Who's under the most pressure, Dublin or Mayo ?

Replying To Laois76:  "The team that goes into any match as hot favourites generally have the most pressure on them.

Mayo have been losing finals for 65 years and their own people don't expect this to change.

I don't agree with those who say Dublin have proved everything. No back to back all-irelands. The Dublin team of the 70s did that. Kerry teams put 2, 3 and 4 all-irelands together.

If Dublin put back to backs i'll whole heartedly congratulate them. I admire this Dublin team for many reasons. The way they play football, none of the false arrogance and showmanship of the noughties team, modest and grounded manager. I wish both teams well. Naturally a neutral would love to see Mayo break their duck in finals. But if Dublin win they are one of the greatest football teams of ALL times. But yes there is still more to prove Dublin. There always is in the pursuit of ultimate greatness. Juliette Murphy of Cork ladies (football and camogie) has 16 all ireland senior medals and played like she hadn't won one against Monaghan at the weekend."
Agree. I hope Mayo win but I wont have any problem seeing the dubs do it.
Looking forward to the game.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 07/09/2016 14:16:47    1911310

Replying To Jackeen:  "Transfer the pressure to Mayo? What are you on about? Both teams will feel under pressure to deliver. Its an AI final!!! Dublin are favourites for every game they play. I think the stats show they are well capable of dealing with the favourites tag at this stage. Have Mayo ever not been underdogs in a final? Genuine question. True we haven't seen the Mayo of last year this year so we dont know if they are capable of just turning it on for the final or if this is as good as they can be this year. I counter that by saying do we know if Dublin are capable of more given that Brogan and Flynn have been relatively quiet this year by their standards. Mayo have one big game in them is a statement I've heard so many times across various social fora. Not sure you can rely on that hope especially in a final situation. Perhaps though if one was inclined to believe this that one big game was v Tyrone?"
The one big game in them I think is a really silly reason to be backing them.

They've a chance because they're a good team with quality players throughout the pitch.

I think people read too much into "form".

It is really hard to know how good teams will fare against one another until they match up. That's why I think the Mayo aren't in form argument is a load of balls. They've beaten what's been put in front of them since Galway, were in a spot of bother vs Fermanagh and Tyrone but still more than deserved their wins in those games. Fermanagh are not great shakes but conditions played a huge role in their first half lead that day.

Even accounting for form Dublin haven't been blistering in their games against Donegal and Kerry. People are ignoring that.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 07/09/2016 14:27:12    1911316

Hi lads, on 2012, i can see what you both enjoyed the game fair play, great night to i thought. If i'm being honest i think Mayo set up with a different tactic to stop Dublins momentum, persistent fouling in the right areas, time wasting, feigning injury. If im honest i thought it was the poorest example of sportsmanship and cynicam i ever witnessed in Croke Park, inclusive of some the accusations that are thrown around by counties who are over physical or play defensive systems. I will qualify that by saying Mayo scored some brilliant points in the first half and they had a great day shooting boot wise and the reality is you have to play against every system and approach that a team plays against you with whether it be cynical, time wasting or defensive. I think Mayo have a far better team now than then though, so im hopeful the game will be played in the right spirit,. Mayo won and fair play and all congratulations for the day and hope out West they enjoyed the day. Just that for me the spirit of the game in 2012 was less about skill and more about cynicism and i felt both Mayo and Dublin let themselves down with discipline in the first semi last year. I just hope this title is decided on skill and quality rather then anything else this year and both teams can conjure great football on their days. With the former in mind i just hope the referee has a strong game and cuts out any messing early So we can enjoy the spectacle and two great teams going hammer and thongs, similar to against Kerry the other week.

Just wanted to mention about Dublins underage as well when people talk about retirement. Dublin have had three all ireland U21 teams in the last 6 years, mostly enjoyed by the man in charge Gavin. Many of those lads have/will be integrated into the team/panal with the luxary of learning and playing with champions. Every year since Gavin has been in charge one or two have broken through, Kilkenny, Costello, Byrne, Jack, Small, Fenton, Mannion, being the first wave, there are many who have been brought into the panal this year and likely more to come. It was a tight contest in the U21 semi, with last gasp stuff from Mayo this year, thourgahlly deserved mind. But i take someone like Con O' Callaghan over O' Connor every day - what a player this boy is going to be - will do him no harm being part of the squad on the 18th. I was cahtting to coach down in St Judes recently he was telling me that there are 100s of kids turning up every Saturday and Sunday to train and play, thats just one club. Dublin football i think is in a very healthy place with the right structures in place.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/09/2016 15:06:30    1911345

In my eyes Dublin are under the most pressure, not winning the AI with these players is unthinkable.... I know the back to back scenario is a separate mountain to climb but the 70s team did it and that's the benchmark.

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 07/09/2016 18:26:29    1911468

Replying To Jackeen:  "Croigorm & Yew Tree

I will be at a friends wedding in Antequera in España. Rural Spain ffs! As you can imagine it went down like a lead balloon with himself but since he will be a tad busy that day I volunteered to go. Not only can i not find a bar but the wedding is that day!!! Ffs!!"
Did you ask DMT to send out a tweet?? He's usually very good at finding places for people to watch games no matter how random a a place it is!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 08/09/2016 11:12:38    1911698

Replying To CroiGorm:  "Did you ask DMT to send out a tweet?? He's usually very good at finding places for people to watch games no matter how random a a place it is!"
Most pressure is on Mayo as nobody on that team has an All-Ireland medal and some of them know that time is creeping up on them. With that comes great hunger also so it's controlling both emotions that will be the key for Mayo.

AthboyCelt (Meath) - Posts: 147 - 08/09/2016 11:43:54    1911727