Brian Cody and sideline conduct

Replying To Lookit:  "By the way, it should be said how classy Michael Ryan was yesterday also. Just heard a snippet on the radio of his speech at their homecoming also, he always comes across well.

So instead of kicking Cody when he's down why can't we post about how classy all of the managers were yesterday..."
Get of your high horse and read the first line of the OP.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 06/09/2016 12:05:29    1910620

Replying To tearintom:  "Inter county manager argues with linesmen and referee!!

Whatever is the world coming to? Won't somebody think of the children?

I mean never in all my life have I ever seen a GAA manager arguing with linesman or a referee. I blame social media or those Ulster boys handpassing the ball around constantly or the black card or the sweeper system actually I've heard a rumour that Dublin have so much money these days they employ a random fella to do that so Jim Gavin doesn't have to, true story!

Didn't happen back in the day lads I'm telling ye, no no, never in the history of the GAA or sports in general have mangers argued with officials!

Sweet Jaysus!"
Seriously got very lost in this post. Could you make a point relating to the thread.
Good man

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 06/09/2016 12:07:33    1910622

Replying To duckula20:  "Cody is a passionate hurling man and has strong views on how the game should be played, so its natural if the ref disagrees there'll be some animation, but for someone with such a record of success and obvious dislike of losing he has always been remarkably magnanimous and gracious and the only time I can remember him publicly having a cut at a ref was after the replay 2 years ago when O Dwyer was given the chance to win it at the death.

If he was sitting passively whilst his team were in the white heat of battle he wouldn't be in a job for too long, he asks his players to leave everything on the pitch so why wouldn't he do the same. He is and always has been a class act."
That's may point.....it shouldn't matter if you have 20 all Ireland's or 0 all Ireland's. It also shouldn't matter if you are passionate on the sideline like Brian or more reserved like Gavin or Harte.
I'm using Davy Fitz as an example because he has been banned for doing much the same thing as Brian Cody. That is my point.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 06/09/2016 12:11:25    1910626

Cody can have his moments along the line and you'd be surprised if he didn't. Its a passionate warrior game, of course he's emotionally involved.

He does overstep the boundaries though and the GAA and RTÉ are afraid of him.

The worst I saw him was vrs Galway in Thurles in 2006 IIRC, he was like a man possessed. He'd the referee tormented and Noel Hickey was very lucky to stay on the field after clotheslining one of the Galway forwards early on.

The greatest manager to grace the game all the same and that will be his legacy.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 06/09/2016 15:17:05    1910763

If you're asking to compare Cody's behaviour with Davy's behaviour, objectively I would say Davy's is worse, on the whole. Cody gets pumped up in tight matches, or when the team aren't going well, and he'll get on the ref or the linesman's back if that's what he thinks is needed, whereas Davy is pumped up and on the officials' backs all the time.

Also, much is being made of his spat with Derek McGrath in the semi-final replay. My take on that is that Cody lost the head with James McGrath (ref) when he penalised Liam Blanchfield for a perfectly legitimate shoulder charge (commentators and analysts acknowledged it as a terrible decision). Waterford selector Fintan O'Connor (who probably wanted to show Cody who was boss and not let him "intimidate" officials) then decided to get involved, followed by Derek McGrath. A Semple security guard had to usher O'Connor and McGrath back towards the Waterford bench (because they had strayed over to the Kilkenny bench to confront Cody). So, in my opinion, it was the Waterford boys who escalated that situation, yet it's been thrown back at Cody.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 06/09/2016 17:29:51    1910874

Replying To ballydalane:  "If you're asking to compare Cody's behaviour with Davy's behaviour, objectively I would say Davy's is worse, on the whole. Cody gets pumped up in tight matches, or when the team aren't going well, and he'll get on the ref or the linesman's back if that's what he thinks is needed, whereas Davy is pumped up and on the officials' backs all the time.

Also, much is being made of his spat with Derek McGrath in the semi-final replay. My take on that is that Cody lost the head with James McGrath (ref) when he penalised Liam Blanchfield for a perfectly legitimate shoulder charge (commentators and analysts acknowledged it as a terrible decision). Waterford selector Fintan O'Connor (who probably wanted to show Cody who was boss and not let him "intimidate" officials) then decided to get involved, followed by Derek McGrath. A Semple security guard had to usher O'Connor and McGrath back towards the Waterford bench (because they had strayed over to the Kilkenny bench to confront Cody). So, in my opinion, it was the Waterford boys who escalated that situation, yet it's been thrown back at Cody."
What about the year before with Anthony Cunningham? Squared up to each other and handbags started. Was that Cunninghams fault as well?
Davy Fitz was banned in 2011 or 12 for 12 weeks for arguing with the linesman.....something Cody does constantly. Can't be one rule for Brian and one for the rest.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 06/09/2016 21:35:45    1910982

Replying To The_Fridge:  "What about the year before with Anthony Cunningham? Squared up to each other and handbags started. Was that Cunninghams fault as well?
Davy Fitz was banned in 2011 or 12 for 12 weeks for arguing with the linesman.....something Cody does constantly. Can't be one rule for Brian and one for the rest."
Well at least he doesn't get his players to bait and sledge specific opponents as a deliberate matchday tactic, which would be much more worthy of a sideline ban in my opinion.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 06/09/2016 22:11:27    1910991

The_Fridge, the only thing I could suggest is going to a couple of championship matches involving either Cody or Davy Fitz, and sit as near as you can to the dugouts. The difference in behaviour between the two will quickly become apparent to you.

extranjero (Wexford) - Posts: 375 - 06/09/2016 22:38:36    1911005

Replying To ballydalane:  "Well at least he doesn't get his players to bait and sledge specific opponents as a deliberate matchday tactic, which would be much more worthy of a sideline ban in my opinion."
Again why do keep referring to something that has absolutely nothing to do with the thread!!!!
I am not trying to bash Brian or Kilkenny so please stop been so sensitive. I have stated that I think Brian is a fantastic manager and I have a hell of a lot of respect for him and Kilkenny.
I feel that other managers are getting banned and a bad name for doing the exact same thing. Brian does intimidate linesmen and refs and gets into fights with rival managers and back room teams......I have given numerous examples. Why is he not pulled on it while other managers are? That's all I'm asking.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 07/09/2016 08:14:13    1911053

Replying To extranjero:  "The_Fridge, the only thing I could suggest is going to a couple of championship matches involving either Cody or Davy Fitz, and sit as near as you can to the dugouts. The difference in behaviour between the two will quickly become apparent to you."
Sorry but how do you how I haven't been to every Kilkenny or Clare game?
There is very little between what Brian and Davy do......they both intimidate linesmen and refs and rival managers. Funny thing is only one off them get banned. I just find it strange that just because it's Brian he gets away with it. Shouldn't happen

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 07/09/2016 08:17:40    1911054

What other managers have been banned for it?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 07/09/2016 09:09:35    1911078

Replying To endgame:  "Agree with that.I thought Brian Cody's behaviour on the sideline during the replay with Waterford in Thurles was unacceptable.It shouldn't be tolerated by the match officials .Worse still, I would be concerned that it does influence decision making by the officials during the game."
If you let be people get away with something in life they are almost always going to keep doing it.
If you have a problem with Codys conduct, you should direct your ire toward the match officials who dont seem to have the courage to stand up to him.
Fergie had that same aura too. He tried it on mancini one time and the Italian started screaming back into the Utd managers face. Fergie wasnt long in backing down.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 07/09/2016 09:41:51    1911095

Never really thought about this, I am not saying that it does or doesnt happen. But I would say that Cody comes across as a very joyless person with a win at all cost mentality.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 07/09/2016 10:19:03    1911119

Replying To ballydalane:  "What other managers have been banned for it?"
Colm Collins.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 07/09/2016 18:09:50    1911459

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Sorry but how do you how I haven't been to every Kilkenny or Clare game?
There is very little between what Brian and Davy do......they both intimidate linesmen and refs and rival managers. Funny thing is only one off them get banned. I just find it strange that just because it's Brian he gets away with it. Shouldn't happen"
One can only conclude that you have been watching these managers from an armchair as their sideline manner can't really be compared.

On Davy's ban, that was for personal abuse given to officials, something he has done repeatedly. There is evidence of this, as it has been picked up by microphone. IIRC Colm Collins was banned for personal abuse and/or physical interaction with an official. Both of the above are against the rules.

Cody on the other hand has never broken those rules, so has never received a ban. Unless you have evidence that the rest of the world has missed then your argument can be dismissed.

Lookit (Kilkenny) - Posts: 12 - 07/09/2016 19:15:01    1911484

You are incorrect on the armchair point. And I feel you very much can compare Brian Cody constantly, and it is constant, berating the linesman and refs. I have given examples. Everyone can see and hear Brian on the sidelines. Look that's his style, he's certainly not going to change now at this stage of his brilliant career but I feel other managers shouldn't get punished for doing the same thing. Or all managers should be treated the same.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 07/09/2016 19:55:38    1911500

Big difference between Brian and Davy is Davy goes bananas over every decision giving against them where as Coady only goes mad when it is maybe a hard call and it's not every game unlike Davy. Also Coady is always gracious in defeat where as Davy will blame everyone for being beating. Also heard Coady will never swear or curse at an official where as Davy well let's say we all heard what Davy says.

therealtmo (Tipperary) - Posts: 1292 - 07/09/2016 20:05:19    1911502

Replying To therealtmo:  "Big difference between Brian and Davy is Davy goes bananas over every decision giving against them where as Coady only goes mad when it is maybe a hard call and it's not every game unlike Davy. Also Coady is always gracious in defeat where as Davy will blame everyone for being beating. Also heard Coady will never swear or curse at an official where as Davy well let's say we all heard what Davy says."
This isn't a who shouts more or curses more between Brian and Davy. The point is that all managers should be treated the same way. I personally don't feel that happens where Brian is concerned.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 07/09/2016 20:27:04    1911511

Replying To The_Fridge:  "You are incorrect on the armchair point. And I feel you very much can compare Brian Cody constantly, and it is constant, berating the linesman and refs. I have given examples. Everyone can see and hear Brian on the sidelines. Look that's his style, he's certainly not going to change now at this stage of his brilliant career but I feel other managers shouldn't get punished for doing the same thing. Or all managers should be treated the same."
You are wrong again on the point about Cody constantly getting on to officials, give evidence. I would say he protests about 20% of the time, similar to many mgrs. Davy on the other hand protests in nearly every game. And his style is much more severe, with personal abuse etc, as evidenced by his ban.

Why would the GAA punish Cody if he doesn't break the rules? You are comparing apples & oranges with your argument. I don't really know how I can break this down for you any further.

Lookit (Kilkenny) - Posts: 12 - 07/09/2016 20:41:55    1911517

You aren't getting the point. Ok take Davy out off the equation for a second. What about the Colm Collins ban? By all accounts he done very little. Still got banned.....for arguing with officials. You want evidence of Brian shouting and abusing officials. All Ireland final this year. Semi final this year. Galway game last year. 2014 I think with Brian Kelly. Cork game when Henry was sent off. Want me to continue?
And are you very sure it's only 20%? Can you give me evidence?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 07/09/2016 21:18:55    1911533