Bubbles O'Dwyer Swearing

Replying To Lockjaw:  "So why say it then?"
Sure why the hell not?

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 07/09/2016 10:49:29    1911144

Replying To joncarter:  "Id imagine that after putting in all of that effort over the last few years and destroying the best corner back in the game on all ireland final day, bubbles would probably be pretty disgusted at the people here who would rather focus on the fact he said the F word in an interview conducted 2 minutes after the final bleedin' whistle."
Oh God, we never thought of that. Poor Bubbles............yeah I'd say he is collapsed over his computer alright probably distraught reading these comments...sorry Bubbles.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 07/09/2016 11:08:17    1911167

Lads, he knew it was somewhat offensive, that's precisely why he said it. Dunno why people are bragging about how un-offended they were, irrelevent.

As others have said, it's a sad day that winning an All-Ireland is not enough that you want to become a viral sensation as well.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12124 - 07/09/2016 11:08:53    1911169

Ultimately, whatever language we use or don't use in our private lives, we should all be against behaviour that makes the GAA look cheap and low-rent on a national and/or global stage. That's why I never watch that Conor McGregor character and I'd be sick to my stomach if he and his fans were ever given the opportunity to use Croke Park for that excuse of a "sport". I'd hate to see GAA players go down the route of deliberately trying to ape McGregor in the way he conducts himself in press conferences, interviews etc. We should aim a bit higher than that.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 07/09/2016 11:26:30    1911187

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Aw here there's no point in discussing this any further. For emphasis, once again I wasn't offended. Simpletons will probably laud Bubbles for being a great lad for cursing on live TV. Yeah so he'd played a blinder and won the All-Ireland? He's hardly the first man to do that now is he? Off the top of my head I can think of Karl Lacey and Michael Murphy being interviewed straight after our win in 2012. If anything, we'd been starved of success even more so than Tipperary. Yet Karl or Michael didn't feel the need to curse at any begrudgers. And let's face it, there were plenty of people not happy with how we were playing the game.

Your own Peter Canavan was similar in 2003. He could have had a swipe at Spillane's puke football comment post match. Instead he gave a rousing, impassioned speech that no Tyrone Gael will likely ever forget, and he didn't need to swear in it,

There's a wee thing called class. To me it was missing in O'Dwyer's post match interview, pumped up or not."
Its an interesting debate really and I suppose a lot is dictated by how everyone is raised differently.

I can only speak for myself but if I was in the situation bubbles was in I probably would have unintentionally cursed too. It wouldn't be intentional but its the emotion of it all. I think too much is being said about it. There's much worse in the game today than someone cursing. Players intentional going out to injure or get men sent off - That's the stuff I don't want our youth to copy.

You mention our lads in 2012 but they were thought how to interview by the master. "Ah sure ya know"......."like ya know".

Some people curse and others have the sense to not but after an All Ireland I couldn't care less. That's one of the best moment of that mans life and we are talking about him saying 1 curse word.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 07/09/2016 11:26:46    1911188

Replying To ballydalane:  "Ultimately, whatever language we use or don't use in our private lives, we should all be against behaviour that makes the GAA look cheap and low-rent on a national and/or global stage. That's why I never watch that Conor McGregor character and I'd be sick to my stomach if he and his fans were ever given the opportunity to use Croke Park for that excuse of a "sport". I'd hate to see GAA players go down the route of deliberately trying to ape McGregor in the way he conducts himself in press conferences, interviews etc. We should aim a bit higher than that."
++1 on that

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 07/09/2016 11:41:14    1911194

Replying To Breffni39:  "Lads, he knew it was somewhat offensive, that's precisely why he said it. Dunno why people are bragging about how un-offended they were, irrelevent.

As others have said, it's a sad day that winning an All-Ireland is not enough that you want to become a viral sensation as well."
True. It's a sad world we live in when lowest common denominator, witless behaviour is deemed entertainment, But a good fifth of the content on the Internet would validate the theory.

My young sister in law stayed with us recently and had "Celebrity" Big Brother on. I saw one American eejit and asked who he was. He is and I quote, "an Internet sensation" apparently. Whatever that means.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 07/09/2016 12:05:02    1911207

Replying To Breffni39:  "Lads, he knew it was somewhat offensive, that's precisely why he said it. Dunno why people are bragging about how un-offended they were, irrelevent.

As others have said, it's a sad day that winning an All-Ireland is not enough that you want to become a viral sensation as well."
Are you honestly suggesting that the reason bubbles swore was to in some way make the occasion complete?
Winning Liam McCarthy isnt enough, the only way he could make this a truly great day is to swear during a live interview?
Theres no chance at all it was just a spur of the moment thing,eh?
Ridiculous.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 07/09/2016 12:19:20    1911215

Hi all,

I'm new to commenting here.

Firstly congratulations to Tipperary on brilliant performance to win a richly deserved All-Ireland on Sunday. So many outstanding performances. Ronan Maher really stood out for me. I've rarely seen so young a centre back dominate in a final to the extent he did. Also like many others i cheered on the Tipp footballers this summer having played with some former players in college. I have great time for the current Tipperary hurling players and their management.

However Bubbles came across very badly in his post match interview. To say this is not anti Tipp. Also a common defence throughout this thread is 'aren't ye all so sensitive to be offended by a word we hear every day'. I wasn't offended as i'm sure the vast amount of people who heard it didn't feel that way. We just don't want this pseudo macho bull creeping into our games. If people say what's the harm it becomes acceptable. You'll have more minor and U21 captains cursing in post match speeches. As Ballydalane commented a lot of the young players today are being influenced by Conor McGregor et al. He doesn't partake in a sport, he's a fine athlete who's involved in thuggery labelled as sport with all the accompanying verbals.

As the late Paidi O'Sé said to the Westmeath footballers after they won their only Leinster Senior football title in 2004 'It takes a good man to carry himself well when he loses but it takes an even better man who can control his emotions and carry himself with dignity when you win. Remember lads you are representing your families, parish, county and now all of Leinster'. And just incase anyone comes back to me about him labelling Kerry supporters as F**ng animals. That was a one on one interview more like a chat over a few drinks. We practically all curse in private but try and reign it in around children etc. I've heard many emotional, passionate men interviewed on television in many sports after winning and losing and they all conducted themselves well. Robbie Brady after scoring against Italy this summer, John Mullane, Paidi O'Sé, Niall McCarthy from Cork, Paul O'Connell, Robbie Keane etc.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 07/09/2016 12:48:28    1911235

I wouldnt compare "what bubbles did" to Mcgregor. McGregors stuff is scripted and pre rehearsed, just to throw a some scraps to his fans.
I actually think that guys like Roy keane are worse. okay he doesnt swear too much during interviews, but for me, his put downs and anecdotes and one liners during press conferences are designed exclusively to garner media attention.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 07/09/2016 12:49:31    1911237

Replying To joncarter:  "Are you honestly suggesting that the reason bubbles swore was to in some way make the occasion complete?
Winning Liam McCarthy isnt enough, the only way he could make this a truly great day is to swear during a live interview?
Theres no chance at all it was just a spur of the moment thing,eh?
Ridiculous."
I don't believe it was a spur of the moment thing. Yeah, ridiculous that someone has a different opinion to you isn't it?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12124 - 07/09/2016 12:51:42    1911239

Replying To ballydalane:  "Ha, easily offended?! And you're the lad who started a thread about how big bad Brian Cody (age 62) is so mean and nasty to the poor little referee and linesman!"
Wrong thread lad. Also where did I say Brian was nasty and mean? Please read my posts again. Also what does his age have to do with anything? Just to put you in the right direction please post reply on the thread set up about Brian Cody. Good man.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 07/09/2016 13:23:03    1911264

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Wrong thread lad. Also where did I say Brian was nasty and mean? Please read my posts again. Also what does his age have to do with anything? Just to put you in the right direction please post reply on the thread set up about Brian Cody. Good man."
Yeah, and I've asked you on that thread how many other managers (outside Davy Fitz) have been banned for their conduct on the sideline, and you haven't answered it.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 07/09/2016 14:49:15    1911336

Replying To joncarter:  "I wouldnt compare "what bubbles did" to Mcgregor. McGregors stuff is scripted and pre rehearsed, just to throw a some scraps to his fans.
I actually think that guys like Roy keane are worse. okay he doesnt swear too much during interviews, but for me, his put downs and anecdotes and one liners during press conferences are designed exclusively to garner media attention."
O'Dwyer's comment certainly looked for all the world like he had been planning to say it. It definitely wasn't "slip of the tongue" a la John Glynn. I don't know if it's the influence of Conor McGregor but McGregor has become an odious cultural icon to a certain generation of Irishmen and Irish "sports" fans, and I would hate if GAA players started trying emulate his behaviour for "street cred".

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 07/09/2016 14:59:19    1911342

Do you really believe that a young lad thats just had the game of all games in an AI final, to beat one of the best teams to grace the sport and had a mic stuck in his face moments after the final whistle to think about deliberately cursing for effect?

Come off it lads, cut the fella some slack?

10 Hail Marys and he's good to go anyway.

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 07/09/2016 15:28:11    1911359

Replying To ballydalane:  "O'Dwyer's comment certainly looked for all the world like he had been planning to say it. It definitely wasn't "slip of the tongue" a la John Glynn. I don't know if it's the influence of Conor McGregor but McGregor has become an odious cultural icon to a certain generation of Irishmen and Irish "sports" fans, and I would hate if GAA players started trying emulate his behaviour for "street cred"."
Exactly. This kind of Danny Dyer posturing becoming popular would need to be nipped in the bud. It's crass and embarrassing really.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 07/09/2016 15:39:46    1911368

Some people saying that Bubbles swearing wasn't very 'classy'.

I thought he was more than extremely classy. He is a classy hurler and showed it on the biggest stage. He's an All Ireland Winner. Who honestly cares if he could be classy and win a politically correct Ps&Qs All Ireland ?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7370 - 07/09/2016 15:54:41    1911377

Call me cynical but I do wonder if a local turf accountant was stung!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 07/09/2016 16:44:08    1911409

some serious mind readers on here at this stage

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 07/09/2016 17:47:50    1911444

Lads lads lads. How,in my opinion,a player full of emotion and after winning an all Ireland cursing on TV(which was wrong and he apologised) turned in to a Conor McGregor/Danny Dyer discussion!!!!!! It's madness!!!!!!! And people accusing him of wanting to be a viral Internet senstation. Lads you are really losing the run of yourselves. He cursed, he said sorry. Let's get over it. No children have been mentally scarred. He wasn't trying to be Conor McGregor. Previous GAA players have cursed on Tv. Many many other sportspeople have cursed on tv. Let's calm down.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 07/09/2016 17:49:31    1911446