Who's under the most pressure, Dublin or Mayo ?

Replying To Jaden:  "Not being given a chance, and not being under pressure to deliver, are two different things.

The media are there to fill column inches in the lead up to the match. So spouting on about the Mighty Unbeatable Dubs, and Writing off poor under achieving Mayo suits the narrative to do this. But pretty much everyone knows that it's bo****cks.

No-one with an ounce of understanding of the game thinks that Dublin are unbeatable, or that Mayo haven't a hope. You don't get to an All Ireland final my accident. All the spouting in the world won't affect the teams in the slightest.

So saying that Mayo are not under pressure because they are written off, is not accurate. You can bet your life they haven't written themselves off, despite the imported yerra from some Mayo supporters. They want to deliver, and feel the weight of that expectation, both with themselves, and with their supporters.

Likewise, Dublin want to put titles back to back - it is the hallmark of any great team to do so. If (and I mean IF) they do, it expels any doubt that this is a great team of players, and a great management setup.

Final day is all to play for, different reasoning, yes, but all to play for."
Plenty of yerra in Dublin. Ye are doing your level best to hype up Mayo and dampen it with Dublin! Since the Galway loss I have been expecting Mayo to lose. If they had lost any of our games I wouldn't have complained we were for the taking in every game. Dublin aren't unbeatable but is there a team that can beat them? Mayo have in the past and ran them close in the last few meetings but this year our form has been poor and our defence has been porous. Dublin will easily take advantage of it. For Mayo to win we need the players to all have massive performance and a perfect gameplan and then there's the record in the finals so why should anything change. Little short of a miracle! Two different type of pressure on the teams. I still live in hope but I won't be crushed if we don't win.

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 06/09/2016 13:28:41    1910691

I would have to go with Mayo, seems quiter this time around with the Mayo 4 sam hype and green and red haystacks etc, so that should see less players on theplayers. I see the pressure more as built into the game, the fear of failure again will have to be psychologically managed throughout the game if they go a couple of points behind and in the different quaters of the game, whether ahead or behind.

Dublin have the expierence and game management skills in winning an all - ireland, im hoping thats an advantage.

I fear the ref though and the groundswell for a Mayo win., so might not be an issue coming from behind.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/09/2016 13:32:14    1910694

Replying To TheUsername:  "I would have to go with Mayo, seems quiter this time around with the Mayo 4 sam hype and green and red haystacks etc, so that should see less players on theplayers. I see the pressure more as built into the game, the fear of failure again will have to be psychologically managed throughout the game if they go a couple of points behind and in the different quaters of the game, whether ahead or behind.

Dublin have the expierence and game management skills in winning an all - ireland, im hoping thats an advantage.

I fear the ref though and the groundswell for a Mayo win., so might not be an issue coming from behind."
Oh here we go lets blame the ref before the match grow up.
Its funny every dublin supporter things its mayo under pressure, facts our yes mayo our through not winning it in years but dublin also for all this talk about teams not doing 2 in a row.
This will be as close as the kerry game with result in the balance right to the end and to close to call.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 706 - 06/09/2016 13:50:05    1910703

they're both playing in an AI final. safe to say they're both under pressure to win.

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 06/09/2016 14:19:11    1910732

Mayo- Have been for decades.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 06/09/2016 14:39:27    1910741

Very low expectations of Mayo at the moment, as evidenced by the lack of All-Ireland songs and general mayhem that usually accompanies the county side at this time of the season.

What is interesting though is the amount of Mayo threads started by Dublin posters recently.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 06/09/2016 14:42:22    1910746

pressure is on the dubs. we have nothing to lose

samiscominghome (Mayo) - Posts: 23 - 06/09/2016 14:54:10    1910756

Going by the last few finals, teams have been under a lot of pressure going into the game. It's been a long time since any team has taken the shackles off and really played in a final. The last few years teams have played very safe and over used a direct long ball into the forwards on final day.

I hope both these teams come out playing, trying to get their main men on the ball and looking to win rather than not lose.

If Mayo are to win they have to go after Dublin, if not this Dublin team will just keep the scoreboard ticking over nicely and win without really having to hit their top level.

Dublin are too good to contain, however, it is also a scary proposition opening up a bit against them.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 06/09/2016 14:57:00    1910758

Replying To Gleebo:  "Very low expectations of Mayo at the moment, as evidenced by the lack of All-Ireland songs and general mayhem that usually accompanies the county side at this time of the season.

What is interesting though is the amount of Mayo threads started by Dublin posters recently."
A lot of mindreaders too. Maybe her indoors is posting? She always tells me she knows what I'm thinking.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7365 - 06/09/2016 15:39:33    1910780

@Yourjoking (USA)

I think the ref is a reasonable concern i say that as much as Dublins tendency to be indiscplined as i do the concern that Mayo are the neutrals favourates as most counties would like to see them get over the line. I think its the popular narrative and feeling in the county and these things and it does have an influence on things. I think its a viable tactic to try and get some of Dublins hot heads riled up and i think we need to accept that as part of the game, the Keegan and Connoly thing last year is evidance of the mariginal advantages this can have. In truth it worked Dublin ended the game with 12 players in the first Semi and Mayo almost snuck it 15 vs 12, running Dublin close. I just hope the game is played fairly, by the players both sides, the ref and the focus is on the brilliant football both teams can conjure.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 06/09/2016 15:39:52    1910781

Replying To TheUsername:  "@Yourjoking (USA)

I think the ref is a reasonable concern i say that as much as Dublins tendency to be indiscplined as i do the concern that Mayo are the neutrals favourates as most counties would like to see them get over the line. I think its the popular narrative and feeling in the county and these things and it does have an influence on things. I think its a viable tactic to try and get some of Dublins hot heads riled up and i think we need to accept that as part of the game, the Keegan and Connoly thing last year is evidance of the mariginal advantages this can have. In truth it worked Dublin ended the game with 12 players in the first Semi and Mayo almost snuck it 15 vs 12, running Dublin close. I just hope the game is played fairly, by the players both sides, the ref and the focus is on the brilliant football both teams can conjure."
Are you actually a Dub? Jesus, they'd wreck our heads on about their team of superheroes and fair play they're a class outfit. But I don't ever remember them discussing the ref before a game and the mentality that if they lose it'd down to the ref.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7365 - 06/09/2016 16:00:12    1910793

Replying To samiscominghome:  "pressure is on the dubs. we have nothing to lose"
no pressure on Dublin,3 all Irelands in most of that teams back pockets, all the pressure is on mayo to finally win an all ireland
and end the jinx.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 06/09/2016 16:46:27    1910827

Seriously?
One team has won the lot and the other hasn't won Sam since 51.
Its a dumb question.
All the pressure is on Mayo.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 06/09/2016 17:17:03    1910857

Replying To samiscominghome:  "pressure is on the dubs. we have nothing to lose"
Except your 8th Final in a row!!

Jaysus what a shitty record, most probably the worst in the history of the GAA

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 06/09/2016 17:19:51    1910862

Another needless thread but I'll tell it like it is, there is more pressure on Mayo. A lot on Dublin to do back to back and for some of the older players to be part of a team that does that but all in all far more pressure on Mayo. Silly comment Jimbob, grow up.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 06/09/2016 17:52:10    1910882

Replying To Whammo86:  "What is a loyal Dub such as yourself doing abroad on the 3rd Sunday in September!

I've zero sympathy for you."
I'm a feckin bridesmaid!! What could I say like....sorry love but Dublin may or may not be in the AI final so can I tell ye sometime after the QF if we even make it that far??!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/09/2016 17:59:06    1910887

Croigorm & Yew Tree

I will be at a friends wedding in Antequera in España. Rural Spain ffs! As you can imagine it went down like a lead balloon with himself but since he will be a tad busy that day I volunteered to go. Not only can i not find a bar but the wedding is that day!!! Ffs!!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/09/2016 18:03:01    1910890

Replying To Jackeen:  "I'm a feckin bridesmaid!! What could I say like....sorry love but Dublin may or may not be in the AI final so can I tell ye sometime after the QF if we even make it that far??!"
I intended it to be a joke. Although reading it back I definitely fluffed it.

Have a good one.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 06/09/2016 18:27:00    1910903

Replying To Jackeen:  "I'm a feckin bridesmaid!! What could I say like....sorry love but Dublin may or may not be in the AI final so can I tell ye sometime after the QF if we even make it that far??!"
Sounds perfectly reasonable to me! Would she be likely to take offence at you wearing your Dubs jersey over your dress? If so, she's not worth having as a friend anyway!! :)

Where's the wedding and does it clash with throw in time?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 06/09/2016 18:46:04    1910912

Replying To MedwayIrish:  "Sounds perfectly reasonable to me! Would she be likely to take offence at you wearing your Dubs jersey over your dress? If so, she's not worth having as a friend anyway!! :)

Where's the wedding and does it clash with throw in time?"
Spain and kinda cos they are getting married at 6 their time which would be 5 Irish time!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 06/09/2016 19:43:07    1910936