse when Connolly fouls, as in pulling someone to the ground he must have had a reason. Of course he had a reason, Keegan had gotten ahead of him and he didn't want him to get the ball. That was enough of a reason. As for Keegan not being on the field, if the rules were applied correctly Keegan would have gotten a yellow and Connolly a red. When O Shea went to complain to the umpire all he got was abuse from the hill. I just spoke about Connolly and Keegan because that was the topic under discussion. I didn't reference Boyle and Connolly or Coopers kick on O Connor or Fenton pulling down McLoughlin off the ball in the 74th minute or why O Connor was holding his face after an incident with Philly, and don't get me started on Dillon, because they weren't relevant to the particular topic. I love the emotive 'the Mayo boys were slapping and punching them' and not a word about Philly and the lads. As for the video refs I would be careful what I wished for as Cooper, Philly and one or two others on your side wouldn't thank you.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 22/09/2016 19:22:29    1918091

Replying To JayP:  "The Connolly foul on Keegan on 68 mins and 22 seconds wouldn't have happened if Lee Keegan had got the colour card he should have in the earlier incident. Look reality is Keegan was at Connolly all game, and refused to let go of his shirt, he subsequently got a couple of knocks on the noggin. Boyle then punched Connolly in the face, you missed that did you?

Players will defend themselves, the ridiculous thing is when they do the umpires/linesmen get an erection and can't wait to call the ref, whilst ignoring what's gone on before. Video refs the only solution."
A bit like john o loughlin v michael dara in nowlan park ??? Michael dara was literally hanging out of o loughlin but the dublin crowd bayed for blood when he reacted. Michael dara likes to give a lot but not take it

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 767 - 22/09/2016 19:46:07    1918096