Croke Park - A neutral ground?

Replying To gotmilk:  "I agree 100% with everything you have sad there. What state is Parnell park in at the minute? I can't see dcb putting investment into it when they don't need it."
It's very hard to do anything with Parnell Pk it's surrounded by a school, golf course (2 sides) and houses. The Dublin County board tried to buy a site from NAMA near the spawell roundabout with plans to build a circa 25k stadium and centre of excellence but were outbid by about 500k.

More details here if you're interested. - http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/500000-shortfall-costs-dublin-gaa-nama-site-at-spawell-31397602.html

I'd rather play/watch a game in a full 25k seater stadium than a two-thirds empty Croke Park.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 13/09/2016 11:24:43    1913493

Replying To arock:  "I am reliably informed that Mayo fans intend to try and unfurl a very large (and I mean large) Mayo flay on the Hill, should be very interesting when this flag covers the heads of Dub fans."
Patrons in the Hill should be advised to avoid wearing flammable clothing and hair products at this Sundays All Ireland Final. If you have your own Fire Extinguisher or Fire Blanket please bring along.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 13/09/2016 12:32:49    1913534

Replying To Mickmick:  "It's very hard to do anything with Parnell Pk it's surrounded by a school, golf course (2 sides) and houses. The Dublin County board tried to buy a site from NAMA near the spawell roundabout with plans to build a circa 25k stadium and centre of excellence but were outbid by about 500k.

More details here if you're interested. - http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/500000-shortfall-costs-dublin-gaa-nama-site-at-spawell-31397602.html

I'd rather play/watch a game in a full 25k seater stadium than a two-thirds empty Croke Park."
Totally agree. There is zero reason to hold the league games in croker or even the leinster semis. Fair play to the DCB for trying to do something with Parnell park.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 13/09/2016 12:35:58    1913536

Replying To arock:  "I am reliably informed that Mayo fans intend to try and unfurl a very large (and I mean large) Mayo flay on the Hill, should be very interesting when this flag covers the heads of Dub fans."
They'd need to be occupying a very large section of the Hill for this to work. Good luck to them!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 13/09/2016 13:08:37    1913568

Imagine bringing a flag to a football match. Whatever will they think of next.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 13/09/2016 13:38:01    1913605

Replying To Mickmick:  "It's very hard to do anything with Parnell Pk it's surrounded by a school, golf course (2 sides) and houses. The Dublin County board tried to buy a site from NAMA near the spawell roundabout with plans to build a circa 25k stadium and centre of excellence but were outbid by about 500k.

I'd rather play/watch a game in a full 25k seater stadium than a two-thirds empty Croke Park."
The fact that ye don't have a stadium of ye'r own is another big advantage the dubs have over the rest of the country.
Our Kerry county board have had to spend 6 million on Fitzgerald stadium and Austin stack park in the last 7 years plus another 8-9 million on a centre of excellence.
Imagine what we could have done at under age if we hadn't to spend that money on infrastructure .
No the future is all Dublin I'm afraid . The GAA have seen the dubs are primed for the milking and it's in the GAA's best interest to take care of their number1 cash cow and the rest of us can go whistle.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/09/2016 13:57:47    1913620

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The fact that ye don't have a stadium of ye'r own is another big advantage the dubs have over the rest of the country.
Our Kerry county board have had to spend 6 million on Fitzgerald stadium and Austin stack park in the last 7 years plus another 8-9 million on a centre of excellence.
Imagine what we could have done at under age if we hadn't to spend that money on infrastructure .
No the future is all Dublin I'm afraid . The GAA have seen the dubs are primed for the milking and it's in the GAA's best interest to take care of their number1 cash cow and the rest of us can go whistle."
Poor Kerry with their two county grounds and centre of excellence to maintain. I feel your pain, as do many other counties I'm sure ;^)

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 13/09/2016 14:10:04    1913635

Replying To Mickmick:  "Poor Kerry with their two county grounds and centre of excellence to maintain. I feel your pain, as do many other counties I'm sure ;^)"
Hey at least we did it all on our own without any help from the GAA.
Unlike yer self who got given a free 13 million euro centre of excellence . And unlike Dublin we didn't get 5 million to develope hurling in the county, can I say that was money badly spent by the GAA what is it 1 Leinster title in 50 years?
It would make you wonder why are the GAA fatning ye like an old bullock. What have they planned for ye down the road ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/09/2016 18:58:26    1913839

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hey at least we did it all on our own without any help from the GAA.
Unlike yer self who got given a free 13 million euro centre of excellence . And unlike Dublin we didn't get 5 million to develope hurling in the county, can I say that was money badly spent by the GAA what is it 1 Leinster title in 50 years?
It would make you wonder why are the GAA fatning ye like an old bullock. What have they planned for ye down the road ;-)"
LOL..jaysus Kingdomladyboy you are mixing your metaphors. One minute we are a top grade cash cow tended to by the GAA. Next minute we are an old bullock destined for slaughter. Make up your mind boy.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 13/09/2016 19:22:42    1913852

Replying To avonali:  "LOL..jaysus Kingdomladyboy you are mixing your metaphors. One minute we are a top grade cash cow tended to by the GAA. Next minute we are an old bullock destined for slaughter. Make up your mind boy."
Avonlady
I'm only pointing out the favouritism shown to the dubs by the GAA ,
Ye get to play 99% of yer games in crokepark , ye get 2/3 of all the funding, ye get a free centre of excellence , and when the dubs come up against a team that might beat them ye get a home town reff.
I mean have have I said anything that isn't true there?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/09/2016 19:45:10    1913868

Are the Dublin hurlers playing us too on Sunday? Feck it. We've gone from no chance at all to no chance at all at all.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 13/09/2016 19:49:32    1913872

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The fact that ye don't have a stadium of ye'r own is another big advantage the dubs have over the rest of the country.
No the future is all Dublin I'm afraid . The GAA have seen the dubs are primed for the milking and it's in the GAA's best interest to take care of their number1 cash cow and the rest of us can go whistle."
Would love to reply with actual facts rather than heresay but 1. I'm off to España mañana & 2. I've a husband to get ready for the final. Winter well!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/09/2016 19:54:29    1913874

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Avonlady
I'm only pointing out the favouritism shown to the dubs by the GAA ,
Ye get to play 99% of yer games in crokepark , ye get 2/3 of all the funding, ye get a free centre of excellence , and when the dubs come up against a team that might beat them ye get a home town reff.
I mean have have I said anything that isn't true there?"
Well if you permit me to extend the bovine metaphor may I just say you are talking a lot of bullsh*t.
Were you complaining with your replay in Limerick in 2014. The replay was one of the great acts of grand larceny in the history of the GAA.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 13/09/2016 20:04:56    1913885

Replying To CroiGorm:  "They'd need to be occupying a very large section of the Hill for this to work. Good luck to them!"
Surely you don't think they would be in any danger from Dublin fans!

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 13/09/2016 20:11:56    1913889

Replying To neverright:  "Surely you don't think they would be in any danger from Dublin fans!"
Sorry where did I say that?? Talk about pulling something from nothing.

There's rumours going around there's a giant Mayo flag that's going to be passed across the Hill. It won't work if it passes over a large section of Dublin fans as they'll be having none of it. Therefore Mayo fans would need to be accepting a very large section together for it to work.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 13/09/2016 20:31:07    1913902

Replying To Jackeen:  "Would love to reply with actual facts rather than heresay but 1. I'm off to España mañana & 2. I've a husband to get ready for the final. Winter well!"
Best of luck to the hubby for Sunday! Tell him no pressure ;)

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 13/09/2016 20:32:39    1913903

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Best of luck to the hubby for Sunday! Tell him no pressure ;)"
Thanks lovely! Im kinda in the dog house but I've a life outside of the Dubs even if he doesn't at the minute ;)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/09/2016 20:37:23    1913906

Replying To avonali:  "Well if you permit me to extend the bovine metaphor may I just say you are talking a lot of bullsh*t.
Were you complaining with your replay in Limerick in 2014. The replay was one of the great acts of grand larceny in the history of the GAA."
Relax lad , what has our replay with mayo in 2014 got to do with dublins advantages, you're only trying to turn the mayo and Kerry lads against eachother now to deflect from ye'r massive advantages.
It must be great going into an allireland final knowing that the GAA will do everything in their power to help ye win.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/09/2016 20:53:53    1913917

Replying To Jackeen:  "Thanks lovely! Im kinda in the dog house but I've a life outside of the Dubs even if he doesn't at the minute ;)"
Ha he'll get over it, especially if they win ;) Enjoy Spain!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 13/09/2016 21:13:20    1913930

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Relax lad , what has our replay with mayo in 2014 got to do with dublins advantages, you're only trying to turn the mayo and Kerry lads against eachother now to deflect from ye'r massive advantages.
It must be great going into an allireland final knowing that the GAA will do everything in their power to help ye win."
Ah sure Kingdomboy this Dublin team have been spanking the yella bellies for the past 6 years. It doesn't matter whether it's Killarney, Parnell, Croke Park or Ruislip - it's men against boys at the moment. You can have your centre of excellence, Dublin are training at DCU and no amount of perceived 'advantages' will take away from the fact that Kerry have been playing second fiddle to a far superior free flowing football side for the past half a decade and likely for the remainder of that decade. On your gripe about Dublin playing all their games at home. How many times have Gooch, "star", O'Mahony, O'Sullivan, Sheehan, O'Se, Maher, Walsh...played in Croke Park? Far more times than Fenton, Small, Mannion, Davey Byrne I suspect. Using ground advantage would be a pitiful excuse for any Kerry man to use for your lead surrender in the semi. The better team won as it has done for the past number of years. Sometimes you just have to call a spade a spade, as we Dubs did in the 70s when we were beaten by a superior Kerry outfit. Good luck next year.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 13/09/2016 21:54:07    1913956