Briefly who will win on Sunday and by how much?

Replying To CroiGorm:  "You're right. He is entitled to express his views. Just as I'm entitled to cringe when I see him voice them."
I dont care personally, never cringed when Bertie did it, now enda doin it doesn't matter one bit, or in 96 when then ff td noel Dempsey and then fg leader John Bruton were arm in arm for Meath. I think sport transcends politics, as it should do.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/09/2016 13:25:24    1915347

Dubs by 3.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 17/09/2016 13:28:18    1915348

Replying To royaldunne:  "I dont care personally, never cringed when Bertie did it, now enda doin it doesn't matter one bit, or in 96 when then ff td noel Dempsey and then fg leader John Bruton were arm in arm for Meath. I think sport transcends politics, as it should do."
Ye I like to see sport and politics as far apart as possible, I haven't heard Enda's nuremberg rally speech and I couldn't care less about it either but I'm sure if nothing else it was an entertaining listen.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/09/2016 13:48:52    1915352

Ah lads, have ye lost yer sense of humor?

Enda's vid is just a cheesy David Brent Braveheart pisstake. Who could not laugh at such an effort ?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 17/09/2016 14:06:34    1915355

Replying To Htaem:  "Ye I like to see sport and politics as far apart as possible, I haven't heard Enda's nuremberg rally speech and I couldn't care less about it either but I'm sure if nothing else it was an entertaining listen."
This country is nuts. No offence to any Mayo fans but that address was cringe inducing. Look Enda, face it, you just can't do Braveheart. I reckon some Mayo people will not thank Enda for that intervention.
And you're right Enda it is Time to Grow Up and cop on to yourself.
All the same, you'd think that with FG's long association with blue shirts that Enda would have divided loyalties.
I swear if a FG candidate ever calls to my house again he'll be told swiftly to shag off back over the Shannon.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/09/2016 14:16:34    1915360

Replying To avonali:  "This country is nuts. No offence to any Mayo fans but that address was cringe inducing. Look Enda, face it, you just can't do Braveheart. I reckon some Mayo people will not thank Enda for that intervention.
All the same, you'd think that with FG's long association with blue shirts that Enda would have divided loyalties.
I swear if a FG candidate ever calls to my house again he'll be told swiftly to shag off back over the Shannon."
Dont know where you going bringing politics into it, I see it as a well humoured laugh, and fair play to him for doing it,

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/09/2016 14:25:46    1915364

Replying To royaldunne:  "Dont know where you going bringing politics into it, I see it as a well humoured laugh, and fair play to him for doing it,"
Ahh now come on Royal Dunne. My post is very definitely tongue in cheek. But Enda is a politician first and foremost so When he uses his access to the media to make a very partisan broadcast like that I think it's inevitable that people will respond !
Imagine if Obama made a broadcast urging on his favourite baseball team. It just wouldn't happen amy where else.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/09/2016 14:51:34    1915368

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Ah lads, have ye lost yer sense of humor?

Enda's vid is just a cheesy David Brent Braveheart pisstake. Who could not laugh at such an effort ?"
Do you reckon Enda was taking the piss...have I missed something? I think he was totally in earnest.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 17/09/2016 14:52:55    1915369

Replying To avonali:  "This country is nuts. No offence to any Mayo fans but that address was cringe inducing. Look Enda, face it, you just can't do Braveheart. I reckon some Mayo people will not thank Enda for that intervention.
I swear if a FG candidate ever calls to my house again he'll be told swiftly to shag off back over the Shannon."
You might be taking things a little too seriously there avonali.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/09/2016 14:53:02    1915370

draw match

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1197 - 17/09/2016 15:04:17    1915372

Replying To avonali:  "Do you reckon Enda was taking the piss...have I missed something? I think he was totally in earnest."
It was done in a very light hearted way, to mimmick brave heart kinda, Jesus he even praised dubs as been phenomenal team.
Too much been read into, dont care if was enda Kenny, Micheal martin, Gerry Adams, Brendan howlin , it was light hearted and a reference to the fact that on all ire final day everyone has a opinion, lets be honest if he was doing it for political reasons picking the underdog with a tenth of the population of the other county it would back fire tremendously.
Look at it , have a giggle , and say ahh fair play, mightn't agree with his politics at times , but that's funny and move on.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/09/2016 15:48:37    1915379

Replying To avonali:  "Ahh now come on Royal Dunne. My post is very definitely tongue in cheek. But Enda is a politician first and foremost so When he uses his access to the media to make a very partisan broadcast like that I think it's inevitable that people will respond !
Imagine if Obama made a broadcast urging on his favourite baseball team. It just wouldn't happen amy where else."
But didn't Bertie do it all the time with Dublin? And actually man Utd too. Nobody should take offense. They have lives and interests outside politics, I prefer that in a politician than constantly on message, doesn't Gerry talk about his rubber ducks? One thing I admired (and there wasn't much) was Bertie devotion to the dubs, i actually admire Enda for doing same, could have played the diplomatic card and said he doesn't mind who wins, nonsense. I've been told he goes to most mayo games (Evan league) he's a fan, and put out something on a vid supporting his county and taking the mick out of himself. Fair play to any politicians who do that , this was been discussed by people who otherwise couldn't care less about the gaa, even abroad.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/09/2016 15:56:23    1915380

Replying To Htaem:  "You might be taking things a little too seriously there avonali."
Did you see it htaem? Honestly I had a good giggle at it. It wasn't meant as serious at all, but who would believe he wouldn't be partisan, of course he is. Id watch him doing that quicker than some of his interviews lol.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/09/2016 15:59:30    1915381

Replying To avonali:  "Ahh now come on Royal Dunne. My post is very definitely tongue in cheek. But Enda is a politician first and foremost so When he uses his access to the media to make a very partisan broadcast like that I think it's inevitable that people will respond !
Imagine if Obama made a broadcast urging on his favourite baseball team. It just wouldn't happen amy where else."
I think Mayo could do with Henry kenny than enda kenny!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 17/09/2016 16:00:00    1915382

Replying To Spoddgy:  "I think Mayo could do with Henry kenny than enda kenny!"
Am I right in saying Henry played for mayo for a number of years?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/09/2016 17:36:11    1915395

Replying To royaldunne:  "Am I right in saying Henry played for mayo for a number of years?"
He was on the 1936 All Ireland winning team.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 17/09/2016 18:43:08    1915403

Replying To royaldunne:  "Did you see it htaem? Honestly I had a good giggle at it. It wasn't meant as serious at all, but who would believe he wouldn't be partisan, of course he is. Id watch him doing that quicker than some of his interviews lol."
Just watched it there now, just looks like a fan supporting his team, albeit a white collar looking fan but a fan none the less, not a lot to talk about really.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 17/09/2016 19:32:02    1915412

Replying To GreenandRed:  "He was on the 1936 All Ireland winning team."
Ahh so he actually won a all ire, I knew he played for them but didn't know he had a all Ireland medal. Well then I guess Endas speech is expected, (even if very funny ).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/09/2016 19:33:22    1915413

Less then 24hrs to the greatest GAA moment since Clare won Hurling All Ireland in 95. As a Meathman,, I can say in 96 you didn't deserve it, but tomorrow you will deserve the win. Tomorrow we will see greatest celebrations west of the Shannon since the pope landed in Galway in 1979. THE WESTS AWAKE will be sung from Ballinasloe to Ballina from Castlebar to Carrick on Shannon from Ballintubber to Tubbercurry. Mayo ALL Ireland champions 2016 it goings to happen.

Tonny1975 (Mayo) - Posts: 114 - 17/09/2016 22:43:54    1915470

Replying To brendtheredhand:  "I simply can't see a scenario where Mayo are NOT lifting Sam on Sunday afternoon, regardless of the formidable challenge in front of the, they have timed their run to perfection in my book and have the look of winners about them. Expect a major outpouring of emotion in the west come Sunday evening."
Have to say I wouldn't begrudge them what they deserve. It has been an epic journey for Mayo. The fact that their fans have stood by them says more about them than any cup could. If they have to pick themselves up again they will. They've proved that many times.

SirStrawHat (Dublin) - Posts: 58 - 17/09/2016 22:50:46    1915475