Who's under the most pressure, Dublin or Mayo ?

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Are you actually a Dub? Jesus, they'd wreck our heads on about their team of superheroes and fair play they're a class outfit. But I don't ever remember them discussing the ref before a game and the mentality that if they lose it'd down to the ref."
You probably don't meet a lot of Dubs out west though to be fair mate. Let's hope for a fair sporting encounter though, you talk to Lee and I'll sort Dermo.

Just don't want any of the stuff from 2012 and the first game last year, all respect intended.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/09/2016 21:03:11    1910970

I don't live out West. I work with plenty of Dubs and there are Dubs living beside me and where I live.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7364 - 06/09/2016 21:28:31    1910977

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Another needless thread but I'll tell it like it is, there is more pressure on Mayo. A lot on Dublin to do back to back and for some of the older players to be part of a team that does that but all in all far more pressure on Mayo. Silly comment Jimbob, grow up."
You've just commented on another needless thread Flaker, just trying to save you from yourself man! :)

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 06/09/2016 21:28:53    1910978

Replying To Jackeen:  "Spain and kinda cos they are getting married at 6 their time which would be 5 Irish time!"
Hmm, yeah there's no room for manoeuvre is there? Now if it'd been down the road (relatively speaking) in Malaga, you could've almost sprinted to one of the many venues who'd be able to oblige you! Them's the breaks.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 06/09/2016 21:35:27    1910981

Mayo are under way more pressure because lets face it we are going to be the dominant force for the next 6/7 years at least if not longer, if we lose it'll be disappointing but we'll quickly move on as we have waves of elite players in our underage setup

This is Mayo's last chance to realistically win an AI for the next period of time

BlueGolconda (Dublin) - Posts: 39 - 06/09/2016 21:59:55    1910988

Replying To BlueGolconda:  "Mayo are under way more pressure because lets face it we are going to be the dominant force for the next 6/7 years at least if not longer, if we lose it'll be disappointing but we'll quickly move on as we have waves of elite players in our underage setup

This is Mayo's last chance to realistically win an AI for the next period of time"
Sshh about what's coming through.

I've been saying its the end of this Mayo team for years, they always come back, fair play and also harder when you havnt won one. Mayo also won the U21 all Ireland this year, maybe one or two old warriors may leave this year, but they will be around for a long while yet, some of the lads in that U21 team looked beasts.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/09/2016 22:47:33    1911010

Replying To BlueGolconda:  "Mayo are under way more pressure because lets face it we are going to be the dominant force for the next 6/7 years at least if not longer, if we lose it'll be disappointing but we'll quickly move on as we have waves of elite players in our underage setup

This is Mayo's last chance to realistically win an AI for the next period of time"
Don't really agree with either of those.

Mayo will be in good shape for a while yet given their recent u21 success and that their current crop just aren't particularly old bar a few exceptions.

I'd imagine Kerry's lull won't be overly extended given their underage success.

Underage success is no guarantee of senior success but if you add good young players to an established team it's a good combination.

Only time will tell if this Dublin team are standouts or the first of a series of dominant teams.

The population and coaching structure probably mean they'll never again have the sort of lull like 95 to 2011, but it won't necessarily mean they win every other year.

The GAA has more of a fight on its hands in Dublin to get kids playing. It's the reason that they're currently second in the role of honour.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 06/09/2016 23:03:28    1911017

Dublin are under more pressure. Mayo might not have won it in a long time, but this is the first championship I can remember in a while where they've not been majorly hyped up and have slipped by fairly under the radar. Nobody even really knows what exactly they're capable of or if they've even played to their full potential yet. They're strangely a bit of an unknown quantity this year. All the talk has been of the Dubs and how unstoppable they are, how the Kerry match would be the "real final", how the back to back title will cement their reputation, etc. The vast majority of spectators and commentators are lining up to worship at the altar of the Dubs and many expect them to dispatch Mayo with ease to the point where there's almost a sense that some people think Dublin just need to show up. Incidentally the underdog tag can suit Mayo rather well, especially against Dublin, and I think there are more than a few Dubs who know that too given how hard some of them are trying to transfer the pressure onto Mayo.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 07/09/2016 00:48:39    1911040

Waves of elite players coming through? I take it they don't play minor or U-21 or have you not been paying attention?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 07/09/2016 06:44:41    1911044

Replying To Whammo86:  "Don't really agree with either of those.

Mayo will be in good shape for a while yet given their recent u21 success and that their current crop just aren't particularly old bar a few exceptions.

I'd imagine Kerry's lull won't be overly extended given their underage success.

Underage success is no guarantee of senior success but if you add good young players to an established team it's a good combination.

Only time will tell if this Dublin team are standouts or the first of a series of dominant teams.

The population and coaching structure probably mean they'll never again have the sort of lull like 95 to 2011, but it won't necessarily mean they win every other year.

The GAA has more of a fight on its hands in Dublin to get kids playing. It's the reason that they're currently second in the role of honour."
100% percent agree with everything this man just said . Kerry may have a one or two year drop at most but in five to seven years a fine team is on its way .

Anyone talking about a mayo team on the end is away with the fairies . They have serious talent on the way to replace the old dogs . Sahzram akram and Irwin to name just two players who I think could do amazing things for mayo in the next few seasons. Like he said they just won an all-ireland u21 , when we did that last year people were saying how great we would be but yet mayo and even kerry are considered a dying flame by some people , madness.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 07/09/2016 08:38:24    1911069

It seems sometimes as if people believe that Dublin are the only county with a decent youth system. If you take the minor and U-21 championships results over the past few years (admittedly not always the safest bet!) then there are a number of counties that can be competitive at the business end of the championship in the next few years. I'm thinking primarily of the likes of Mayo, Kerry, Tyrone, Tipp, Donegal.

This is especially relevant when you consider that a few of the key players for the Dubs over the past few years- the likes of Cluxton, Brogan, Paul Flynn, Macauley etc. may well retire in the next few seasons.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 07/09/2016 09:37:27    1911092

Replying To ZeitChrist:  "Dublin are under more pressure. Mayo might not have won it in a long time, but this is the first championship I can remember in a while where they've not been majorly hyped up and have slipped by fairly under the radar. Nobody even really knows what exactly they're capable of or if they've even played to their full potential yet. They're strangely a bit of an unknown quantity this year. All the talk has been of the Dubs and how unstoppable they are, how the Kerry match would be the "real final", how the back to back title will cement their reputation, etc. The vast majority of spectators and commentators are lining up to worship at the altar of the Dubs and many expect them to dispatch Mayo with ease to the point where there's almost a sense that some people think Dublin just need to show up. Incidentally the underdog tag can suit Mayo rather well, especially against Dublin, and I think there are more than a few Dubs who know that too given how hard some of them are trying to transfer the pressure onto Mayo."
Transfer the pressure to Mayo? What are you on about? Both teams will feel under pressure to deliver. Its an AI final!!! Dublin are favourites for every game they play. I think the stats show they are well capable of dealing with the favourites tag at this stage. Have Mayo ever not been underdogs in a final? Genuine question. True we haven't seen the Mayo of last year this year so we dont know if they are capable of just turning it on for the final or if this is as good as they can be this year. I counter that by saying do we know if Dublin are capable of more given that Brogan and Flynn have been relatively quiet this year by their standards. Mayo have one big game in them is a statement I've heard so many times across various social fora. Not sure you can rely on that hope especially in a final situation. Perhaps though if one was inclined to believe this that one big game was v Tyrone?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/09/2016 10:10:53    1911116

Replying To Jackeen:  "Transfer the pressure to Mayo? What are you on about? Both teams will feel under pressure to deliver. Its an AI final!!! Dublin are favourites for every game they play. I think the stats show they are well capable of dealing with the favourites tag at this stage. Have Mayo ever not been underdogs in a final? Genuine question. True we haven't seen the Mayo of last year this year so we dont know if they are capable of just turning it on for the final or if this is as good as they can be this year. I counter that by saying do we know if Dublin are capable of more given that Brogan and Flynn have been relatively quiet this year by their standards. Mayo have one big game in them is a statement I've heard so many times across various social fora. Not sure you can rely on that hope especially in a final situation. Perhaps though if one was inclined to believe this that one big game was v Tyrone?"
I think Mayo were last favourites in a final in 1996.

The definitely weren't in 97, 04, 06, or 13. I'm 99% sure they weren't in '12 also.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 07/09/2016 10:21:07    1911122

Actually, to add to that. .

If Mayo have been outsiders in pretty much every final they've lost, is the term "chokers" accurate or fair?

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5017 - 07/09/2016 10:22:16    1911123

Replying To TheUsername:  "You probably don't meet a lot of Dubs out west though to be fair mate. Let's hope for a fair sporting encounter though, you talk to Lee and I'll sort Dermo.

Just don't want any of the stuff from 2012 and the first game last year, all respect intended."
A lot of Dubs I've met talk about how they hope we won't see the messing from Mayo we saw in 2012.
That game seems to have scarred Dubs a bit?

I thought it was a great game.

BlastCalyle (Mayo) - Posts: 206 - 07/09/2016 11:17:16    1911176

This is the first year I can remember that there is no pressure on the Mayo team from within the county. Every other final Mayo people were saying things like 'surely we have to win it this year'. As Jimbo helpfully pointed out, we have a s**te record in finals and supporters have finally twigged that the law of averages means nothing in All Ireland finals. If you toss a coin nine times and it comes up heads, there is still a fifty fifty chance it will be heads the tenth time. Dublin have been unbeaten in two years and on all known form are a shoe in for their fourth title in six years. Mayo have been far from impressive all year and are, in some peoples eyes, in the final almost by default. Of course the players will be under a certain amount of pressure to perform but the usual expectation within the county just isn't there. Dublin have been there and bought the tee shirt on too many occasions to be under much pressure at this stage. Personally I think the game will be a lot closer that the odds would suggest and I think we have a better chance playing Dublin than Kerry in a final. One way or another we have a ready made excuse if we lose this year, we can always blame the water. It won't be Dermo or Phillo who will beat us it will be Crypto!! There could be a song in there somewhere.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 07/09/2016 11:58:36    1911202

Replying To TheUsername:  "You probably don't meet a lot of Dubs out west though to be fair mate. Let's hope for a fair sporting encounter though, you talk to Lee and I'll sort Dermo.

Just don't want any of the stuff from 2012 and the first game last year, all respect intended."
What happened in 2012 that was so bad?

Goalie2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 07/09/2016 13:15:59    1911254

Genuinely dont think Mayo are under no pressure. I'm not just saying it to take pressure off them.
What we say here is of no relevance to the teams. They dont read these forums ..

Mayo are the 3rd best team in the country. Have been the 2nd/3rd best team for last 5 years.
They have scraped into this years Final. Could have lost nearly every match they played this year
post Galway but still ended up winning them all by between 4-9 points .. So although they
played poorly then won reasonably comfortably on the score board.

Dublin have an exceptional team at the moment. Incredible attacking talent. All 14 outfield
players can score. Great subs. Can play all out attack or can play patient against a blanket defense.

I dont think the dubs feel under any real pressure. Their results speak for themselves.
This is just another big match to them.

The expectations for Mayo in a final are non existant really amoung the mayo support.
We feel there is a small chance we could win if EVERYTHING went right for us but
deep down we expect to lose and if Dublin got a run on us it could be a 10-12 point defeat ..

Really dont think there is big pressure on either team.

Mayo are expected to lose .. so no pressure

Dubs are expected to win and know if they preform they almost certainly will ..

Ah_Here (Mayo) - Posts: 42 - 07/09/2016 13:22:44    1911263

Replying To cavanman47:  "Actually, to add to that. .

If Mayo have been outsiders in pretty much every final they've lost, is the term "chokers" accurate or fair?"
Its a fair question. My own take is as follows:

In 1996 we blew a winning position. 1997 and 2013 for me was lost on the line. So for those 3 it is valid to question mayos mental strength in finals.

The others we were wiped by superior opposition. But the manner of defeat would also contribute to the consensus that again would give creedance to mayo being brittle in a final.

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 07/09/2016 13:49:39    1911291

The team that goes into any match as hot favourites generally have the most pressure on them.

Mayo have been losing finals for 65 years and their own people don't expect this to change.

I don't agree with those who say Dublin have proved everything. No back to back all-irelands. The Dublin team of the 70s did that. Kerry teams put 2, 3 and 4 all-irelands together.

If Dublin put back to backs i'll whole heartedly congratulate them. I admire this Dublin team for many reasons. The way they play football, none of the false arrogance and showmanship of the noughties team, modest and grounded manager. I wish both teams well. Naturally a neutral would love to see Mayo break their duck in finals. But if Dublin win they are one of the greatest football teams of ALL times. But yes there is still more to prove Dublin. There always is in the pursuit of ultimate greatness. Juliette Murphy of Cork ladies (football and camogie) has 16 all ireland senior medals and played like she hadn't won one against Monaghan at the weekend.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 07/09/2016 14:02:01    1911300