Down 25 Year Jubliee Team

Replying To Laois76:  "He died that young.. I remember him and was it Liam Austin, 35 year olds coming on."
Yeah Rodgers and Austin were the two subs Down brought
on that day. Ambrose Rodgers snr would have been about
31 as he was 39 when he died in 1999. Not sure what age
Austin was but Id say 35 is about right.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 19/09/2016 16:48:56    1916465

James McCartan went playing soccer with Glenavon. He was having an off-day and his All-Ireland medal was no protection against the banter from the Cliftonville fans.

With a minute to go, he had the chance to redeem himself but blazed wide from point blank range.

Cue the Cliftonville fans

"There's only one Mickey Linden"

tommy58 (Dublin) - Posts: 169 - 19/09/2016 16:56:36    1916471

There is a good You Tube video Down All Ireland
Champions 1991and 1994 if someone knows how
to put it up thanks.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 19/09/2016 17:09:33    1916482

There was a piece about the Down team of 1991 on
Down County Matters on Irish TV (Channel 191) last
week.

REDANDBLACK30 (Down) - Posts: 1617 - 19/09/2016 17:41:31    1916506

Replying To Laois76:  "Am i wrong or did rte not show any clips of the great 1991 Down team being presented to the crowd? Bad form if not."
That's gas, reminds me of watching the 1992 final with my father, he was watching it early to see an old Meath team being presented to the crowd (Think it was the 1967 Meath team). Just when they were coming out RTE cut the coverage to show an interview with Packie Bonner (Donegal were playing Dublin that day) and when that interview was over they cut back and we got to see the last 2 or 3 subs from the team being presented. It would be typical RTE if they did not show the Down team being presented.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1357 - 19/09/2016 19:04:09    1916541

Replying To bdbuddah:  "That's gas, reminds me of watching the 1992 final with my father, he was watching it early to see an old Meath team being presented to the crowd (Think it was the 1967 Meath team). Just when they were coming out RTE cut the coverage to show an interview with Packie Bonner (Donegal were playing Dublin that day) and when that interview was over they cut back and we got to see the last 2 or 3 subs from the team being presented. It would be typical RTE if they did not show the Down team being presented."
I'd say your father was raging. There were a few characters on that team of 1967, Red Collier and the boys!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 19/09/2016 19:26:48    1916549

Thanks lads, for turning what was a bit of a moan into a great thread, with fond memories and reminiscences. Thumbs up all round.

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 19/09/2016 21:20:14    1916634

Replying To Laois76:  "Mickey Linden took Gary Coleman for 6 or 7 pts from play and Coleman got unmerited abuse after as Linden did that to every back that year. Niall Cahalane, Paul Curran spring to mind."
I think it was his father (RIP) that got most of the blame for not moving him off Linden. it's a bit hazy now but I seem to remember Pete Mc Grath subbing his corner back off brolly who scored a couple of points early on and he was anonymous there after.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 19/09/2016 21:56:27    1916665

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "I think it was his father (RIP) that got most of the blame for not moving him off Linden. it's a bit hazy now but I seem to remember Pete Mc Grath subbing his corner back off brolly who scored a couple of points early on and he was anonymous there after."
That's right.

Eamonn Coleman lost his job over it and Derry players were striking during the league of 1994-95. I think Mickey Moran replaced him. I remember Laois giving a weakened Derry team a trimming around November 1994 in the league.

Another unusual thing about that division 1 of the league 94/95 was Kerry and Dublin were relegated. Unlike today and the monopoly of division 1 teams at the closing end of the championship Dublin won the 1995 league despite relegation.

Laois played yourselves in the league quarter final. We were division 1 at the time and ye came from div 3. Donegal knocked Down, the all-ire champions out in the Ulster first round in 1995 and were hot favourites to beat Monaghan in the next round. But ye surprised them and a centre back with a pony tail who played for UCD called Joe Coyle had a stormer for ye.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 19/09/2016 22:25:11    1916684

The Down '91-'94 team was in my biased opinion one of the greatest teams to have ever played the game.

Here are some brilliant quotes from Meath's Bernard Flynn on the 1991 All-Ireland final and the '91 to '94 Down team in last week's Gaelic Life.

When Bernard Flynn speaks, everyone listens...

''It's hard to put into words about the hurt and devastation and the gut wrenching heartbreak that the Meath team felt after that game. I've never seen in my life anything like that after a defeat, what it did to some of the greatest men we've ever had. It absolutely destroyed them and some never recovered. Some still haven't recovered.''

''The Down team for some reason, in my opinion, they don't get the respect that they should... I can see a distinct difference between how the Tyrone team are viewed by their supporters and how the Kerry teams down there are viewed compared to how the Down team are respected. That team was so far ahead what people realise and maybe they were taken for granted.''

''The Down team was so strong and physical. We had played them in the league earlier in the year and I got a shock that day. The Down team that walked onto the field that day, the legs, thighs, arms and chests on them. We were a big team but they could match us physically whereas Dublin probably couldn't.''

''That '91-'94 team, I'd put them on a par or very close to Tyrone's feat of three All-Ireland's. That Tyrone team was the greatest team I've ever seen, apart maybe from this current Dublin team.''

''Greg Blaney was one of the best centre-forwards to play the game. I was at a talk night there in Killyman recently and I rated Brian McGuigan as the best centre-forward I've ever seen... I would put those two as the best two centre-forwards to ever play the game. You can talk about Tony Hanahoe, you can talk about Ogie Moran, Declan O'Sullivan, but McGuigan and Blaney were the two best centre-forwards I've ever seen. Blaney was a menace. He was powerful, his use of the ball was superb and we didn't handle him that day. He was a key man in an unreal team.''

''When I see the likes of Neil Collins, Gregory McCartan, DJ, the boys from '91 and '94, I see real characters. They're absolutely brilliant ambassadors for the county and they don't get the credit and they don't get the respect. I'm very close to a good few of them and it hurts them and it actually hurts me a little bit as well.''

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 20/09/2016 13:20:20    1916895

Replying To MourneArmy:  "The Down '91-'94 team was in my biased opinion one of the greatest teams to have ever played the game.

Here are some brilliant quotes from Meath's Bernard Flynn on the 1991 All-Ireland final and the '91 to '94 Down team in last week's Gaelic Life.

''It's hard to put into words about the hurt and devastation and the gut wrenching heartbreak that the Meath team felt after that game. I've never seen in my life anything like that after a defeat, what it did to some of the greatest men we've ever had. It absolutely destroyed them and some never recovered. Some still haven't recovered.''

''The Down team for some reason, in my opinion, they don't get the respect that they should... I can see a distinct difference between how the Tyrone team are viewed by their supporters and how the Kerry teams down there are viewed compared to how the Down team are respected. That team was so far ahead what people realise and maybe they were taken for granted.''

''The Down team was so strong and physical. We had played them in the league earlier in the year and I got a shock that day. The Down team that walked onto the field that day, the legs, thighs, arms and chests on them. We were a big team but they could match us physically whereas Dublin probably couldn't.''

''That '91-'94 team, I'd put them on a par or very close to Tyrone's feat of three All-Ireland's. That Tyrone team was the greatest team I've ever seen, apart maybe from this current Dublin team.''

''Greg Blaney was one of the best centre-forwards to play the game. I was at a talk night there in Killyman recently and I rated Brian McGuigan as the best centre-forward I've ever seen... I would put those two as the best two centre-forwards to ever play the game. You can talk about Tony Hanahoe, you can talk about Ogie Moran, Declan O'Sullivan, but McGuigan and Blaney were the two best centre-forwards I've ever seen. Blaney was a menace. He was powerful, his use of the ball was superb and we didn't handle him that day. He was a key man in an unreal team.''

''When I see the likes of Neil Collins, Gregory McCartan, DJ, the boys from '91 and '94, I see real characters. They're absolutely brilliant ambassadors for the county and they don't get the credit and they don't get the respect. I'm very close to a good few of them and it hurts them and it actually hurts me a little bit as well.''"
my first all-ireland final to get to was the 91 final, and down played some great stuff against a very good meath team, was at the 94 ulster final and all-ireland final and they were good then too. A very good side no doubt, but your post was going well until you said" when Bernard flynn speaks everyone listens"!!!!!

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 920 - 20/09/2016 14:06:50    1916919

Replying To MourneArmy:  "The Down '91-'94 team was in my biased opinion one of the greatest teams to have ever played the game.

''When I see the likes of Neil Collins, Gregory McCartan, DJ, the boys from '91 and '94, I see real characters. They're absolutely brilliant ambassadors for the county and they don't get the credit and they don't get the respect. I'm very close to a good few of them and it hurts them and it actually hurts me a little bit as well.''"
I agree totally.

If they had a backdoor they might have had a 3rd all-ire like Tyrone in the noughties.

As a 15 year old i was struck by their brilliant football and their physique too. You had forwards like Ross Carr and Gary Mason with shoulders like barn doors on them. They played a very pure form of football.

Greg Blaney was a great traditional centre forward guiding the play, strong man bringing the Mickey Lindens and James McCartans into play.

That's the type of style that suits Down and they're in limbo the last few years. Likewise Meath need to get back to their traditions. They need to get back their mental toughness and tare into the Dubs with no respect as of old. It was terribly frustrating to watch them play so feebly this year against the Dubs.

We need these teams back so the gaa season is interesting in June and July and we're not waiting until semi finals in August for a good game. Same goes for my own county Laois. We setup defensively against Dublin and were beaten after 10 min. When we had a go in the second half we scored 2 goals off them. Even though we haven't enough talent to challenge for major honours we have enough to have a go and be fearless. Teams like Derry and Cork should be able to mount better challenges than they have of late.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 20/09/2016 14:12:15    1916923

Ah the heart break that Down team done to us was unreal. I remember Pete McGrath after giving an interview saying how Meath were the team that people said couldn't be beat - well we just beat the team they said could be beat. Its a line that has stuck with me ever since. I was 11 at the time thinking Meath were unbeatable as they had won 2 All Ireland's, then the 4 games with Dublin and 2 with Wicklow, to get to an All Ireland. Remember the Down fans on the roof of the old Hogan Stand it was an unreal atmosphere in Croke Park that day. Probably the best I ever remember for a game we lost. From that day on I had an appreciation for Ulster football and in particular Down, I like to see them doing well and always seem to support them since as my second team after Meath. In fairness to the Down supporters they are a very sound bunch and you don't get any of the vitriol that comes with a small section of fans from other counties.

anto_meath (Meath) - Posts: 108 - 20/09/2016 14:30:23    1916933

I have a Down jersey I use in training.
Always like they way they played and the colors are nice too !

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 20/09/2016 14:33:17    1916935

The Down team of 1991 were not mentioned on RTE last Sunday. I just caught a brief glimpse of them in the background in the pre match analysis. In previous years the winning teams from 25 years previously were mentioned pre match, it was a nice touch but seems that it is being ignored nowadays on All Ireland Final days. I would love to know the reason.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1746 - 20/09/2016 14:46:24    1916946